DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D1 (GB 1 544 418 A).
Regarding claim 1, D1 discloses a dry electrode manufacturing device, comprising: an inserting part that supplies an electrode powder for dry electrode manufacturing; a guide chute (6) that passes through the electrode powder supplied from the inserting part (14; Fig. 1 below); a dispersing rod (20) provided in the guide chute (6) to disperse the electrode powder; and a rolling roll (2,4) that compresses the electrode powder distributed to have a uniform particle size into an electrode member in the form a sheet that has a set thickness.
As for claim 2, D1 further teaches wherein: the guide chute has a gap set to allow the electrode powder to pass through and a width corresponding to the length of a rolling part of the rolling roll (Figure 1, item 6).
As for claim 3-4, D1 further shows wherein: the guide chute maintains the height of a stacking level set at the top of the rolling roll of the electrode powder (Figure 1); wherein the stacking level is set between the dispersing rod and the rolling roll (Figure 1).
As for claim 5, D1 further shows wherein: the dispersing rod is formed as a round rod (Figure 1, item 20).
GB 1 544 418
Fig. 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 6-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (GB 1 544 418 A, as provided by the Applicant’s IDS) in further view of D3 (EP 2241434 A2, as also provided by the applicant’s IDS).
As for claim 6-8, D1 teaches wherein: the dispersing rod is formed as a triangular rod (see Fig. 1 item 20) however, fail to teach wherein the dispersing rod comprises a plurality of dispersing rods provided along the width direction of the guide chute.
In the same field of endeavor, pertaining to a manufacturing device and material handling powder or fibrous mass, D3 discloses wherein the dispersing rod (14,15) comprises a plurality of dispensing rods provided along the width and height direction of the guide chute (5). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention was made to have modified the dispersing rod as taught by D1 with further including plurality of dispersing rods arranged in desired direction, as taught by D3, for the benefit of efficiently supplying material with uniformity for further processing.
Regarding claims 9-16, D1 teach all the limitation to the claim invention as discussed above, however, fail to teach wherein: the dispersing rod comprises a plurality of dispersing rods provided at least in an upper first row and a lower second row that are spaced apart in the height direction of the guide chute, a number of the plurality of dispersing rods of the lower second row is one more than a number of the plurality of dispersing rods of the upper first row, based on the width direction, and each of the plurality of dispersing rods of the upper first row is provided one by one correspondingly between each of the plurality of dispersing rods of the lower second row;
wherein the plurality of dispersing rods of the upper first row and the plurality of dispersing rods of the lower second row each have the same diameter;
the plurality of dispersing rods further comprise a third row below the lower second row, and the plurality of dispersing rods of the third row and the plurality of dispersing rods of the lower second row each have the same diameter; wherein: the plurality of dispersing rods of the upper first row each have a first diameter, and the plurality of dispersing rods of the lower second row each have a second diameter smaller than the first diameter; wherein: the plurality of dispersing rods further comprise a third row below the lower second row, and the plurality of dispersing rods of the third row each have a third diameter smaller than the second diameter.
In the same field of endeavor, pertaining to material handling and chute, D3 teaches the dispersing rod comprises a plurality of dispersing rods provided at least in an upper first row and a lower second row that are spaced apart in the height direction of the guide chute (Fig 2 item 14, 15), the plurality of dispersing rods of the upper first row each have a first diameter (Fig 2 item 14), the plurality of dispersing rods of the lower second row each have a second diameter smaller than the first diameter (Fig 2 item 15).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention was made to have modified the dispersing rod as taught by D1 with further including plurality of dispersing rods arranged in desired direction and sizes, as taught by D3, for the benefit of efficiently supplying material with uniformity for further processing.
However, both D1 and D3 failed to explicitly teach a number of the plurality of dispersing rods of the lower second row is at least two more than a number of the plurality of dispersing rods of the upper first row, based on the width direction, and each of the plurality of dispersing rods of the upper first row is provided alternately with each of the plurality of dispersing rods of the lower second row; wherein: the plurality of dispersing rods further comprise a third row below the lower second row, and the plurality of dispersing rods of the third row each have a third diameter smaller than the second diameter; wherein: the plurality of dispersing rods further comprise a third row below the lower second row, wherein the plurality of dispersing rods of the third row each have a third diameter smaller than the second diameter of each of the plurality of dispersing rods of the lower second row, and wherein a number of the plurality of dispersing rods of the third row is at least three more than the number of the plurality of dispersing rods of the lower second row. The Examiner notes that the arrangement and sizes of the dispersing rod, would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art based on the teaching provided by D1 and D3, for the purpose of avoiding the particle size segregation leading to inconsistent formability, tensile strength, and mechanical properties of the self-supporting film.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-15 of co-pending Application No. 19/058831 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both of the instant claim and reference claim pertains to dry electrode powder for dry electrode manufacturing including a guide chute to pass through the electrode powder, including dispersing rod, and a rolling roll to compress the electrode powder of the adjusted particle size
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claim 1 - 16, the claim of co-pending Application No. 19/058831 (reference application) discloses a dry electrode manufacturing device, comprising: an inserting part that supplies an electrode powder for dry electrode manufacturing; a guide chute that passes through the electrode powder supplied from the inserting part ; a dispersing rod provided in the guide chute to disperse the electrode powder; and a rolling roll that compresses the electrode powder distributed to have a uniform particle size into an electrode member in the form a sheet that has a set thickness (see claim 1). Regarding the dependent claims 2-16 pertaining to shape and having plurality of rods arranged in specific manners, see additionally reference claims 2-15.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2026/0112600 A1; US 2025/0316676 A1; US 2016/0109124 A1.
NAHIDA SULTANA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1743
/NAHIDA SULTANA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743