DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 02/11/2026 has been entered. Claims 11 and 14-16 have been amended. Claims 1-16 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9 of the Remarks, filed 02/11/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-16 under 35 U.S.C 102/103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of kang et al (US Pub. 20250098494).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kang et al (KR 20230124161 as US Pub. 20250098494).
Regarding claim 1, Ko discloses:
A display device, (at least refer to fig. 1 and paragraph 49. Describes a display device 100) comprising:
A first pixel and a second pixel being disposed at a display panel, (at least refer to fig. 1-2 and paragraphs 52, 64. Describes the display device 100 may include a substrate SUB, sub-pixels SP, and pads PD)
Wherein the first pixel and the second pixel respectively comprise a plurality of sub pixels, (at least refer to fig. 1 and paragraphs 55, 65. Describes two or more sub-pixels SP among the sub-pixels SP may form one pixel PXL. For example, three sub-pixels SP may form one pixel PXL) and each of the plurality of sub pixels of the second pixel comprising a plurality of lenses that refract light from an emitting diode, (at least refer to fig. 2, 15 and paragraphs 87, 209-210. Describes the lens-array layer LA may include lenses LS that respectively correspond to the first sub-pixel SP1, the second sub-pixel SP2, and the third sub-pixel SP3. Each of the lenses LS may output and direct light emitted from the emission structure EMS along an intended path, thus enhancing the light output efficiency. The lenses LS may have a relatively high refractive index. Para. 209, describes: An image outputted from the first display panel DP1 can be viewed by the right eye of the user through the right-eye lens RLNS. The right lens RLNS may refract light emitted from the first display panel DP1 toward the right eye of the user).
Regarding claim 2, Ko discloses:
Wherein the plurality of lenses are a half-spherical lens, (at least refer to fig. 9 and paragraph 190. Describes the lens LS may have a hemispherical structure).
Regarding claim 5, Ko discloses:
Wherein the plurality of sub pixels comprise a green sub pixel, a red sub pixel and a blue sub pixel, (at least refer to fig. 6 and paragraph 56. Describes where the sub-pixels SP include a first sub-pixel SP1 configured to provide light of a first color (e.g., red), a second sub-pixel SP2 configured to provide light of a second color (e.g., green), and a third sub-pixel SP3 configured to provide light of a third color (e.g., blue))
Wherein the plurality of lenses comprise a plurality of first lenses in the green sub pixel of the second pixel, a plurality of second lenses in the red sub pixel of the second pixel, and a plurality of third lenses in the blue sub pixel of the second pixel, (at least refer to fig. 2, 6 and paragraphs 56, 87. Describes where the sub-pixels SP include a first sub-pixel SP1 configured to provide light of a first color (e.g., red), a second sub-pixel SP2 configured to provide light of a second color (e.g., green), and a third sub-pixel SP3 configured to provide light of a third color (e.g., blue). Para. 87, describes: the lens-array layer LA may include lenses LS that respectively correspond to the first sub-pixel SP1, the second sub-pixel SP2, and the third sub-pixel SP3) and
A number of the plurality of first lenses is greater than a number of the plurality of second lenses, and a number of the plurality of third lenses is greater than the number of the plurality of first lenses, (at least refer to fig. 4 and paragraph 100, 87. Describes The second sub-pixel SP2′ may have a larger surface area than the first sub-pixel SP1′. The third sub-pixel SP3′ may have a larger surface area than the second sub-pixel SP2′. Therefore, the second emission area EMA2′ may have a larger surface area than the first emission area EMA1′. The third emission area EMA3′ may have a larger surface area than the second emission area EMA2′. Para. 87, describes: the lens-array layer LA may include lenses LS that respectively correspond to the first sub-pixel SP1, the second sub-pixel SP2, and the third sub-pixel SP3).
Regarding claim 6, Ko discloses:
Wherein each of the plurality of sub pixels comprises: a first thin film transistor and a second thin film transistor, the emitting diode disposed on the first thin film transistor and the second thin film transistor, (at least refer to fig. 6 and paragraphs 67, 109. Describes The display device 100 may include the substrate SUB, a pixel-circuit layer PCL, a light-emitting-element layer LDL. Para. 109, describes: the substrate SUB and the pixel-circuit layer PCL may include a transistor T_SP1 of the first sub-pixel SP1, a transistor T_SP2 of the second sub-pixel SP2, and a transistor T_SP3 of the third sub-pixel SP3);
A bank layer exposing an anode electrode of the emitting diode, the bank layer defining an emission area, (at least refer to fig. 6 and paragraphs 77, 81. Describes the emission structure EMS may fill the openings OP in the pixel defining layer PDL. A portion of the emission structure EMS may be on the pixel defining layer PDL. Para. 81, describes: a portion of the emission structure EMS that overlap the any one of the anode electrodes AE, and a portion of the cathode electrode CE that overlaps the portion of the emission structure EMS can be understood as constituting one light emitting element LD); and
An encapsulation part covering the emitting diode, (at least refer to fig. 6 and paragraph 84. Describes the encapsulation layer TFE may cover the light-emitting-element layer LDL and/or the pixel-circuit layer PCL).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al (KR 20230124161 as US Pub. 20250098494) in view of Choi et al (US Pub. 20160218325).
Regarding claim 7, Kang does not disclose:
Wherein each of the plurality of sub pixels of the second pixel, further comprises: a light shielding pattern on the encapsulation part, the light shielding pattern and comprising a plurality of openings,
Wherein each of the plurality of lenses is on the light shielding pattern and corresponds to each of the plurality of openings.
Choi teaches:
Wherein each of the plurality of sub pixels of the second pixel, further comprises: a light shielding pattern on the encapsulation part, the light shielding pattern and comprising a plurality of openings, (at least refer to fig. 1 and paragraphs 58-59. Describes the optical film 80 is formed above the encapsulation layer 30, and the intermediate layer 40 is formed under the optical film 80. Para. 59, describes: the light shielding parts 51 are formed between the color filters 52. For example, each light shielding part 51 may surround sides of each sub-pixel and thus may include a first opening OP1)
Wherein each of the plurality of lenses is on the light shielding pattern and corresponds to each of the plurality of openings, (at least refer to fig. 1 and paragraphs 59, 66. Describes the light shielding parts 51 are formed between the color filters 52. For example, each light shielding part 51 may surround sides of each sub-pixel and thus may include a first opening OP1. Para. 66, describes: The first lens 60 may be formed to correspond to a side of at least one sub-pixel from among the first, second, and third sub-pixels P1, P2, and P3. The first lens 60 may be formed adjacent to the light shielding part 51 at a position that corresponds to a side of each sub-pixel).
The two references are analogous art because they are related with the same field of invention of display panel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate light shielding pattern as taught by Choi with the active emission display device as disclose by Kang. The motivation to combine the reference of Choi is to reduce contrast due to bottom reflection of the external light and may absorb light having a wavelength in a visible range.
Regarding claim 9, Kang disclose:
Wherein each of the plurality of lenses has a lower surface less of a surface area than the emission area and greater than a surface area of an opening from the plurality of openings, (at least refer to fig. 4, 8-9 and paragraphs 77, 89, 185. Describes the emission structure EMS may fill the openings OP in the pixel defining layer PDL. A portion of the emission structure EMS may be on the pixel defining layer PDL. Para. 89, describes: For instance, in the central area of the display area DA, each opening OP of the pixel defining layer PDL may completely overlap the corresponding lens LS of the lens-array layer LA. In an area of the display area DA that is adjacent to the non-display area NDA, the center of the lens LS may be shifted in a plane direction from the center of the corresponding opening OP of the pixel defining layer PDL when viewed in the third direction DR3, Para. 185, describes: the emission length EMS_L may be designed to correspond to a width of the lens LS (e.g., a length of an upper side or a lower side of a cross-section of the lens LS).
Kang and Choi do not explicitly disclose:
Wherein each of the plurality of lenses has a lower surface less of a surface area than the emission area and greater than a surface area of an opening from the plurality of openings.
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to design the width of the lenses to particular specification with respect to the emission area and the opening area since the applicant has not disclosed that designing the width of the lenses to particular specification with respect to the emission area and the opening area solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with an adjustment in the design of the width of the lenses to a particular specification.
Regarding claim 3, Kang and Choi do not disclose:
Wherein the plurality of lenses are not in the first pixel.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to exclude multiple lenses from the some pixels, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding claim 4, Kang and Choi do not disclose:
Wherein a distance between the plurality of lenses is 20 μm to 40 μm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to design the distance within a specification, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 10-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/IFEDAYO B ILUYOMADE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624 03/25/2026