DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant concludes that Miller does not teach all the limitations of claim 1. Applicant has not pointed out how Miller fails to teach the limitations, merely concludes that Miller does not. Without more, opinion is not evidence. The argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smotritskiy US 20210086147.
Regarding claim 1, Smotritskiy discloses a hydrodynamic cavitation system, comprising:
a housing (3) comprising a fluid inlet (8) and a fluid outlet (9);
a circular stator (1) coupled to an interior of the housing and comprising ridges (4) on an interior radial surface (Fig. 1);
a rotor (2) positioned within the circular stator, the rotor comprising a plurality of rotor blades (5) on an exterior radial surface;
a driveshaft (6) coupled to the rotor and extending outwardly from the housing, the driveshaft configured to be driven by a motor (Fig. 1);
wherein as the driveshaft rotates, the rotor rotates within the circular stator (Fig. 1); and
wherein as the rotor rotates within the circular stator, a plurality of cavitation sites are formed (at 10 and at 5).
Note: "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Since all the structural limitations of the claim are present, the mere appearance of cavitation sites as a result of employing the motor is not sufficient in and of itself to distinguish over the prior art. The limitations in original claim 10 are distinguished over claim 1’s limitation because the creation of the cavitation sites are tied to specific structures or a combination of specific structures.
Regarding claim 2, Smotritskiy further discloses that the plurality of rotor blades each comprise a first ridge (radially inner one of 5), a second ridge (radially outer one of 5), and a constriction (between 5) between the first ridge and the second ridge.
Regarding claim 3, Smotritskiy further discloses that the rotor blades (5) are positioned from a leading edge of the rotor to a rear edge of the rotor at spaced intervals (Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miller US 20160185624.
Regarding claim 1, Miller discloses a hydrodynamic cavitation system, comprising:
a housing (210) comprising a fluid inlet (218) and a fluid outlet (220);
a circular stator (436’, Fig. 4B) coupled to an interior of the housing and comprising ridges (vanes forming slots 440’) on an interior surface (Fig. 4B);
a rotor (330) positioned within the stator, the rotor comprising a plurality of rotor blades (332) on an exterior radial surface (Fig. 3);
a driveshaft (212) coupled to the rotor and extending outwardly from the housing, the driveshaft configured to be driven by a motor (Fig. 2);
wherein as the driveshaft rotates, the rotor rotates within the stator (Fig. 2); and
wherein as the rotor rotates within the circular stator, a plurality of cavitation sites are formed (at each of the two ridges on top and bottom of vane, View B, Fig. 4B). See note of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, Miller further discloses that the rotor blades are positioned from a leading edge of the rotor to a rear edge of the rotor at spaced intervals (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smotritskiy US 20210086147 in view of Beech US 2568536.
Regarding claim 4, Smotritskiy does not teach a door coupled to an exterior surface of the housing and one or more clamps, coupled to the housing, configured to seal and unseal the door.
Beech teaches a pump comprising a door (20) coupled to an exterior surface of the housing and one or more clamps, coupled to the housing, configured to seal and unseal the door (Fig. 1) in order to provide easy access to the interior of the pump (col. 4 ln. 34-39). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the pump housing as taught by Smotritskiy by utilizing a door with clamps as taught by Beech in order to provide easy access to the interior of the pump.
Claim(s) 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smotritskiy US 20210086147 in view of Beech US 2568536.
Regarding claim 6, Smotritskiy teaches a distance between the circular stator and the rotor (Fig. 1). However, it does not teach that that distance is 0.1-6.0 cm.
It has been held, see In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation."
Since applicant has not disclosed that having the distance between the rotor and stator being 0.1-6.0 cm solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that system of Smotritskiy would perform equally well at creating cavitation within the range claimed, absent persuasive evidence that the particular range is significant, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify distance as taught by Smotritskiy by utilizing the distance as claimed in order to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A).
Regarding claim 7, Smotritskiy teaches a distance between a second stator (19) and the rotor (2, Fig. 1). However, it does not teach that the distance is 0.1-6.0 cm.
Since applicant has not disclosed that having the distance between the rotor and a second stator being 0.1-6.0 cm solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that system of Smotritskiy would perform equally well at creating cavitation within the range claimed, absent persuasive evidence that the particular range is significant, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify distance as taught by Smotritskiy by utilizing the distance as claimed in order to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A).
Claim(s) 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in Miller US 20160185624 in view of Smotritskiy US 20210086147.
Regarding claim 5, Miller discloses the limitations of claim 1 above. However, it does not teach a hydrophone configured to measure a delta of frequency within the hydrodynamic cavitation system.
Smotritskiy teaches a cavitation system comprising a hydrophone (20) configured to measure a delta of frequency within the hydrodynamic cavitation system in order to diagnose the state of the working bodies ([0057]) and obtain information about the processing regimes ([0093]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system as taught by Miller by utilizing a hydrophone as taught by Smotritskiy in order to obtain information and diagnose issues with the system.
Regarding claim 8, official notice is being taken that pressure gauges are well-known in the art for determining the pressure within a pressurized system and provide that information to ensure safe operation. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system as taught by Smotritskiy by uitilizing a pressure gauge coupled to the housing in order to monitor and safely operate that system without exceeding safe pressure limits of the housing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 11-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 9 and its dependents are allowable for the specific locations of each of the plurality of cavitation sites associated with the first and second stator and rotor.
Claims 12 and 15 are allowable for adding HO and O3 being added to the contaminated liquid prior to the contaminated liquid entering the system.
Claim 13 is allowable for depending from claim 12.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN O PETERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745