DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
i. Claims 1 – 3, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (2022/0231104; hereinafter Kim) in view of Kim et al. (2022/0223079; hereinafter Min).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a stretchable display device [0003] provided with a plurality of main pixels (Figure 1: Comprising 30) and a plurality of hidden pixels (Comprising 50), the stretchable display device comprising:
a first main pixel (Figure 2: Comprising 30); and
a first hidden pixel (Comprising one of 52, 54, 56) corresponding to the first main pixel (Comprising 30), wherein
a first hidden pixel value is determined ([0112]: Supplied by second transistor).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the first main pixel value forms the basis of the first hidden pixel value.
In the same field of endeavor, Min discloses a stretchable display [0002] wherein the first main pixel value forms the basis of the first hidden pixel value ([0008]: Second pixel driving signal generating module receives the first pixel driving signal and generates a second pixel driving signal). This is among measures implemented to prevent pixel spacing’s detrimental impact on resolution when the device is stretched [0003].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified wherein the first main pixel value forms the basis of the first hidden pixel value, in view of the teaching of Min, to prevent a loss of resolution when the device is stretched.
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of Min discloses the stretchable display device of claim 1. Kim discloses the device wherein the first hidden pixel (Figure 1: Comprising 50) is positioned adjacent to the first main pixel (Comprising 30).
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of Min discloses the stretchable display device of claim 2. Kim discloses the device wherein the first hidden pixel value is determined by replicating the first main pixel value ([0008]: Driving signal of the first pixel is one among options applied to the driving circuit of the second pixel).
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of Min discloses the stretchable display device of claim 1. Kim discloses the device further comprising: at least one hidden pixel control line (Figure 6: Comprising SL); and at least one data line (Comprising DL), wherein the hidden pixel control line and the data line are alternately disposed (Pixels’ matrix structure [0062] defined by both of scan and data lines provided in plurality [0064]).
ii. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Min, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Baek et al. (2016/0379602; hereinafter Baek; this combination of references hereinafter referred to as KMB).
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Min discloses the stretchable display device of claim 3.
Kim in view of Min does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the replicating of the first main pixel value is performed such that a luminance of the first hidden pixel is equal to a luminance of the first main pixel.
In the same field of endeavor, Baek discloses a display [0003] wherein the replicating of the first main pixel value is performed such that a luminance of the first hidden pixel is equal to a luminance of the first main pixel ([0062]: Luminance difference to set at a predetermined threshold or below). This is among measures implemented to improve image sharpness [0031].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified wherein the replicating of the first main pixel value is performed such that a luminance of the first hidden pixel is equal to a luminance of the first main pixel, in view of the teaching of Baek, to improve the sharpness of displayed images.
iii. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Min, as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (2016/0240135; hereinafter Na).
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of Min discloses the stretchable display device of claim 6.
Kim in view of Min does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the hidden pixel control line and the data line are disposed parallel to each other.
In the same field of endeavor, Na discloses a reduction in display data signal distortion [0003] established with circuitry including pixels’ (Figure 3) main scan lines (e.g. MS2…MS4) and data lines (e.g. D6…D8) being aligned in a same y-direction.
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified wherein the hidden pixel control line and the data line are disposed parallel to each other, in view of the teaching of Na, to reduce signal distortion.
iv. Claims 8 – 10, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Cao et al. (2022/0019398; hereinafter Cao).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses a stretchable display device [0003] provided with a plurality of main pixels (Figure 8: Comprising 30) and a plurality of hidden pixels (Comprising 50’), the stretchable display device comprising:
a second hidden pixel (Comprising single instance of 50’); and
a plurality of second main pixels (Comprising instances of 30 most adjacent single instance of 50’) corresponding to the second hidden pixel (Comprising single instance of 50’), wherein
a second hidden pixel value is determined ([0112]: Supplied by second transistor).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the device wherein a plurality of second main pixel values for the basis for the second hidden pixel value.
In the same field of endeavor, Cao implements a display [0062] capable of introducing second pixels (Figure 9E: Comprising 1021) among an existing pixel array, said second pixels driven with newly added pixel data that is the weighted average of two adjacent pixels’ data [0254]. This is among measures implemented to accommodate a user’s interest in content, on a per-region basis [0187].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device to be modified wherein a plurality of second main pixel values for the basis for the second hidden pixel value, in view of the teaching of Cao, to accommodate the per-region interest of a user in displayed content.
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of Cao discloses the stretchable display device of claim 8. Kim discloses the device wherein the second hidden pixel (Figure 1: Comprising 50) is positioned adjacent to the plurality of second main pixels (Comprising 30).
Regarding claim 10, Kim in view of Cao discloses the stretchable display device of claim 9.
Kim does not expressly state the device being provided wherein the second hidden pixel value is determined by using an average value or a weighted average value of the plurality of second main pixel values.
In the same field of endeavor, Cao implements a display [0062] capable of introducing second pixels (Figure 9E: Comprising 1021) among an existing pixel array, said second pixels driven with newly added pixel data that is the weighted average of two adjacent pixels’ data [0254]. This is among measures implemented to accommodate a user’s interest in content, on a per-region basis [0187].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device to be modified wherein the second hidden pixel value is determined by using an average value or a weighted average value of the plurality of second main pixel values, in view of the teaching of Cao, to accommodate the per-region interest of a user in displayed content.
Regarding claim 13, Kim in view of Cao discloses the stretchable display device of claim 9. Kim discloses the device further comprising: at least one hidden pixel control line (Figure 6: Comprising SL); and at least one data line (Comprising DL), wherein the hidden pixel control line and the data line are alternately disposed (Pixels’ matrix structure [0062] defined by both of scan and data lines provided in plurality [0064]).
v. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Cao, as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Baek (this combination of references hereinafter referred to as KCB).
Regarding claim 11, Kim in view of Cao discloses the stretchable display device of claim 10.
Kim in view of Cao does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the determining of the second hidden pixel value by using the average value or the weighted average value of the plurality of second main pixel values is performed such that a luminance of the second hidden pixel is equal to an average value or a weighted average value of a luminance of the plurality of second main pixels.
In the same field of endeavor, Baek’s display [0003] establishes a supplement pixel (Figure 2B: Comprising AP) with luminance data that is the weighted average of effective pixels (Comprising e.g. OP1…OP4; [0066]). This is among measures implemented to improve image sharpness [0031].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Choi to be modified wherein the determining of the second hidden pixel value by using the average value or the weighted average value of the plurality of second main pixel values is performed such that a luminance of the second hidden pixel is equal to an average value or a weighted average value of a luminance of the plurality of second main pixels, in view of the teaching of Baek, to improve the sharpness of displayed images.
vi. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Cao, as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Na.
Regarding claim 14, Kim in view of Cao discloses the stretchable display device of claim 13.
Kim in view of Cao does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the hidden pixel control line and the data line are disposed parallel to each other.
In the same field of endeavor, Na discloses a reduction in display data signal distortion [0003] established with circuitry including pixels’ (Figure 3) main scan lines (e.g. MS2…MS4) and data lines (e.g. D6…D8) being aligned in a same y-direction.
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kim to be modified wherein the hidden pixel control line and the data line are disposed parallel to each other, in view of the teaching of Na, to reduce signal distortion.
vii. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (2022/0392381; hereinafter Choi) and Ahn et al. (2022/0199674; hereinafter Ahn) in view of Baek.
Regarding claim 15, Choi discloses a stretchable display device [0002] comprising:
a first main pixel disposed on a main pixel area (Figure 1: Comprising 1011); and
a first hidden pixel disposed on a hidden pixel area (Comprising 100); wherein
the first main pixel (Figure 2) comprises an LED [0057] driving transistor (Comprising 121) configured to drive an LED (Comprising 110), wherein
the first hidden pixel (Figure 4) is driven according to a hidden pixel control signal (Transmitted on 170), and
receives a pixel value through an anode (Of 110) electrically connected to the LED driving transistor (Comprising 121).
Choi does not explicitly disclose the device pixels being formed from micro-LED’s.
In the same field of endeavor, Ahn interchangeably relies upon a light emitting diode [0008] and micro-LED arrays to form a display device [0080]. Implementation of each of these technologies furnishes one having ordinary skill in the art a predictable result, that the LED-based display as taught by Choi [0057] would continue to operate as intended if modified to instead operate on the basis of micro-LEDs, as taught by Ahn [0080]. On these grounds, such a modification is deemed a matter of simple substitution.
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Choi to be modified as comprising micro-LEDs, in view of the teaching of Ahn, by virtue of such a modification amounting to a matter of simple substitution.
Choi in view of Ahn does not explicitly discloses the device wherein a luminance of the first hidden pixel is determined by replicating a pixel value of the first main pixel.
In the same field of endeavor, Baek’s display [0003] establishes a supplement pixel (Figure 2B: Comprising AP) with luminance data that is the weighted average of effective pixels (Comprising e.g. OP1…OP4; [0066]). This is among measures implemented to improve image sharpness [0031].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Choi to be modified wherein a luminance of the first hidden pixel is determined by replicating a pixel value of the first main pixel, in view of the teaching of Baek, to improve the sharpness of displayed images.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, KMB discloses the stretchable display device of claim 4.
The cited prior art fails to singularly or collectively disclose the device wherein, in the performing that the luminance of the first hidden pixel is equal to the luminance of the first main pixel, when a control signal for the first hidden pixel is generated, the control signal is applied from an anode of the first main pixel to an anode of the first hidden pixel.
Thus, claim 5 is objected to.
Regarding claim 12, KCB discloses the stretchable display device of claim 11.
The cited prior art fails to singularly or collectively disclose the device wherein, in the performing that the luminance of the second hidden pixel is equal to the average value or the weighted average value of the luminance of the plurality of second main pixels, a voltage is distributed by using a capacitor.
Thus, claim 12 is objected to.
Inquiries
/AARON MIDKIFF/
Examiner, Art Unit 2621
/AMR A AWAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2621
1 The reference numeral 100 is provided in Figure 1 for pixels’ driving circuits activated by a stretch sensitive sensor [0064], but no reference numeral for pixels and/or their driving circuits, driven before stretching the display. The reference numeral 101 will be used to identify pixels and/or their driving circuits, which comprise no stretch sensitive sensor.