DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes that present claims are drawn to an apparatus. "Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) (MPEP 2114). Functional limitations are typically followed by a linking term “for”, “performing”, “carry out”, “execute” etc. and concerns operation of the apparatus. For example, for providing power and data… (claim 3), for aligning the wire bonding tool... (claim 4), for moving the service robot… (claim 6) refer to functional limitations and do not structurally contribute to the apparatus. Furthermore, examiner notes that, “inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” (MPEP 2115). In this case, “bonding a wire to workpiece” are workpieces which do not structurally limit the bonding apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2018/0294245, hereafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a wire bonding array comprising: a plurality of wire bonding systems 10 (fig. 1, [0028]), each of the plurality of wire bonding systems including (i) a bond head assembly 120 for bonding a wire W to a workpiece S (fig. 2A, [0037]) and (ii) a support structure 110 for supporting the workpiece [0036]; a wire bonding capillary/tool replacement system 400 (figs. 4A-B) configured for installation on, and removal from, each of the plurality of wire bonding systems 10; and a service robot 200/201 including a manipulator (figs. 4, 10) configured to install the wire bonding tool replacement system and remove the wire bonding tool replacement system with respect to each of the plurality of wire bonding systems (figs. 13, 15; [0051-0052, 0062, 0094]).
As to claim 2, Kim discloses that each of the plurality of wire bonding systems 10 includes a docking station (loading area LA- fig. 14) configured to receive the wire bonding tool replacement system 400 [0036].
As to claim 5, Kim discloses the wire bonding array further comprising at least one additional wire bonding tool replacement system 400 (fig. 4 shows 4 systems/units) configured for installation on, and removal from, each of the plurality of wire bonding systems by the manipulator.
As to claim 6, Kim discloses that the service robot includes a base structure [0053] for moving the service robot with respect to the plurality of wire bonding systems 10, the base 260 being positioned above a receiving portion (by elevating movement- [0062]) of each of the plurality of wire bonding systems 10 (figs. 13, 15).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses a wire bonding array comprising: a plurality of wire bonding systems 10 (fig. 1, [0028]), each of the plurality of wire bonding systems including (i) a bond head assembly 120 for bonding a wire W to a workpiece S (fig. 2A, [0037]) and (ii) a support structure 110 for supporting the workpiece [0036]; a maintenance station 20/21 (figs. 4, 10) including a plurality of wire bonding capillary/tool replacement systems 400/401 (figs. 4A-B, [0070]), each of the plurality of wire bonding tool replacement systems being configured for installation on, and removal from, each of the plurality of wire bonding systems 10; and a service robot 200/201 including a manipulator (figs. 4, 10) configured to move ones of the plurality of wire bonding tool replacement systems between the maintenance station and ones of the plurality of wire bonding systems (figs. 13, 15; [0051-0052, 0062, 0094]).
As to claim 8, Kim discloses that each of the plurality of wire bonding systems 10 includes a docking station (surface 211- fig. 4A) configured to receive the wire bonding tool replacement system 400 [0069].
As to claim 9, Kim shows that the maintenance station 20 includes a plurality of docking stations, each of the plurality of docking stations (plurality of surface areas 211) configured to receive each of the plurality of wire bonding tool replacement systems 400 (fig. 4B).
As to claim 10, Kim discloses that the maintenance station includes a replacement assembly 440 configured to remove a waste from the wire bonding tool replacement systems, the waste including at least one used wire bonding capillary/tool in a collection container 460 (fig. 6, [0080, 0090]).
As to claim 11, Kim discloses that the maintenance station further includes a receptacle 460 for receiving the waste from the plurality of wire bonding tool replacement systems from the replacement assembly (fig. 6, [0090]).
As to claim 12, Kim shows that the maintenance station 20 further includes a plurality of wire bonding tool trays 450 (part of 400- fig. 4A), each of the wire bonding tool trays including a plurality of wire bonding tools (fig. 6, [0089]).
As to claim 15, Kim discloses that the service robot 200/201 (figs. 4, 10) is further configured to move ones of the plurality of wire bonding tool replacement systems 400/401 directly between ones of the plurality of wire bonding systems 10 (fig. 13, [0052, 0094]).
As to claim 16, Kim discloses that the service robot includes a base structure [0053] for moving the service robot with respect to the plurality of wire bonding systems, the base 260 being positioned above a receiving portion (by elevating movement- [0062]) of each of the plurality of wire bonding systems 10 (figs. 13, 15).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses a maintenance station 20/21 (figs. 4, 10) for servicing a wire bonding array, the maintenance station comprising: a plurality of wire bonding tool replacement systems 400/401 (figs. 4A-4B), each wire bonding tool replacement system being configured for installation on, and removal from, a wire bonding system 10 (fig. 13, [0052, 0094]).
As to claim 18, Kim shows that the maintenance station 20 includes a plurality of docking stations, each of the plurality of docking stations (plurality of surface areas 211) configured to receive each of the plurality of wire bonding tool replacement systems 400 (fig. 4B).
As to claim 19, Kim discloses that the maintenance station includes a replacement assembly 440 configured to remove a waste from the wire bonding tool replacement systems, the waste including at least one used wire bonding capillary/tool in a collection container 460 (fig. 6, [0080, 0090]).
As to claim 20, Kim discloses that the maintenance station further includes a receptacle 460 for receiving the waste from the plurality of wire bonding tool replacement systems from the replacement assembly (fig. 6, [0090]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claim 2 above, and in view of Deards et al. (US 9482605, “Deards”).
As to claim 3, Kim is silent with respect to a connector for providing power and data to the wire bonding tool replacement system. However, such feature is known in the art. Deards is directed to bond testing machine for semiconductor devices including wire bonds, wherein the testing machine comprises different tools such as shear test tool, push or pull test tool (col. 1, lines 10-20, 33-39). These are analogous to bonding capillaries/tools in Kim. Deards teaches a tool mount 110 with different test tools along with an electronic circuitry 120, and the testing machine including an electrical power and data connection to the tool mount 110 by connections 124 and 128 (fig. 3a; col. 9, line 40 thru col. 10, line 15). In this manner, the control circuitry is enabled to establish when a test tool is in the use position and provides the information to positioning assembly for appropriate controlling (col. 9, line 60 thru col. 10, line 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate an electrical power and data connection in the docking station of wire bonding tool replacement system of Kim because doing so would provide useful information for tool placement, as suggested by Deards.
Claim(s) 4 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2018/0294245).
As to claim 4, Kim discloses the wire bonding system 10 comprising a docking area LA and protruding marks/pins 15 that are intended to align the mobile robot 200 which transfers the capillary replacement unit 400 during installation (figs. 13-14; col. 6, lines 26-36; col. 11, lines 31-40). An artisan of ordinary skill would appreciate and understand that suitable number of protruding marks/pins would be placed to assist positional alignment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide locator marks/pins on the docking station area in the wire bonding system of Kim with the motivation to facilitate positional alignment of the wire bonding tool replacement system during installation.
As to claim 13, Kim discloses a wire bonding tool tray 450 which contains a plurality of capillaries/tools (fig. 6). Kim also teaches the maintenance station 20 includes a replacement/transfer assembly 440 having a gripper 420 which is well configured to load bonding tool trays [0080]. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the transfer assembly move bonding tool trays into any desired location on the plurality of wire bonding tool replacement units in the system of Kim in order to provide proper storage for multiple tools/capillaries.
As to claim 14, Kim discloses a battery part 250 including a rechargeable battery supplying electrical energy to the mobile robot (fig. 13, [0061]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a suitable charging mechanism in the maintenance station of Kim in order to recharge the battery and the robot.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/23/25 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Inquiry
To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at https://www.uspto.gov/patents/laws/interview-practice. Communications via Internet email are at the discretion of Applicant. If Applicant wishes to communicate via email, a written authorization form must be filed by Applicant: Form PTO/SB/439, available at www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The form may be filed via the Patent Center and can be found using the document description Internet Communications, see https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/forms. In limited circumstances, the Applicant may make an oral authorization for Internet communication. See MPEP § 502.03.
/DEVANG R PATEL/
Primary Examiner, AU 1735