DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
This office action is in response to applicant’s claims filed 2/25/2025. Claim 1 is currently pending and have been examined. The claim to foreign priority is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “configured to” in claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/632,601 (reference application, hereinafter referred to as ‘601). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding ‘601 teaches, “An apparatus for drafting a patent document, comprising:
an element management unit configured to manage information of an element capable of being included in contents of a patent document (‘601 claim 1 cites “an element management unit configured to receive information of elements as specific objects that are capable of being included in contents of a patent document”);
an auto-complete list generation unit configured to generate a data set based on the information of the element managed by the element management unit and generate an auto-complete list based on results extracted from the data set using, as a search term, text input by a user (‘601, claim 1 “an auto-complete list generation unit configured to generate an auto-complete data set including element items generated based on the information of elements managed by the element management unit, and extract an element item corresponding to a search term from the auto-complete data set to generate an auto-complete list”); and
a text input component management unit configured to manage a text input component to which the user is able to input text, extract, as an auto-complete keyword, some of the text input to the text input component, transmit the extracted text to the auto-complete list generation unit, display, on a screen, the auto-complete list generated based on the auto-complete keyword, replace, when the user selects any one item included in the auto- complete list, the auto-complete keyword with the selected item and output the auto-complete keyword to the text input component (‘601 claim 1, “a text input component management unit configured to manage a text input component to which the user is able to input the contents of a patent document as text, extract, as an auto-complete keyword, some of the text constituting the patent document input to the text input component, transmit the extracted text as the search term to the auto-complete list generation unit, display, on a screen, the auto-complete list provided from the auto-complete list generation unit, replace, when the user selects any one element item included in the auto-complete list, the auto-complete keyword with the selected element item, and output the selected element item to the text input component.”)
‘601 further teaches contents in a patent document described as text, and constitute an invention, from a user through the input and output interface and manage the information of elements, and wherein the text input component management unit adds an item to be replaced as one auto-complete block in the text input component: and wherein the text input component management unit sets the auto-complete block generated from each element item to have the same unique identification value.
19/062,793
18/632,601
an element management unit configured to manage information of an element capable of being included in contents of a patent document
an element management unit configured to receive information of elements as specific objects that are capable of being included in contents of a patent document
an auto-complete list generation unit configured to generate a data set based on the information of the element managed by the element management unit and generate an auto-complete list based on results extracted from the data set using, as a search term, text input by a user
an auto-complete list generation unit configured to generate an auto-complete data set including element items generated based on the information of elements managed by the element management unit, and extract an element item corresponding to a search term from the auto-complete data set to generate an auto-complete list”
a text input component management unit configured to manage a text input component to which the user is able to input text, extract, as an auto-complete keyword, some of the text input to the text input component, transmit the extracted text to the auto-complete list generation unit, display, on a screen, the auto-complete list generated based on the auto-complete keyword, replace, when the user selects any one item included in the auto- complete list, the auto-complete keyword with the selected item and output the auto-complete keyword to the text input component
a text input component management unit configured to manage a text input component to which the user is able to input the contents of a patent document as text, extract, as an auto-complete keyword, some of the text constituting the patent document input to the text input component, transmit the extracted text as the search term to the auto-complete list generation unit, display, on a screen, the auto-complete list provided from the auto-complete list generation unit, replace, when the user selects any one element item included in the auto-complete list, the auto-complete keyword with the selected element item, and output the selected element item to the text input component
However, where an omission on a device or apparatus is no more than the “Omission of an Element and Its Function, where the Function of the Element Is Not Desired or Required” the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex parte Wu , 10 USPQ 2031 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1989). Accordingly, Applicant claims a combination that only unites old elements with no change in the respective functions of those old elements, and the omission one of those elements yields predictable results; absent evidence that the modifications necessary to effect the combination of elements is uniquely challenging or difficult for one of ordinary skill in the art, the claim is unpatentable as obvious under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Accordingly, since the applicant[s] have submitted no persuasive evidence that the omission of the above element is uniquely challenging or difficult for one of ordinary skill in the art, the claim is unpatentable as obvious under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) because it is no more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions resulting the same resultant function.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the linguistics art, before the effective filing date of the invention, as all the claimed elements were known in the prior art, in view of the teachings of ‘601 to omit the additional element(s) functions as taught by ‘601 as each element performs the same function as it does separately, as the combination would yield predictable results, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US. -- 82 USPQ2nd 1385 (2007), wherein the predictable result would be the continued replacement of an auto-complete keyword with and element item included in the auto-complete list, (ibid-see claim 1, corresponding limitation).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lepeltier (US 2017/0075877) in view of Lipsey (US 2011/0035364).
As per claim 1, Lepeltier teaches an apparatus for drafting a patent document, comprising:
[an element management unit configured to manage] information of an element capable of being included in contents of a patent document (paragraph [0102, 0103, 0104, 0107, 0160, 0098, 0036]-his managed lexicon, and database of created texts, such as his published texts, and patent database of text items, received, created by a user, and developing a library of replacement candidates, see his “any numeral identifying an element”, thus elements and corresponding identification/numeral, facilitating description, the description as the words describing the patent application for an invention);
an auto-complete list generation unit configured to generate a data set based on the information of the element managed by the element management unit and generate an auto-complete list based on results extracted from the data set using, as a search term, text input by a user (ibid-Figs 21-23, paragraph [0160]-as his auto-completion data set, based on database of created texts, as described above); and
a text input component management unit configured to manage a text input component to which the user is able to input text (ibid-Figs. 21-23, paragraph [0160]- including a text input component, and user entered text as contents of a patent document), extract, as an auto-complete keyword, some of the text input to the text input component (ibid-his user input, as comprising an auto-complete keyword, extracted and used to query the created database of elements), transmit the extracted text to the auto-complete list generation unit, display, on a screen, the auto-complete list generated based on the auto-complete keyword, replace, when the user selects any one item included in the auto- complete list, the auto-complete keyword with the selected item and output the auto-complete keyword to the text input component (ibid, Figs. 21-23, paragraph [0160]-his search terms provided to the displayed auto-completion list, his user “select” of any one of the displayed auto-completion candidates from the list, and the replacement of the auto-complete keyword, in the text input space, with the selected element).
Lepeltier does not explicitly teach that which Lipsey teaches, an element management unit configured to manage information of an element capable of being included in contents of a patent document (Fig. 1 items 106, 018, 114, 116, 118, 120, 122, paragraph [0002, 0033, 0044, 0048, 0062-0064, 0090]-his database of elements, corresponding information of elements, as specific objects that are capable of being included in a patent document as drafted, his explicit illustrated elements, and corresponding key terms and numerical identifier, which are indexed and searched for, via the created index list, and used for auto-completion).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the linguistics art, before the effective filing date of the invention, as all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (computer implemented techniques and algorithms combining processes and steps in natural language processing), in view of the teachings of Lepeltier and Lipsey to combine the prior art element of drafting a patent document using an auto-completion list, based on elements and information of elements used in a description as taught by Lepeltier with an element management unit that receives information of elements as specific objects, as taught by Lipsey as each element performs the same function as it does separately, as the combination would yield predictable results, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US. -- 82 USPQ2nd 1385 (2007), wherein the predictable result would be auto-completing based on searching for key terms, from elements, and searching using the element root portion, for an auto-completion element that can replace the key term, as entered into the text input space (ibid-Lipsey, paragraphs [0062-0064]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (See PTO-892).
/LAMONT M SPOONER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2657
7/22/2026