Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In lines 2 and 3 “the first absorbable layer” is indefinite because it lacks antecedent basis. In line 1 of claim 8, “each electrode” is indefinite because it lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hellmold et al (US 2019/0167489).
As per claim 1 Hellmold et al discloses: An incontinence detection cell, comprising:
a) a substrate 1 {figures 1-3} comprising a first surface {topsheet} and a second surface {backsheet}; b) a first absorbable material layer {absorbent core} disposed on the first surface {topsheet} of the substrate 1; c) a pair of electrodes 4, 7 & 8 disposed between the first surface {topsheet} of the substrate 1 and the first absorbable material layer {absorbent core} { [0141] The disclosure herein further contemplates a process of making an absorbent article comprising the steps of: providing a liquid impermeable backsheet and applying a plurality of sensor tracks, as described herein; providing an insulating layer 200 having a width w, taken along an axis perpendicular to the longitudinal axis y-y, being less than a width W of said backsheet, and typically applying one or more shortening elements 10 thereto, optionally further applying one or more secondary shortening elements 11 thereto; adhering said insulating layer 200 to said backsheet, said insulating layer being sized and positioned to cover the at least one central track 4 and optionally a portion of the at least two side tracks 7,8, to provide a laminated substrate; providing an absorbent core comprising absorbent material; providing a liquid permeable topsheet; and sandwiching the absorbent core between said backsheet and said topsheet. Preferably, the sensor tracks are in the form of an electrically conductive ink and the application step comprises the printing thereof onto the backsheet, preferably wherein the shortening elements 10 and the secondary shortening elements 11 are in the form of an electrically conductive ink and the application step comprises the printing thereof onto the insulating layer 200 or backsheet.}; and
d) an insulating film 200 disposed on a portion of the first absorbable material layer {absorbent core} { figures 2A-2B & [0141] and Note: the insulating film is disposed on a first surface of the absorbable material layer. A first surface is not set forth with any specificity to distinguish between any surface of absorbable material layer. },
wherein the insulating film 200 {figures 2B & 7} is configured to partially cover the first absorbable material layer {absorbent core} such that at least a portion of the first absorbable material layer {absorbent core} remains exposed {[0116] In an embodiment, the absorbent article 100 according to the present disclosure (as exemplified in FIG. 5) is typically a disposable diaper or pant, and suitable for detecting a wetness (i.e. urine and/or feces) event therein and/or risk of exudate leakage therefrom, said absorbent article comprising: a liquid impermeable backsheet; a liquid permeable topsheet; and an absorbent core interposed between said backsheet and topsheet, wherein said backsheet comprises the substrate 1 described herein, typically the backsheet, absorbent core and topsheet forming a chassis of the absorbent article. Note: “exposed” (i.e. exposure to air, light liquid, etc. ) has not been set forth with an specificity to distinguish over Hellmold et al}.
As per claim 2 Hellmold et al discloses: The incontinence detection cell of claim 1, wherein the first absorbable material layer {absorbent core} is disposed on a surface of the electrodes, wherein when the first absorbable material layer {absorbent core} is dry, an open circuit is formed between the pair of electrodes 4, 7 & 8, wherein when the first absorbable material layer {absorbent core} is wetted, the connecting material comprises the wet first absorbable material layer {absorbent core}, thus operably connecting the pair of electrodes 4, 7 & 8 and forming the closed circuit between the pair of electrodes 4, 7 & 8 for detecting incontinence {[0086] . . . said wetness sensing tracks 9 are in electrical communication via one or more shortening elements 10 positioned proximal to said second end 6 and distal from said first end 5, and wherein the substrate 1 is connectable to a clip-on data processing module 103 at a position proximal to said first end 5 and distal from said shortening elements 10 such to form a closed electrical circuit, typically for measuring resistance and/or capacitance therethrough. It has been advantageously found that a substrate that comprises the above described sensor track arrangement provides for accurate detection of exudates as well as being particularly suitable for fully scalable in-line mass production at high speeds . . .}.
As per claim 3 Hellmold et al discloses: The incontinence detection cell of claim 1, wherein the first absorbable material layer {absorbent core} is configured to have a fixed size {[0120] In an embodiment, the absorbent core comprises a nonwoven core wrap typically arranged such that there is no folding (i.e. no nonwoven overlap) of said core wrap coming in direct contact with the backsheet comprising the sensor tracks. Note: “fixed size” lacks specificity to distinguish over the applied prior art.}.
As per claim 4 Hellmold et al discloses: The incontinence detection cell of claim 1 further comprising a drainage channel {[0126] In a preferred embodiment, the first end 5 of the substrate (and/or backsheet) corresponds to the front (or belly portion) of the absorbent article and the second end 6 corresponds to the back of the absorbent article. Note: The area between to the first and second end is seen to be the “drainage channel”} extending through the substrate 1 {Figure 1A-2A}.
As per claim 5 Hellmold et al discloses: The incontinence detection cell of claim 4, wherein the drainage channel is positioned on the portion of the first absorbable material layer {absorbent core} that is covered by the insulating film 200 {[0126] In a preferred embodiment, the first end 5 of the substrate (and/or backsheet) corresponds to the front (or belly portion) of the absorbent article and the second end 6 corresponds to the back of the absorbent article. Note: The area between to the first and second end is seen to be the “drainage channel”}.
As per claim 6 Hellmold et al discloses: The incontinence detection cell of claim 1 further comprising at least support components 2 & 3 disposed on either side of the first absorbable material layer {absorbent core} {Figure 1A-2A}.
As per claim 7 Hellmold et al discloses: The incontinence detection cell of claim 1 further comprising an air barrier 15 {figures 2A & 2B}; wherein the air barrier 15 is disposed between the pair of electrodes 4, 7 & 8 and the first absorbable layer {absorbent core} { [0042] The absorbent article may also include other components, such as liquid wicking layers, liquid intake layers, liquid distribution layers, transfer layers, barrier layers, wrapping layers and the like, as well as combinations thereof. & [0070] A layer can be liquid and air permeable, permeable to air but impermeable to liquids, impermeable both to air and liquid, or the like. }.
As per claim 8 Hellmold et al discloses: The incontinence detection cell of claim 1, wherein each electrode 4, 7 and 8 further comprises a conductive lead . { [0121] . . . clip-on data processing module 103 being connectable to the at least one central track 4 and the at least two side tracks 7,8 . . . }.
As per claim 9 Hellmold et al discloses: The incontinence detection cell of claim 8, wherein the conductive leads are configured to terminate at an electrical contact. { [0121] . . . clip-on data processing module 103 being connectable to the at least one central track 4 and the at least two side tracks 7,8 . . . }.
As per claim 10 Hellmold et al discloses: An incontinence detection system comprising: a) one or more incontinence detection cells according to claim 1;
wherein the substrates 1 of the one or more incontinence detection cells are physically continuous and uninterrupted;
wherein each of the first absorbable material layers {absorbent core} of the one or more incontinence detection cells is configured to have a fixed size {[0120] In an embodiment, the absorbent core comprises a nonwoven core wrap typically arranged such that there is no folding (i.e. no nonwoven overlap) of said core wrap coming in direct contact with the backsheet comprising the sensor tracks. Note: “fixed size” lacks specificity to distinguish over the applied prior art.}, and b) a controller 130 operably coupled to the electrodes of the one or more incontinence detection cells { figures 2B, 5 & 6A and [0121] }.
As per claim 11 Hellmold et al discloses: The system of claim 10, wherein one of the one or more incontinence detection cells (100) is doped . { [0074] Superabsorbent materials (e.g. superabsorbent polymers) suitable for use in the present disclosure are known to those skilled in the art, and may be in any operative form, such as particulate form, fibers and mixtures thereof. Generally stated, the “superabsorbent material” can be a water-swellable, generally water-insoluble, hydrogel-forming polymeric absorbent material, which is capable of absorbing at least about 15, suitably about 30, and possibly about 60 times or more its weight in physiological saline (e.g. saline with 0.9 wt % NaCl). The superabsorbent material may be biodegradable or bipolar. & [0075] Note: doping is to add an impurity to produce a desired electrical characteristic. The addition of saline with NaCL (i.e. salt) increases the conductivity of the fluid. As a result, the cells of Hellmold et al is seen to be doped. }.
As per claim 12 Hellmold et al discloses: The system of claim 10 further comprising an undergarment, wherein the plurality of incontinence detection cells are disposed on the undergarment {figure 5}.
As per claim 13 Hellmold et al discloses: The system (200) of claim 10, wherein the controller 130 comprises a memory { [0105] An advantage is that identifiers such as the level of absorbency of the absorbent article, the size etc. can be pre-defined and detected when connected to the clip-on module, based on the location of the secondary shorts generating a pre-set resistance level that the module can detect by comparing for example the initial resistive measurement upon connection to the absorbent article versus preset values that may be stored in a memory within the unit.}, a processor operably coupled to the memory and the electrodes, and a transmitter operably coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform operations comprising detecting signals from the electrodes and transmitting said signals to a server via the transmitter { [0130] . . . the housing 30 comprises therein a data processing system, said data processing system comprising a power source, a processor, and a transmitter; and a motion sensor in electrical communication with at least said processor, the flexible connection member 31 being arranged to fasten to a surface of the absorbent article 100, wherein the absorbent article 100 comprises a plurality of sensor tracks 101, and to electrically connect at least two of said plurality of sensor tracks to said processing system via said one or more electrically conducting connection ports 33 . . . [0132] In an embodiment, the transmitter may be arranged to transmit/forward the data measured to a server or end-user}.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-20 allowed.
Conclusion
/DAVID D DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627
DDD