DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed 02/25/2026 amended claims 13 and 15.
Claims 1-15 are pending and examined on the merits herein.
Priority
This application claims the following priority:
Claim Interpretation
-In claim 12, the phrase “substantially pure” is defined in [0030]-[0034] of the instant specification.
-In claim 14, “BTK” is interpreted as “Bruton’s tyrosine kinase.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 2-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
-The term “substantially” in reference to “crystalline,” “cocrystal,” and “salt” in claims 2-4 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear what baseline is utilized to determine a) what solid compound of instant claim 1 is substantially crystalline in contrast to a solid compound of instant claim 1 that is not substantially crystalline; or b) what solid compound of instant claim 1 is substantially a cocrystal in contrast to what solid compound of instant claim 1 is not substantially a cocrystal, or c) what solid compound of instant claim 1 is substantially a salt in contrast to what solid compound of instant claim 1 is not substantially a salt.
In view of compact prosecution, for the purpose of applying prior art, claim 2 is interpreted as a crystalline form, claim 3 is interpreted as a cocrystal form, and claim 4 is interpreted as a salt form.
-Claim 5 depends from claim 2 which depends from claim 1, wherein claim 2 recites a substantially crystalline form of (S)-7-(1-acryloylpiperidin-4-yl)-2-(4-phenoxyphenyl)-4,5,6,7-tetrahydropyrazolo[1,5-a]pyrimidine-3-carboxamide and oxalic acid. However, claim 5 recites a crystal form comprising instant Compound I with XRPD at approximately 8.2, 11.7, and 21.6 2theta. It is not clear if the solid form of claim 5 is Compound I, i.e., (S)-7-(1-acryloylpiperidin-4-yl)-2-(4-phenoxyphenyl)-4,5,6,7-tetrahydropyrazolo[1,5-a]pyrimidine-3-carboxamide, and oxalic acid, or if claim 5 is merely claiming a crystal comprising Compound I, i.e., (S)-7-(1-acryloylpiperidin-4-yl)-2-(4-phenoxyphenyl)-4,5,6,7-tetrahydropyrazolo[1,5-a]pyrimidine-3-carboxamide.
In view of compact prosecution, for the purpose of applying prior art, claim 5 is interpreted as Compound I and oxalic acid.
-Claim 9 depends from claim 5 which depends from claim 2, and recites Compound I and oxalic acid as a “co-crystal.” Since claim 2 recites the solid form of Compound I and oxalic acid as “substantially crystalline,” it is not clear if the co-crystal recited in claim 9 is substantially a co-crystal or 100% a co-crystal.
All other claims not specifically recited are rejected for depending from an indefinite claim and failing to cure the deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 4-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
-Claim 4 depends from claim 2 and ultimately 1, wherein claim 2 in view of claim 1 recites a substantially crystalline solid form comprising instant Compound I, i.e., (S)-7-(1-acryloylpiperidin-4-yl)-2-(4-phenoxyphenyl)-4,5,6,7-tetrahydropyrazolo[1,5-a]pyrimidine-3-carboxamide, and oxalic acid, which is a salt. As such, the recitation of the solid form of claim 2 as substantially a salt does not further limit the substantially crystalline solid form of instant claim 2.
-Claims 5-12 depend from claim 2, and recite “The crystal form.” However, claim 2 recites “The solid form. . .which is substantially crystalline.” As such, the recitation “crystal form,” does not further limit “substantially crystalline,” which is distinct from a “crystal” form.
-Claim 10 depends from claim 5, which depends from claim 2, which depends from 1, wherein claim 10 in view of claims 5, 2, and 1 recites a crystal form comprising instant Compound I, i.e., (S)-7-(1-acryloylpiperidin-4-yl)-2-(4-phenoxyphenyl)-4,5,6,7-tetrahydropyrazolo[1,5-a]pyrimidine-3-carboxamide, and oxalic acid, which is a salt. As such, the recitation of the crystal of claim 10 as an oxalic acid salt does not further limit claim 5 from which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)-Scope of Enablement
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a method of treating a B-cell proliferative disease, does not reasonably provide enablement for a method of preventing a B-cell proliferative disease or a method of treating or preventing a condition treatable or preventable by inhibition of a kinase pathway. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The criteria for enablement set out in the In re Wands, MPEP 2164.01(a), considers the following factors:
Breadth of the Claims
Claim 13 is directed toward a method of treating or preventing any B-cell proliferative disease or a method of treating or preventing any condition treatable or preventable by inhibition of a kinase pathway by administering any effective amount of a solid form of (S)-7-(1-acryloylpiperidin-4-yl)-2-(4-phenoxyphenyl)-4,5,6,7-tetrahydropyrazolol[1,5-a]pyrimidine-3-carboxamide and oxalic acid.
As such, the breadth of the claims is great.
Level of Skill in Art
The level of skill in the art is a clinician or a scientist with PhD.
State of the Prior Art
WO 2021/259732 to Adamer (IDS of 07/24/2026) teaches crystalline forms of instant Compound I and benzoic acid for use in the treating of B-cell proliferative diseases (pgs. 38-40, claims 1, 18-19).
WO 2022/081512 to Morabito (published 04/2022, PTO-892) teaches compounds of instant Compound I for the treatment of neurological and psychiatric diseases (pgs. 71, claims 23-31).
Thus, the prior art teaches (S)-7-(1-acryloylpiperidin-4-yl)-2-(4-phenoxyphenyl)-4,5,6,7-tetrahydropyrazolol[1,5-a]pyrimidine-3-carboxamide as known in the art to treat specific diseases, and in particular, B-cell proliferative diseases. The prior art is silent regarding the use of (S)-7-(1-acryloylpiperidin-4-yl)-2-(4-phenoxyphenyl)-4,5,6,7-tetrahydropyrazolol[1,5-a]pyrimidine-3-carboxamide to prevent diseases or to treat or prevent any condition treatable or preventable by inhibition of any kinase pathway.
Predictability in the Art
Smyth (Management of indolent B-cell Lymphomas: A review of approved and emerging targeted therapies, published 2023, PTO-892) teaches that indolent B-cell non-Hodgkin lymphomas comprise a heterogenous group of lymphoproliferative disorders, wherein each subtype must be considered an individual entity (abstract).
Smyth teaches that around 10% of patients have limited stage disease and have favorable outcomes with involved filed radiotherapy and that addition chemo immunotherapy to radiation improves progression free survival . However, advanced disease is considered incurable. And patients with refractory disease relapse within two years of initial therapy and outcomes are poor (pg. 1).
Smyth teaches that novel combinations of targeted therapies under investigation have potential to improve outcomes and reduce toxicity (pg. 2, Col. 1).
Table 1 of Smith provides FDA approved and emerging targeted therapies and their efficacies (pgs. 3-4).
In view of the teachings of Smyth, the art of treating B-cell proliferative disease is unpredictable. Smyth is silent regarding even the possibility of the prevention of B-cell proliferative disease.
Working Examples
The instant specification provides zero examples of using the instantly claimed solid form of (S)-7-(1-acryloylpiperidin-4-yl)-2-(4-phenoxyphenyl)-4,5,6,7-tetrahydropyrazolol[1,5-a]pyrimidine-3-carboxamide and oxalic acid for the treatment or prevention of any disease. The examples are limited to methods of making the instantly claimed solid forms and their properties.
Direction and Guidance
In view of the teachings of the prior art, the unpredictability in the art and the lack of working examples, as detailed above, the instant specification lacks sufficient direction and guidance to use the instantly claimed solid forms to prevent a B-cell proliferative disease or to treat or prevent a condition treatable or preventable by inhibition of a kinase pathway.
Quantity of Experimentation
The amount of experimentation required to determine which B-cell proliferative diseases are preventable and which conditions are treatable or preventable by inhibition of which kinase pathway by administering which effective amounts of (S)-7-(1-acryloylpiperidin-4-yl)-2-(4-phenoxyphenyl)-4,5,6,7-tetrahydropyrazolol[1,5-a]pyrimidine-3-carboxamide and oxalic acid, would be astronomical, amounting to invention and not development; it is an undue amount of experimentation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/259732 to Adamer (published 2021, IDS of 07/24/2026) in view of WO 2022/081512 to Morabito (published 04/2022, PTO-892) and Akki (Pharmaceutical Co-Crystals: An Overview on Synthesis and Regulatory Aspects, published 2019, PTO-892).
Adamer teaches a crystalline form of instant Compound 1, i.e., (S)-7-(1-acryloylpiperidin-4-yl)-2-(4-phenoxyphenyl)-4,5,6,7-tetrahydropyrazolol[1,5-a]pyrimidine-3-carboxamide, and benzoic acid (pg. 38, claims 1-2).
Adamer teaches the crystalline form as a cocrystal (pg. 38, claims 3-4).
Adamer teaches the compound as a BTK inhibitor (pg. 1, lines 14-19).
Regarding claim 1, while Adamer teaches a co-crystal of instant Compound I and a benzoic acid salt, it differs from that of instant claim 1 in that it does not teach an oxalic acid salt.
Morabito teaches BTK inhibitors and salts thereof (pg. 61, claim 1), wherein instant Compound I, i.e., Zanubrutinib, is a BTK inhibitor (pgs. 66-67, 73, 76, claims 14, 31-32).
Morabito teaches oxalic acid or hydroxybenzoic acid as pharmaceutically acceptable salts for use with BTK inhibitors ([0047]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to substitute the hydroxybenzoic acid with oxalic acid in the (S)-7-(1-acryloylpiperidin-4-yl)-2-(4-phenoxyphenyl)-4,5,6,7-tetrahydropyrazolol[1,5-a]pyrimidine-3-carboxamide (Compound I) and hydroxybenzoic acid co-crystal of Adamer, to arrive at instant claim 1. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a substitution, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-both Adamer and Morabito teach instant compound I as a BTK inhibitor,
-Morabito teaches hydroxybenzoic acid and oxalic acid as known pharmaceutically acceptable salts for use with BTK inhibitors, such as Compound I, and
-Akki teaches pharmaceutical co-crystals (title, abstract), and teaches oxalic acid and hydroxybenzoic-acid as known co-crystal formers (pg. 624), wherein oxalic acid is taught as increasing the solubility of a compound (pgs. 625-626).
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such a substitution, to predictably arrive at an alternative salt form of instant Compound I that exhibits increased solubility.
Regarding claims 2-4, the combination of Adamer, Morabito, and Akki teaches a co-crystal of instant Compound I and oxalic acid.
Regarding instant claim 13, Adamer teaches a method of treating B-cell proliferative disease by administering its compounds (pg. 40, claim 19).
Regarding instant claim 14, Adamer teaches Zanubrutinib, i.e., instant Compound I, as a reversible inhibitor of BTK (pg. 1, lines 14-19; pg. 4, lines 10-14).
While the combination of Adamer, Morabito, and Akki does not explicitly teach achieving a Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors of complete response, partial response or stable disease, it is reasonable to assume that administering the co-crystal of instant Compound I and oxalic acid would have the same properties since it is administered for the same purpose (reducing tumor growth; pg. 1, line 18 of Adamer) in the same dosage amounts (the instant specification teaches about 0.005mg/kg-about 100mg/kg ([0047]), and Adamer teaches 20-100mg (pg. 29, lines 7-17), to the same patient population (patients with tumors; pg. 1, line 18 of Adamer) as that taught by the instant specification and claims. Thus, while the prior art does not explicitly teach these properties, burden is on Applicant to show that the prior art does not have these properties.
Applicants are reminded that the office does not have the facilities and resources to provide the factual evidence needed in order to establish that the product of the prior art does not possess the same material, structural and functional characteristics of the claimed product. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the burden is on the applicant to prove that the claimed product is different from those taught by the prior art and to establish patentable differences. See In re Best 562F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and Ex parte Gray 10 USPQ 2d 1922 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1989).
Claims 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/259732 to Adamer (published 2021, IDS of 07/24/2026) in view of WO 2022/081512 to Morabito (published 04/2022, PTO-892) and Akki (Pharmaceutical Co-Crystals: An Overview on Synthesis and Regulatory Aspects, published 2019, PTO-892), as applied to claims 1-4 and 13-14, above, and further in view of US 2003/0124028 to Carlson (published 2003, PTO-892) and Gardner (Computers and Chemical Engineering 28 (2004) 943-953, PTO-892).
Adamer, Akki, and Morabito are applied as discussed above and incorporated herein.
Regarding claims 5-6, while the combination of Adamer, Akki, and Morabito teach a cocrystal of instant Compound I and oxalic acid, it differs in that it does not teach the 2theta XRPD peaks recited in instant claims 5-6.
Carlson teaches well-known systems for automated high-throughput preparation and screening of salts and polymorphs of drug candidates (emphasis added):
(abstract). Carlson’s system specifically screens for polymorphs using a variety of techniques (claim 1, [0019], [0143]-[0144], [0154]-[0177], Fig. 29; [0014]-[0019]; [0257]; [0131], [0141]; claims 26-27).
Carlson specifically teaches:
-“a computer controls a process that is implemented to perform the pre-formulation process in accordance with the principles of the present invention. Several processes can be implemented in pre-formulation system. . .For example. . .Other processes may be implemented to generate, characterize and analyze different crystalline structures (e.g., polymorphs) of a compound. Comprehensive processes may involve a process that starts with a library design of solvents and ends with identification of a suitable active pharmaceutical ingredient” ([0099]);
-“Processing selected drug candidates or salts for discovery and characterization required at least two, but preferably at least three steps that are performs in a combinatorial or high throughput mode. One required step is dissolution of drug candidates or salts to form a solution. Another required step is crystallization (e.g., by evaporation, cooling or precipitation with an anti-solvent) of drug candidates or salts from the solution. An optional processing step prior to crystallization may include separating any remaining solids from the solution by filtration or centrifugation. This separation or filtering step may be performed to eliminate nucleation sites in the solvent provided to the crystallization step. Process 200 includes the preparation, crystallization, filtration, and other steps that are performed for salt selection” ([0119]);
-“Process 300 recrystallizes one or more drug candidates or salts (i.e., subjecting them to different conditions to generate as many polymorphs as possible, preferably substantially every polymorph, for a particular drug candidate or salt thereof) and screens each of the polymorphs in a high-throughput capacity. This enables process 300 to quickly characterize and determine those recrystallization conditions that are best for developing a desired drug ingredient that possesses a suitable crystalline structure. As used herein, recrystallization and crystallization conditions refer to those conditions that affect recrystallization. These conditions include, e.g., temperature, seeding (if present), solvent(s), etc.” ([0141]);
-“The number of solvents that may be used for polymorph generation and characterization may be any number desired. In one embodiment, the number of solvents is two, four, six, eight, 12, 16, 24, 36, 48, 96 or more. . .The term solvent in this respect means both a single solvent. .. as well as combinations of solvents” ([0144]);
-“Various recrystallization conditions (e.g., temperature, pressure, time, etc.) may be varied to provide various crystal formation” ([0147]);
-“The crystals may be screened for any physical property that would help characterize and/or identify a polymorph. The crystals may be screened for birefringence, melting point, solubility, hygroscopicity, IR pattern, Near IR pattern or Raman pattern, crystal morphology, X-ray powder diffraction pattern or any other suitable screening method to determine if crystals (or polymorphs) have formed” [0151]);
-“As illustrated in FIGS. 2A, 2B, and 3, processes use computer generated libraries as a template for preparing library members. For example, libraries containing various combinations of drug candidates, salts, crystals, and other re-formulation materials may be generated prior to library preparation. . .The materials in each library element 410 can differ by drug candidates, different known crystal structures of drug candidates, solvents, and salt reactants” ([0155]-[0156]);
-“A large number of solvents are known that can be used in recrystallization, either for salt selection and/or for polymorph generation. Tables 3 (shown in FIGS. 29A, 29B and 29 C) lists a number of exemplary solvents along with some of their physical properties. . .This process ensures that a wide variety of different types of solvents will be used for recrystallization which is advantageous for identifying polymorphs” ([0157]-[0165]; [0172]-[0174])
-“In another embodiment of a polymorph array, the array contains the drug candidate of interest mixed with compositions of two or more solvents, wherein each well contains a different solvent composition. . .In one embodiment the solvent compositions in the array or part thereof may be different concentrations of the two solvents relative to each other. The concentration of the solvents relative to one another may be any concentration desired. . .In another embodiment, solvent group design may be performed by providing a database containing information associating the physical or chemical properties of particular solvents with the production of crystallographic forms of drug candidates, identifying in the database which physical properties are associated with producing a large number of crystallographic forms, and designing new libraries using these identified physical or chemical properties as criteria for grouping solvents” [0176]-[0176]).
Carlson’s system is similar to commercially available systems such as CRYSTALMAX as discussed by Gardner (pg. 947-949 “6.,” Figs. 4 and 5 describing CRSYALMAX).
Gardner specifically teaches:
-“Since isolation of a particular form from a crystallization process can be influenced by many processing variables and by the presence of other components such as impurities and degradants, it is important for the scale-up engineer to be able to understand the sensitivity of the process to these factors” (pg. 947, “4.”);
-
(pg. 948);
-“In order to facilitate high throughput experimentation in form and formulation, we have developed a sophisticated informatics technology suite comprising four components: a design of experiment application, station controllers, an analytical application, and a set of process, analytical, and chemical databases. The design of experiment (DOE) application provides scientists with several tools for creating efficient combinatorial experiments. Although it is possible to run large, high-throughput screens, it is very important to ensure that as many tested conditions as possible are viable and informative. Thermally driven crystallization, for example, can only occur if a material is soluble in a solution at a high temperature and supersaturated at a low temperature. . .The DOE application also has a module that allows for the creation of diverse primary experiments. . .This property space is then diversely populated with experimental conditions so that the space is evenly covered” (pgs. 951-952, “6.3.”).
Given the high level of skill in the art as evidenced by Adamer, Akki, Morabito, Carlson and Gardner, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the process application of Carlson’s technique using a commercially available system (such as Gardner’s) on the combination of Adamer, Akki, and Morabito’s co-crystal of instant compound I and oxalic acid as “routine optimization” because it was well-known, commercially available, and a routine part of drug discovery (Gardner pg. 944-45, Figs. 2-3).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the combination of Adamer, Akki, and Morabito’s co-crystal of instant compound I and oxalic acid, as recited in instant claims 5 and 6, because Carlson and Gardner teach successful application to pharmaceuticals using these well-known techniques (Carlson, [0091], [0110], [0124]-[0126]) including variation of particular solvents and conditions (Carlson [0163]-[0165], [0261], Fig. 29), varying temperatures (Carlson [0026], [0138]-[0150], claims 43, 55-56), and seeding (Carlson [0141]).
As in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (“When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options with his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.”), one of ordinary skill in the art would have known about the need to produce and select the optimal forms of cocrystals of instant compound I and oxalic acid as taught by the combination of Adamer, Akki, and Morabito, including the specific polymorphic forms which were known to be predictably discoverable by application of Carlson’s technique and was also within one of ordinary skill in the art’s technical grasp as evidenced by the commercially available system taught by Gardener. Thus, it would have been obvious to try and one of ordinary skill in the art would have anticipated success in the production endeavor since Gardener teaches that screening up to 18,000 crystallization conditions in parallel, having the capacity to conduct thousands of studies on one API, is known and well-established in the art.
At the time of the invention, there was an art recognized need to produce and identify the optimal solid form of a pharmaceutical as established by Carlson and Gardner (Carlson [0004]-[0005], [0010]-[0011]; Gardner Fig. 2, Fig 5, pgs. 944-946, “3.1,” 3.2,” “3.3”). The commercially available automated system that identifies “substantially every polymorph” evidenced by Carlson and Gardner provided a predictable solution to the problem of producing pharmaceutical solid forms. One of ordinary skill in the art would have pursued the procedures of the commercially available systems with a reasonable expectation of success because the systems were known to modify, by automated means, combinations and ratios of solvents, temperatures, and other reaction conditions, to identify “substantially every polymorph” (Carlson abstract) and Gardner demonstrated success with such commercial systems (Gardner pgs. 947-950, “6.,” “6.1.1,” “6.1.3,” Figs. 4 and 5 describing CRYSTALMAX). Similarly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have applied the known technique of pharmaceutical solid form optimization (Carlson; Gardner) to the instant Compound I-oxalic acid co-crystal of the combination of Adamer, Akki, and Morabito’s that would have yielded the predictable procedures to result in the optimal pharmaceutical solid form. Alternatively, one of ordinary skill in the art would have used the known technique that successfully identified the optimal solid forms of other pharmaceuticals demonstrated by Gardner (sulfathiazole pg. 950 “6.1.3,” Fig. 10; Ritonavir pg. 949 “6.1.1”) and applied the known optimization technique in the same way to the co-crystal of instant compound I and oxalic acid of the combination of Adamer, Akki, and Morabito, where the result would have been predictable due to the explicit teaching of Carlson that the techniques were known to identify “substantially every polymorph.”
With each of the claims, the level of skill in the art is very high such that one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered routine the combination of elements from the teaching of the art in the same filed of endeavor. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would be predictable due to the well-known nature and optimizations routinely performed in the art. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the invention as claimed with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 7-8, since the combination of Adamer, Akki, Morabito, Gardner and Carlson, teach the co-crystal of instant compound I and oxalic acid as recited in instant claims 5-6, it would necessarily be expected to have the same properties. See MPEP 2141.02(V).
Applicants are reminded that the office does not have the facilities and resources to provide the factual evidence needed in order to establish that the product of the prior art does not possess the same material, structural and functional characteristics of the claimed product. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the burden is on the applicant to prove that the claimed product is different from those taught by the prior art and to establish patentable differences. See In re Best 562F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and Ex parte Gray 10 USPQ 2d 1922 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1989).
Regarding claims 9-10, the combination of Adamer, Akki, Morabito, Carlson, and Gardner teach a co-crystal form of instant Compound I and oxalic acid.
Regarding claim 11, while the combination of Adamer, Akki, Morabito, Carlson, and Gardner does not teach the molar ratio of oxalic acid to Compound 1, Carlson and Gardner teaches that it is known in the art to modify the methods of making co-crystals to arrive at the most therapeutically effective forms, and "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation;” the optimization of known amounts for known active agents is considered well within the competence level of an artisan of ordinary skill in the pharmaceutical sciences; it has been held that the selection of optimal parameters, such as amounts of active agents, to achieve a beneficial effect, is within the skill in the art of an ordinary artisan. See In re Boesch, 205 USPT 215 (CCPA 1980) and MPEP 2144.05.
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such a modification to predictably arrive at a co-crystal that is optimized for stability, solubility, and therapeutic effect.
Regarding claim 12, Adamer teaches its co-crystals as substantially pure (pg. 15, lines 20-25; pg. 17, lines 4-8; pg. 24, lines 11-15; pg. 37, Table 13).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 13-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 10,927,117 (PTO-892) in view of WO 2021/259732 to Adamer (published 2021, IDS of 07/24/2026), WO 2022/081512 to Morabito (published 04/2022, PTO-892) and Akki (Pharmaceutical Co-Crystals: An Overview on Synthesis and Regulatory Aspects, published 2019, PTO-892).
Claims 1-4 and 13-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,814,389 (PTO-892) in view of WO 2021/259732 to Adamer (published 2021, IDS of 07/24/2026), WO 2022/081512 to Morabito (published 04/2022, PTO-892) and Akki (Pharmaceutical Co-Crystals: An Overview on Synthesis and Regulatory Aspects, published 2019, PTO-892).
Claims 1-4 and 13-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of U.S. Patent No. 11,851,437 (PTO-892) in view of WO 2021/259732 to Adamer (published 2021, IDS of 07/24/2026), WO 2022/081512 to Morabito (published 04/2022, PTO-892) and Akki (Pharmaceutical Co-Crystals: An Overview on Synthesis and Regulatory Aspects, published 2019, PTO-892).
Claims 1-4 and 13-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 11,851,674 (PTO-892) in view of WO 2021/259732 to Adamer (published 2021, IDS of 07/24/2026), WO 2022/081512 to Morabito (published 04/2022, PTO-892) and Akki (Pharmaceutical Co-Crystals: An Overview on Synthesis and Regulatory Aspects, published 2019, PTO-892).
Claims 1-4 and 13-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 11,591,340 (PTO-892) in view of WO 2021/259732 to Adamer (published 2021, IDS of 07/24/2026), WO 2022/081512 to Morabito (published 04/2022, PTO-892) and Akki (Pharmaceutical Co-Crystals: An Overview on Synthesis and Regulatory Aspects, published 2019, PTO-892).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
U.S. Patent No. 10,927,117
‘117 claims a crystalline form of instant Compound I (claim 1).
U.S. Patent No. 11,814,389
‘389 claims a crystalline form of instant Compound I (claim 1).
U.S. Patent No. 11,851,437
‘437 claims a crystalline form of instant Compound I (claim 1).
U.S. Patent No. 11,851,674
‘674 claims a crystalline form of instant Compound I (claim 1).
‘674 claims a method for treating B-cell proliferative disease by administering a compound of instant Compound 1 (claim 1).
U.S. Patent No. 11,591,340
‘340 claims a crystalline form of instant Compound I (claim 1).
Regarding claim 1, while the above patents teach a crystal of instant Compound I, it differs from that of instant claim 1 in that it does not teach a co-crystal of Compound I and oxalic acid.
Adamer, Morabito, and Akkie are applied as discussed above and incorporated herein.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to modify the crystal of (S)-7-(1-acryloylpiperidin-4-yl)-2-(4-phenoxyphenyl)-4,5,6,7-tetrahydropyrazolol[1,5-a]pyrimidine-3-carboxamide (Compound I), of the instant patents, to a salt form, to arrive at instant claim 1. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a substitution, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
- Adamer teaches co-crystals of instant Compound I and a hydroxybenzoic acid,
-Morabito teaches hydroxybenzoic acid and oxalic acid as known pharmaceutically acceptable salts for use with BTK inhibitors, such as Compound I, and
-Akki teaches pharmaceutical co-crystals (title, abstract), and teaches oxalic acid and hydroxybenzoic-acid as known co-crystal formers (pg. 624), wherein oxalic acid is taught as increasing the solubility of a compound (pgs. 625-626).
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such a modification, to predictably arrive at an alternative salt form of instant Compound I that exhibits increased solubility.
Regarding claims 2-4, the combination of the above patents, Adamer, Morabito, and Akki teaches a co-crystal of instant Compound I and oxalic acid.
Regarding instant claim 13, Adamer teaches a method of treating B-cell proliferative disease by administering instant Compound I (pg. 40, claim 19).
Regarding instant claim 14, Adamer teaches Zanubrutinib, i.e., instant Compound I, as a reversible inhibitor of BTK (pg. 1, lines 14-19; pg. 4, lines 10-14).
While the combination of the above patents, Adamer, Morabito, and Akki does not explicitly teach achieving a Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors of complete response, partial response or stable disease, it is reasonable to assume that administering the co-crystal of instant Compound I and oxalic acid would have the same properties since it is administered for the same purpose (reducing tumor growth) in the same dosage amounts (the instant specification teaches about 0.005mg/kg-about 100mg/kg ([0047]), and Adamer teaches 20-100mg (pg. 29, lines 7-17), to the same patient population (patients with tumors (pg. 1, line 18 of Adamer)) as that taught by the instant specification and claims. Thus, while the prior art does not explicitly teach these properties, burden is on Applicant to show that the prior art does not have these properties.
Applicants are reminded that the office does not have the facilities and resources to provide the factual evidence needed in order to establish that the product of the prior art does not possess the same material, structural and functional characteristics of the claimed product. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the burden is on the applicant to prove that the claimed product is different from those taught by the prior art and to establish patentable differences. See In re Best 562F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and Ex parte Gray 10 USPQ 2d 1922 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1989).
Claims 5-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 10,927,117 (PTO-892) in view of WO 2021/259732 to Adamer (published 2021, IDS of 07/24/2026), WO 2022/081512 to Morabito (published 04/2022, PTO-892) and Akki (Pharmaceutical Co-Crystals: An Overview on Synthesis and Regulatory Aspects, published 2019, PTO-892), as applied to claims 1-4 and 13-15, and further in view of US 2003/0124028 to Carlson (published 2003, PTO-892) and Gardner (Computers and Chemical Engineering 28 (2004) 943-953, PTO-892).
Claims 5-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,814,389 (PTO-892) in view of WO 2021/259732 to Adamer (published 2021, IDS of 07/24/2026), WO 2022/081512 to Morabito (published 04/2022, PTO-892) and Akki (Pharmaceutical Co-Crystals: An Overview on Synthesis and Regulatory Aspects, published 2019, PTO-892), as applied to claims 1-4 and 13-15, and further in view of and further in view of US 2003/0124028 to Carlson (published 2003, PTO-892) and Gardner (Computers and Chemical Engineering 28 (2004) 943-953, PTO-892).
Claims 5-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of U.S. Patent No. 11,851,437 (PTO-892) in view of WO 2021/259732 to Adamer (published 2021, IDS of 07/24/2026), WO 2022/081512 to Morabito (published 04/2022, PTO-892) and Akki (Pharmaceutical Co-Crystals: An Overview on Synthesis and Regulatory Aspects, published 2019, PTO-892), as applied to claims 1-4 and 13-15, and further in view of US 2003/0124028 to Carlson (published 2003, PTO-892) and Gardner (Computers and Chemical Engineering 28 (2004) 943-953, PTO-892).
Claims 5-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 11,851,674 (PTO-892) in view of WO 2021/259732 to Adamer (published 2021, IDS of 07/24/2026), WO 2022/081512 to Morabito (published 04/2022, PTO-892) and Akki (Pharmaceutical Co-Crystals: An Overview on Synthesis and Regulatory Aspects, published 2019, PTO-892), as applied to claims 1-4 and 13-15, and further in view of US 2003/0124028 to Carlson (published 2003, PTO-892) and Gardner (Computers and Chemical Engineering 28 (2004) 943-953, PTO-892).
Claims 5-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 11,591,340 (PTO-892) in view of WO 2021/259732 to Adamer (published 2021, IDS of 07/24/2026), WO 2022/081512 to Morabito (published 04/2022, PTO-892) and Akki (Pharmaceutical Co-Crystals: An Overview on Synthesis and Regulatory Aspects, published 2019, PTO-892), as applied to claims 1-4 and 13-15, and further in view of US 2003/0124028 to Carlson (published 2003, PTO-892) and Gardner (Computers and Chemical Engineering 28 (2004) 943-953, PTO-892).
The above patents, Adamer, Morabito, Akki, Carlson, and Gardner are applied as discussed above and incorporated herein.
Regarding claims 5-6, while the combination of the above patents, Adamer, Akki, and Morabito teach a cocrystal of instant Compound I and oxalic acid, it differs in that it does not teach the 2theta XRPD peaks recited in instant claims 5-6.
Given the high level of skill in the art as evidenced by Adamer, Akki, Morabito, Carlson and Gardner, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the process application of Carlson’s technique using a commercially available system (such as Gardner’s) on the combination of the above patents, Adamer, Akki, and Morabito’s co-crystal of instant compound I and oxalic acid as “routine optimization” because it was well-known, commercially available, and a routine part of drug discovery (Gardner pg. 944-45, Figs. 2-3).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the combination of the above patents, Adamer, Akki, and Morabito’s co-crystal of instant compound I and oxalic acid, as recited in instant claims 5 and 6, because Carlson and Gardner teach successful application to pharmaceuticals using these well-known techniques (Carlson, [0091], [0110], [0124]-[0126]) including variation of particular solvents and conditions (Carlson [0163]-[0165], [0261], Fig. 29), varying temperatures (Carlson [0026], [0138]-[0150], claims 43, 55-56), and seeding (Carlson [0141]).
As in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (“When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options with his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.”), one of ordinary skill in the art would have known about the need to produce and select the optimal forms of cocrystals of instant compound I and oxalic acid as taught by the combination of the above patents, Adamer, Akki, and Morabito, including the specific polymorphic forms which were known to be predictably discoverable by application of Carlson’s technique and was also within one of ordinary skill in the art’s technical grasp as evidenced by the commercially available system taught by Gardener. Thus, it would have been obvious to try and one of ordinary skill in the art would have anticipated success in the production endeavor since Gardener teaches that screening up to 18,000 crystallization conditions in parallel, having the capacity to conduct thousands of studies on one API, is known and well-established in the art.
At the time of the invention, there was an art recognized need to produce and identify the optimal solid form of a pharmaceutical as established by Carlson and Gardner (Carlson [0004]-[0005], [0010]-[0011]; Gardner Fig. 2, Fig 5, pgs. 944-946, “3.1,” 3.2,” “3.3”). The commercially available automated system that identifies “substantially every polymorph” evidenced by Carlson and Gardner provided a predictable solution to the problem of producing pharmaceutical solid forms. One of ordinary skill in the art would have pursued the procedures of the commercially available systems with a reasonable expectation of success because the systems were known to modify, by automated means, combinations and ratios of solvents, temperatures, and other reaction conditions, to identify “substantially every polymorph” (Carlson abstract) and Gardner demonstrated success with such commercial systems (Gardner pgs. 947-950, “6.,” “6.1.1,” “6.1.3,” Figs. 4 and 5 describing CRYSTALMAX). Similarly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have applied the known technique of pharmaceutical solid form optimization (Carlson; Gardner) to the instant Compound I-oxalic acid co-crystal of the combination of the above patents, Adamer, Akki, and Morabito’s that would have yielded the predictable procedures to result in the optimal pharmaceutical solid form. Alternatively, one of ordinary skill in the art would have used the known technique that successfully identified the optimal solid forms of other pharmaceuticals demonstrated by Gardner (sulfathiazole pg. 950 “6.1.3,” Fig. 10; Ritonavir pg. 949 “6.1.1”) and applied the known optimization technique in the same way to the co-crystal of instant compound I and oxalic acid of the combination of Adamer, Akki, and Morabito, where the result would have been predictable due to the explicit teaching of Carlson that the techniques were known to identify “substantially every polymorph.”
With each of the claims, the level of skill in the art is very high such that one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered routine the combination of elements from the teaching of the art in the same filed of endeavor. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would be predictable due to the well-known nature and optimizations routinely performed in the art. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the invention as claimed with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 7-8, since the combination of the above patents, Adamer, Akki, Morabito, Gardner and Carlson, teach the co-crystal of instant compound I and oxalic acid as recited in instant claims 5-6, it would necessarily be expected to have the same properties. See MPEP 2141.02(V).
Applicants are reminded that the office does not have the facilities and resources to provide the factual evidence needed in order to establish that the product of the prior art does not possess the same material, structural and functional characteristics of the claimed product. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the burden is on the applicant to prove that the claimed product is different from those taught by the prior art and to establish patentable differences. See In re Best 562F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and Ex parte Gray 10 USPQ 2d 1922 (PTO Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1989).
Regarding claims 9-10, the combination of the above patents, Adamer, Akki, Morabito, Carlson, and Gardner teach a co-crystal form of instant Compound I and oxalic acid.
Regarding claim 11, while the combination of the above patents, Adamer, Akki, Morabito, Carlson, and Gardner does not teach the molar ratio of oxalic acid to Compound 1, Carlson and Gardner teaches that it is known in the art to modify the methods of making co-crystals to arrive at the most therapeutically effective forms, and "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation;” the optimization of known amounts for known active agents is considered well within the competence level of an artisan of ordinary skill in the pharmaceutical sciences; it has been held that the selection of optimal parameters, such as amounts of active agents, to achieve a beneficial effect, is within the skill in the art of an ordinary artisan. See In re Boesch, 205 USPT 215 (CCPA 1980) and MPEP 2144.05.
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such a modification to predictably arrive at a co-crystal that is optimized for stability, solubility, and therapeutic effect.
Regarding claim 12, Adamer teaches its co-crystals as substantially pure (pg. 15, lines 20-25; pg. 17, lines 4-8; pg. 24, lines 11-15; pg. 37, Table 13).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/LAUREN WELLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622