CTNF 19/062,722 CTNF 90018 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 05/22/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. This application does not currently name joint inventors. 3. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Virginie Drugeon et al., (hereinafter Drugeon ) (US 2025/0030846) in view of Yang Wang et al., (hereinafter Wang ) (US 2025/0373857) . Re Claim 1. Drugeon discloses, a method of coding video data (Abstract) , the method comprising: determining a first set of transform sets and a second set of transform sets (determining from a set of transforms, (MTS), a first directional set of transforms or angular intra-prediction mode, Par.[0397, 0762] and Fig.31 or Fig,100 and a second transform set as a plurality of non-directional prediction modes transforms Par.[0395-0397] Fig.31, or at Fig.17 Par.[0317-0321]) ; receiving a first block of video data to be coded using a combined inter-intra prediction (CIIP) mode (in a CIIP mode at Par.[0421-0422, 0444], the prediction controller selects either an intra or an inter prediction image, Par.[0749] as per CIIP mode in Fig.80B) ; deriving a first intra prediction mode for the first block (deriving a first intra prediction of an intra prediction mode for the first block as DIMD or TIMD at step S102 Fig.102A and when both, the two predictions of the first block are intra mode prediction, e.g., from the GPM mode, Par.[0922]) ; deriving a second intra prediction mode for the first block (deriving a second intra prediction of a second intra prediction mode as angular at step S106, in Fig.102A, Par.[0818-0829] and when both, the two predictions of the first block are intra mode prediction, e.g., from the GPM mode, Par.[0922]) ; determining a first transform set from the first set of transform sets based on the first intra prediction mode (determining the first transform set based on the first intra prediction for DIMD and TIMD mode, at S112, Fig.102A, Par.[0818-0829]) ; determining a second transform set from the second set of transform sets based on the second intra prediction mode (determining the second transform set based on the first intra prediction for the directional/angular modes, at S110, Fig.102A, Par.[0818-0829]) ; and coding the first block of video data using one or more transforms from the first transform set or the second transform set (coding the first block according to the selected prediction geometric partition GPM mode in the list and the pair of prediction modes at S120-S122 in Fig.102B, Par.[0818-0829]) . The analogous art to Wang , teaches the selection of the transform sets i.e., a first and second transform according to the SBT position, (according to the partitions at Fig.36, Par.[0084]) when the CIIP mode is selected at (unit 203 Par.[0085, 0180]) and the first and second transform sets are determined from the first and second intra prediction modes, (as applied by a first angular prediction mode and a second non-directional DC/Planar intra mode, Par.[0125] or as intra template mode ( IntraTMP ) mode at Par.[0383-0394) from which deriving the first and second transform sets in the coding process. The ordinary skilled would have found obvious to consider the art to Drugeon disclosing the method of video coding by which in a intra/inter CIIP adopted prediction mode, the transform set(s) is/are determined according to the respective selected prediction mode being either intra, inter or a combination of both prediction modes, and as taught for (CIIP mode at Par.[0421-0422, 0444], the prediction controller selects either an intra or an inter prediction image, Par.[0749] as per CIIP mode in Fig.80B, and when both, the two predictions of the first block are intra mode prediction, e.g., from the GPM mode, Par.[0922]) and to seek similar methods of coding enhancement as detailed in the art to Wang , by improving the coding efficiency and reduce computational complexity in the spatial candidate derivation, (Par.[0283]) as applied to the combination CIIP mode, (Par.[0085] and claim 12), hence finding the combination predictable. Re Claim 2. Drugeon and Wang disclose, the method of claim 1, wherein deriving the first intra prediction mode for the first block comprises: Drugeon teaches about, deriving the first intra prediction mode to be an intra prediction mode for an intra prediction part of the CIIP mode (the prediction controller 128, selects information/signal from intra predictor 124, Par.[0596-0597] as the first prediction mode indicator indicates that an angular intra prediction mode is to be used for the for prediction of the first geometric partition, Par.[0887] as part of the CIIP mode at Par.[0421-0422, 0444]) . Re Claim 3. Drugeon and Wang disclose, the method of claim 2, Drugeon teaches about, wherein the intra prediction mode for the intra prediction part of the CIIP mode is planar mode or an intra prediction mode derived using a template- based intra prediction mode derivation (TIMD) process (the intra predictor 216 at Par.[0658-0664] where the other intra prediction modes may be TIMD, Par.[0769-0772]) . Re Claim 4. Drugeon and Wang disclose, the method of claim 2, wherein deriving the second intra prediction mode for the first block comprises: Drugeon teaches about, deriving the second intra prediction mode from a highest ranking (according to a first ranking in priority order of the MPMs, Sw_12, per Fig.81 Par.[0661-0664]) intra prediction mode derived using a decoder side intra mode derivation (DIMD) process (the intra predictor 216 at Par.[0658-0664] where the other intra prediction modes may be DIMD, Par.[0769-0773]) . Re Claim 5. Drugeon and Wang disclose, the method of claim 2, wherein deriving the second intra prediction mode for the first block comprises: Drugeon teaches about, deriving the second intra prediction mode from a second highest ranking (according to a first ranking in priority order of the MPMs, Sw_15, per Fig.81 Par.[ 0661-0664]) intra prediction mode derived using a decoder side intra mode derivation (DIMD) process (the intra predictor 216 at Par.[0658-0664] where the other intra prediction modes may be DIMD, Par.[0769-0773]) . Re Claim 6. Drugeon and Wang disclose, the method of claim 1, further comprising: Drugeon teaches about, deriving a third intra prediction mode to replace the second intra prediction mode based on the first intra prediction mode and the second intra prediction mode being equal (selecting a third method to generate the prediction image according to a calculated cost C, by comparing the prediction images, when the first and second methods are intra/inter prediction mode, Figs.29, Par.[0387-0393] or Fig.79 and Fig.81, Par.[0652-664] as citing “Each of the first to third methods may be an inter prediction method, an intra prediction method, or another prediction method”, at Par.[0655]) . Re Claim 7. Drugeon and Wang disclose, the method of claim 1, wherein deriving the first intra prediction mode for the first block comprises: Wang teaches about, deriving the first intra prediction mode from a highest ranking intra prediction mode derived using a decoder side intra mode derivation (DIMD) process (under the DIMD mode at Par.[0423] applying the ranking process from the candidate BVs, Par.[0429]) , and wherein deriving the second intra prediction mode for the first block comprises: deriving the second intra prediction mode from a second highest ranking intra prediction mode derived using the DIMD process (a second intra prediction mode as signaled in the bitstream to indicate which candidate BV is actually used for the current block, Par.[0429 or 0127]) . Re Claim 8. Drugeon and Wang disclose, the method of claim 1, further comprising: Drugeon teaches about, receiving a second block of video data to be coded using a geometric partitioning (GEO) mode (the block being coded in geometric partitioning mode (GEO) or GPM, per Fig.98 Par.[0765-0767]) ; deriving a third intra prediction mode for the second block (a third intra prediction mode is derived according to the mapping between geometric partitioning modes and angular intra prediction mode, dotted-lines in Fig.98, Par.[0765]) ; deriving a fourth intra prediction mode for the second block (a fourth intra prediction mode is derived according to the mapping between geometric partitioning modes and angular intra prediction mode, e.g., per dotted-lines in a different block, in Fig.98, Par.[0765]) ; determining a third transform set from the first set of transform sets based on the third intra prediction mode (the ordinary skilled would have found that the respective transform sets are obviously based on the determined specifically to the third prediction mode, Par.[0764]) ; determining a fourth transform set from the second set of transform sets based on the fourth intra prediction mode (the ordinary skilled would have found that the respective transform sets are obviously based on the determined specifically to the fourth prediction mode, Par.[0764]) ; and decoding the second block of video data using one or more transforms from the third transform set or the fourth transform set (decoding being based on any of the transforms of the GEO/GPM prediction modes, in Fig.98, Par.[0764-0767]) . Re Claim 9. Drugeon and Wang disclose, the method of claim 8, wherein deriving the third intra prediction mode for the second block comprises: Drugeon teaches about, deriving the third intra prediction mode based on a partitioning direction for the GEO mode, and wherein deriving the fourth intra prediction mode for the second block comprises (same as mapped at claim 8) : Wang teaches about, deriving the fourth intra prediction mode from a highest ranking intra prediction mode derived using a decoder side intra mode derivation (DIMD) process (decoding under the DIMD mode at Par.[0423] applying the ranking process from the candidate BVs, Par.[0429]) . Re Claim 10. Drugeon and Wang disclose, the method of claim 8, Drugeon teaches about, wherein deriving the third intra prediction mode for the second block comprises: deriving the third intra prediction mode based on a partitioning direction for the GEO mode (these limitations are similarly defined at claim 8, when the cardinal numerals attributed perform the same method under the applied GEO mode previously disclosed) , and Wang teaches about, wherein deriving the fourth intra prediction mode for the second block comprises: deriving the fourth intra prediction mode from a second highest ranking intra prediction mode derived using a decoder side intra mode derivation (DIMD) process (decoding under the DIMD mode at Par.[0423] applying the ranking process from the candidate BVs, Par.[0429]) . Re Claim 11. This claim represents the apparatus configured to implement the video data coding comprising a memory and processing circuitry in communication with the memory (Drugeon: a memory and processing circuitry at Par.[0918]) , performing each and every limitation of the method claim 1, hence it is rejected on the same mapped evidence mutatis mutandis. Re Claim 12. This claim represents the apparatus configured to implement the video data coding comprising a memory and processing circuitry in communication with the memory (Drugeon: a memory and processing circuitry at Par.[0918]) , performing each and every limitation of the method claim 2, hence it is rejected on the same mapped evidence mutatis mutandis. Re Claim 13. This claim represents the apparatus configured to implement the video data coding comprising a memory and processing circuitry in communication with the memory (Drugeon: a memory and processing circuitry at Par.[0918]) , performing each and every limitation of the method claim 3, hence it is rejected on the same mapped evidence mutatis mutandis. Re Claim 14. This claim represents the apparatus configured to implement the video data coding comprising a memory and processing circuitry in communication with the memory (Drugeon: a memory and processing circuitry at Par.[0918]) , performing each and every limitation of the method claim 4, hence it is rejected on the same mapped evidence mutatis mutandis. Re Claim 15. This claim represents the apparatus configured to implement the video data coding comprising a memory and processing circuitry in communication with the memory (Drugeon: a memory and processing circuitry at Par.[0918]) , performing each and every limitation of the method claim 5, hence it is rejected on the same mapped evidence mutatis mutandis. Re Claim 16. This claim represents the apparatus configured to implement the video data coding comprising a memory and processing circuitry in communication with the memory (Drugeon: a memory and processing circuitry at Par.[0918]) , performing each and every limitation of the method claim 6, hence it is rejected on the same mapped evidence mutatis mutandis. Re Claim 17. This claim represents the apparatus configured to implement the video data coding comprising a memory and processing circuitry in communication with the memory (Drugeon: a memory and processing circuitry at Par.[0918]) , performing each and every limitation of the method claim 7, hence it is rejected on the same mapped evidence mutatis mutandis. Re Claim 18. This claim represents the apparatus configured to implement the video data coding comprising a memory and processing circuitry in communication with the memory (Drugeon: a memory and processing circuitry at Par.[0918]) , performing each and every limitation of the method claim 8, hence it is rejected on the same mapped evidence mutatis mutandis. Re Claim 19. This claim represents the apparatus configured to implement the video data coding comprising a memory and processing circuitry in communication with the memory (Drugeon: a memory and processing circuitry at Par.[0918]) , performing each and every limitation of the method claim 9, hence it is rejected on the same mapped evidence mutatis mutandis. Re Claim 20. This claim represents the apparatus configured to implement the video data coding comprising a memory and processing circuitry in communication with the memory (Drugeon: a memory and processing circuitry at Par.[0918]) , performing each and every limitation of the method claim 10, hence it is rejected on the same mapped evidence mutatis mutandis. Conclusion 07-96 AIA 4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, are; US 2022/0417511; US 2024/0275984; US 2024/0323353; US 2025/0373822; US 2026/0059120; US12,375,663. See PTO-892 form. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. 1.111(c) to consider these references when responding to this action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DRAMOS KALAPODAS whose telephone number is (571)272-4622. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 8am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, David Czekaj can be reached on 571-272-7327. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DRAMOS KALAPODAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/062,722 Page 2 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/062,722 Page 3 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/062,722 Page 4 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/062,722 Page 5 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/062,722 Page 6 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/062,722 Page 7 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/062,722 Page 8 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/062,722 Page 9 Art Unit: 2487 Application/Control Number: 19/062,722 Page 10 Art Unit: 2487