DETAILED ACTION
The present application is being examined under the AIA first to invent provisions. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites “a rotational driving mechanism configured to rotate the stage in a first direction, the first direction being an axial direction” appears that it should recite - - a rotational driving mechanism configured to rotate the stage about a first direction, the first direction being an axial direction - - . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-10, 12, 14-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jun et al. (KR 20210095347 A; “Jun”) in view of KR 102570893 B1 (“KR ‘893”).
Regarding claim 1:
A shuttle comprising:
at least one collet (100; FIG. 9) configured to support at least one semiconductor chip (pg. 2, “a part of a semiconductor chip transfer apparatus that picks up and transfers a semiconductor chip cut from a wafer by direct contact with the chip is referred to as a collet”);
a stage (200) configured to detachably support the at least one collet (pg. 3, “The collet holder 200 is a configuration also referred to as a shank for fastening the magnetic collet 100, and the holder hole 220 is formed on the bottom surface (ie, the contact surface) 210 in contact with the magnetic collet 100 . do. In this case, the holder hole 220 is connected to a vacuum application pipe through which air is sucked to provide a vacuum suction force tothe semiconductor chip, and is exposed to the contact surface 210 of the collet holder 200. The collet holder 200 includes a configuration having a magnetic force (hereinafter, referred to as a ‘magnetic part’). Such a magnetic part may be implemented with magnets having various types and sizes. Accordingly, the magnetic collet 100 having the metal plate 120 is attached and coupled to the collet holder 200 by the magnetic force of the attraction acting between th emetal plate 120 and the magnetic part of the collet holder 200”); and
the at least one collet including, a support body (112) configured to support the at least one semiconductor chip, and a ferromagnetic body (120) on one side of the support body; and the stage including,
a stage body (at 210; FIG. 9) including at least one detachment surface (210) from which the at least one collet detaches, the detachment surface facing in a direction perpendicular about a first direction (FIG. 9 depicts the surface 210 as being flat and thus its outward facing direction is orthogonal its surface at 210).
Although Jun discloses using the stage to move i.e. transfer the semiconductor chip (pg. 3, “A semiconductor chip transfer apparatus according to an embodiment of the present invention is an apparatus for picking up and transferring a semiconductor chip cut from a wafer, and as shown in FIGS. 2 and 9”), it does not expressly disclose a rotational driving mechanism configured to rotate the stage in a first direction, the first direction being an axial direction.
KR ‘893 teaches a rotational driving mechanism (pg. 3-4, “Each of the gripper units 134 is provided on a side surface of the body part 132 and may be provided to be rotatable withrespect to the body part 132 . Each of the gripper units 134 has a pair of grippers 135 for fixing the collet 20 . As the gripper unit 134 rotates, the grippers135 may face in various directions. For example, as the gripper unit 134 rotates, the grippers 135 may face upward, downward, and sideways”) configured to rotate a stage (134) in/about a first direction, the first direction being an axial direction (FIG. 1 depicts rotational axis being along the longitudinal dimension/surface of the stage 134 i.e. lateral direction as viewed in FIG. 1) for the purpose of positioning the stage to attach to the collet (20) even if it is disposed in various directions (pg. 4, “Since the gripper unit 134 can rotate in the vertical direction, even if the collet 20 is disposed in various directions in the pickup unit 10, the collet 20 is effectively replaced using the gripper unit 134. can do.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, Jun to include a rotational driving mechanism configured to rotate the stage in a first direction, the first direction being an axial direction, as taught by KR ‘893, for the purpose of positioning the stage to attach to the collet (20) even if it is disposed in various directions.
Although Jun discloses at least one magnet on the stage body, the at least one magnet configured to attach to or detach from the ferromagnetic body (pg. 3, “The collet holder 200 includes a configuration having a magnetic force (hereinafter, referred to as a ‘magnetic part’). Such a magnetic part may be implemented with magnets having various types and sizes. Accordingly, the magnetic collet 100 having the metal plate 120 is attached and coupled to the collet holder 200 by the magnetic force of the attraction acting between the metal plate 120 and the magnetic part of the collet holder 200”), it does not expressly disclose the magnet being an electromagnet. In certain circumstances where appropriate, an examiner may take official notice of facts not in the record or rely on "common knowledge" in making a rejection. See MPEP § 2144.03. Official notice unsupported by documentary evidence should only be taken by the examiner where the facts asserted to be well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known. In re Ahlert, 424 F.2d 1088, 1091, 165 USPQ 418, 420 (CCPA 1970). Here, the Examiner takes official notice providing a magnet as an electromagnet is instantly and unquestionably well-known and common knowledge in the art. As such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, Jun such that its magnet is an electromagnet as it is instantly and unquestionably well-known and common knowledge in the art.
Jun as modified above further teaches the following:
Regarding claim 2:
The shuttle of claim 1, wherein the stage body further includes: a plurality of side surfaces (FIG. 9 depicts the stage 200 having an octagonal peripheral shape; see MPEP § 2125), the plurality of side surfaces arranged in a polygonal columnar shape (FIG. 9 depicts the stage 200 having an octagonal peripheral shape; also the side surfaces e.g. the front most side has rectangular outline; see MPEP § 2125) having a longitudinal direction parallel to the first direction (FIG. 9 rectangular outline is perpendicular to axial direction at the dashed line); and at least one side surface (210) of the plurality of side surfaces is the at least one detachment surface (210).
Regarding claim 4:
The shuttle of claim 1, wherein the stage further includes: at least one guide region (FIG. 9 depicts/discloses six raised portions/guide regions; see MPEP § 2125) including at least one guide slope surface (FIG. 9 reasonably depicts/discloses the guide regions, e.g. see the left-most guide region, having a chamfered edge i.e. slope; see MPEP § 2125) that surrounds an attachment area of the detachment surface (six protrusions with chamfers surrounding the attachment surface), and the at least one guide slope surface is inclined from a top surface of the stage body to the attachment area (FIG. 9 reasonably depicts/discloses the guide regions, e.g. see the left-most guide region, having a chamfered edge i.e. slope; see MPEP § 2125).
Regarding claim 5:
The shuttle of claim 4, wherein an exterior surface of the stage body includes the attachment area (at 210 in FIG. 9) and a peripheral area (outer side surfaces running parallel with the axial direction; depicted in FIG. 9; see MPEP § 2125); the peripheral area is on the exterior surface and the attachment area is recessed into the stage body (depicted in FIG. 9; depicted in FIG. 9; see MPEP § 2125); and the guide slope surface is between the attachment area and the peripheral area (depicted in FIG. 9; depicted in FIG. 9; see MPEP § 2125).
Regarding claim 6:
The shuttle of claim 4, wherein the guide region protrudes out of the stage body away from the detachment surface (depicted in FIG. 9; see MPEP § 2125)
Regarding claim 7, Jun as modified above teaches all the limitations, see rejection to claim 1 above, but does not expressly disclose a standby apparatus configured to store the at least one collet prior to the at least one collet being attached to the stage.
KR ‘893 teaches a standby apparatus (110) configured to store the at least one collet prior to the at least one collet being attached to the stage (depicted in FIG. 4) as the storage source from which the semiconductor chips are stacked and to be transferred (pg. 3, “The robot 130 separates the collet 20 from the pick-up head 30, delivers it to the collet collection unit 120, transfers the collet20 from the collet receiving unit 110, and picks up the collet 20. It can be mounted on the head 30.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, Jun to include a standby apparatus configured to store the at least one collet prior to the at least one collet being attached to the stage.
Jun as modified above further teaches the following:
Regarding claim 8:
The chip transfer apparatus of claim 7, wherein the at least one collet is a plurality of collets (FIG. 4 in KR ‘893 reasonably depicts/discloses a plurality of collets stacked within the standby apparatus; see MPEP § 2125);
the standby apparatus is configured to store at least one standby container (112 in KR ‘893), the at least one standby container including a cavity and an open upper surface (depicted in FIG. 4 in KR ‘893), the cavity configured to store the plurality of collets in a stacked manner (depicted in FIG. 4 in KR ‘893); and the electromagnet is configured to be turned on in response to the stage body being positioned at an attachment position (see rejection to claim 1 above, it follows that electromagnet would be ON in order to produce magnetic element as required in Jun), and the attachment position being a position at which the stage body is positioned above the standby container and the detachment surface faces the upper surface of the standby container (pg. 3 in KR ‘893, “The robot 130 moves in the horizontal direction to a position where the collet 20 is replaced, and then separates the collet 20from the pickup head 30 or moves up and down in the vertical direction. 20) may be mounted on the pickup head 30. In addition, the robot 130 moves along the horizontal direction to the upper side of the collet collecting part 120 and the collet receiving part 110, and then lifts and lowers the replaced collet 20 along the vertical direction. The collet 20 is delivered to the collet collecting unit 120 or the collet 20 is delivered from the collet receiving unit 110”).
Regarding claim 9:
The chip transfer apparatus of claim 8, further comprising: the standby apparatus is configured to store a plurality of collection containers (depicted in FIG. 4 in KR ‘893); each of the plurality of collection container includes a cavity and an open surface (depicted in FIG. 4 in KR ‘893), the cavity configured to receive the at least one collet that are detached from the detachment surface (pg. 3 in KR ‘893, supra); the electromagnet is configured to be turned off in response to the stage body being positioned at a separation position (see rejection to claim 1 above, it follows that electromagnet would be or is instantly and unquestionably well-known and common knowledge in the art that the electromagnet be turned OFF in order to remove the collet from the magnetic element as required in Jun); and the separation position is a position in which the stage body is positioned above the collection container and the collet that detaches from the detachment surface falls to the upper surface of the collection container (pg. 3 in KR ‘893, “The robot 130 moves in the horizontal direction to a position where the collet 20 is replaced, and then separates the collet 20from the pickup head 30 or moves up and down in the vertical direction. 20) may be mounted on the pickup head 30. In addition, the robot 130 moves along the horizontal direction to the upper side of the collet collecting part 120 and the collet receiving part 110, and then lifts and lowers the replaced collet 20 along the vertical direction. The collet 20 is delivered to the collet collecting unit 120 or the collet 20 is delivered from the collet receiving unit 110”).
Regarding claim 10:
The chip transfer apparatus of claim 9, wherein the stage body further includes: a plurality of side surfaces (FIG. 9 depicts the stage 200 having an octagonal peripheral shape; see MPEP § 2125), the plurality of side surfaces arranged in a polygonal columnar shape (FIG. 9 depicts the stage 200 having an octagonal peripheral shape; also the side surfaces e.g. the front most side has rectangular outline; see MPEP § 2125) having a longitudinal direction parallel to the first direction (FIG. 9 rectangular outline is perpendicular to axial direction at the dashed line); and at least one side surface (210) of the plurality of side surfaces is the at least one detachment surface (210).
Regarding claim 12:
The chip transfer apparatus of claim 7, wherein the standby apparatus further includes: a collet lifting device (114, 116 in KR ‘893) configured to raise a collet remaining in the at least one standby container as high as a height of the collet in response to a highest one of the collets stored in the at least one standby container being removed from the at least one standby container (depicted in FIG. 4 in KR ‘893, also pg. 3, “The driving part 116 is connected to the support part 114 and moves the support part 114 up and down. For example, thedriving part 116 may be disposed below the support part 114 . The drive unit 116 may include a rotary motor and a ball screwfor converting rotational motion of the rotary motor into linear motion, or may include a linear motor or cylinder.”)_.
Regarding claim 14:
The chip transfer apparatus of claim 7, wherein the stage further includes: at least one guide region (FIG. 9 depicts/discloses six raised portions/guide regions; see MPEP § 2125) including at least one guide slope surface (FIG. 9 reasonably depicts/discloses the guide regions, e.g. see the left-most guide region, having a chamfered edge i.e. slope; see MPEP § 2125) that surrounds an attachment area of the detachment surface (six protrusions with chamfers surrounding the attachment surface), and the at least one guide slope surface is inclined from a top surface of the stage body to the attachment area (FIG. 9 reasonably depicts/discloses the guide regions, e.g. see the left-most guide region, having a chamfered edge i.e. slope; see MPEP § 2125).
Regarding claim 15:
A chip transfer apparatus (FIG. 4), comprising: a shuttle configured to store at least one collet (100), the collet configured to support at least one semiconductor chip (pg. 2, “a part of a semiconductor chip transfer apparatus that picks up and transfers a semiconductor chip cut from a wafer by direct contact with the chip is referred to as a collet”);
a stage (200) configured to detachably support the at least one collet (pg. 3, “The collet holder 200 is a configuration also referred to as a shank for fastening the magnetic collet 100, and the holder hole 220 is formed on the bottom surface (ie, the contact surface) 210 in contact with the magnetic collet 100 . do. In this case, the holder hole 220 is connected to a vacuum application pipe through which air is sucked to provide a vacuum suction force tothe semiconductor chip, and is exposed to the contact surface 210 of the collet holder 200. The collet holder 200 includes a configuration having a magnetic force (hereinafter, referred to as a ‘magnetic part’). Such a magnetic part may be implemented with magnets having various types and sizes. Accordingly, the magnetic collet 100 having the metal plate 120 is attached and coupled to the collet holder 200 by the magnetic force of the attraction acting between th emetal plate 120 and the magnetic part of the collet holder 200”); and
the at least one collet including, a support body (112) configured to support the at least one semiconductor chip, and a ferromagnetic body (120) on one side of the support body; and the stage including,
a stage body (at 210; FIG. 9) including at least one detachment surface (210) from which the at least one collet detaches, the detachment surface facing in a direction perpendicular about a first direction (FIG. 9 depicts the surface 210 as being flat and thus its outward facing direction is orthogonal its surface at 210).
Although Jun discloses using the stage to move i.e. transfer the semiconductor chip (pg. 3, “A semiconductor chip transfer apparatus according to an embodiment of the present invention is an apparatus for picking up and transferring a semiconductor chip cut from a wafer, and as shown in FIGS. 2 and 9”), it does not expressly disclose a rotational driving mechanism configured to rotate the stage in a first direction, the first direction being an axial direction.
KR ‘893 teaches a rotational driving mechanism (pg. 3-4, “Each of the gripper units 134 is provided on a side surface of the body part 132 and may be provided to be rotatable withrespect to the body part 132 . Each of the gripper units 134 has a pair of grippers 135 for fixing the collet 20 . As the gripper unit 134 rotates, the grippers135 may face in various directions. For example, as the gripper unit 134 rotates, the grippers 135 may face upward, downward, and sideways”) configured to rotate a stage (134) in/about a first direction, the first direction being an axial direction (FIG. 1 depicts rotational axis being along the longitudinal dimension/surface of the stage 134 i.e. lateral direction as viewed in FIG. 1) for the purpose of positioning the stage to attach to the collet (20) even if it is disposed in various directions (pg. 4, “Since the gripper unit 134 can rotate in the vertical direction, even if the collet 20 is disposed in various directions in the pickup unit 10, the collet 20 is effectively replaced using the gripper unit 134. can do.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, Jun to include a rotational driving mechanism configured to rotate the stage in a first direction, the first direction being an axial direction, as taught by KR ‘893, for the purpose of positioning the stage to attach to the collet (20) even if it is disposed in various directions.
Although Jun discloses at least one magnet on the stage body, the at least one magnet configured to attach to or detach from the ferromagnetic body (pg. 3, “The collet holder 200 includes a configuration having a magnetic force (hereinafter, referred to as a ‘magnetic part’). Such a magnetic part may be implemented with magnets having various types and sizes. Accordingly, the magnetic collet 100 having the metal plate 120 is attached and coupled to the collet holder 200 by the magnetic force of the attraction acting between the metal plate 120 and the magnetic part of the collet holder 200”), it does not expressly disclose the magnet being an electromagnet. In certain circumstances where appropriate, an examiner may take official notice of facts not in the record or rely on "common knowledge" in making a rejection. See MPEP § 2144.03. Official notice unsupported by documentary evidence should only be taken by the examiner where the facts asserted to be well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known. In re Ahlert, 424 F.2d 1088, 1091, 165 USPQ 418, 420 (CCPA 1970). Here, the Examiner takes official notice providing a magnet as an electromagnet is instantly and unquestionably well-known and common knowledge in the art. As such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, Jun such that its magnet is an electromagnet as it is instantly and unquestionably well-known and common knowledge in the art.
Jun as modified above further teaches the following:
Regarding claim 16:
The chip transfer apparatus of claim 15, wherein the collection container includes an open upper surface and a cavity (depicted in FIG. 4 in KR ‘893), the cavity configured to receive a collet that is removed from the detachment surface (pg. 3 in KR ‘893, “The robot 130 moves in the horizontal direction to a position where the collet 20 is replaced, and then separates the collet 20from the pickup head 30 or moves up and down in the vertical direction. 20) may be mounted on the pickup head 30. In addition, the robot 130 moves along the horizontal direction to the upper side of the collet collecting part 120 and the collet receiving part 110, and then lifts and lowers the replaced collet 20 along the vertical direction. The collet 20 is delivered to the collet collecting unit 120 or the collet 20 is delivered from the collet receiving unit 110”); the electromagnet is configured to be turned off in response to the stage body being positioned at a separation position (see rejection to claim 1 above, it follows that electromagnet would be or is instantly and unquestionably well-known and common knowledge in the art that the electromagnet be turned OFF in order to remove the collet from the magnetic element as required in Jun); and the separation position is a position at which the stage body is positioned above the collection container and the detachment surface faces the upper surface of the collection container (pg. 3, supra).
Regarding claim 17:
The chip transfer apparatus of claim 15, wherein the stage body further includes: a plurality of side surfaces (FIG. 9 depicts the stage 200 having an octagonal peripheral shape; see MPEP § 2125), the plurality of side surfaces arranged in a polygonal columnar shape (FIG. 9 depicts the stage 200 having an octagonal peripheral shape; also the side surfaces e.g. the front most side has rectangular outline; see MPEP § 2125) having a longitudinal direction parallel to the first direction (FIG. 9 rectangular outline is perpendicular to axial direction at the dashed line); and at least one side surface (210) of the plurality of side surfaces is the at least one detachment surface (210).
Regarding claim 18:
The chip transfer apparatus of claim 17, wherein the stage body includes four or more surfaces (depicted in FIG. 9), the collection container includes an open upper surface and a cavity (depicted in FIG. 4 in KR ‘893), the cavity configured to receive the at least one collet that are detached from the detachment surface (pg. 3 in KR ‘893, supra); the electromagnet is configured to be turned off in response to the stage body being positioned at a separation position (see rejection to claim 1 above, it follows that electromagnet would be or is instantly and unquestionably well-known and common knowledge in the art that the electromagnet be turned OFF in order to remove the collet from the magnetic element as required in Jun); and the separation position is a position in which the stage body is positioned above the collection container and the collet that detaches from the detachment surface falls to the upper surface of the collection container (pg. 3 in KR ‘893, “The robot 130 moves in the horizontal direction to a position where the collet 20 is replaced, and then separates the collet 20from the pickup head 30 or moves up and down in the vertical direction. 20) may be mounted on the pickup head 30. In addition, the robot 130 moves along the horizontal direction to the upper side of the collet collecting part 120 and the collet receiving part 110, and then lifts and lowers the replaced collet 20 along the vertical direction. The collet 20 is delivered to the collet collecting unit 120 or the collet 20 is delivered from the collet receiving unit 110”).
Regarding claim 20:
The chip transfer apparatus of claim 15, wherein the stage further includes: a guide region including at least one guide slope surface that surrounds an attachment area of the detachment surface, and the at least one guide slope surface is inclined toward an interior of the stage body and the attachment area.
wherein the stage further includes: at least one guide region (FIG. 9 depicts/discloses six raised portions/guide regions; see MPEP § 2125) including at least one guide slope surface (FIG. 9 reasonably depicts/discloses the guide regions, e.g. see the left-most guide region, having a chamfered edge i.e. slope; see MPEP § 2125) that surrounds an attachment area of the detachment surface (six protrusions with chamfers surrounding the attachment surface), and the at least one guide slope surface is inclined toward an interior of the stage body and the attachment area (FIG. 9 reasonably depicts/discloses the guide regions, e.g. see the left-most guide region, having a chamfered edge i.e. slope directed inward; see MPEP § 2125).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 11, 13, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/DANIEL D YABUT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656