DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly USPN 5555847 in view of Komatsubara et al. US Patent Application Publication 2014/0107606 and further in view of Chmielewski et al. US Patent Application Publication 2015/0245958.
As to claim 1, Kelly teaches a durable pet diaper 20, the diaper consisting of:
an outer fabric cover comprising a substantially impervious exterior layer 23 and
a substantially pervious and breathable interior layer 23, the layers being stitched together along an outer rim 30 of the diaper, the exterior layer and the interior layer forming a pocket 32 therebetween (Kelly Figure 1; col. 2, lines 61-64 and col. 3, lines 1-4);
Kelly teaches the present invention substantially as claimed. However, Kelly does not teach a multi-plied absorbent pad. Komatsubara teaches a pet diaper having a core with fluff pulp and core wrapping material (Komatsubara para. 0034). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was originally filed to modify the absorbent of Kelly with the multi-plied absorbent pad of Komatsubara since both references are from the same field of endeavor and solve the same problem of providing an absorbent for a pet.
Kelly/Komatsubara teach the multi-plied absorbent being encapsulated in the pocket between the exterior layer and the interior layer, the absorbent pad 4 (Komatsubara) being fabricated from at least one of the following: a polyolefin polymer fiber, a polyester fiber, a cotton fiber, a rayon fiber, and a binder fiber (Komatsubara para. 0034).
Kelly/Komatsubara teach the present invention substantially as claimed. Kelly/Komatsubara do not teach the absorbent pad is folded into at least a first fold and a second fold along a pair of long sides of the absorbent pad. Chmielewski teaches an absorbent article with a multi-layer folded absorbent core (Chmielewski Figs. 2 and 8; Abstract). Chmielewski teaches the multi-layer folded absorbent core presents a central channel and multiple liquid pathways for greatly enhanced distribution and acquisition of liquid within the core (Chmielewski para. 0006). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was originally filed to modify the absorbent of Kelly/Komatsubara with a folded absorbent laminate for the benefits taught in Chmielewski.
Kelly/Komatsubara/Chmielewski teach the folds decrease the width and increase the thickness of the absorbent pad (Chmielewski Figs. 2, 9A-9E), causing a gap to form between the long sides of the absorbent pad and the outer rim of the diaper (Kelly Figs. 2 and 3);
a front portion substantially covering from the pet's crotch to the abdominal midsection (Kelly Figs. 2 and 3), the front portion comprising a foldable front edge adapted to fold outwardly and inwardly (Chmielewski Figs. 9A-9E),
wherein the front portion adjustably increases and decreases the surface area covered from the pet's crotch to the rib cage – where Kelly teaches the chest strap 58 is helpful in drawing the lip 63 forwards which draws the mouth 34 of the pocket open and tends also to press the lip against the skin of the dog (col. 4, lines 42-56). This can increase or decrease the surface area covered on the dog.
Kelly further teaches one or more resilient flaps (Kelly Fig. 1) extending from the front portion of the diaper, the flaps comprising one or more first securing elements 47 (shown in phantom near edge 30, Fig. 1; col. 3, lines 62-64); and
a back portion near hem 49 (Kelly Fig. 1) substantially covering from the pet's rectum to the back (Kelly Fig. 3),
the back portion being defined by an elasticized tail hole 54 (Kelly col. 3, lines 58-61),
the back portion comprising at least one second securing element 47 adapted to detachably mate with the first securing elements 47 (shown in phantom near edge 30, Fig. 1; col. 3, lines 62-64);
wherein the flaps secure the front portion and the back portion of the diaper to the pet (Kelly col. 3, line 30-38) and adjustably extend and retract longitudinally across the pet's midsection when the front and back portions are secured to the pet – where Kelly teaches the diaper is held in place with straps 56 (Fig. 3; col. 3, lines 49-55). Kelly further teaches the straps 56 are attached from the slots 50, and the straps run forwards and are secured around the dog’s neck. Kelly teaches the straps 56 may be tailored or adjusted for the particular dog, or the straps may be of elastic, whereby one size of strap fits may sizes of dog (col. 3, line 65 through col. 4, line 2).
Kelly/Komatsubara/Chmielewski teach the front portion and back portion intersect proximate the pet's crotch and rectum forming a comfort cup 32,34 near the intersection (Kelly Figs. 1, 1A, 2, and 4; col. 4, lines 17-33).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly USPN 5555847 in view of Komatsubara et al. US Patent Application Publication 2014/0107606 and further in view of Chmielewski et al. US Patent Application Publication 2015/0245958 and further in view of DiPalma et al. USPN 5649916.
As to claim 2, Kelly/Komatsubara/Chmielewski teach the durable pet diaper of claim 1 substantially as claimed. Kelly/Komatsubara/Chmielewski do not teach the absorbent pad is a nonwoven comprising polyolefin polymer fiber fabric constitution. DiPalma teaches an absorbent article having increased wicking capacity (DiPalma Abstract) that comprises an absorbent core having polyolefin fibers for the benefit of providing a material that is capable of rapidly transferring body fluid (DiPalma col. 4, line 44 though col. 5, line 9). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the invention of Kelly/Komatsubara/Chmielewski with a nonwoven polyolefin polymer in the absorbent pad for the benefits taught in DiPalma.
As to claim 3, Kelly/Komatsubara/Chmielewski/DiPalma teach the diaper of claim 2, wherein the fabric constitution comprises at least one of the following: a polyolefin polymer fiber, a polyester fiber, a cotton fiber, a rayon fiber, and a binder fiber (Komatsubara para. 0035).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chmielewski USPN 6646180 and Nystrand et al. USPN 3814100 are cited to show folded absorbent laminates. Pesale US 2013/0036989 is cited to show an absorbent article for pets.
/JACQUELINE F STEPHENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781