DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-11, 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonham (US 3,420,249) in view of Capparelli et al. (US 3,521,648).
Bonham discloses a first hair weft unit, comprising a first hair strand, and a hair transplantation base (mesh; col. 1, lines 65-70), wherein said first hair strand is fixed to said hair transplantation base (see Figure 2), wherein the hair transplantation base comprises a mesh (col. 1, lines 65-70) and a glue layer applied on said mesh to form an integral layer with the mesh embedded and hidden in the glue layer (col. 1, lines 65-70 “the clear silicone rubber is carefully worked into and through the interstices of the mesh so that it sets up it will laminate or bond the mesh”) wherein a front surface of the hair transplantation base and a rear surface of the hair transplantation base are respectively flat surfaces formed by a glue material of the glue layer (see Figure 2; col. 2, lines 5-10: “working of the silicone rubber into the interstices of the mesh makes the scalp base take on the skin color and smooth skin-like texture”) wherein the first hair strand comprises a first hair strand body and a first root portion integrally extended from the first hair strand body, wherein the first root portion is penetrating through the glue layer of the hair transplantation base for a single time and adhere to said hair transplantation base wherein the first hair strand body of the first hair strand is extended form the front surface of the hair transplantation base, wherein the first root portion is adhered to the rear surface of the hair transplantation base (col. 2, lines 50-70). Bonham does not disclose the mesh being silk mesh. Capparelli et al. discloses a hair piece made from silk mesh which is made from a much tighter interwoven knit of strands defining smaller interstitial areas (col. 2, lines 15-20). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the mesh of Bonham be made from silk mesh as taught by Capparelli to allow for smaller interstitial areas.
Claim 7, Bonham further discloses the first hair weft unit is prepared by allowing said first root portion of said first hair strand to penetrate through said silk mesh and then affixing said first root portion of said first hair strand to said glue layer (see Figure 2; col. 2, lines 50-70). Regarding claim 8, Bonham further discloses the first hair weft unit (22) is prepared by placing said hair transplantation base and a spacer (13) above said first hair strand, guiding an end of said first hair strand to pass through said hair transplantation base and the spacer (13), cutting a portion of said first hair strand between said hair transplantation base and the spacer to leave said first root portion of said first hair strand on said hair transplantation base, and affixing said first root portion of said first hair strand on said hair transplantation base (see Figure 2; col. 2, lines 70; “the scalp base is removed from the rubber block and the hairs are pulled therefrom they are also pulled further through the scalp base. The hairs are trimmed to a uniform length of the underside of the scalp base”). Regarding the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight. Regarding claims 9 and 10, the combination discloses the claimed invention except for the first root portion of the first hair strand on a rear side of the silk mesh base is 0.1 to 2cm. However, one having ordinary skill in the art would find the parameters of the length of the root portion on the rear side to be deemed matters of design choice, will within the skill of the ordinary artisan, obtained through routine experimentation in determining optimum results. In this instance case, the length of the first root portion on the rear side would have to be short enough to be concealed by the weft of hair. Regarding claims 11 and 13, the combination discloses the claimed invention except for glue layer further comprises phthalate and calcium carbonate or the glue layer comprises one or more of acrylic resin, epoxy resin and polyurethane. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to glue layer further comprises phthalate and calcium carbonate or the glue layer comprises one or more of acrylic resin, epoxy resin and polyurethane, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Claims 15, Bonham further discloses the first hair strand comprises a plurality of first hair element, wherein a top row of said first hair elements is extended from a top edge of said hair transplantation base and is naturally draping over said hair transplantation base in a curved manner (see Figure 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 11/18/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHEL R STEITZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772
1/28/2026