DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 30 (page 4, line 3) and 940 (page 21, paragraph [0067], line 2, etc.). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 910 (Fig. 5). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 16 and 19-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue (US Pat. Pub. No. US 2013/0129379 A1; cited in IDS filed 10/23/2025) in view of Sugiyama (US Pat. Pub. No. US 2020/0218182 A1; cited in IDS filed 10/23/2025).
Inoue discloses (as in claim 1) an image forming apparatus 1 configured to form a toner image (via an image forming unit 5) on a recording medium (paragraphs [0021]-[0029] and Fig. 1), the image forming apparatus 1 comprising: a first frame 2; a second frame 13 separably mounted to the first frame 2 in a vertical direction (Fig. 2); and a discharging unit 8 configured to discharge the recording medium, which is conveyed from the first frame 2 to the second frame 13, to an outside (paragraphs [0029]-[0031]; Figs. 1 and 2); (as in claim 20) a third frame 9 separably mounted to the first frame 2 in the vertical direction (Fig. 2); and (as in claim 21) further comprising: a coupling member configured to connect the first frame 2 and the second frame 13 (Fig. 2).
Inoue differs from the instant claimed invention in not disclosing: (claim 1) a conveyance roller configured to convey the recording medium; a transfer unit configured to transfer the toner image onto the recording medium; wherein at least part of the transfer unit and at least part of the conveyance roller are supported by the first frame, and wherein the discharging unit is supported by the second frame; (as in claim 2) further comprising: a photosensitive member that is supported by the first frame, wherein the transfer unit is configured to transfer the toner image formed on the photosensitive member onto the recording medium; (as in claim 3) wherein the transfer unit includes an intermediate transfer member, a first transfer unit configured to transfer the toner image from the photosensitive member to the intermediate transfer member, and a second transfer unit configured to transfer the toner image from the intermediate transfer member to the recording medium; (as in claim 4) wherein the transfer unit includes a drive roller and a driven roller that are configured to stretch the intermediate transfer member, and wherein the drive roller and the driven roller are supported by the first frame; (as in claim 5) wherein the first transfer unit includes a primary transfer roller configured to transfer the toner image formed on the photosensitive member onto the intermediate transfer member, and wherein the primary transfer roller is supported by the first frame; (as in claim 6) wherein the transfer unit includes a drive roller and a driven roller that are configured to stretch the intermediate transfer member, and wherein the first transfer unit includes a primary transfer roller configured to transfer the toner image formed on the photosensitive member onto the intermediate transfer member, and wherein the drive roller, the driven roller, and the primary transfer roller are supported by the first frame; (as in claim 7) wherein the intermediate transfer member includes an endless intermediate transfer belt, wherein the second transfer unit includes an inner roller arranged on an inside of the intermediate transfer belt, and an outer roller arranged on an outside of the intermediate transfer belt, wherein the toner image on the intermediate transfer belt is transferred onto the recording medium by the inner roller and the outer roller, and wherein the inner roller is supported by the first frame; (as in claim 8) further comprising: a pivot unit that is configured to support the outer roller and is configured to pivot between an opening position and a closed position with respect to the first frame; (as in claim 9) further comprising: a roller positioning portion that is supported by the first frame and is configured to determine a position of the outer roller when the pivot unit is in the closed position; (as in claim 10) further comprising: a roller positioning portion, wherein the conveyance roller includes a roller pair including a first roller supported by the first frame and a second roller supported by the pivot unit, and wherein the roller positioning portion is supported by the first frame and is configured to determine a position of the second roller when the pivot unit is in the closed position; (as in claim 11) wherein the roller pair is configured to correct skew of the recording medium by coming into contact with the conveyed recording medium in a state in which the roller pair is stopped; (as in claim 16) further comprising: a photosensitive member; a charge unit configured to charge the photosensitive member; an exposing unit configured to form an electrostatic latent image by exposing the photosensitive member that has been charged; and a developing unit configured to develop the electrostatic latent image on the photosensitive member to the toner image, wherein at least one of the charge unit, the developing unit, and the exposing unit is supported within the first frame; (as in claim 19) wherein the conveyance roller includes a pre-registration roller pair and a registration roller pair arranged downstream of the pre-registration roller pair in a conveyance path, wherein, the registration roller pair is configured to correct skew of the recording medium when the pre-registration roller pair conveys the recording medium in a state in which the registration roller pair is stopped, and wherein at least part of the registration roller pair is supported by the first frame; (as in claim 20) further comprising: a storage member configured to store the recording medium; a supply unit configured to supply the recording medium from the storage member toward an inside of the first frame; and the storage member and the supply unit are supported by the third frame; (as in claim 22) further comprising: a duplex conveyance unit configured to reverse a recording surface of the recording medium, wherein the duplex conveyance unit is arranged to extend over the first frame and the second frame.
Sugiyama discloses an image forming apparatus 100 comprising: a lower part of a housing 101 comprising a conveyance roller 120, 130 configured to convey a recording medium S and an image forming unit 150 including a transfer unit 154, 155 (Fig. 1); an upper part of the housing 101 comprising a discharging unit 180 (Fig. 1); a photosensitive member 151 that is supported by the lower part of the housing 101, wherein the transfer unit 154, 155 is configured to transfer the toner image formed on the photosensitive member 151 onto the recording medium S (paragraphs [0022]-[0024]), wherein the transfer unit 154, 155 includes an intermediate transfer member 155, a first transfer unit 154 configured to transfer the toner image formed on the photosensitive member 151 onto the intermediate transfer member 155, and a second transfer unit 156 configured to transfer the toner image from the intermediate transfer member 155 to the recording medium S (paragraph [0024] and Fig. 1); wherein the transfer unit 154, 155 includes a drive roller and a driven roller that are configured to stretch the intermediate transfer member 155, and wherein the drive roller and the driven roller are supported by the lower part of the housing 101 (Fig. 1); wherein the first transfer unit 154, 155 includes a primary transfer roller 154 configured to transfer the toner image formed on the photosensitive member 151 onto the intermediate transfer member 155, and wherein the primary transfer roller 154 is supported by the lower part of the housing 101 (Fig. 1); wherein the transfer unit 154, 155 includes a drive roller and a driven roller that are configured to stretch the intermediate transfer member 155, and wherein the first transfer unit 154 includes a primary transfer roller 154 configured to transfer the toner image formed on the photosensitive member 151 onto the intermediate transfer member 155, and wherein the drive roller, the driven roller, and the primary transfer roller 154 are supported by the lower part of the housing 101 (Fig. 1); wherein the intermediate transfer member 155 includes an endless intermediate transfer belt 155 (Fig. 1), wherein the second transfer unit 156 includes an inner roller 157 arranged on an inside of the intermediate transfer belt 155, and an outer roller 158 arranged on an outside of the intermediate transfer belt 155, wherein the toner image on the intermediate transfer belt 155 is transferred onto the recording medium S by the inner roller 157 and the outer roller 158, and wherein the inner roller 157 is supported by the lower part of the housing 101 (Figs. 1 and 2A); a pivot unit (a door) 200 that is configured to support the outer roller 158 and is configured to pivot between an opening position (Fig. 2B) and a closed position (Fig. 2A) with respect to the housing 101; a roller positioning portion that is supported by the housing 101 and is configured to determine a position of the outer roller 158 when the pivot unit 200 is in the closed position (Figs. 1, 2A and 2B);a roller positioning portion that is supported by the first frame and is configured to determine a position of the outer roller 158 when the pivot unit 200 is in the closed position (Figs. 1, 2A and 2B); a roller positioning portion, wherein the conveyance roller includes a roller pair including a first roller 157 supported by the housing 101 and a second roller 158 supported by the pivot unit 200 (Figs. 1, 2A and 2B), and wherein the roller positioning portion is supported by the housing 101 and is configured to determine a position of the second roller 158 when the pivot unit 200 is in the closed position (Fig. 1); wherein the roller pair 130 is configured to correct skew of the recording medium S by coming into contact with the conveyed recording medium S in a state in which the roller pair 130 is stopped (paragraph [0024]); a charge unit 140; an exposing unit 152; a developing unit 153, wherein at least one of the charge unit 140, the developing unit 153, and the exposing unit 152 is supported within the housing 101 (Fig. 1); wherein the conveyance roller includes a pre-registration roller pair 120 and a registration roller pair 130 arranged downstream of the pre-registration roller pair 120 in a conveyance path, wherein, the registration roller pair 130 is configured to correct skew of the recording medium S when the pre-registration roller pair 120 conveys the recording medium S in a state in which the registration roller pair 130 is stopped, and wherein at least part of the registration roller pair 130 is supported by the housing 101 (paragraph [0024] and Fig. 1); a storage member 111 configured to store the recording medium S; a supply unit 110 configured to supply the recording medium S from the storage member 111 toward an inside of the housing 101 (Fig. 1); and the storage member 111 separably mounted to the housing 101, wherein the storage member 111 and the supply unit 110 are supported by the lower part of the housing 101 (Fig. 1); and a duplex conveyance unit 190 being arranged to extend over the upper part of the housing 101 and the lower part of the housing 101 (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the locations of the conveyance roller/transfer unit/photosensitive member/image forming unit/registration roller pair/duplex conveyance unit/storage member as taught by Sugiyama to the first frame, second frame, or third frame of Inoue to easily assemble and install different parts (frames) of the image forming apparatus and to clear paper jam.
Claim(s) 23 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue in view of Sugiyama.
Inoue discloses an image forming apparatus 1 configured to form a toner image (via an image forming unit 5) on a recording medium (paragraphs [0021]-[0029] and Fig. 1), the image forming apparatus 1 comprising: a first frame 2; a second frame 13 separably mounted to the first frame 2 in a vertical direction (Fig. 2); and a discharging unit 8 configured to discharge the recording medium, which is conveyed from the first frame 2 to the second frame 13, to an outside (paragraphs [0029]-[0031]; Figs. 1 and 2).
Inoue differs from the instant claimed invention in not disclosing: (as in claim 23) a photosensitive member; ; a transfer unit configured to transfer the toner image onto the recording medium, wherein the photosensitive member and at least part of the transfer unit are supported by the first frame, and wherein the discharging unit is supported by the second frame; and (as in claim 24) conveyance rollers configured to convey the recording medium, wherein at least part of the conveyance rollers is supported by the first frame.
Sugiyama discloses an image forming apparatus 100 comprising: a lower part of a housing 101 comprising a conveyance roller 120, 130 configured to convey a recording medium S and an image forming unit 150 including a transfer unit 154, 155 (Fig. 1); an upper part of the housing 101 comprising a discharging unit 180 (Fig. 1); and conveyance rollers 130 configured to convey the recording medium S, wherein at least part of the conveyance rollers 130 is supported by the lower part of the housing 101 (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the locations of the conveyance roller/transfer unit/photosensitive member as taught by Sugiyama to the first frame/second frame of Inoue to easily assemble and install different parts (frames) of the image forming apparatus and to clear paper jam.
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue in view of Sugiyama as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsuno et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. US 2020/0117128 A1)
Inoue in view of Sugiyama, as discussed above, further a fixing unit that is supported by the first frame and is configured to fix the toner image on the recording medium, wherein the fixing unit is detachably mounted with respect to the first frame, and wherein the first frame includes a position determination portion configured to determine a position of the fixing unit and protrudes into inside of the second frame; and wherein the fixing unit is supported by the first frame and is arranged inside of the second frame.
Matsuno et al. discloses an image forming apparatus 1 comprising a housing 2; a fixing unit 8 that is supported by the housing 2 and is configured to fix the toner image on a recording medium P (paragraph [0039] and Fig. 1), wherein the fixing unit 8 is detachably mounted with respect to the housing 2 (paragraph [0039]; Figs. 1 and 3), and wherein the housing 2 includes a position determination portion 23d configured to determine a position of the fixing unit 8 and protrudes into inside of an upper part of the housing 2 (Figs. 1 and 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the location of the fixing unit and the position determination portion as taught by Matsuno et al. to first frame of Inoue in view of Sugiyama to fuse the toner image on the recoding medium and to easily clear paper jam.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue in view of Sugiyama as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Tomono et al. (US Pat. No. 11,199,804 B2)
Inoue in view of Sugiyama, as discussed above, differs from the instant claimed invention in not disclosing a toner container configured to store toner that is replenished to the developing unit, wherein the toner container is supported by the first frame.
Tomono et al. discloses an image forming apparatus A comprising: a toner container 32Y configured to store toner that is replenished to a developing unit 4Y, wherein the toner container 32Y is supported by an upper part of a housing (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the toner container and its position as taught by Tomono et al. to the first frame of Inoue in view of Sugiyama to reduce size.
Claim(s) 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue in view of Sugiyama and Eoka (EP 4 052 918 A1).
Inoue discloses an image forming apparatus 1 configured to form a toner image (via an image forming unit 5) on a recording medium (paragraphs [0021]-[0029] and Fig. 1), the image forming apparatus 1 comprising: a first frame 2; and a second frame 13 separably mounted to the first frame 2 in a vertical direction (Fig. 2).
Inoue differs from the instant claimed invention in not disclosing: (as in claim 25) a conveyance roller configured to convey the recording medium; a recording unit that is supported by the first frame and is configured to eject the ink toward the recording medium; and a discharging unit configured to discharge the recording medium, which is conveyed from the first frame, to an outside, wherein at least part of the conveyance roller is supported by the first frame, and wherein the discharging unit is supported by the second frame; (as in claim 26) a storage member configured to store the recording medium; a supply unit configured to supply the recording medium from the storage member toward an inside of the first frame; and a third frame separably mounted to the first frame in a vertical direction, wherein the storage member and the supply unit are supported by the third frame; (as in claim 27) wherein the recording unit includes a recording head that is configured to eject the ink, and a platen that is arranged to face the recording head and is configured to support the recording medium from a rear in a position facing the recording head, and wherein both the recording head and the platen are supported by the first frame.
Sugiyama discloses an image forming apparatus 100 comprising: a lower part of a housing 101 comprising a conveyance roller 120, 130 configured to convey a recording medium S and an image forming unit 150 including a transfer unit 154, 155 (Fig. 1); an upper part of the housing 101 comprising a discharging unit 180 configured to discharge the recording medium S, which is conveyed from the frame, to an outside (Fig. 1); conveyance roller 130 configured to convey the recording medium S, wherein at least part of the conveyance roller 130 is supported by the lower part of the housing 101 (Fig. 1); the discharging unit 180 being supported by an upper part of the housing 101 (Fig. 1); a storage member 111 configured to store the recording medium S; a supply unit 110 configured to supply the recording medium S from the storage member 111 toward an inside of the housing 101 (Fig. 1); and the storage member 111 separably mounted to the housing 101, wherein the storage member 111 and the supply unit 110 are supported by the lower part of the housing 101 (Fig. 1).
Eoka discloses an image forming apparatus 1 configured to form an image on a recording medium using ink, the image forming apparatus 1 comprising: a recoding unit 12 including a recording head and a platen (paragraph [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the locations of the conveyance roller and image forming unit as taught by Sugiyama to the first frame and second frame of Inoue to easily assemble and install different parts (frames) of the image forming apparatus and to clear paper jam.
Also, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the recording unit as taught by Eoka in place of the image forming unit of Inoue in view of Sugiyama because of the same functionality for forming image (ink instead of toner) on the recording medium.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-13 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
/SOPHIA S CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
Ssc
September 18, 2026