DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The objection to claim 1 is hereby withdrawn in view of the amendment filed July 9, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusano et al. US 2019/0302651 A1 (Kusano) and Isobe et al. US 2017/0261886 (Isobe).
Regarding claim 1, Kusano teaches a developer container comprising:
a developing roller (22) configured to supply developer to a photosensitive drum;
a supplying roller (20) configured to be rotatable and to supply the developer to the developing roller;
a developing chamber (18b) provided with the developing roller and the supplying roller;
a developer housing (18a) configured to store the developer and having an opening (18c) that communicably connects the developer housing and the developing chamber; and
a stirring member (23) provided inside the developer housing and configured to stir the developer, and moreover configured to be rotatable in a same direction as a direction in which the supplying roller rotates (20 rotates “in contact with the developing roller 22” thus it is in the opposite direction of D and thus the same as F, FIG. 3), wherein
the developer housing is enabled to be provided with a sealing member (24) for sealing the opening (18c), from a side of the developer housing,
in a state where the opening is sealed by the sealing member (24),
the developer housing and the developing chamber come to communicate each other as a result of the sealing member peeling off, starting from the upstream bonded portion and then the downstream bonded portion (¶0056-¶0057).
Kusano differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: a height of a rotation shaft of the stirring member is equal to or higher than a height of a rotation shaft of the supplying roller, in a gravitational direction, the sealing member being bonded around the opening, and the upstream bonded portion being closer to the rotation shaft than the downstream portion. However this is a known configuration.
Isobe teaches a height of a rotation shaft of the stirring member is equal to or higher than a height of a rotation shaft of the supplying roller, in a gravitational direction (FIG. 2), the sealing member is bonded (welded) to the developer housing around the opening (40c, FIG. 1) at an upstream bonded portion (492, FIG. 1) fold-back portion (FIG. 3A) that is on an upstream side of the opening and also at a downstream bonded portion (491, FIG. 1) that is on a downstream side of the opening, in a rotating direction of the stirring member (¶0052-¶0027), wherein the upstream bonded portion is positioned closer to the rotation shaft of the stirring member than the downstream bonded portion (FIG. 3B). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the developer container taught by Kusano as taught by Isobe since Isobe teaches this configuration offers the advantage of “it is possible to prevent the developing container partitioning member 47 from being peeled off from the developing container 40 during the unused state and to suppress the load to a minimum when the developing container partitioning member 47 is unsealed,” (¶0039).
Regarding claim 2, Kusano and Isobe teach the developer container according to claim 1. Furthermore Kusano teaches a one-end side of the sealing member is attached to a rotation shaft of the stirring member (24a),
an another-end side of the sealing member is bonded at the upstream bonded portion and at the downstream bonded portion in a state where the opening is kept sealed with the sealing member (FIG. 3),
the upstream bonded portion (24c) of the sealing member is positioned nearer to the one-end side than the downstream bonded portion (FIG. 3), and
the sealing member (24) is configured to peel off starting from the upstream bonded portion, and then the downstream bonded portion in conjunction with rotation of the stirring member (¶0056-¶0057).
Regarding claim 3, Kusano teaches a developer container comprising:
a developing roller (22) configured to supply developer to a photosensitive drum;
a supplying roller (20) configured to be rotatable and to supply the developer to the developing roller;
a developing chamber (18b) provided with the developing roller and the supplying roller;
a developer housing (18a) configured to store the developer and having an opening (18c) that communicably connects the developer housing and the developing chamber; and
a stirring member (23) provided inside the developer housing and configured to stir the developer, and moreover configured to be rotatable in a same direction as a direction in which the supplying roller rotates (20 rotates “in contact with the developing roller 22” thus it is in the opposite direction of D and thus the same as F, FIG. 3), wherein
the developer housing is enabled to be provided with a sealing member (24) for sealing the opening (18c), from a side of the developer housing,
the sealing member (24) includes a part that is attached to a rotation shaft of the stirring member (24a), a part that is bonded at the upstream bonded portion (24b), and a part bonded at the downstream bonded portion (24c), in this order, along a direction from a one-end side toward an another-end side (FIG. 3).
Kusano differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: the height of a rotation shaft of the stirring member is equal to or higher than a height of a rotation shaft of the supplying roller, in a gravitational direction, the sealing member being bonded around the opening, and the sealing member is configured to peel off starting from the upstream bonded portion and then the downstream bonded portion in conjunction with rotation to the stirring member. However this is a known configuration.
Isobe teaches the height of a rotation shaft of the stirring member is equal to or higher than a height of a rotation shaft of the supplying roller, in a gravitational direction (FIG. 2), the sealing member is bonded (welded) to the developer housing around the opening (40c, FIG. 1) at an upstream bonded portion (492, FIG. 1) fold-back portion (FIG. 3A) that is on an upstream side of the opening and also at a downstream bonded portion (491, FIG. 1) that is on a downstream side of the opening, in a rotating direction of the stirring member (¶0052-¶0027), the sealing member is configured to peel off starting from the upstream bonded portion and then the downstream bonded portion in conjunction with rotation to the stirring member (FIG. 3A-D). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the developer container taught by Kusano as taught by Isobe since Isobe teaches this configuration offers the advantage of “it is possible to prevent the developing container partitioning member 47 from being peeled off from the developing container 40 during the unused state and to suppress the load to a minimum when the developing container partitioning member 47 is unsealed,” (¶0039).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA L ELEY/
Examiner, Art Unit 2852