DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 06/25/2026 has been entered. Claim 3 has been canceled. Claims 1, 10, and 12 have been amended. Claims 1-2 and 4-16 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues on pages 8-13 of the Remarks that neither Kang nor Choi discloses a display in which one of two pixel types each containing a plurality of sub-pixels - has none of its sub-pixels equipped with the plurality of lenses, the combination of Kang and Choi cannot disclose or suggest the limitation "the plurality of lenses are not in the first pixel"
In response to the applicant’s argument, examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner introduces Kang (KR 20230123917 as US Pub. 20250098495) which describes in fig. 5-8, 20 and paragraph 84, “The eyepiece LENS can be disposed on or overlapping with the first display area PA1. A condensing lens may not be disposed on the first display area PA1” Kang 495’ describes the above limitation. The rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al (KR 20230124161 as US Pub. 20250098494) in view of Kang (KR 20230123917 as US Pub. 20250098495).
Regarding claim 1, Kang 494’ discloses:
A display device, (at least refer to fig. 1 and paragraph 49. Describes a display device 100) comprising:
A first pixel and a second pixel being disposed at a display panel, (at least refer to fig. 1-2 and paragraphs 52, 64. Describes the display device 100 may include a substrate SUB, sub-pixels SP, and pads PD)
Wherein the first pixel and the second pixel respectively comprise a plurality of sub pixels, (at least refer to fig. 1 and paragraphs 55, 65. Describes two or more sub-pixels SP among the sub-pixels SP may form one pixel PXL. For example, three sub-pixels SP may form one pixel PXL) and each of the plurality of sub pixels of the second pixel comprising a plurality of lenses that refract light from an emitting diode, (at least refer to fig. 2, 15 and paragraphs 87, 209-210. Describes the lens-array layer LA may include lenses LS that respectively correspond to the first sub-pixel SP1, the second sub-pixel SP2, and the third sub-pixel SP3. Each of the lenses LS may output and direct light emitted from the emission structure EMS along an intended path, thus enhancing the light output efficiency. The lenses LS may have a relatively high refractive index. Para. 209, describes: An image outputted from the first display panel DP1 can be viewed by the right eye of the user through the right-eye lens RLNS. The right lens RLNS may refract light emitted from the first display panel DP1 toward the right eye of the user)
Kang 494’ does not disclose:
Wherein the plurality of lenses are not in the first pixel.
Kang 495’ teaches:
Wherein the plurality of lenses are not in the first pixel, (at least refer to fig. 5-8, 20 and paragraphs 84, 86-87, 201-202. Describes the eyepiece LENS can be disposed on or overlapping with the first display area PA1. A condensing lens may not be disposed on the first display area PA1. Para. 86, describes: The second display area PA2 can surround the first display area PA1. The eyepiece is not disposed in the second display area PA2, and condensing lenses 1010, 1020, and 1030 can be disposed therein. Para. 87, describes: Each of the first display area PA1 and the second display area PA2 can include a plurality of sub-pixels P1, P2 and P3. The plurality of sub-pixels P1, P2 and P3 can include emission areas EA1, EA2 and EA3, respectively. Para. 201, describes: The light emitted from the emission areas EA1, EA2 and EA3 of the first display area PA1 can travel straight without being refracted before reaching the eyepiece LENS. Para. 202, describes: The light emitted from the emission areas EA1, EA2 and EA3 of the second display area PA2 can be refracted by the condensing lenses 1010, 1020 and 1030 before reaching the eyepiece LENS).
The two references are analogous art because they are related with the same field of invention of display device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate first pixel without plurality of lenses as taught by Kang 495’ with the active emission display device as disclose by Kang 494’. The motivation to combine the reference of Kang 495’ is to increase the condensing efficiency of light and increase the brightness and viewing angle of the display device which can improve image quality and provide a better viewing experience.
Regarding claim 2, Kang 494’ discloses:
Wherein the plurality of lenses are a half-spherical lens, (at least refer to fig. 9 and paragraph 190. Describes the lens LS may have a hemispherical structure).
Regarding claim 5, Kang 494’ discloses:
Wherein the plurality of sub pixels comprise a green sub pixel, a red sub pixel and a blue sub pixel, (at least refer to fig. 6 and paragraph 56. Describes where the sub-pixels SP include a first sub-pixel SP1 configured to provide light of a first color (e.g., red), a second sub-pixel SP2 configured to provide light of a second color (e.g., green), and a third sub-pixel SP3 configured to provide light of a third color (e.g., blue))
Wherein the plurality of lenses comprise a plurality of first lenses in the green sub pixel of the second pixel, a plurality of second lenses in the red sub pixel of the second pixel, and a plurality of third lenses in the blue sub pixel of the second pixel, (at least refer to fig. 2, 6 and paragraphs 56, 87. Describes where the sub-pixels SP include a first sub-pixel SP1 configured to provide light of a first color (e.g., red), a second sub-pixel SP2 configured to provide light of a second color (e.g., green), and a third sub-pixel SP3 configured to provide light of a third color (e.g., blue). Para. 87, describes: the lens-array layer LA may include lenses LS that respectively correspond to the first sub-pixel SP1, the second sub-pixel SP2, and the third sub-pixel SP3) and
A number of the plurality of first lenses is greater than a number of the plurality of second lenses, and a number of the plurality of third lenses is greater than the number of the plurality of first lenses, (at least refer to fig. 4 and paragraph 100, 87. Describes The second sub-pixel SP2′ may have a larger surface area than the first sub-pixel SP1′. The third sub-pixel SP3′ may have a larger surface area than the second sub-pixel SP2′. Therefore, the second emission area EMA2′ may have a larger surface area than the first emission area EMA1′. The third emission area EMA3′ may have a larger surface area than the second emission area EMA2′. Para. 87, describes: the lens-array layer LA may include lenses LS that respectively correspond to the first sub-pixel SP1, the second sub-pixel SP2, and the third sub-pixel SP3).
Regarding claim 6, Kang 494’ discloses:
Wherein each of the plurality of sub pixels comprises: a first thin film transistor and a second thin film transistor, the emitting diode disposed on the first thin film transistor and the second thin film transistor, (at least refer to fig. 6 and paragraphs 67, 109. Describes The display device 100 may include the substrate SUB, a pixel-circuit layer PCL, a light-emitting-element layer LDL. Para. 109, describes: the substrate SUB and the pixel-circuit layer PCL may include a transistor T_SP1 of the first sub-pixel SP1, a transistor T_SP2 of the second sub-pixel SP2, and a transistor T_SP3 of the third sub-pixel SP3);
A bank layer exposing an anode electrode of the emitting diode, the bank layer defining an emission area, (at least refer to fig. 6 and paragraphs 77, 81. Describes the emission structure EMS may fill the openings OP in the pixel defining layer PDL. A portion of the emission structure EMS may be on the pixel defining layer PDL. Para. 81, describes: a portion of the emission structure EMS that overlap the any one of the anode electrodes AE, and a portion of the cathode electrode CE that overlaps the portion of the emission structure EMS can be understood as constituting one light emitting element LD); and
An encapsulation part covering the emitting diode, (at least refer to fig. 6 and paragraph 84. Describes the encapsulation layer TFE may cover the light-emitting-element layer LDL and/or the pixel-circuit layer PCL).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al (KR 20230124161 as US Pub. 20250098494) in view of Kang (KR 20230123917 as US Pub. 20250098495) in further view of Choi et al (US Pub. 20160218325).
Regarding claim 7, Kang 494’ does not disclose:
Wherein each of the plurality of sub pixels of the second pixel, further comprises: a light shielding pattern on the encapsulation part, the light shielding pattern and comprising a plurality of openings,
Wherein each of the plurality of lenses is on the light shielding pattern and corresponds to each of the plurality of openings.
Kang 495’ teaches:
Wherein each of the plurality of sub pixels of the second pixel, further comprises: a light shielding pattern on the encapsulation part, (at least refer to fig. 18, 20 and paragraphs 89. Describes The second display area PA2 can further include the plurality of condensing lenses 1010, 1020 and 1030 and the black matrix BM surrounding the plurality of sub-pixels P1, P2 and P3. The black matrix BM can also be disposed between the plurality of sub-pixels P1, P2 and P3. Para. 184, describes: The encapsulation layer 850 can be formed on the second electrode 800 to prevent external moisture from permeating into the light emitting layer 700)
Kang 495’ do not disclose:
Wherein each of the plurality of sub pixels of the second pixel, further comprises: a light shielding pattern on the encapsulation part, the light shielding pattern and comprising a plurality of openings,
Wherein each of the plurality of lenses is on the light shielding pattern and corresponds to each of the plurality of openings
Choi teaches:
Wherein each of the plurality of sub pixels of the second pixel, further comprises: a light shielding pattern on the encapsulation part, the light shielding pattern and comprising a plurality of openings, (at least refer to fig. 1 and paragraphs 58-59. Describes the optical film 80 is formed above the encapsulation layer 30, and the intermediate layer 40 is formed under the optical film 80. Para. 59, describes: the light shielding parts 51 are formed between the color filters 52. For example, each light shielding part 51 may surround sides of each sub-pixel and thus may include a first opening OP1)
Wherein each of the plurality of lenses is on the light shielding pattern and corresponds to each of the plurality of openings, (at least refer to fig. 1 and paragraphs 59, 66. Describes the light shielding parts 51 are formed between the color filters 52. For example, each light shielding part 51 may surround sides of each sub-pixel and thus may include a first opening OP1. Para. 66, describes: The first lens 60 may be formed to correspond to a side of at least one sub-pixel from among the first, second, and third sub-pixels P1, P2, and P3. The first lens 60 may be formed adjacent to the light shielding part 51 at a position that corresponds to a side of each sub-pixel).
The two references are analogous art because they are related with the same field of invention of display device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate plurality of openings as taught by Choi with the first pixel without plurality of lenses as taught by Kang 495’ with the active emission display device as disclose by Kang 494’. The motivation to combine the reference of Choi is to provide an emission outlet for the refracted not absorbed and reduce contrast due to bottom reflection of the external light.
Regarding claim 9, Kang 494’ disclose:
Wherein each of the plurality of lenses has a lower surface less of a surface area than the emission area and greater than a surface area of an opening from the plurality of openings, (at least refer to fig. 4, 8-9 and paragraphs 77, 89, 185. Describes the emission structure EMS may fill the openings OP in the pixel defining layer PDL. A portion of the emission structure EMS may be on the pixel defining layer PDL. Para. 89, describes: For instance, in the central area of the display area DA, each opening OP of the pixel defining layer PDL may completely overlap the corresponding lens LS of the lens-array layer LA. In an area of the display area DA that is adjacent to the non-display area NDA, the center of the lens LS may be shifted in a plane direction from the center of the corresponding opening OP of the pixel defining layer PDL when viewed in the third direction DR3, Para. 185, describes: the emission length EMS_L may be designed to correspond to a width of the lens LS (e.g., a length of an upper side or a lower side of a cross-section of the lens LS).
Kang 494’, Kang 495’ and Choi do not explicitly disclose:
Wherein each of the plurality of lenses has a lower surface less of a surface area than the emission area and greater than a surface area of an opening from the plurality of openings.
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to design the width of the lenses to particular specification with respect to the emission area and the opening area since the applicant has not disclosed that designing the width of the lenses to particular specification with respect to the emission area and the opening area solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with an adjustment in the design of the width of the lenses to a particular specification.
Regarding claim 4, Kang 494’, Kang 495’ and Choi do not disclose:
Wherein a distance between the plurality of lenses is 20 μm to 40 μm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to design the distance within a specification, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-16 are allowed.
Claim 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IFEDAYO B ILUYOMADE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624 08/12/2026