DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s Application filed on February 25, 2025 has been reviewed.
Claims 1-15 were cancelled in the Preliminary Amendment filed on February 25, 2025.
Claims 16-35 were newly added in the Preliminary Amendment.
Claims 16-35 have been examined.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP 24164892.2, filed on March 20, 2024.
The effective priority date for the subject matter in the pending claims in this application is March 20, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 25, 2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 16-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
The claim 16 lacks the necessary physical articles or objects to constitute a machine or a manufacture within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 101. They are clearly not a series of steps or acts to be a process nor are they a combination of chemical compounds to be a composition of matter. As such, they fail to fall within a statutory category.
The CAN device comprising: a first queue (software); since the specification does not define that the server as hardware or software, a first queue is interpreted as software.
Thus, the claim does not meet the definition of a machine and thereby does not fall under any of the patent eligible statutory categories.
Claims 17-28 are likewise rejected.
Claim Objections
Claims 16 and 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 16, at line 1. “A Controller Area Network, CAN, device” should be changed to “A Controller Area Network[[,]] (CAN)[[,]] device”
In claim 20, at line 1, “The CAN device of claims 18,” should be changed to “The CAN device of claims [[18]]19,”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horvath et al(US 2015/0063120 A1), hereinafter referred to as Horvath, in view of SANGAMESWARAN et al. (US 2018/0234498 A1), hereinafter referred to as SANGAMESWARAN.
With respect to claim 16, Horvath teaches A Controller Area Network, CAN, device configured to transmit and receive CAN frames (implementing a queuing system in a CAN controller of the controller area network, para. 0037; The controller area network design 502 can include parameters of the controller area network, such as an identification of the operation of the CAN bus, i.e., a frame period, a frame transmission time, para. 0041), the CAN device comprising:
a first queue configured to include a first CAN frame (The CAN node 620 can include a message queue 625 to order messages 621 for transmission on the CAN bus 601. Each message 621 can include a priority 622, for example, a value in the identification field of the messages 621, which can indicate a relative priority of the messages 621 in the controller area network design, para. 0047), wherein a first queue credit is associated with the first queue (The CAN node 620 can include a message queue 625 to order messages 621 for transmission on the CAN bus 601. Each message 621 can include a priority 622, for example, a value in the identification field of the messages 621, which can indicate a relative priority of the messages 621 in the controller area network design, para. 0047), and wherein the CAN device is configured to:
in response to the first queue credit being greater than a predefined first reference value, transmit the first CAN frame of the first queue (The transmission buffer 416 can hold a transmission message 417, which the CAN controller 411 can present to (or initiate transmission of the identification field on) the CAN bus 302 during a next bus transmission period. The reserve message buffer 413 can hold other messages 414 awaiting transmission on the CAN bus 302. When the transmission buffer 416 has an opening to store a message, the CAN controller 411 can select a message, having the highest priority, from the messages 414 stored in the reserve message buffer 413 to populate the opening in the transmission buffer 416 as greater than predefined reference value, para. 0039; The controller area network design 502 can include parameters of the controller area network, such as an identification of a number of CAN nodes in the controller area network design 502, an identification of a type of queuing system implemented by each CAN node, an identification of a location of the CAN node on the network, etc. The type of queuing system implemented by the CAN nodes can identify an internal ordering or queuing scheme implemented by an associated CAN controller in the CAN node, which can indicate whether priority inversion of messages can occur in the CAN nodes, para. 0041); and
Horvath does not explicitly teach
in response to the first queue credit being less than the predefined first reference value, prevent transmission of the first CAN frame of the first queue.
However, SANGAMESWARAN teaches
in response to the first queue credit being less than the predefined first reference value, prevent transmission of the first CAN frame of the first queue (the controller 104, 106 detecting the CAN message reference value the target controller identifier 326 at the physical layer to determine whether the detected CAN message is intended for this or for another controller 104, thereby avoiding for the protocol 305 layers above the physical layer having to process the detected CAN message, para. 0049; less than 10 bits, the controller does not allow to send and receive CAN messages, para. 0054) in order to facilitate data transmission as taught by SANGAMESWARAN (para. 0025).
Therefore, based on Horvath in view of SANGAMESWARAN, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of SANGAMESWARAN to the device of Horvath in order to facilitate data transmission as taught by SANGAMESWARAN (para. 0025).
With respect to claim 17, Horvath in view of SANGAMESWARAN teaches The CAN device of claim 16 as described above,
Further, SANGAMESWARAN teaches wherein first rank bits of the first CAN frame are in a predefined first rank range (a given data message received by the gateway 108 may, accordingly, include the source controller identifier 324, e.g., 10 bits of the 29-bit message identifier 320, the target controller identifier 326, e.g., 10 bits of the 29-bit message identifier 320, and the priority identifier 330, e.g., 3 bits of the 29-bit message identifier 320. The OVTP protocol 305 may further include the CAN driver 314 configured to perform CAN message handling, thus allowing the controller 104, 106 to send and receive CAN messages, as well as, push the CAN messages onto the vehicle 102 CAN bus, para. 0054) in order to facilitate data transmission as taught by SANGAMESWARAN (para. 0025).
Therefore, based on Horvath in view of SANGAMESWARAN, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of SANGAMESWARAN to the device of Horvath in order to facilitate data transmission as taught by SANGAMESWARAN (para. 0025).
With respect to claim 18, Horvath teaches The CAN device of claim 17, wherein the CAN device comprises a second queue configured to include a second CAN frame, a second queue credit is associated with the second queue, and the CAN device is configured to:
in response to the second queue credit being greater than a predefined second reference value, transmit the second CAN frame of the second queue(The transmission buffer 416 can hold a transmission message 417, which the CAN controller 411 can present to (or initiate transmission of the identification field on) the CAN bus 302 during a next bus transmission period. The reserve message buffer 413 can hold other messages 414 awaiting transmission on the CAN bus 302. When the transmission buffer 416 has an opening to store a message, the CAN controller 411 can select a message, having the highest priority, from the messages 414 stored in the reserve message buffer 413 to populate the opening in the transmission buffer 416 as greater than predefined reference value, para. 0039; The controller area network design 502 can include parameters of the controller area network, such as an identification of a number of CAN nodes in the controller area network design 502, an identification of a type of queuing system implemented by each CAN node, an identification of a location of the CAN node on the network, etc. The type of queuing system implemented by the CAN nodes can identify an internal ordering or queuing scheme implemented by an associated CAN controller in the CAN node, which can indicate whether priority inversion of messages can occur in the CAN nodes, para. 0041) ; and
Further, SANGAMESWARAN teaches
in response to the second queue credit being less than the predefined second reference value, prevent transmission of the second CAN frame of the second queue (the controller 104, 106 detecting the CAN message reference value the target controller identifier 326 at the physical layer to determine whether the detected CAN message is intended for this or for another controller 104, thereby avoiding for the protocol 305 layers above the physical layer having to process the detected CAN message, para. 0049; less than 10 bits, the controller does not allow to send and receive CAN messages, para. 0054) in order to facilitate data transmission as taught by SANGAMESWARAN (para. 0025).
Therefore, based on Horvath in view of SANGAMESWARAN, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of SANGAMESWARAN to the device of Horvath in order to facilitate data transmission as taught by SANGAMESWARAN (para. 0025).
With respect to claim 19, Horvath in view of SANGAMESWARAN teaches The CAN device of claim 18 as described above,
Further, SANGAMESWARAN teaches wherein second rank bits of each second CAN frame are in a predefined second rank range (a given data message received by the gateway 108 may, accordingly, include the source controller identifier 324, e.g., 10 bits of the 29-bit message identifier 320, the target controller identifier 326, e.g., 10 bits of the 29-bit message identifier 320, and the priority identifier 330, e.g., 3 bits of the 29-bit message identifier 320. The OVTP protocol 305 may further include the CAN driver 314 configured to perform CAN message handling, thus allowing the controller 104, 106 to send and receive CAN messages, as well as, push the CAN messages onto the vehicle 102 CAN bus, para, 0054) in order to facilitate data transmission as taught by SANGAMESWARAN (para. 0025).
Therefore, based on Horvath in view of SANGAMESWARAN, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of SANGAMESWARAN to the device of Horvath in order to facilitate data transmission as taught by SANGAMESWARAN (para. 0025).
With respect to claim 20, Horvath in view of SANGAMESWARAN teaches The CAN device of claim 18 as described above,
Further, SANGAMESWARAN teaches wherein the first rank bits of the first CAN frame are defined by two to six bits of the most significant bits of the first CAN frame, and the second rank bits of the second CAN frame are defined by two to six bits of the most significant bits of the second CAN frame (A unique priority/identifier field of a CAN message may provide far more in prioritizing various messages and may allow high priority messages to overwrite lower priority messages electrically, such as by grounding out the lower priority data signals, para. 0017; a given data message received by the gateway 108 include or adjust the source controller identifier 324, e.g., 10 bits of the 29-bit message identifier 320, the target controller identifier 326, e.g., 10 bits of the 29-bit message identifier 320, and the priority identifier 330, e.g., 2 bits of the 6-bit message identifier 320 thus allowing the controller 104, 106 to send and receive CAN messages, as well as, push the CAN messages onto the vehicle 102 CAN bus, para. 0054) in order to facilitate data transmission as taught by SANGAMESWARAN (para. 0025).
Therefore, based on Horvath in view of SANGAMESWARAN, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of SANGAMESWARAN to the device of Horvath in order to facilitate data transmission as taught by SANGAMESWARAN (para. 0025).
With respect to claim 21, Horvath in view of SANGAMESWARAN teaches The CAN device of claim 18 as described above,
Further, SANGAMESWARAN teaches wherein the CAN device is configured to:
in response to successful CAN frame transmission from the first queue, reduce the first queue credit (A unique priority/identifier field of a CAN message may provide far more in prioritizing various messages and may allow high priority messages to overwrite lower priority messages electrically, such as by grounding out the lower priority data signals, para. 0017; a given data message received by the gateway 108 include or adjust the source controller identifier 324, e.g., 10 bits of the 29-bit message identifier 320, the target controller identifier 326, e.g., 10 bits of the 29-bit message identifier 320, and the priority identifier 330, e.g., 2 bits of the 6-bit message identifier 320 thus allowing the controller 104, 106 to send and receive CAN messages, as well as, push the CAN messages onto the vehicle 102 CAN bus, para. 0054); and
in response to successful CAN frame transmission from the second queue, reduce the second queue credit (A unique priority/identifier field of a CAN message may provide far more in prioritizing various messages and may allow high priority messages to overwrite lower priority messages electrically, such as by grounding out the lower priority data signals, para. 0017; a given data message received by the gateway 108 include or adjust the source controller identifier 324, e.g., 10 bits of the 29-bit message identifier 320, the target controller identifier 326, e.g., 10 bits of the 29-bit message identifier 320, and the priority identifier 330, e.g., 2 bits of the 6-bit message identifier 320 thus allowing the controller 104, 106 to send and receive CAN messages, as well as, push the CAN messages onto the vehicle 102 CAN bus, para. 0054) in order to facilitate data transmission as taught by SANGAMESWARAN (para. 0025).
Therefore, based on Horvath in view of SANGAMESWARAN, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of SANGAMESWARAN to the device of Horvath in order to facilitate data transmission as taught by SANGAMESWARAN (para. 0025).
With respect to claim 22, Horvath in view of SANGAMESWARAN teaches The CAN device of claim 18 as described above,
Further, SANGAMESWARAN teaches wherein the CAN device is configured to:
in response to successful CAN frame transmission from the first queue, increase the second queue credit (A unique priority/identifier field of a CAN message may provide far more in prioritizing various messages and may allow high priority messages to overwrite lower priority messages electrically, such as by grounding out the lower priority data signals, para. 0017; a given data message received by the gateway 108 include or adjust the source controller identifier 324, e.g., 10 bits of the 29-bit message identifier 320, the target controller identifier 326, e.g., 10 bits of the 29-bit message identifier 320, and the priority identifier 330, e.g., 2 bits of the 6-bit message identifier 320 thus allowing the controller 104, 106 to send and receive CAN messages, as well as, push the CAN messages onto the vehicle 102 CAN bus, para. 0054); and
in response to successful CAN frame transmission from the second queue, increase the first queue credit (A unique priority/identifier field of a CAN message may provide far more in prioritizing various messages and may allow high priority messages to overwrite lower priority messages electrically, such as by grounding out the lower priority data signals, para. 0017; a given data message received by the gateway 108 include or adjust the source controller identifier 324, e.g., 10 bits of the 29-bit message identifier 320, the target controller identifier 326, e.g., 10 bits of the 29-bit message identifier 320, and the priority identifier 330, e.g., 2 bits of the 6-bit message identifier 320 thus allowing the controller 104, 106 to send and receive CAN messages, as well as, push the CAN messages onto the vehicle 102 CAN bus, para. 0054) in order to facilitate data transmission as taught by SANGAMESWARAN (para. 0025).
Therefore, based on Horvath in view of SANGAMESWARAN, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of SANGAMESWARAN to the device of Horvath in order to facilitate data transmission as taught by SANGAMESWARAN (para. 0025).
With respect to claim 23, Horvath teaches The CAN device of claim 18, wherein the CAN device is configured to:
detect an idle time during which CAN frames are not transmitted or received by the CAN device (the gateway 108 determines whether the response message frame 406 has been received., for a predetermined period of idle time after broadcasting the received request message frame 402 to all subnets 110 of the vehicle 102, the gateway 108 may analyze subsequently received message frames to determine whether it may be the response message frame 406. The gateway 108 may, for example, determine whether the source controller identifier 410 of the received response message frame 406 matches the target controller identifier 326 of the previously received request message frame 402. In another example, the gateway 108 may further determine whether the target controller identifier 412 of the received response message frame 406 matches the source controller identifier 324 of the previously received request message frame 402, para. 0068), and
increase each of the first and second queue credits based on a duration of the idle time (the gateway 108 determines whether the response message frame 406 has been received., for a predetermined period of idle time after broadcasting the received request message frame 402 to all subnets 110 of the vehicle 102, the gateway 108 may analyze subsequently received message frames to determine whether it may be the response message frame 406. The gateway 108 may, for example, determine whether the source controller identifier 410 of the received response message frame 406 matches the target controller identifier 326 of the previously received request message frame 402. In another example, the gateway 108 may further determine whether the target controller identifier 412 of the received response message frame 406 matches the source controller identifier 324 of the previously received request message frame 402, para. 0068).
With respect to claim 24, Horvath teaches The CAN device of claim 23, wherein the CAN device is configured to:
in response to the idle time being greater than a predefined threshold time, limit each of the first and second queue credit to a predefined value (the gateway 108 determines whether the response message frame 406 has been received., for a predetermined period of idle time after broadcasting the received request message frame 402 to all subnets 110 of the vehicle 102, the gateway 108 may analyze subsequently received message frames to determine whether it may be the response message frame 406. The gateway 108 may, for example, determine whether the source controller identifier 410 of the received response message frame 406 matches the target controller identifier 326 of the previously received request message frame 402. In another example, the gateway 108 may further determine whether the target controller identifier 412 of the received response message frame 406 matches the source controller identifier 324 of the previously received request message frame 402, para. 0068).
With respect to claim 25, Horvath in view of SANGAMESWARAN teaches The CAN device of claim 19 as described above,
Further, SANGAMESWARAN teaches wherein the CAN device is configured to:
receive a third CAN frame (A unique priority/identifier field of a CAN message may provide far more in prioritizing various messages and may allow high priority messages to overwrite lower priority messages electrically, such as by grounding out the lower priority data signals, para. 0017; a given data message received by the gateway 108 include or adjust the source controller identifier 324, e.g., 10 bits of the 29-bit message identifier 320, the target controller identifier 326, e.g., 10 bits of the 29-bit message identifier 320, and the priority identifier 330, e.g., 2 bits of the 6-bit message identifier 320 thus allowing the controller 104, 106 to send and receive CAN messages, as well as, push the CAN messages onto the vehicle 102 CAN bus, para. 0054); and
in response to third rank bits of the third CAN frame being in the first rank range, reduce the first queue credit (A unique priority/identifier field of a CAN message may provide far more in prioritizing various messages and may allow high priority messages to overwrite lower priority messages electrically, such as by grounding out the lower priority data signals, para. 0017; a given data message received by the gateway 108 include or adjust the source controller identifier 324, e.g., 10 bits of the 29-bit message identifier 320, the target controller identifier 326, e.g., 10 bits of the 29-bit message identifier 320, and the priority identifier 330, e.g., 2 bits of the 6-bit message identifier 320 thus allowing the controller 104, 106 to send and receive CAN messages, as well as, push the CAN messages onto the vehicle 102 CAN bus, para. 0054) in order to facilitate data transmission as taught by SANGAMESWARAN (para. 0025).
Therefore, based on Horvath in view of SANGAMESWARAN, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of SANGAMESWARAN to the device of Horvath in order to facilitate data transmission as taught by SANGAMESWARAN (para. 0025).
With respect to claim 26, Horvath teaches The CAN device of claim 25, wherein the CAN device is configured to:
receive a fourth CAN frame (the gateway 108 determines whether the response message frame 406 has been received., for a predetermined period of idle time after broadcasting the received request message frame 402 to all subnets 110 of the vehicle 102, the gateway 108 may analyze subsequently received message frames to determine whether it may be the response message frame 406. The gateway 108 may, for example, determine whether the source controller identifier 410 of the received response message frame 406 matches the target controller identifier 326 of the previously received request message frame 402. In another example, the gateway 108 may further determine whether the target controller identifier 412 of the received response message frame 406 matches the source controller identifier 324 of the previously received request message frame 402, para. 0068), and
in response to fourth rank bits of the fourth CAN frame being in the second rank range, reduce the second queue credit (the gateway 108 determines whether the response message frame 406 has been received., for a predetermined period of idle time after broadcasting the received request message frame 402 to all subnets 110 of the vehicle 102, the gateway 108 may analyze subsequently received message frames to determine whether it may be the response message frame 406. The gateway 108 may, for example, determine whether the source controller identifier 410 of the received response message frame 406 matches the target controller identifier 326 of the previously received request message frame 402. In another example, the gateway 108 may further determine whether the target controller identifier 412 of the received response message frame 406 matches the source controller identifier 324 of the previously received request message frame 402, para. 0068).
With respect to claim 27, Horvath teaches The CAN device of claim 19, wherein the CAN device is configured to:
receive a first plurality of CAN frames (the gateway 108 determines whether the response message frame 406 has been received., for a predetermined period of idle time after broadcasting the received request message frame 402 to all subnets 110 of the vehicle 102, the gateway 108 may analyze subsequently received message frames to determine whether it may be the response message frame 406. The gateway 108 may, for example, determine whether the source controller identifier 410 of the received response message frame 406 matches the target controller identifier 326 of the previously received request message frame 402. In another example, the gateway 108 may further determine whether the target controller identifier 412 of the received response message frame 406 matches the source controller identifier 324 of the previously received request message frame 402, para. 0068);
in response to a CAN frame of the first plurality of CAN frames comprising rank bits that are in the first rank range, set the first queue credit to a predefined first calibration value (the gateway 108 determines whether the response message frame 406 has been received., for a predetermined period of idle time after broadcasting the received request message frame 402 to all subnets 110 of the vehicle 102, the gateway 108 may analyze subsequently received message frames to determine whether it may be the response message frame 406. The gateway 108 may, for example, determine whether the source controller identifier 410 of the received response message frame 406 matches the target controller identifier 326 of the previously received request message frame 402. In another example, the gateway 108 may further determine whether the target controller identifier 412 of the received response message frame 406 matches the source controller identifier 324 of the previously received request message frame 402, para. 0068); and
in response to a further CAN frame of the first plurality of CAN frames comprising rank bits that are in the first rank range, reduce the first queue credit (the gateway 108 determines whether the response message frame 406 has been received., for a predetermined period of idle time after broadcasting the received request message frame 402 to all subnets 110 of the vehicle 102, the gateway 108 may analyze subsequently received message frames to determine whether it may be the response message frame 406. The gateway 108 may, for example, determine whether the source controller identifier 410 of the received response message frame 406 matches the target controller identifier 326 of the previously received request message frame 402. In another example, the gateway 108 may further determine whether the target controller identifier 412 of the received response message frame 406 matches the source controller identifier 324 of the previously received request message frame 402, para. 0068).
With respect to claim 28, Horvath teaches The CAN device of claim 27, wherein the CAN device is configured to:
receive a second plurality of CAN frames (the gateway 108 determines whether the response message frame 406 has been received., for a predetermined period of idle time after broadcasting the received request message frame 402 to all subnets 110 of the vehicle 102, the gateway 108 may analyze subsequently received message frames to determine whether it may be the response message frame 406. The gateway 108 may, for example, determine whether the source controller identifier 410 of the received response message frame 406 matches the target controller identifier 326 of the previously received request message frame 402. In another example, the gateway 108 may further determine whether the target controller identifier 412 of the received response message frame 406 matches the source controller identifier 324 of the previously received request message frame 402, para. 0068);
in response to a CAN frame of the second plurality of CAN frames comprising rank bits that are in the second rank range, set the second queue credit to a predefined second calibration value (the gateway 108 determines whether the response message frame 406 has been received., for a predetermined period of idle time after broadcasting the received request message frame 402 to all subnets 110 of the vehicle 102, the gateway 108 may analyze subsequently received message frames to determine whether it may be the response message frame 406. The gateway 108 may, for example, determine whether the source controller identifier 410 of the received response message frame 406 matches the target controller identifier 326 of the previously received request message frame 402. In another example, the gateway 108 may further determine whether the target controller identifier 412 of the received response message frame 406 matches the source controller identifier 324 of the previously received request message frame 402, para. 0068); and
in response to a further CAN frame of the second plurality of CAN frames comprising rank bits that are in the second rank range, reduce the second queue credit (the gateway 108 determines whether the response message frame 406 has been received., for a predetermined period of idle time after broadcasting the received request message frame 402 to all subnets 110 of the vehicle 102, the gateway 108 may analyze subsequently received message frames to determine whether it may be the response message frame 406. The gateway 108 may, for example, determine whether the source controller identifier 410 of the received response message frame 406 matches the target controller identifier 326 of the previously received request message frame 402. In another example, the gateway 108 may further determine whether the target controller identifier 412 of the received response message frame 406 matches the source controller identifier 324 of the previously received request message frame 402, para. 0068).
With respect to claim 29, Horvath teaches A controller area network, CAN, system comprising:
a plurality of CAN devices, including the CAN device of claim 16 (implementing a queuing system in a CAN controller of the controller area network, para. 0037; The controller area network design 502 can include parameters of the controller area network, such as an identification of the operation of the CAN bus, i.e., a frame period, a frame transmission time, para. 0041); and
a CAN bus, wherein the CAN devices are coupled via the CAN bus (The CAN node 301-1 can include a CAN controller 305 to receive the messages generated by the host processor 304 and present the messages to the CAN bus 302 for transmission via a bus transceiver 308, para. 0034).
With respect to claim 30, Horvath teaches A method for a Controller Area Network, CAN, device configured to transmit and receive CAN frames (implementing a queuing system in a CAN controller of the controller area network, para. 0037; The controller area network design 502 can include parameters of the controller area network, such as an identification of the operation of the CAN bus, i.e., a frame period, a frame transmission time, para. 0041), wherein the CAN device comprises a first queue configured to include a first CAN frame The CAN node 620 can include a message queue 625 to order messages 621 for transmission on the CAN bus 601. Each message 621 can include a priority 622, for example, a value in the identification field of the messages 621, which can indicate a relative priority of the messages 621 in the controller area network design, para. 0047), the first queue is associated with a first queue credit (The CAN node 620 can include a message queue 625 to order messages 621 for transmission on the CAN bus 601. Each message 621 can include a priority 622, for example, a value in the identification field of the messages 621, which can indicate a relative priority of the messages 621 in the controller area network design, para. 0047), and the method comprises:
transmitting the first CAN frame of the first queue in response to the first queue credit being greater than a predefined first reference value (The transmission buffer 416 can hold a transmission message 417, which the CAN controller 411 can present to (or initiate transmission of the identification field on) the CAN bus 302 during a next bus transmission period. The reserve message buffer 413 can hold other messages 414 awaiting transmission on the CAN bus 302. When the transmission buffer 416 has an opening to store a message, the CAN controller 411 can select a message, having the highest priority, from the messages 414 stored in the reserve message buffer 413 to populate the opening in the transmission buffer 416 as greater than predefined reference value, para. 0039; The controller area network design 502 can include parameters of the controller area network, such as an identification of a number of CAN nodes in the controller area network design 502, an identification of a type of queuing system implemented by each CAN node, an identification of a location of the CAN node on the network, etc. The type of queuing system implemented by the CAN nodes can identify an internal ordering or queuing scheme implemented by an associated CAN controller in the CAN node, which can indicate whether priority inversion of messages can occur in the CAN nodes, para. 0041); and
Horvath does not explicitly teach
preventing transmission of the first CAN frame of the first queues in response to the first queue credit being less than the predefined first reference value.
However, SANGAMESWARAN teaches
preventing transmission of the first CAN frame of the first queues in response to the first queue credit being less than the predefined first reference value (the controller 104, 106 detecting the CAN message reference value the target controller identifier 326 at the physical layer to determine whether the detected CAN message is intended for this or for another controller 104, thereby avoiding for the protocol 305 layers above the physical layer having to process the detected CAN message, para. 0049; less than 10 bits, the controller does not allow to send and receive CAN messages, para. 0054) in order to facilitate data transmission as taught by SANGAMESWARAN (para. 0025).
Therefore, based on Horvath in view of SANGAMESWARAN, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of SANGAMESWARAN to the method of Horvath in order to facilitate data transmission as taught by SANGAMESWARAN (para. 0025).
With respect to claim 31, Horvath in view of SANGAMESWARAN teaches The method of claim 30 as described above,
Further, SANGAMESWARAN teaches wherein the method further comprises:
reducing the first queue credit in response to successfully transmitting a CAN frame from the first queue of the CAN device (A unique priority/identifier field of a CAN message may provide far more in prioritizing various messages and may allow high priority messages to overwrite lower priority messages electrically, such as by grounding out the lower priority data signals, para. 0017; a given data message received by the gateway 108 include or adjust the source controller identifier 324, e.g., 10 bits of the 29-bit message identifier 320, the target controller identifier 326, e.g., 10 bits of the 29-bit message identifier 320, and the priority identifier 330, e.g., 2 bits of the 6-bit message identifier 320 thus allowing the controller 104, 106 to send and receive CAN messages, as well as, push the CAN messages onto the vehicle 102 CAN bus, para. 0054) in order to facilitate data transmission as taught by SANGAMESWARAN (para. 0025).
Therefore, based on Horvath in view of SANGAMESWARAN, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of SANGAMESWARAN to the method of Horvath in order to facilitate data transmission as taught by SANGAMESWARAN (para. 0025).
With respect to claim 32, Horvath teaches The method of claim 30, wherein the CAN device comprises a second queue configured to include a second CAN frame, a second queue credit is associated with the second queue, and the method further comprises:
transmitting of a second CAN frame of the second queue in response to the second queue credit being greater than a predefined second reference value (The transmission buffer 416 can hold a transmission message 417, which the CAN controller 411 can present to (or initiate transmission of the identification field on) the CAN bus 302 during a next bus transmission period. The reserve message buffer 413 can hold other messages 414 awaiting transmission on the CAN bus 302. When the transmission buffer 416 has an opening to store a message, the CAN controller 411 can select a message, having the highest priority, from the messages 414 stored in the reserve message buffer 413 to populate the opening in the transmission buffer 416 as greater than predefined reference value, para. 0039; The controller area network design 502 can include parameters of the controller area network, such as an identification of a number of CAN nodes in the controller area network design 502, an identification of a type of queuing system implemented by each CAN node, an identification of a location of the CAN node on the network, etc. The type of queuing system implemented by the CAN nodes can identify an internal ordering or queuing scheme implemented by an associated CAN controller in the CAN node, which can indicate whether priority inversion of messages can occur in the CAN nodes, para. 0041); and
Further, SANGAMESWARAN teaches
preventing transmission of the second CAN frame of the second queue in response the second queue credit being less than the predefined second reference value (the controller 104, 106 detecting the CAN message reference value the target controller identifier 326 at the physical layer to determine whether the detected CAN message is intended for this or for another controller 104, thereby avoiding for the protocol 305 layers above the physical layer having to process the detected CAN message, para. 0049; less than 10 bits, the controller does not allow to send and receive CAN messages, para. 0054) in order to facilitate data transmission as taught by SANGAMESWARAN (para. 0025).
Therefore, based on Horvath in view of SANGAMESWARAN, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of SANGAMESWARAN to the method of Horvath in order to facilitate data transmission as taught by SANGAMESWARAN (para. 0025).
With respect to claim 33, Horvath in view of SANGAMESWARAN teaches The method of claim 32 as described above,
Further, SANGAMESWARAN teaches wherein first rank bits of the first CAN frame are in a predefined first rank range, and second rank bits of the second CAN frame are in a predefined second rank range (A unique priority/identifier field of a CAN message may provide far more in prioritizing various messages and may allow high priority messages to overwrite lower priority messages electrically, such as by grounding out the lower priority data signals, para. 0017; a given data message received by the gateway 108 include or adjust the source controller identifier 324, e.g., 10 bits of the 29-bit message identifier 320, the target controller identifier 326, e.g., 10 bits of the 29-bit message identifier 320, and the priority identifier 330, e.g., 2 bits of the 6-bit message identifier 320 thus allowing the controller 104, 106 to send and receive CAN messages, as well as, push the CAN messages onto the vehicle 102 CAN bus, para. 0054) in order to facilitate data transmission as taught by SANGAMESWARAN (para. 0025).
Therefore, based on Horvath in view of SANGAMESWARAN, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of SANGAMESWARAN to the method of Horvath in order to facilitate data transmission as taught by SANGAMESWARAN (para. 0025).
With respect to claim 34, Horvath in view of SANGAMESWARAN teaches The method of claim 33 as described above,
Furthermore, SANGAMESWARAN teaches wherein the method further comprises:
increasing the queue credit of the second queue in response to successfully sending a CAN frame from the first queue (A unique priority/identifier field of a CAN message may provide far more in prioritizing various messages and may allow high priority messages to overwrite lower priority messages electrically, such as by grounding out the lower priority data signals, para. 0017; a given data message received by the gateway 108 include or adjust the source controller identifier 324, e.g., 10 bits of the 29-bit message identifier 320, the target controller identifier 326, e.g., 10 bits of the 29-bit message identifier 320, and the priority identifier 330, e.g., 2 bits of the 6-bit message identifier 320 thus allowing the controller 104, 106 to send and receive CAN messages, as well as, push the CAN messages onto the vehicle 102 CAN bus, para. 0054) in order to facilitate data transmission as taught by SANGAMESWARAN (para. 0025).
Therefore, based on Horvath in view of SANGAMESWARAN, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of SANGAMESWARAN to the method of Horvath in order to facilitate data transmission as taught by SANGAMESWARAN (para. 0025).
With respect to claim 35, Horvath teaches The method of claim 32, wherein the method further comprises:
detecting an idle time during which CAN frames are not transmitted or received by the CAN device (A unique priority/identifier field of a CAN message may provide far more in prioritizing various messages and may allow high priority messages to overwrite lower priority messages electrically, such as by grounding out the lower priority data signals, para. 0017; a given data message received by the gateway 108 include or adjust the source controller identifier 324, e.g., 10 bits of the 29-bit message identifier 320, the target controller identifier 326, e.g., 10 bits of the 29-bit message identifier 320, and the priority identifier 330, e.g., 2 bits of the 6-bit message identifier 320 thus allowing the controller 104, 106 to send and receive CAN messages, as well as, push the CAN messages onto the vehicle 102 CAN bus, para. 0054); and
increasing each of the first and second queue credits based on a duration of the idle time (the gateway 108 determines whether the response message frame 406 has been received., for a predetermined period of idle time after broadcasting the received request message frame 402 to all subnets 110 of the vehicle 102, the gateway 108 may analyze subsequently received message frames to determine whether it may be the response message frame 406. The gateway 108 may, for example, determine whether the source controller identifier 410 of the received response message frame 406 matches the target controller identifier 326 of the previously received request message frame 402. In another example, the gateway 108 may further determine whether the target controller identifier 412 of the received response message frame 406 matches the source controller identifier 324 of the previously received request message frame 402, para. 0068).
Contact Information
/H.H.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2447
July 25, 2026
/JOON H HWANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2447