DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-12, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) (or both) as being anticipated by Takehara (Pub No. US 20150212713 A1).
As per claim 1, Takehara teaches the claimed:
A system for graphical element management, the system comprising: one or more memories (Takehara [0006] “with the IWB, the board area to be written on can be provided up to a permissible range in the coordinate system of the system, so that the IWB is capable of handling a large amount of board-written information as compared with conventional whiteboards. In addition, the IWB can save board-written information in a recording medium and read the saved board-written information from the recording medium to re-display the information on the board surface” ), and
one or more processors, communicatively coupled to the one or more memories, configured to (Takehara [0216] “Since the present invention can be implemented as software, each and every aspect of the present invention thus encompasses computer software implementable on a programmable device. The computer software can be provided to the programmable device using any storage medium for storing processor readable code such as a floppy disk, hard disk, CD ROM, magnetic tape device or solid state memory device”
Please further see Takehara [0217] “The hardware platform includes any desired kind of hardware resources including, for example, a central processing unit (CPU), a random access memory (RAM), and a hard disk drive (HDD). The CPU may be implemented by any desired kind of any desired number of processor. The RAM may be implemented by any desired kind of volatile or non-volatile memory”):
receive user context information indicating that a user is associated with a first stage of a multi-stage user procedure (Takehara [0045-0046] “Of the icon images displayed on the toolbar 12, the icon image 20 is selected for drawing on the drawing area 11. For example, the user may tap to select the icon image 20 and then trace an area within the drawing area 11 with, for example, a finger. This action by the user results in an image being drawn along a trajectory traced by the finger. FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a character string object 30 formed by drawing an image in the drawing area 11 after selection of the icon image 20. The icon image 21 is selected when part of an image drawn in the drawing area 11 is to be erased. For example, tapping to select the icon image 21 and then tracing the abovementioned object 30 with the finger erases portions of the object 30 along the traced trajectory.”
In this passage, Takehara teaches that the user first taps to select an icon image 20 to draw on the whiteboard 11. Icon image 21 is designed to be an eraser to delete the drawings that the user made using the icon image 20. The step where the user selects icon 20 from the toolbar to draw on the whiteboard corresponds with the first stage of the multi-stage user procedure);
identify, based on the user context information, a first graphical element state associated with a first graphical element complexity level (Takehara [0045] “For example, the user may tap to select the icon image 20 and then trace an area within the drawing area 11 with, for example, a finger. This action by the user results in an image being drawn along a trajectory traced by the finger. FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a character string object 30 formed by drawing an image in the drawing area 11 after selection of the icon image 20.”
In this passage, Takehara teaches that the IWB identifies that the user selected the icon 20 and traced their finger on the whiteboard to create the image 30. Tapping on stamp 20 allows the system to identify the action and graphical element state that the user is about to draw on the whiteboard. Once the system identifies the action, the user is able to trace their finger along the display to draw. The system identifies the exact location of the tracing and positions the drawing on the exact location of the graphical element, the drawing 30);
identify a first graphical element associated with the first graphical element state, wherein the first graphical element comprises a first scalable vector graphics (SVG) element (Takehara [0047] “The image is described, for example, in a scalable vector graphics (SVG) format that uses a coordinate system defined in the drawing area 11. Rendering of the image is not limited to the foregoing and bitmap may be used to represent the image”
In this passage, the image described refers to the image 30 that the user has drawn on the whiteboard display, which also corresponds to the claimed “first graphical element”);
transmit an indication to display the first graphical element (Takehara [0045] “FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a character string object 30 formed by drawing an image in the drawing area 11 after selection of the icon image 20” );
receive user interaction information indicating that the user is associated with a second stage of the multi-stage user procedure (Takehara [0048 ] “The icon images 22a to 22d each set a marker on the contents drawn in the drawing area 11. An image having a predetermined meaning can be used for the marker. For example, the user taps any desired icon image (e.g., the icon image 22a) out of the icon images 22a to 22d and then taps any desired position within the drawing area 11”.
In this passage, Takehara teaches that once the user taps a desired icon from the toolbar and taps the desired placement of the icon, the system receives this information and displays the exact icon in the exact location on the whiteboard.
As described above, the user drawing the image 30 corresponds to the first graphical element. The icons 22a-22d are a marker that describes a predetermined meaning on the whiteboard display. Therefore, the placement of the icons 22a-22d in relation to the drawing 30 is the second stage of the multi-stage user procedure);
identify, based on the user interaction information, a second graphical element state associated with a second graphical element complexity level (Please refer to Takehara figures 8a and 8b and [0077] “FIG. 8B illustrates an example in which a stamp 22a' is displayed at the position 40 specified in FIG. 8A. In the example of FIG. 8B, the stamp 22a' indicating "Settled" appears on the second line from the top of the object 30. This display can tell, for example, that the item on the corresponding line has been settled”
In figure 8a, the user selects icon 22a and places it in position 40 of the whiteboard. Figure 8b displays the second graphical element ‘S’ on the whiteboard in relation to the image 30 (first graphical element) that the user has previously drawn. The system identified the exact icon based on the user’s selection, and identifies the exact location of the stamp on the whiteboard, based on the user’s interaction);
identify a second graphical element that is associated with the second graphical element state, wherein the second graphical element comprises an SVG element (Takehara [0062] “The display information storage module 115 also stores therein the SVG data for each of the stamps 22a to 22d displayed as display information on the drawing area 11. The SVG data for each of the stamps 22a to 22d is stored according to the coordinate system in the definition area 13 as with the above-described SVG data by the drawing”); and
transmit an indication to display the second graphical element (Please view Takehara step S13 in figure 7 which corresponds to the indication to display the stamp based on the position and coordinates that the user has selected).
As per claim 2, Takehara teaches the claimed:
The system of claim 1, wherein one or more of the first graphical element complexity level or the second graphical element complexity level are associated with one or more of a graphical element color scheme, a quantity of graphical element layers, or graphical element dimensions (Please see Takehara figures 25a-25c. In addition to the stamps 22a-22d as previously disclosed in claim 1, there are other various levels in which the user may add onto the initial image 30. Items 52a-53c are more items that contribute to the graphical complexity level on top of the first and second graphical elements. It adds graphical elemental dimension to the display on the whiteboard by providing a quantity of graphical element layers to the image).
As per claim 3, Takehara teaches the claimed:
The system of claim 1, wherein one or more of the first graphical element or the second graphical element comprise one or more of an animation, text, a raster-based image, or vector information (Takehara [0153] “FIGS. 24A and 24B illustrate exemplary tag screens displayed on the display unit 224 of the terminal device 200. In FIG. 24A, a tag information input area 61 and a toolbar 62 are set in a display area 60 in the display unit 224 of the terminal device 200. Tag information can be input (drawn) through a user operation on the tag information input area 61. The toolbar 62 displays various types of icons, an input window, a button, and other components for performing various types of functions”
Please also see Takehara [0157] “The toolbar 62 further includes a name input part 72. User identification information for identifying the user who has input the tag information may, for example, be input in the name input part 72. For the user identification information, a name or a nickname of the user may be used. The following assumes that the name is used as the user identification information. For example, tapping the name input part 72 starts a character input function installed in advance in the terminal device 200, causing a character input tool such as a keypad to appear on the display unit 224. The user can input his or her name as text information using this character input function. The tag information then additionally includes the information indicating the name.”
Please also see Takehara figures 25a – 25c where the toolbar includes the stamps that the user has drawn (52a-52c) along with the user’s name that was typed out using text information (53a-53c).
In these passages and figures, Takehara teaches that a graphical element may be in the form of a text, as the user is able to type out their name. This text turns into a stamp form, which gets added onto the toolbar where the user is able to select and position onto the whiteboard.
As per claim 4, Takehara teaches the claimed:
The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to identify the first graphical element state, are configured to identify the first graphical element state based on content of a web page (Takehara [0144] “Having received the IWB program from the server 300 through the browser, the IWB 100b executes the IWB program on the browser. As illustrated in FIG. 23A, the execution of the IWB program causes the display area 10 in the display unit 124 of the IWB 100b to display the drawing area 11 on which an object 30 can be drawn through a user operation and the toolbar 12 on which various types of icons for executing various types of functions are displayed. In the second embodiment, the toolbar 12 further displays an icon image 50 as a symbol for specifying the start of use of the tag”
Please also see Takehara [0152-0153] “Having received through the browser the tag program from the server 300, the terminal device 200 executes the tag program on the browser. When the tag program is executed, the tag screen is displayed on the display unit 224 of the terminal device 200 (Step S113). FIGS. 24A and 24B illustrate exemplary tag screens displayed on the display unit 224 of the terminal device 200. In FIG. 24A, a tag information input area 61 and a toolbar 62 are set in a display area 60 in the display unit 224 of the terminal device 200. Tag information can be input (drawn) through a user operation on the tag information input area 61”
In these figures and passages, Takehara teaches that the information that the user draws/ inputs from the web page browser (figures 24a-24b) is identified as a stamp, and gets sent back to the initial toolbar as shown in figures 25a-25c. These stamps (elements 52a-53c) are able to be added onto the initial whiteboard 11).
As per claim 8, this claim is similar in scope to limitations recited in claim 1, and thus is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 10, Takehara teaches the claimed:
The method of claim 8, wherein the first graphical element and the second graphical element comprise scalable vector graphics (SVG) elements (Please see the explanation above in claim 1).
As per claims 9, 11-12, these claims are similar in scope to limitations recited in claims 2-4, respectively, and thus are rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 16, this claim is similar in scope to limitations recited in claim 1, and thus is rejected under the same rationale. The system of Takehara would have to have some type of non-transitory machine readable medium present in order to function and run on a computer as described by the reference.
As per claim 18, this claim is similar in scope to limitations recited in claim 1, and thus is rejected under the same rationale. The system of Takehara would have to have some type of non-transitory machine readable medium present in order to function and run on a computer as described by the reference.
As per claims 17, 19-20, these claims are similar in scope to limitations recited in claims 2-4, respectively, and thus are rejected under the same rationale. The system of Takehara would have to have some type of non-transitory machine readable medium present in order to function and run on a computer as described by the reference.
Claims 8-9, 11, 13-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) (or both) as being anticipated by Agrawal (Pub No. US 20180309817 A1).
As per claim 8, Agrawal teaches the claimed:
A method of graphical element management, the system comprising:
receive user context information indicating that a user is associated with a first stage of a multi-stage user procedure (In figure 5, at steps 510-512 where the user context information is whether their network connection is data-limited. This also shown in figure 6 at step 610. Agrawal in figures 5 and 6 show a multi-stage user procedure because the user interacts with the web display process at least at 2 different stages, e.g. at steps 610 and 616 in figure 6);
identify, based on the user context information, a first graphical element state associated with a first graphical element complexity level (In figure 5 at step 512 or in figure 6 at step 612 where low-fidelity first graphical element state is identified based on the data-limited network condition (user context information));
identify a first graphical element associated with the first graphical element state (In step 512 or 612 and in [0028] the first graphical element (images on the webpage) are associated with the first graphical element state (a low-fidelity version) where the low-fidelity version is available in the cache);
transmit an indication to display the first graphical element (This also occurs in figure 5 at step 512 or in figure 6 at step 612 where indication is transmitted to replace the original fidelity images with the display of low fidelity images (first graphical element));
receive user interaction information indicating that the user is associated with a second stage of the multi-stage user procedure ([0031] “At step 514, for each low-fidelity version of an image on the web page, a respective user-selectable option to display the original-fidelity image is included on the web page. In one embodiment, for each user-selectable option to display an original-fidelity version of an image, a visual indication is presented that identifies the option.” This also occurs in figure 6 at steps 614-616);
identify, based on the user interaction information, a second graphical element state associated with a second graphical element complexity level (In [0032] where based on the user preference for a better version of an image to be displayed, e.g. by selecting this option, a second graphical element state of original fidelity identified. This also occurs in figure 6 at steps 616-618);
identify a second graphical element that is associated with the second graphical element state, wherein the second graphical element (In figure 6 in step 618 and in [0031] where a second graphical element is identified for retrieval that is associated with an original-fidelity state); and
transmit an indication to display the second graphical element (This occurs in figure 6 at step 620).
As per claim 9, Agrawal teaches the claimed:
The method of claim 8, wherein one or more of the first graphical element complexity level or the second graphical element complexity level are associated with one or more of a graphical element color scheme, a quantity of graphical element layers, or graphical element dimensions (In figure 6 where the first and second graphical element complexity levels are associated with the quality of the graphical element layers, e.g. low or original fidelity).
As per claim 11, Agrawal teaches the claimed:
The method of claim 8, wherein one or more of the first graphical element or the second graphical element comprise one or more of an animation, text, a raster-based image, or vector information. (At the end of [0035] “… The content items may include items such as photographs, static images, animated images (such as animated GIFs, for example), videos, and audio files, among others.”)
As per claim 13, Agrawal teaches the claimed:
The method of claim 8, wherein transmitting the indication to display the second graphical element includes transmitting the indication to display the second graphical element in accordance with a lazy loader (This occurs in Agrawal in figure 6 at steps 618-620. This indication to display the original fidelity version of the image (second graphical element) is in accordance with a lazy loader because the system of Agrawal is a lazy loader because they are not always loading the original-fidelity versions of the images by default (instead they default to first loading low-fidelity versions when they are available in the cache and a data-limited network connection is provided).
As per claim 14, Agrawal teaches the claimed:
The method of claim 8, wherein transmitting the indication to display the second graphical element includes transmitting the indication to display the second graphical element in accordance with an asynchronous loader (This occurs in Agrawal in figure 6 at steps 618-620. This indication to display the original fidelity version of the image (second graphical element) in accordance with an asynchronous loader because the system of Agrawal is not loading all original-fidelity versions of the images at the same time (instead they only load them when the user specifically requests them at step 616)).
As per claim 15, Agrawal teaches the claimed:
The method of claim 8, wherein identifying the second graphical element state
includes identifying the second graphical element state based on historical user interaction
information (This occurs in Agrawal in figure 6 at steps 618-620. This indication to display the original fidelity version of the image (second graphical element) is based on historical user interaction information because the system of Agrawal only loads an original-fidelity version of the image when the user previously requested it at step 616).
As per claims 16-17 and 19, these claims are similar in scope to limitations recited in claims 8-9 and 11, respectively, and thus are rejected under the same rationale. Agrawal teaches of a non-transitory machine readable medium in [0047].
Conclusion
SARAH Y. LEE
Examiner
Art Unit 2616
/DANIEL F HAJNIK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2616