CTNF 19/062,537 CTNF 83227 DETAILED ACTION Claims 1-20 are pending. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, 10-11, 13-16, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a(1) as being anticipated by Nishio et al. (US 2014/0267902) . Claim 1, Nishio teaches An image display device comprising: a display (i.e. display device) (p. 0062); a communication unit configured to communicate with a video player (i.e. transmission device 2) (fig. 1); and a controller (i.e. controller) (p. 0020) configured to: receive auxiliary video information (AVI) frequency information (i.e. AVI infoframe) of a video signal received from the video player (p. 0048), preset a frame rate (i.e. as described in the VIC within the AVI) of the video signal based on the received AVI frequency information when the AVI frequency information is not a preset default value (p. 0048), and control the video signal to be displayed on the display according to the preset frame rate (i.e. displayed in the frame rate described in the VIC) (p. 0048). Claim 3, Nishio teaches The image display device according to claim 2, wherein the controller is configured to: calculate the frame rate based on a horizontal resolution, a vertical resolution, and a pixel clock of the video signal (p. 0044). Claim 4, Nishio teaches The image display device according to claim 1, further comprising: a storage unit (i.e. storage) (p. 0025), wherein the controller is configured to: when the AVI frequency information of the video signal is not received (i.e. frame rate is only received for a specific set, in other words not received otherwise), preset the frame rate (i.e. predetermined frame rate) of the video signal based on vendor specific infoframe (VSIF) frequency information stored in a VSIF buffer present in the storage unit (i.e. VSIF info stored in storage) (p. 0025, 0049, 0070); and control the video signal to be displayed on the display according to the preset frame rate (p. 0025, 0049, 0070). Claim 5, Nishio teaches the image display device according to claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to: when the VSIF frequency information is not present in the VSIF buffer (i.e. specific set of frame rates not stored), calculate the frame rate based on the video signal (i.e. using divider of VSIF or frame rate within the VIC) (p. 0049, 0070- 0072) ; and control the video signal to be displayed on the display according to the preset frame rate (p. 0049, 0070- 0072). Claim 6, Nishio teaches The image display device according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: when the frame rate of the video signal is less than or equal to a first frequency (i.e. frame rate is lower than original frame rate), receive original AVI frequency information of the video signal from the video player as the AVI frequency information (i.e. transmitted as the original clock of the video signal) (p. 0075-0076); and when the frame rate of the video signal is less than the first frequency, receive the preset default value from the video player as the AVI frequency information (i.e. transmitted as the original clock of the video signal) (p. 0075-0076). Claim 8. Nishio teaches the image display device according to claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to: when the frame rate of the video signal is less than or equal to a second frequency (i.e. any frame rate lower than original frame rate), receive the VSIF frequency information of the video signal from the video player (i.e. low frame transmission mode), and store the received VSIF frequency information in the VSIF buffer (i.e. VSIF info stored in storage) (p. 0025, 0049, 0070., 0075-0080). Claim 10, Nishio teaches The image display device according to claim 1, wherein: the video signal is a high definition multimedia interface (HDMI)-type video signal (p. 0064-0065). Claims 11 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 1. Claims 13 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 3. Claims 14 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 4. Claims 15 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 5. Claims 16 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 6. Claims 18 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 8. Claims 20 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 10 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2, 9, 12, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishio et al. (US 2014/0267902) in view of Lai (US 2008/0037880) . Claim 2, Nishio is not entirely clear in teaching The image display device according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: calculate a frame rate based on the video signal when the AVI frequency information is a preset default value; and control the video signal to be displayed on the display according to the preset frame rate. Lai teaches The image display device according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: calculate a frame rate based on the video signal when the AVI frequency information is a preset default value (i.e. default value set when no specific frame rate selected) (p. 0089); and control the video signal to be displayed on the display according to the preset frame rate (p. 0089). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided default frame rate as taught by Lai to the system of Nishio to provide a frame rate when no info is received (p. 0089). Claim 9, Nishio is silent regarding The image display device according to claim 8, wherein: the second frequency is set to 30 Hz. Lai teaches The image display device according to claim 8, wherein: the second frequency is set to 30 Hz (p. 0089). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided default frame rate as taught by Lai to the system of Nishio to provide a frame rate when no info is received (p. 0089). Claims 12 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 2. Claims 19 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 9 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishio et al. (US 2014/0267902) in view of Lai (US 2008/0037880) . Claim 7, Nishio is silent regarding The image display device according to claim 6, wherein: the first frequency is set to 120 Hz. Takahashi teaches The image display device according to claim 6, wherein: the first frequency is set to 120 Hz (p. 0116-0117, 0135, 0140). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided a frequency setting as taught by Takahashi to the system of Nishio to increase or decrease frame rate of a p Claims 17 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 7 . Conclusion Claims 1-20 are rejected. 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20150103919 A1 HATTORI; Shinobu et al. – original frame rates and base layers US 8660402 B2 Newton; Philip Steven et al. – 3D video playback US 8428090 B2 Bulkowski; Brian et al. – synchronization and timing of enhanced TV Inquiries Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MUSHFIKH I ALAM whose telephone number is (571)270-1710. The examiner can normally be reached 1:00PM-9:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nasser Goodarzi can be reached at 571-272-4195. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. MUSHFIKH I. ALAM Primary Examiner Art Unit 2426 /MUSHFIKH I ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426 6/11/2026 Application/Control Number: 19/062,537 Page 2 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/062,537 Page 3 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/062,537 Page 4 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/062,537 Page 5 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/062,537 Page 6 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/062,537 Page 8 Art Unit: 2426