DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-9, and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Coban et al (Algorithm description of enhanced compression model 11).
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, Coban discloses the same method and apparatus of encoding and decoding video data (e.g. Sec. 3.1.5), the method comprising determining a first set of transform sets (e.g. LFNST sets) and a second set of transform sets (e.g. sec, 3.3.6); determining, for a current block of video data (e.g. Fig. 3) coded using a non-directional intra mode (e.g. DIMD chroma mode), a list of intra prediction directions (e.g. horizontal, vertical) determined from a decoder-side intra mode derivation (DIMD) process applied to prediction block samples (e.g. neighboring collocated samples) of the current block; determining, for the current block, a transform set (e.g. Sec. 3.3.6) from the second set of transform sets based on a second highest intra prediction direction (e.g. second largest histogram amplitude) in the list of intra prediction directions (e.g. Sec. 3.1.5.1); and decoding the current block using a transform in the transform set (e.g. Fig. 50).
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Coban discloses determining, for a second block of video data (e.g. LFNST transform set) coded using the non-directional intra mode, a second list of intra prediction directions (e.g. sec. 3.3.4) determined from the DIMD process applied to prediction block samples (e.g. MTS transform set) of the second block; determining, for the second block, a second transform set from the second set of transform sets based on a highest intra prediction direction in the second list of intra prediction directions (e.g. sec. 3.3.6); and decoding the second block using a second transform (e.g. LFNST Transpose flag) in the second transform set.
Regarding claims 4, 11, 17, Coban discloses incrementing or decrementing an index (e.g. second largest histogram amplitude value) of the second highest intra prediction direction in the list if a highest intra prediction direction (e.g. DIMD chroma = DM) in the list and the second highest intra prediction direction in the list are equal (e.g. sec. 3.1.5.1).
Regarding claims 5, 12, 18, Coban discloses decoding a syntax element (e.g. LFNST Transpose flag) to determine the transform in the transform set (e.g. sec. 3.3.6).
Regarding claims 6, 13, 19, Coban discloses decoding a syntax element (e.g. lfnstTrSctIdx) to determine to use the second set of transform sets (e.g. sec. 3.3.6).
Regarding claims 7, 14, 20, Coban discloses wherein the non-directional intra mode (e.g. sec. 3.1.8) is one of template-based intra mode derivation (TIMD), spatial geometry partition mode (SGPM), matrix-based intra prediction (MIP) mode, extrapolation filter-based intra prediction (EIP) mode, or intra temp late matching (ITMP).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coban et al in view of Wang et al (2025/0379973).
Regarding claims 3, 10, Although Coban et al discloses the common DIMD process, it is noted Coban differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose a Sobel process as specified in claims 3 and 10. Wang et al however, in [0192], teaches the concept of such well-known Sobel-based process in DIMD.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having both the references of Coban et al and Wang et al before him/her, to exploit the well-known Sobel-based process during DIMD of Coban et al in order to determine more than one intra prediction modes for a coding block.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 12556698 discloses Methods And Apparatuses For Encoding/decoding A Video
US 20260032267 discloses VIDEO ENCODING AND DECODING
US 2025/0379973 discloses ADAPTIVE FILTER FOR DECODER-SIDE INTRA MODE DERIVATION
/Y LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485