DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 74-82 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cretegny et al. (US 2010/0193574, hereafter “Cretegny”) in view of Zhang et al. (CN 101323529-A, see attached document, hereafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 74, Cretegny discloses a method for producing a joined solid (brazed solid, [0015]), the method comprising: providing a metal (braze alloy 16) for brazing/bonding between a first solid 20A and a second solid 20B (fig. 2, [0023]); surrounding at least a portion of the periphery of the metal braze alloy for bonding with a binder material 14 (fig. 2); and irradiating the metal for bonding with microwaves to heat the metal for bonding (microwave radiation 26- fig. 2, [0036], thereby sintering the metal to braze/bond the first solid and the second solid; and removing at least a portion of the surrounding binder from the metal (binder volatilizing) during heating temperature [0024, 0028], thereby forming a brazed/bonded solid body [0038-0040].
Cretegny discloses high-melting-point particulate ceramic materials such as oxides (e.g. aluminum oxide), carbides (silicon carbide), or nitrides (aluminum nitride) that are highly susceptible to microwave radiation at brazing temperatures [0027], but lacks a combination of an insulation material & an absorbent material (carbon). However, such filler material is known in the sintering art. Analogous to Cretegny, Zhang discloses a method for microwave sintering ([0002]) using a gradient wave-transmitting structure ([0013]) in which the high-melting-point material (gradient) includes a mixture of: an insulation material (ex. 1: boron nitride; ex. 2: corundum, Al2O3) ([0017]-[0023], [0029]-[0031], [0041], [0045]); and an absorbent material (Ex. 1: boron carbide/carbon black; Ex. 2 silicon carbide) ([0017]-[0023], [0029]-[0031], [0041], [0045]). Zhang teaches that such mixture increases the temperature limit [0014], reduces the temperature gradient of the sample, reduces the probability of sintering cracking [0015], and improves the sintering effect and quality of the sintered body [0016].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the microwave-absorbing braze metal powder of Cretegny to surround with a powder mixture that easily absorbs waves (absorbent material) and an insulation material that dilutes the absorbing material to improve the utilization rate of the microwaves, speed up the heating rate under the same power consumption, and increase the temperature limit (Zhang [0014]), reduce the temperature gradient of the sample, reduce the probability of sintering cracking (Zhang [0015]), and improve the sintering effect and quality of the sintered body (Zhang [0016]). Further, Zhang discloses how the material that easily absorbs waves and the material that dilutes the absorbing material interact with the microwaves in the sintering process to convert energy into heat and improves the microwave absorption effect of the heated object (Zhang [0017]-[0023]).
The limitations of the insulation material having a lower degree of absorption of the microwaves than the metal and the absorbent material absorbing the microwaves in a temperature zone at least a portion of which is lower than a temperature zone in which the metal absorbs the microwaves have been considered and determined to encompassed by teachings of Zhang. Applicant’s specification discloses insulating material is an oxide selected from the group consisting of aluminum oxide, silicon oxide, magnesium oxide, zirconium oxide, and titanium oxide (specification [0012]-[0013]) and absorbent material is a carbon material selected from the group consisting of carbon, graphite, silicon carbide, carbon resin, and metal carbide (specification [0014]-[0015]). Zhang discloses insulation material such as corundum, Al2O3, aluminum oxide [0045] and absorbent material such as carbon, active carbon, silicon carbide, and metal carbide [0041], [0045]. The compositions of the insulating material and absorbent material in Zhang are within the scope of that disclosed by applicant and therefore, the claimed properties of the insulating material and absorbent material naturally flow from the disclosure of the prior art, including the insulation material having a lower degree of absorption of the microwaves than the metal powder and the absorbent material absorbing the microwaves in a temperature zone at least a portion of which is lower than a temperature zone in which the metal powder absorbs the microwaves. Thus, Cretegny as modified by Zhang discloses the high-melting-point combination of insulation material (aluminum oxide) & carbon material surrounding at least a portion of periphery of the braze metal powder for producing a joined solid.
As to claims 75 and 77, Zhang discloses that the high-melting-point material (gradient wave-transmitting structure), [0017], [0030-0031] includes from 1 mass% to 70 mass% of the absorbent material (Mix 2, 50:50, boron carbide/carbon black (absorbent material):boron nitride (insulating material)) [0041]. Thus, Cretegny as modified by Zhang above renders the claims obvious.
As to claim 76, Zhang discloses that the insulation material includes an oxide (aluminum oxide- [0045]).
As to claims 78-79, Cretegny discloses that the metal for bonding includes a metal compound or braze alloy component [0025].
As to claim 80, Cretegny disclose the method further comprising applying a pressure to the metal for bonding in a low-pressure atmosphere [0028] before irradiating with microwaves.
As to claims 81-82, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform irradiating the metal with the microwaves in an inert gas or a reducing atmosphere in the method of Cretegny in order to avoid oxidation and contamination of the metal powder or at the joining interfaces.
Double Patenting
Claims 74-86 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,263,525 issued to Nishioka et al. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims of US ‘525 discloses every feature of present claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 83-86 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including ALL of the limitations of the base claim and upon approval of eTerminal Disclaimer.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/25/25 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Inquiry
To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at https://www.uspto.gov/patents/laws/interview-practice. Communications via Internet email are at the discretion of Applicant. If Applicant wishes to communicate via email, a written authorization form must be filed by Applicant: Form PTO/SB/439, available at www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The form may be filed via the Patent Center and can be found using the document description Internet Communications, see https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/forms. In limited circumstances, the Applicant may make an oral authorization for Internet communication. See MPEP § 502.03.
/DEVANG R PATEL/
Primary Examiner, AU 1735