DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 18 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 18: singular/plural mismatch in the phrase “through one of the anchor”.
Claim 18: “defining an aperture through one of the anchor can extend” is grammatically incomplete. Presumably should read “through which one of the anchors can extend”?
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 7, 11, 14, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the singular “anchor” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 11 reintroduces the limitation of a “plurality of anchors” in line 2.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "folded edges" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "folded edges" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 reintroduces the limitation of a “stiffening template” in line 2.
Claim 19 is rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 11, 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coupland (US Pat. 11,225,769 B2) in view of Starks (US Pat. 6,643,945 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Coupland discloses a connection system for providing a construction joint between a first concrete component and a second concrete component (Abstract, lines 1-5: “Provided are apparatus and method(s) for forming one or more shear key(s) between embedded concrete retaining wall(s) and concrete floor slab(s), kits for forming such shear key(s) and underground structures such as embedded concrete wall(s) and slab(s) comprising a shear key”), the connection system comprising:
a rebate former configured to form a rebate in a first concrete component, the rebate former having a backing (Fig. 5A, shear key former apparatus 10);
a plurality of anchors coupled to the backing (Fig. 5A, threaded tension connection members 34).
However, Coupland fails to disclose as taught by Starks, at least one stiffening template mounted to the backing to prevent or at least reduce sag of the rebate former (Fig. 4, plate member 12).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection system for providing a construction joint between a first concrete component and a second concrete component of Coupland to include the stiffening template of Stark to properly space apart the bolts.
Regarding claim 4, Coupland in view of Starks discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Starks, wherein the stiffening template defines an aperture to enable one of the anchors to pass through the stiffening template (Fig. 3, aperture 18).
Regarding claim 5, Coupland in view of Starks discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Starks, wherein the aperture is round (Fig. 3, aperture 18).
Regarding claim 6, Coupland in view of Starks discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the aperture is square. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the aperture to provide a resistance to rotating in the event that a square rod is used. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Regarding claim 7, Coupland in view of Starks discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Starks, wherein the stiffening template is arranged to be clamped to the backing by the anchor (Fig. 4, pair of nuts 21 clamp to the plate member 12).
Regarding claim 8, Coupland in view of Starks discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Starks, wherein the stiffening template extends transversely across the backing (Fig. 4, plate member 12 extends transversely across slab 26).
Regarding claim 11, Coupland in view of Starks discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Starks, wherein the stiffening template defines a plurality of apertures that allow passage of a plurality of anchors through the stiffening template (Fig. 3, apertures 18).
Regarding claim 13, Coupland in view of Starks discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Starks, wherein the rebate former has folded ends (Fig. 5A, template 10 has folded corners).
Regarding claim 14, Coupland in view of Starks discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Coupland, which includes a lid configured to cover an internal cavity of the rebate former defined by the backing and folded edges thereof (Fig. 3, closure panel 80).
Regarding claim 15, Coupland in view of Starks discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Coupland, a plurality of parallel rebate formers joined by an intermediate section (Col. 8, lines 27-35: “Furthermore, the previous and following descriptions refer to concrete panels that are typically planar, and rectangular in cross-section, having two generally planar, substantially parallel ‘side’ faces of greater width and two generally planar, substantially parallel ‘end’ faces of narrower width. However, it is to be understood the invention may be used with other shaped panels such as ‘panels’ of circular or other (e.g. square, hexagonal) cross-sections such as piles”).
Regarding claim 16, Coupland in view of Starks discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Coupland, wherein the rebate former includes a cross strut extending across a width of an internal cavity of the rebate former (Fig. 4F-1, rigid member 30A).
Claim(s) 2-3, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coupland (US Pat. 11,225,769 B2) in view of Starks (US Pat. 6,643,945 B1), and further in view of Underwood (US Pat. 5,826,391).
Regarding claim 2, Coupland in view of Starks discloses the claimed invention except for as taught by Underwood, wherein the rebate former is formed of sheet metal (Col. 1, lines 33-39: “In one aspect therefore the present invention resides in an edge formwork for a part of a slab poured on a deck prior to an adjoining part of the slab being poured, the formwork comprising a narrow elongate sheet metal panel having an upper portion, a lower portion and an intermediate portion displaced laterally out of the longitudinal line of the panel”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection system of Coupland in view of Starks to include the sheet metal of Underwood since it is a commonly used material for similar applications and is relatively low in cost.
Regarding claim 3, Coupland in view of Starks and Underwood discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Underwood, wherein the backing is in the form of an elongated backing, the elongated backing having folded edges to a predefined depth (The backing is relatively elongated and has folded edges).
Regarding claim 17, Coupland in view of Starks discloses the claimed invention except for as taught by Underwood, wherein the rebate former is dimpled on the backing and on folded edges thereof (Col. 2, lines 49-51: “The panel 11 has a dimpled surface shown in part at 24 and this assists adhesion between the slab and the panel 11 to inhibit shear”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection system of Coupland in view of Starks to include the dimples of Underwood to resist shear forces.
Claim(s) 9-10, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coupland (US Pat. 11,225,769 B2) in view of Starks (US Pat. 6,643,945 B1), and further in view of Davidson (US Pat. 7,984,541 B1).
Regarding claim 9, Coupland in view of Starks discloses the claimed invention except for as taught by Davidson, wherein the stiffening template is folded along opposite edges (Fig. 3, body 30 is folded along at least two edges).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stiffening template to be folded as taught by Davidson to provide clearance for the nut between the template and the backing.
Regarding claim 10, Coupland in view of Starks and Davidson discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Davidson, wherein the folded edges of the stiffening template are oriented transversely to the backing (Fig. 1, body 30 extends across concrete 50).
Regarding claim 18, Coupland in view of Starks discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Starks, a stiffening template configured to reinforce the rebate former (Fig. 4, plate member 12).
However, Coupland in view of Starks discloses the claimed invention except for as taught by Davidson, the stiffening template including a plate having opposed folded edges and defining an aperture through one of the anchor can extend (Fig. 3, body 30 is folded along at least two edges).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stiffening template to be folded as taught by Davidson to provide clearance for the nut between the template and the backing.
Regarding claim 19, Coupland in view of Starks and Davidson discloses the claimed invention in addition to as taught by Davidson, wherein the stiffening template is configured to be oriented so that the folded edges of the stiffening template can rest against the backing (The stiffening template of Davidson is capable of this).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coupland (US Pat. 11,225,769 B2) in view of Starks (US Pat. 6,643,945 B1), and further in view of Gruson (US Pat. 6,286,270 B1).
Regarding claim 12, Coupland in view of Starks discloses the claimed invention except for as taught by Gruson, wherein each of the anchors has an internal thread sized and shaped to receive an external thread of a reinforcing bar configured to reinforce the second concrete component (Fig. 1, threads 27 interlock with core 32).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the internally threaded anchors of Gruson for a more secure connection.
Conclusion
/HENRY HOOPER MUDD/Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642