DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kuwahata et al. (US 2022/0314897).
Regarding claim 1, Kuwahata et al. (hereafter “D1”) discloses a cover member attachment structure comprising: a support member (console bracket 11) that is fixed to a roof member (ceiling part 1) of a vehicle ([0034]); a console member (3) that is fixed to the roof member (via bracket 11 – figure 3); and a cover member (camera cover 12) that is disposed so as to be adjacent to the console member in a vehicle front-rear direction (figure 2), such that a first end portion (left in figure 2) of the cover member in the vehicle front-rear direction is supported by a glass member (windshield 2) that separates an interior and exterior of the vehicle and a second end portion (right in figure 2) of the cover member in the vehicle front-rear direction is attached to the support member (11 – [0035]), the cover member being configured to house a housed object (camera) between the cover member and the glass member, wherein an elastic member (roof lining 4) is interposed between the second end portion of the cover member and the support member (figure 2).
Regarding claim 2, D1 discloses wherein the second end portion of the cover member includes a fitting portion (protruding parts 20) that is fitted in a hole portion (21) that is provided on the support member (11) ([0038]).
Regarding claim 3, D1 discloses wherein: the fitting portion (20) is provided with a flange portion (plate-shaped piece 40) that faces the support member (faces at least flanges of 11 as seen in figure 5, where at least part of elastic member 4 exists between flange of 11 and the fitting 20); and the elastic member is interposed between the flange portion and the support member.
Regarding claim 5, D1 discloses wherein the elastic member (4) is a roof lining that constitutes a roof of a vehicle cabin ([0030]).
Regarding claim 6, D1 discloses wherein an end portion (bottom flange below 3a – figure 6) of the console member (3) on a side of the cover member is provided with an extension portion that overlaps with an end portion of the cover member.
Regarding claim 7, D1 discloses wherein: the first end portion of the cover member is supported by the glass member through a cover support portion (camera bracket 6 – [0035]); and the cover support portion (6) is configured to allow movement of the cover member in the vehicle front-rear direction and a vehicle-width direction ([0048]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuwahata et al. (US 2022/0314897).
Regarding claim 4, D1 does not disclose the material for the elastic member. However, D1 does teach the use of resin material for other parts ([0035]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to use a resin material for the elastic member in D1 to match with other members of the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See notice of references cited form PTO-892. References not applied but cited are relevant as disclosing or suggesting at least one feature in the claims or disclosure of the present application.
/PATRICK D HAWN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631