DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,119,645 in view of Nowak (5,580,188). With regard to claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 10,119,645 claims similar limitations with the exception of wherein the expander being rotatable relative to the pipe anchor. Nowak discloses a pipe replacement (fig. 2) assembly wherein an expander (45) is rotatable (via 48) relative to a pipe anchor (31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify U.S. Patent No. 10,119,645 and have the expander be rotatably connected to the pipe anchor in order to prevent unwanted rotation of the replacement pipe.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,209,111 in view of Nowak (5,580,188). With regard to claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 11,209,111 claims similar limitations with the exception of wherein the expander being rotatable relative to the pipe anchor. Nowak discloses a pipe replacement (fig. 2) assembly wherein an expander (45) is rotatable (via 48) relative to a pipe anchor (31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify U.S. Patent No. 11,209,111 and have the expander be rotatably connected to the pipe anchor in order to prevent unwanted rotation of the replacement pipe.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,578,830. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims to the current application are merely broader than the claims to US Patent No. 11,578,830 and are thus encompassed by said claims.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,247,688 in view of Nowak (5,580,188). With regard to claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 12,247,688 claims similar limitations with the exception of wherein the expander being rotatable relative to the pipe anchor. Nowak discloses a pipe replacement (fig. 2) assembly wherein an expander (45) is rotatable (via 48) relative to a pipe anchor (31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify U.S. Patent No. 12,247,688 and have the expander be rotatably connected to the pipe anchor in order to prevent unwanted rotation of the replacement pipe.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the replacement pipe coupling" in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the pipe anchor" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tjader (2007/0048091) in view of Nowak (5,580,188).
With regard to claim 1, Tjader discloses a pipe breaking assembly (abstract), comprising: an expander (108) having a front opening (fig. 2, 4a, 4b) for a pulling cable (106); a cutter (102) rotatably coupled in front of the expander (para 0022, figs 1-2); a cable gripping anchor (200) including a number of tapered anchor jaws (500; fig. 5) located in the expander (para 0038); a replacement pipe anchor (116/122) located at a back end of the expander (fig. 2), the replacement pipe coupling adapted to hold a trailing replacement pipe (121); and an expander coupling (204) attaching the replacement pipe anchor to the expander (fig. 2).
Tjader is silent regarding the expander is rotatable relative to the pipe anchor.
Nowak discloses a pipe replacement (fig. 2) assembly wherein an expander (45) is rotatable (via 48) relative to a pipe anchor (31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify Tjader and have the replacement pipe anchor rotatable to the expander as taught by Nowak in order to prevent unwanted rotation of the replacement pipe.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN F FIORELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
BF
06/04/2026