Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 7, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 2, the flag plt_combined_ibc_sample_flag has several functions and values. The Examiner is unclear on the following:
Is the value of the flag conditioned or not and how the value of said flag is determined? There is a limitation in which the value of the flag is conditioned (equals 1) to when a sample belongs to the second portion of the video block. There is also a limitation in which the flag is assigned a value of 1 (no condition required) “wherein the value of the plt_combined_ibc_sample_flag of the video block is equal to one”. Finally, in the limitation “wherein the plt_combined_ibc_sample_flag of the video block is based on values of flags, also denoted by the plt_combined_ibc_sample_flag, of neighboring samples of the video block” the Examiner understands the value of the flag is also the value of other flags.
Claim 19 presents similar limitations as the limitations of claim 2 and the same analysis an unclearness is present to claim 19.
In claim 7, different criteria/options to use the palette mode on a current chroma sub-block are recited. The Examiner is unclear on how all these criteria are applied. Is the palette mode used when all the criteria/options are met? (when the current chroma sub-block in not coded in the IBC mode and when a collocated luma block of the current chroma sub-block is not coded in the IBC mode and when an IBC prediction block of the current chroma sub-block is not reconstructed) or are they meant to be alternatives?
Claim 18 is directed to an apparatus for processing video data. However, the components/elements that make up said apparatus are not positively recited in the body of the claim. The Examiner notes the preamble of the claim contains a processor and a non-transitory memory. The processor and the non-transitory memory need to be in the body of the claim in order to overcome the rejection.
Claim 20 recites “A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a bitstream of a video which is generated by a method performed by a video processing apparatus, wherein the method comprises:”. Claim 20 is directed to a non-transitory medium storing a bitstream of video wherein clauses that appear to describe how the bitstream was generated. These elements or steps are not performed by an intended computer, and the bitstream is not a form of programming that causes functions to be performed by an intended computer. This shows that the computer-readable medium merely serves as support for storing the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the steps/elements that describe the generation of the bitstream and intended computer system. Therefore, those claim elements are not given patentable weight. Patentable weight is given to data stored on a computer-readable medium when there exists a functional relationship between the data and its associated substrate. See MPEP 2111.05 III. For example, is a claim is drawn to a computer-readable medium containing programming, a functional relationship exists if the programming “performs some function with respect to the computer with which it is associated.” However, if the claim recites that the computer-readable medium merely serves as a storage for information or data that is not meant for being executed, no functional relationship exists and the information or data is not given patentable weight. The Examiner suggests that the claim be amended so that it is directed to a functional relationship. For example, in this particular case, the claim could instead be recited as “A method of storing a bitstream of a video into a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium, wherein the bitstream is generated by a method performed by a video processing apparatus, wherein the method comprises:”
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 18, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9, and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,244,811. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown below:
Application 19/062,237
Patent No. 12,244,811
Claim 1: A method for processing video data, comprising:
determining, for a conversion between a video block of the video data and a bitstream of the video block, that a palette mode is to be used for processing a first portion of the video block and an intra block copy (IBC) mode is to be used for processing a second portion of the video block, wherein, in the palette mode, samples of the first portion of the video block are coded according to a set of representative color values included in a predefined palette and wherein, in the IBC mode, samples of the second portion of the video block are predicted from adjacent pixels from neighboring, previously-decoded video blocks using motion information; and
performing, during the conversion, further processing of the first portion of the video block using the palette mode and further processing of the second portion of the video block based on a prediction block derived using the IBC mode, wherein indications of the first portion of the video block processed using the palette mode and indications of the second portion of the video block processed using the IBC mode are included in a palette index map that identifies the first portion of the video block and the second portion of the video block.
Claim 1: A method for processing video data, comprising:
determining, for a conversion between a video block of the video data and a bitstream of the video block, that palette mode is to be used for processing a first portion of the video block and intra block copy (IBC) mode is to be used for processing a second portion of the video block, wherein, in the palette mode, samples of the first portion of the video block are coded according to a set of representative color values included in a predefined palette and wherein, in the IBC mode, samples of the second portion of the video block are predicted from adjacent pixels from neighboring, previously-decoded video blocks using motion information; and
performing, during the conversion, further processing of the first portion of the video block using the palette mode and further processing of the second portion of the video block based on a prediction block derived using the IBC mode, wherein the further processing of the second portion of the video block includes reconstructing samples of the second portion of the video block by copying collocated samples derived using the IBC mode,
wherein indications of the first portion of the video block processed using the palette mode and indications of the second portion of the video block processed using the IBC mode are included in a palette index map that identifies the first portion of the video block and the second portion of the video block,
wherein a palette index included in the palette index map indicates whether a sample belongs to the first portion of the video block or the second portion of the video block, and
wherein the first portion of the video block includes escape pixels, and wherein, for the escape pixels, residuals are obtained from computing differences between the samples of the first portion of the video block and collocated prediction samples using the IBC mode or an intra mode.
Claim 18: An apparatus for processing video data comprising a processor and a non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to:
determine, for a conversion between a video block of the video data and a bitstream of the video block, that a palette mode is to be used for processing a first portion of the video block and an intra block copy (IBC)
mode is to be used for processing a second portion of the video block, wherein, in the palette mode, samples of the first portion of the video block are coded according to a set of representative color values included in a predefined palette and wherein, in the IBC mode, samples of the second portion of the video block are predicted from adjacent pixels from neighboring, previously-decoded video blocks using motion information; and
perform, during the conversion, further processing of the first portion of the video block using the palette
mode and further processing of the second portion of the video block based on a prediction block derived using the IBC mode, wherein indications of the first portion of the video block processed using the palette mode and indications of the second portion of the video block processed using the IBC mode are included in a palette index map that identifies the first portion of the video block and the second portion of the video block.
Claim 9: An apparatus for processing video data, wherein the apparatus comprises:
a processor; and
a non-transitory memory with instructions stored thereon, wherein the instructions, upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to:
determine, for a conversion between a video block of the video data and a bitstream of the video block, that palette mode is to be used for processing a first portion of the video block and intra block copy (IBC) mode is to be used for processing a second portion of the video block, wherein, in the palette mode, samples of the first portion of the video block are coded according to a set of representative color values included in a predefined palette and wherein, in the IBC mode, samples of the second portion of the video block are predicted from adjacent pixels from neighboring, previously-decoded video blocks using motion information; and
perform, during the conversion, further processing of the first portion of the video block using the palette mode and further processing of the second portion of the video block based on a prediction block derived using the IBC mode, wherein the performing of the further processing of the second portion of the video block includes reconstructing samples of the second portion of the video block by copying collocated samples derived using the IBC mode,
wherein indications of the first portion of the video block processed using the palette mode and indications of the second portion of the video block processed using the IBC mode are included in a palette index map that identifies the first portion of the video block and the second portion of the video block,
wherein a palette index included in the palette index map indicates whether a sample belongs to the first portion of the video block or the second portion of the video block, and
wherein the first portion of the video block includes escape pixels, and wherein, for the escape pixels, residuals are obtained from computing differences between the samples of the first portion of the video block and collocated prediction samples using the IBC mode or an intra mode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pu et al. (US 2015/0365671) in view of Sun et al. (“CE8: Palette mode and intra mode combination (Test 8.2.2)”, Joint Video Experts Team (JVET) of ITU-T SG 16 WP 3 and ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG 11; 13the Meeting: Marrakech, MA, 9-18 Jan. 2019; Document: JVET-M0051) further in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2017/0099495).
Regarding claim 1 Pu discloses a method for processing video data, comprising:
determining, for a conversion between a video block of the video data and a bitstream of the video block, that a palette mode is to be used for processing a first portion of the video block and an intra block copy (IBC) mode is to be used for processing a second portion of the video block (first block 170 of Figure 4 is coded using the palette coding mode and the second block 172 is coded using the intra block copy (IntraBC) coding mode – [0081]; it is further disclosed that first block 170 and second block 172 may be a prediction unit (PU) or a transform unit (TU) – [0051]; a person with ordinary skill in the art of video coding would know a PU and/or TU are portions of a video block), wherein, in the palette mode, samples of the first portion of the video block are coded according to a set of representative color values included in a predefined palette (first block 170 of Figure 4 is coded using the palette coding mode – [0081]; it is further disclosed that first block 170 and second block 172 may be a prediction unit (PU) or a transform unit (TU) – [0051]; a person with ordinary skill in the art of video coding would know a PU and/or TU are portions of a video block; it is further noted, in the video coding standard, when the palette mode is used the samples of a block are coded according to a set of representative color values included in a predefined palette); and
performing, during the conversion, further processing of the first portion of the video block using the palette mode and further processing of the second portion of the video block based on a prediction block derived using the IBC mode (Figures 2 and 3 respectively show video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 which perform further video encoding/decoding related processing to the data in the palette mode and to the prediction block obtained).
However, fails to explicitly disclose wherein, in the IBC mode, samples of the second portion of the video block are predicted from adjacent pixels from neighboring, previously-decoded video blocks using motion information; and wherein indications of the first portion of the video block processed using the palette mode and indications of the second portion of the video block processed using the IBC mode are included in a palette index map that identifies the first portion of the video block and the second portion of the video block.
In his disclosure Sun teaches wherein indications of the first portion of the video block processed using the palette mode and indications of the second portion of the video block processed using the IBC mode are included in a palette index map that identifies the first portion of the video block and the second portion of the video block (Figure 3 shows a palette index map in which pixels marked as “P” are reconstructed by pixel values in the intra prediction block and pixels marked as “C0” and “C1” are reconstructed by palette colors; it is noted IBC mode is an intra prediction mode).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Sun into the teachings of Pu because such incorporation improves the encoding and decoding time (abstract).
However, fails to explicitly disclose wherein, in the IBC mode, samples of the second portion of the video block are predicted from adjacent pixels from neighboring, previously-decoded video blocks using motion information.
In his disclosure Rapaka teaches wherein, in the IBC mode, samples of the second portion of the video block are predicted from adjacent pixels from neighboring, previously-decoded video blocks using motion information (Figure 2 shows a current CU/PU being predicted from an already decoded block of the current picture/slice during the IBC process – [0073]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Rapaka into the teachings of Pu because a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp in the video coding field.
Regarding claim 2 Pu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein indications identifying the first portion of the video block and the second portion of the video block are signaled as a flag, denoted by plt_combined_ibc_sample_flag, of the video block,
wherein a value of the plt_combined_ibc_sample_flag equals one when a sample belongs to the second portion of the video block, wherein the plt_combined_ibc_sample_flag of the video block is based on values of flags, also denoted by the plt_combined_ibc_sample_flag, of neighboring samples of the video block, wherein the plt_combined_ibc_sample_flag of the video block is inferred to be zero when the neighboring samples of the video block are non-existent, wherein the neighboring samples of the video block include a spatially left neighboring sample of the video block and a spatially above neighboring sample of the video block, and wherein the value of the plt_combined_ibc_sample_flag of the video block is equal to one, and wherein the spatially left neighboring sample of the video block and the spatially above neighboring sample of the video block both have flags, also denoted by the plt_combined_ibc_sample_flag, that are equal to one (“PLT_Mode_flag” or “palette_mode_flag,” may be transmitted to indicate whether a palette-based coding mode is to be used for a current CU (or a PU in other examples). In one example, a value of the syntax element palette_mode_flag may specify that the current CU is encoded using the palette-based coding mode or that the current CU is encoded using a mode other than the palette-based coding mode. For example, any of a variety of inter-predictive, intra-predictive, or other coding modes may be used to decode the current CU. The use of the palette_mode_flag is described for purposes of example. In other examples, other syntax elements such as multi-bit codes may be used to indicate whether the palette-based, inter-predictive, intra-predictor, or another coding mode is to be used for a CU (or PU in other examples); In some examples, the syntax element indicating the palette-based coding mode may be signaled at the CU-level in an encoded bitstream, and then received by a video decoder upon decoding the encoded bitstream. In other examples, the syntax element may be transmitted at a higher level than the CU-level. For example, a flag indicating the palette-based coding mode may be transmitted at slice-level to indicate whether all of the CUs in the slice are to be encoded using the palette-based coding mode. In other examples, a flag indicating the palette-based coding mode may be signaled at a picture parameter set (PPS), sequence parameter set (SPS) or video parameter set (VPS) level; In additional examples, a syntax element may be transmitted at one of the higher levels, e.g., SPS, VPS, PPS or slice level, specifying whether the palette-based coding mode is enabled for a particular video sequence, picture or slice, while the palette_mode_flag indicates whether the palette-based coding mode is used for each CU. In one example, if a flag or other syntax element sent at the SPS, VPS, PPS or slice level indicates that the palette-based coding mode is disabled, there may be no need to additionally signal the palette_mode_flag for each CU. Again, as mentioned above, application of these techniques for indicating the palette-based coding mode for a current CU may additionally or alternatively be used to indicate the palette-based coding mode for a PU – [0034-0036]).
Regarding claim 3 Pu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the samples of the second portion of the video block are added as new entries on a palette predictor, wherein the palette predictor maintains a list of samples that make use of the palette, or wherein the samples of the second portion of the video block are used to replace existing entries in the palette predictor, wherein the palette predictor maintains the list of samples that make use of the palette, or wherein the samples of the second portion of the video block are added as new entries in the palette predictor, wherein the palette predictor maintains the list of samples that make use of the palette, and wherein, after addition, the list of samples in the palette predictor is reordered (the predictor palette may be the palette of the left neighboring CU or the top neighboring CU. The predictor palette may also be a combination of palettes of two or more neighboring CUs. For example, one or more formulas, functions, rules or the like may be applied to generate the predictor palette based on palettes of two or more of a plurality of neighboring CUs. It is also possible that a candidate list may be constructed, and one or more indexes may be transmitted to indicate one or more candidate CUs from which the palette of the current CU is to be at least partially copied – [0040]).
Regarding claim 7 Pu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first portion of the video block and/or the second portion of the video block correspond to a sub-block (first block 170 of Figure 4 is coded using the palette coding mode and the second block 172 is coded using the intra block copy (IntraBC) coding mode – [0081]; it is further disclosed that first block 170 and second block 172 may be a prediction unit (PU) or a transform unit (TU) – [0051]; a person with ordinary skill in the art of video coding would know a PU and/or TU are sub-blocks), the method further comprises: selectively enabling or disabling the palette mode and/or the IBC mode to be used on the sub-block (“PLT_Mode_flag” or “palette_mode_flag,” may be transmitted to indicate whether a palette-based coding mode is to be used for a current CU (or a PU in other examples). In one example, a value of the syntax element palette_mode_flag may specify that the current CU is encoded using the palette-based coding mode or that the current CU is encoded using a mode other than the palette-based coding mode. For example, any of a variety of inter-predictive, intra-predictive, or other coding modes – [0034]),
wherein the sub-block is a 4x4 luma block or a 2x2 chroma block (Figure 4 shows 4x4 sub-blocks),
wherein the selectively enabling of the IBC mode for the sub-block includes copying a collocated sample in IBC prediction and the selectively disabling of the IBC mode for the sub-block includes reconstructing the sub-block using palette colors (“PLT_Mode_flag” or “palette_mode_flag,” may be transmitted to indicate whether a palette-based coding mode is to be used for a current CU (or a PU in other examples). In one example, a value of the syntax element palette_mode_flag may specify that the current CU is encoded using the palette-based coding mode or that the current CU is encoded using a mode other than the palette-based coding mode. For example, any of a variety of inter-predictive, intra-predictive, or other coding modes – [0034]; second block 172 is coded using the intra block copy (IntraBC) coding mode – [0081]),
wherein indications of usage of the palette mode and/or the IBC mode are signaled at a sub-block level, wherein a flag associated with the sub-block is included in the bitstream to indicate whether the sub-block is coded in the palette mode or in the IBC mode (the syntax element indicating the palette-based coding mode may be signaled at the CU-level in an encoded bitstream – [0035]),
wherein a flag associated with the video block is included in the bitstream to indicate whether the video block is coded in the palette mode or in the IBC mode, selectively enabling or disabling the palette mode and/or the IBC mode to be used on a first color component of the sub-block is based on information from a second color component of the sub-block (the syntax element indicating the palette-based coding mode may be signaled at the CU-level in an encoded bitstream – [0035]; a syntax element or flag indicating the palette-based coding mode may also or alternatively be conditionally transmitted or inferred based on side information. The side information used as conditions for transmitting or inferring the syntax element – [0037]), and
wherein a size of the sub-block is based on one or more of the following: a dimension of the video block, a quantization parameter of the video block, a palette index, one or more IBC flags of neighboring blocks of the video block, a color format of the video block, a coding tree structure of the sub-block, a slice, group, or picture type of the sub-block (a CTU is not necessarily limited to a particular size and may include one or more coding units (CUs) – [0132]; it is noted a person with ordinary skill in the art, would know a size of a sub-block would be based on the size of a video block).
However, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the IBC mode is used prior to the palette mode, wherein the palette mode is used on a current chroma sub-block when the current chroma sub-block is not coded in the IBC mode, wherein the palette mode is used on a current chroma sub-block when a collocated luma block of the current chroma sub-block is not coded in the IBC mode, wherein the palette mode is used on a current chroma sub-block when an IBC prediction block of the current chroma sub-block is not reconstructed, wherein the selectively enabling or disabling is based, at least in part, on a prediction mode of a collocated luma block of the sub-block.
In his disclosure Sun teaches wherein the IBC mode is used prior to the palette mode, wherein the palette mode is used on a current chroma sub-block when the current chroma sub-block is not coded in the IBC mode (deriving prediction block based on the intra prediction methods then, decoding a palette and an index map – p.2, Description of techniques), wherein the palette mode is used on a current chroma sub-block when a collocated luma block of the current chroma sub-block is not coded in the IBC mode, wherein the palette mode is used on a current chroma sub-block when an IBC prediction block of the current chroma sub-block is not reconstructed, wherein the selectively enabling or disabling is based, at least in part, on a prediction mode of a collocated luma block of the sub-block (deriving prediction block based on the intra prediction methods then, decoding a palette and an index map – p.2, Description of techniques).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Sun into the teachings of Pu because such incorporation improves the encoding and decoding time (abstract).
Regarding claim 16 Pu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes encoding the video block into the bitstream (Figure 1 shows Video Encoder 20 which encodes the bitstream received from Video Source 18).
Regarding claim 17 Pu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes decoding the video block from the bitstream (Figure 1 shows Video Decoder 30 which decodes the bitstream received from Input Interface 28).
Claim 18 corresponds to the apparatus that performs the method of claim 1. Therefore, claim 18 is being rejected on the same basis as claim 1.
Claim 19 corresponds to the apparatus that performs the method of claim 2. Therefore, claim 19 is being rejected on the same basis as claim 2.
Claim 20 is being rejected on the same basis as claim 1.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pu et al. (US 2015/0365671) in view of Sun et al. (“CE8: Palette mode and intra mode combination (Test 8.2.2)”, Joint Video Experts Team (JVET) of ITU-T SG 16 WP 3 and ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG 11; 13the Meeting: Marrakech, MA, 9-18 Jan. 2019; Document: JVET-M0051) further in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2017/0099495) further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2019/0246143).
Regarding claim 4 Pu discloses the method of claim 1. Pu discloses the second portion of the video block is processed using the IBC mode (refer to rejection of claim 1).
However, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the IBC mode is based at least in part on motion information derived from (i) an IBC merge mode or (ii) an IBC advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP) mode, wherein, in the IBC merge mode, an index pointing to an entry in an IBC merge candidate list is parsed from the bitstream associated with the conversion of the video block, and wherein, in the IBC AMVP mode, an index pointing to an IBC AMVP list is parsed from the bitstream associated with the conversion of the video block, wherein a height of the video block and/or a width of the video block exceed a threshold value, wherein the threshold value is based at least on one or more of: a dimension of the video block, a quantization parameter of the video block, a color format of the video block, a coding tree structure of the video block, a picture, group, or slice type of the video block, or a parameter included in the bitstream associated with the conversion of the video block, and wherein the video block is processed only using the prediction block derived using the IBC merge mode, or wherein the second portion of the video block is processed only using the prediction block derived using the IBC AMVP mode, or wherein the second portion of the video block is processed using the prediction block derived by a motion candidate in a history-based motion vector prediction (HMVP) table.
In his disclosure Zhang teaches wherein the IBC mode is based at least in part on motion information derived from (i) an IBC merge mode or (ii) an IBC advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP) mode, wherein, in the IBC merge mode, an index pointing to an entry in an IBC merge candidate list is parsed from the bitstream associated with the conversion of the video block, and wherein, in the IBC AMVP mode, an index pointing to an IBC AMVP list is parsed from the bitstream associated with the conversion of the video block (for the merge mode, if the decoded merge index indicates the usage of IBC mode, only motion information belonging to the third category from neighboring blocks may be added to the merge candidate list – [0192]), wherein a height of the video block and/or a width of the video block exceed a threshold value, wherein the threshold value is based at least on one or more of: a dimension of the video block, a quantization parameter of the video block, a color format of the video block, a coding tree structure of the video block, a picture, group, or slice type of the video block, or a parameter included in the bitstream associated with the conversion of the video block, and wherein the video block is processed only using the prediction block derived using the IBC merge mode, or wherein the second portion of the video block is processed only using the prediction block derived using the IBC AMVP mode, or wherein the second portion of the video block is processed using the prediction block derived by a motion candidate in a history-based motion vector prediction (HMVP) table (size of CTU is based on a size exceeding a set size – [0127, 0131]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Zhang into the teachings of Pu because such incorporation may reduce signaling bandwidth that would otherwise be needed if block vectors for the chroma blocks needed to be explicitly signaled (par. 8).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pu et al. (US 2015/0365671) in view of Sun et al. (“CE8: Palette mode and intra mode combination (Test 8.2.2)”, Joint Video Experts Team (JVET) of ITU-T SG 16 WP 3 and ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG 11; 13the Meeting: Marrakech, MA, 9-18 Jan. 2019; Document: JVET-M0051) further in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2017/0099495) further in view of Pu et al. (US 2016/0057447, hereinafter “Pu2”).
Regarding claim 6 Pu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the indications of the second portion of the video block processed using the IBC mode are based on one or more of: a dimension of the video block, a quantization parameter of the video block, a color format of the video block, a coding tree structure of the video block, or a picture, group, or slice type of the video block (Pu discloses it is known in the art to indicate a prediction mode based on side information such as the size of a current CU, a frame type, a color space, a color component, a frame size, a frame rate, a layer ID in scalable video coding or a view ID in multi-view coding – [0037]).
However, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first portion of the video block includes escape pixels, wherein, for the escape pixels, a residue obtained from computing a difference between the samples of the first portion of the video block and the samples of the second portion of the video block is signaled in the bitstream associated with the conversion of the video block, or wherein the first portion of the video block includes escape pixels, wherein, for the escape pixels, a residue obtained from computing a difference between the samples of the first portion of the video block and reconstructed samples of the second portion of the video block is signaled in the bitstream associated with the conversion of the video block, wherein the residue is quantized according to a quantization parameter, and wherein the quantized residue is signaled in the bitstream associated with the conversion of the video block, and wherein the quantized residue includes a positive sign or a negative sign, wherein the positive sign or the negative sign is signaled in the bitstream associated with the conversion of the video block.
In his disclosure Pu2 teaches wherein the first portion of the video block includes escape pixels, wherein, for the escape pixels, a residue obtained from computing a difference between the samples of the first portion of the video block and the samples of the second portion of the video block is signaled in the bitstream associated with the conversion of the video block, or wherein the first portion of the video block includes escape pixels, wherein, for the escape pixels, a residue obtained from computing a difference between the samples of the first portion of the video block and reconstructed samples of the second portion of the video block is signaled in the bitstream associated with the conversion of the video block, wherein the residue is quantized according to a quantization parameter, and wherein the quantized residue is signaled in the bitstream associated with the conversion of the video block, and wherein the quantized residue includes a positive sign or a negative sign, wherein the positive sign or the negative sign is signaled in the bitstream associated with the conversion of the video block (reconstructing escape pixels from neighbor pixels – [0118, 0186]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Pu2 into the teachings of Pu because such incorporation improves coding efficiency (par. 21).
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pu et al. (US 2015/0365671) in view of Sun et al. (“CE8: Palette mode and intra mode combination (Test 8.2.2)”, Joint Video Experts Team (JVET) of ITU-T SG 16 WP 3 and ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG 11; 13the Meeting: Marrakech, MA, 9-18 Jan. 2019; Document: JVET-M0051) further in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2017/0099495) further in view of Lee et al. (US 2018/0109798).
Regarding claim 8 Pu discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining, for samples of the video block, that a first combined palette and an intra block copy (IBC) mode is to be used for processing the samples (first block 170 of Figure 4 is coded using the palette coding mode and the second block 172 is coded using the intra block copy (IntraBC) coding mode – [0081]).
However, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the samples of the video block are associated with a palette index indicative of an INDEX mode or a COPY_ABOVE mode, and wherein in the INDEX mode or in the COPY_ABOVE mode, the palette index of the video block is derived by copying a previously-coded index.
In his disclosure Lee teaches the samples of the video block are associated with a palette index indicative of an INDEX mode or a COPY_ABOVE mode, and wherein in the INDEX mode or in the COPY_ABOVE mode, the palette index of the video block is derived by copying a previously-coded index (INDEX MODE and COPY_ABOVE MODE – [0134-0136]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Lee into the teachings of Pu because such incorporation improves the efficiency of prediction or restoration of a block to be encoded/decoded (par. 28).
Regarding claim 9 Pu discloses the method of claim 8. However, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the sample of the video block coded in the IBC mode is inferred to have a special index, wherein, in the INDEX mode and/or the COPY_ABOVE mode, a value of the special index is based on other palette indices, wherein, in the INDEX mode and/or the COPY_ABOVE mode, a sample in the first portion of the video block is prevented from copying a sample from the second portion of the video block, and wherein a sample coded in the IBC mode is skipped when the palette index of the sample indicates the INDEX mode and/or the COPY_ABOVE mode.
In his disclosure Sun teaches wherein the sample of the video block coded in the IBC mode is inferred to have a special index (if the decoded indices equal to “0”, the corresponding pixels are marked as “p” which are pixel values in the intra prediction block – section 2 Description of techniques, 3rd paragraph).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Sun into the teachings of Pu because such incorporation improves the encoding and decoding time (abstract).
However, fails to explicitly disclose wherein, in the INDEX mode and/or the COPY_ABOVE mode, a value of the special index is based on other palette indices, wherein, in the INDEX mode and/or the COPY_ABOVE mode, a sample in the first portion of the video block is prevented from copying a sample from the second portion of the video block, and wherein a sample coded in the IBC mode is skipped when the palette index of the sample indicates the INDEX mode and/or the COPY_ABOVE mode.
In his disclosure Lee teaches wherein, in the INDEX mode and/or the COPY_ABOVE mode, a value of the special index is based on other palette indices, wherein, in the INDEX mode and/or the COPY_ABOVE mode, a sample in the first portion of the video block is prevented from copying a sample from the second portion of the video block, and wherein a sample coded in the IBC mode is skipped when the palette index of the sample indicates the INDEX mode and/or the COPY_ABOVE mode (a palette entry used by a sample adjacent to the upper end of the current sample is used as a palette entry of the current sample – [0136]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Lee into the teachings of Pu because such incorporation improves the efficiency of prediction or restoration of a block to be encoded/decoded (par. 28).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 10-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MARIA E VAZQUEZ COLON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2482