DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 11-13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (U.S. Publication 2020/0357177) in view of Natori (U.S. Publication 2021/0041230) and Manzari (U.S. Patent 11,212,449).
As to claim 1, Park discloses a method comprising:
receiving three-dimensional (3D) data associated with an environment (fig. 1, element 130; point cloud data is generated and received for display);
receiving image data associated with the environment (p. 3, section 0050; images of the environment are received from a camera);
and generating a graphical representation based at least in part on at least one of the 3D data and the image data (figs. 2a-2d; p. 3, section 0055; a graphic showing both image data and point cloud data is produced),
the graphical representation comprising a first region selectively switchable between a single-sub-region mode (figs. 2a-2d) and another mode (fig. 12; a mode for placing content is shown), wherein, responsive to the single-sub-region mode being enabled, the first region displays at least one of at least a first portion of the 3D data and at least a first portion of the image data (figs. 2a-2d; p. 3, section 0055; a graphic showing both image data and point cloud data is produced).
Park does not disclose, but Natori discloses a multi-sub-region mode one can switch to from a single-sub-region mode wherein, responsive to the multi-sub-region mode being enabled, the first region comprises at least a first sub-region and a second sub-region, the first sub-region displaying at least one of at least a second portion of the 3D data and at least a second portion of the image data, and the second sub-region displaying at least one of at least a third portion of the 3D data and at least a third portion of the image data (fig. 37; fig. 38b; fig. 39b; fig. 40b; fig. 41b; figs. 42-43; p. 4, section 0095; p. 7, section 0124; a mode is shown where a single sub-region exists, while in a split screen mode, multiple sub-regions exist; each sub-region displays its portion of 3D data based on point cloud data, as well as texture data, which reads on image data; thus, in a first region screen split in two, the first sub-region’s point cloud and texture data would read on the claimed second portion of the 3D data and second portion of the image data, while the second sub-region’s point cloud and texture data would read on the claimed third portion of the 3D data and third portion of the image data). The motivation for this is to allow a user to compare results of two or more objects (p. 21, section 0242). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park to use a method wherein, responsive to the multi-sub-region mode being enabled, the first region comprises at least a first sub-region and a second sub-region, the first sub-region displaying at least one of at least a second portion of the 3D data and at least a second portion of the image data, and the second sub-region displaying at least one of at least a third portion of the 3D data and at least a third portion of the image data in order to allow a user to compare results of two or more objects as taught by Natori.
Park does not disclose, but Manzari discloses wherein the graphical representation further comprises a second region, wherein the second region displays information associated with the 3D data and the image data, the information including a plurality of timestamps associated with different times when the 3D data and the image data was captured (col. 22, line 13-57; col. 64, lines 35-51; col. 112, line 31-col. 113, line 46; multiple regions with different views of depth/3D and image data are displayed, at least one with capture timestamps), wherein the first region and the second region present a same view of the environment that is (i) selectively movable together and (ii) selectively independently and synchronously rotated such that the first region and the second region show the same view of the environment from different perspectives (col. 72, line 56-col. 73, line 15; col. 112, line 31-col. 113, line 46; two views of a same environment, including, for example, a wide-angle view perspective and a normal view perspective are displayed in first and second regions; as the cameras are part of the same device and used for live preview, they would move synchronously as the device moves). The motivation for this is to improve visual feedback and help a user to provide proper inputs and reduce user mistakes. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park and Natori to use a method wherein the graphical representation further comprises a second region, wherein the second region displays information associated with the 3D data and the image data, the information including a plurality of timestamps associated with different times when the 3D data and the image data was captured, wherein the first region and the second region present a same view of the environment that is (i) selectively movable together and (ii) selectively independently and synchronously rotated such that the first region and the second region show the same view of the environment from different perspectives in order to improve visual feedback and help a user to provide proper inputs and reduce user mistakes as taught by Manzari.
As to claim 2, Park discloses wherein information associated with the 3D data and the image data comprises at least one location within the environment at which at least one of the 3D data and the image data was captured (fig. 8; p. 4, sections 0074-0075; a second region with information labels associated with 3D point cloud and image data is shown; information labels indicating a location within an environment such as “terrace” or “front” are shown).
As to claim 3, Park discloses wherein the 3D data and the image data are temporally linked (fig. 13; p. 5, sections 0088-0094; the 3D point cloud data is generated and then immediately overlaid on currently captured image data, making it the 3D point cloud data that is most close in time, i.e. most closely temporally linked, to the currently captured image data).
As to claim 7, Park discloses wherein the 3D data comprises a point cloud (p. 4, section 0070; the 3D data overlaying the image is point cloud data).
As to claim 11, see the rejection to claim 1. Further, Park discloses a system, comprising: a memory comprising computer readable instructions; and a processing device for executing the computer readable instructions, the computer readable instructions controlling the processing device to perform operations (p. 5, section 0113-p. 6, section 0114).
As to claim 12, see the rejection to claim 2.
As to claim 13, see the rejection to claim 3.
As to claim 20, see the rejection to claim 1. Further Park discloses a system, comprising: at least one camera that captures image data associated with an environment (p. 3, section 0050); at least one scanner that captures three-dimensional (3D) data associated with the environment (p. 3, sections 0052-0061; the point cloud data generator and the 3D position determiner together act as a scanner to capture 3D data associated with the camera image in the environment); and a processing system (p. 5, section 0113-p. 6, section 0114). Park does not explicitly disclose a data store for storing the image data associated with the environment captured with the at least one camera, and the 3D data associated with the environment captured with the at least one scanner, but since this data is used for generating a display after it is captured, it must be stored in some location in the system, and whichever location that is would inherently read on a data store.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Natori and Manzari and further in view of Themelis (U.S. Publication 2021/0243387).
As to claim 6, Park does not disclose, but Themelis discloses, wherein, in a hybrid linking mode, a field of view of the first sub-region can be changed independently of a field of view of the second sub-region and the field of view of the second sub-region changes according to a change to the field of view of the first sub-region (figs. 3a-3c; p. 4, section 0042-0044; p. 5-6, section 0049; a second field of view, corresponding to the claimed “field of view of the first sub-region” is changed independently without the other field of view having to change first; according to that change, the other field of view is changed such that it reflects this change within an overview as in the figures). The motivation for this is improve spatial awareness and increase incident awareness of a user (p. 2, sections 0021-0022). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park, Natori, and Manzari to use a method wherein in a hybrid linking mode, a field of view of the first sub-region can be changed independently of a field of view of the second sub-region and the field of view of the second sub-region changes according to a change to the field of view of the first sub-region in order to improve spatial awareness and increase incident awareness of a user as taught by Themelis.
As to claim 16, see the rejection to claim 6.
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Natori and Manzari and further in view of Berger (WO 2013/186160).
As to claim 8, Park does not disclose, but Berger discloses wherein the image data comprises a 360 degree image (p. 1, lines 9-16; p. 8, line 18-p. 9, line 20; the image data displayed with textured 3D point cloud data is a 360 degree panoramic image). The motivation for this is to allow a remote user to engineer and plan structure or installation changes (col. 9, line 34-p. 10, line 2). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park, Natori, and Manzari to use a 360 degree image along with the 3D data in order to allow a remote user to engineer and plan structure or installation changes as taught by Berger.
As to claim 18, see the rejections to claims 7 and 8.
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Natori and Manzari and further in view of Baek (U.S. Publication 2021/0072390).
As to claim 9, Park does not disclose, but Baek discloses wherein the first portion of the 3D data is captured at a first point in time and the at least the first portion of the image data is captured at a second point in time (p. 6, sections 0068-0069; 3D point cloud data captured at one time is displayed with image data captured at a different time). The motivation for this is that it can be difficult to perfectly synchronize acquisition time points, and so it is better to instead allow the different time points and remove interference (p. 1, section 0003). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park, Natori, and Manzari to use a method wherein the first portion of the 3D data is captured at a first point in time and the at least the first portion of the image data is captured at a second point in time in order to avoid the difficulty of trying to perfectly synchronize acquisition time points as taught by Baek.
As to claim 18, see the rejection to claim 9.
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Natori and Manzari and further in view of Wiemker (U.S. Publication 2014/0354642).
As to claim 10, Park does not disclose but Wiemker discloses wherein the at least one of the at least the second portion of the 3D data and the at least the second portion of the image data are captured at a first point in time, and wherein the at least one of the at least the third portion of the 3D data and the least the third portion of the image data are captured at a second point in time (fig. 6a; p. 1, sections 0003-0005; p. 6, section 0071; p. 7, section 0075; each view shows image data plus color-encoded 3D data; each view with image and 3D data is captured at a different time, for example, one view of image and 3D data, which can read on second portions of image and 3D data, is from a point in time before treatment, while another, which can read on third portions of image and 3D data, is from a point in time after treatment). The motivation for this to allow a clinician to evaluate how a patient has responded to a particular therapy. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park, Natori, and Manzari to use a method wherein the at least one of the at least the second portion of the 3D data and the least the second portion of the image data are captured at a first point in time, and wherein the at least one of the at least the third portion of the 3D data and the least the third portion of the image data are captured at a second point in time in order to allow a clinician to evaluate how a patient has responded to a particular therapy as taught by Wiemker.
As to claim 19, see the rejection to claim 10.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON M RICHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2617