Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tirry et al (EP2396958) in view of Kuster et al. (US 2023/0096953).
Consider claim 1. TIRRY teaches an audio system containing integrated acoustic output and input devices for controlling and adapting audio playback based on environmental conditions (para [0001]). TIRRY teaches "The present invention relates to the technical field of controlling audio systems, which comprise both an acoustic output device such as a loudspeaker and an acoustic input device such as a microphone" (para [0001]).
TIRRY teaches a loudspeaker acting as the acoustic output driver of the system (para [0065]). TIRRY teaches "The acoustic output device is a loudspeaker 110. The loudspeaker 110 is driven by an audio output signal x’(t)" (para [0065]).
TIRRY teaches a microphone 120 acting as the acoustic input device (Claim 4). TIRRY teaches "The acoustic input device is a microphone 120" (Claim 4).
TIRRY teaches a data processor adapted to execute the control methods of the audio device (para [0001]). TIRRY teaches "Further, the present invention relates to a data processor, to a computer-readable medium and to an audio device, which are adapted to control and/or to carry out the above mentioned method" (para [0001]).
TIRRY teaches the limitation of "output, using the driver, an output audio signal (para [0065]). TIRRY teaches "The loudspeaker 110 is driven by an audio output signal x’(t)" (para [0065]).
TIRRY teaches the limitation of "receive, using the sensor, a received audio signal (Claim 1). TIRRY teaches "measuring an audio input signal (z(t)) being provided by an acoustic input device (120) of the audio device (100)" (Claim 1).
TIRRY teaches the limitation of "estimate, based on the output audio signal and the received audio signal, an audio transfer function at least periodically over a period of time; and” (Claim 1). TIRRY teaches "determining a relation between the audio output signal (x(t), x’(t)) and the audio input signal (z(t)) from the analyzed feedback reduction performance of the adaptive filter" (Claim 1).
TIRRY teaches the limitation of "control, based on the estimated audio transfer function, one or more operations of the wearable audio device when at least one of a spectral density of the output audio signal is greater than a first threshold or
Tirry does not explicitly teach a wearable audio device.
Kuster teaches a wearable audio device (fig 1-2, output device 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate TIRRY’s acoustic monitoring, transfer-function estimation, and feedback-control techniques into KUSTER’s wearable audio device. The proposed modification would therefore have involved applying a known audio-control technique to a known wearable audio-device arrangement to achieve the predictable result of controlling operation of the wearable device based on detected acoustic feedback and environmental conditions.
Consider Claim 2. Kuster teaches the audio transfer function comprises an on-head transfer function (para 0057, impedance calibration performed while on head of user).
Consider Claims 3, 16 and 19. Kuster further teaches wherein the period of time comprises a time between a first power cycle of the wearable audio device and a second power cycle of the wearable audio device (para 0054, during product development, in a power-up cycle; para 0057, newly purchase and worn by user (para 0057, impedance calibrator perform measurement (measurement perform during power cycle as indicated in para 0054)).
Consider Claim 4. Kuster teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured, individually or collectively, to estimate the audio transfer function continuously over the period of time (para 0057).
Consider Claim 5, 17 and 20. Kuster further teaches the output audio signal comprises at least one of audio playback content or aware mode content (para 0069, plays back audio content).
Consider Claim 6. Terry teaches the one or more processors are configured, individually or collectively, to estimate, based on the output audio signal and the received audio signal, the audio transfer function when at least one of the spectral density of the output audio signal is greater than the first threshold or
Consider Claim 10. Kuster teaches wherein the one or more operations comprise at least one of: the output of the output audio signal; an aware mode of the wearable audio device; an acoustic echo canceller of the wearable audio device; or an active noise reduction mode of the wearable audio device (para 0051, ANC).
Consider Claim 11. Kuster teaches the one or more processors are configured, individually or collectively, to control the output audio signal by adjusting at least one of an audio limiter, a feedback controller (para 0052), a feedforward controller, an aware mode controller, a voice filter, a sidetone filter, or an audio equalizer of the wearable audio device.
Consider Claim 12. Kuster teaches wherein to estimate the audio transfer function, the one or more processors are configured, individually or collectively, to estimate the audio transfer function between the output audio signal and the received audio signal (para 0011, speaker generate sound and is reflected within ear canal; para 0084, reflection parameters based on microphone signals)(Fig.2, estimator 23 between microphone 21 and speaker 22).
Consider Claim 13. Kuster teaches wherein to estimate the audio transfer function, the one or more processors are configured, individually or collectively, to: form an adjusted audio signal by summing an input audio signal corresponding to the output audio signal and the received audio signal; and estimate the audio transfer function between the output audio signal and the adjusted received audio signal (Fig.2 and para 0051, generate anti-noise signal by adaptive feedback ANC for driving speaker 22. Estimated transfer function (S(z)) (Fig.2, estimated transfer function (S(z)) between speaker 22 and microphone 21).
Consider Claim 14. Kuster teaches wherein to estimate the audio transfer function, the one or more processors are configured, individually or collectively, to perform one or more signal processing techniques (para 0051, active-noise cancellation (ANC) process).
Consider claim 15. TIRRY teaches a method for controlling an adaptation of a behavior of an audio device to a current acoustic environmental condition (paras [0014]-[0015]). TIRRY teaches "a method for controlling an adaptation of a behavior of an audio device to a current acoustic environmental condition" (para [0015]).
TIRRY discloses the limitation of "outputting, using a driver included in an audio device, an output audio signal;" (paras [0014]-[0015]). TIRRY teaches "monitoring an audio output signal being provided to an acoustic output device of the audio device for outputting an acoustic output signal" (para [0015]).
TIRRY discloses the limitation of "receive, using a sensor included in the audio device, a received audio signal;" (para [0015]). TIRRY teaches "measuring an audio input signal being provided by an acoustic input device of the audio device, wherein the audio input signal is indicative for a feedback portion of the acoustic output signal" (para [0015]).
TIRRY discloses the limitation of "estimate, based on the output audio signal and the received audio signal, an audio transfer function at least periodically over a period of time; and" (para [0015]). TIRRY teaches "determining a relation between the audio output signal and the audio input signal and (d) adapting the behavior of the audio device based on the determined relation" (para [0015]).
TIRRY discloses the limitation of "control, based on the estimated audio transfer function, one or more operations of the wearable audio device when at least one of a spectral density of the output audio signal is greater than a first threshold or
Tirry does not explicitly teach a wearable audio device.
Kuster teaches a wearable audio device (fig 1-2, output device 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate TIRRY’s acoustic monitoring, transfer-function estimation, and feedback-control techniques into KUSTER’s wearable audio device. The proposed modification would therefore have involved applying a known audio-control technique to a known wearable audio-device arrangement to achieve the predictable result of controlling operation of the wearable device based on detected acoustic feedback and environmental conditions.
Consider claim 18. A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising computer- executable instructions (TIRRY teaches "Further, the present invention relates to a data processor, to a computer-readable medium and to an audio device, which are adapted to control and/or to carry out the above mentioned method") (para [0001]).. See also the rejection of claim 15.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tirry et al (EP2396958) in view of Kuster et al. (US 2023/0096953) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2023/0164478).
Consider Claim 8. Tirry in view of Kuster does not teach a bone conduction sensor.
However, Zhang teaches a bone conduction sensor (Zhang, Fig.1, para 0035, bone conduction microphones 130). The motivation to combine Zhang with Tirry in view of Kuster is for obtain the external environment noise and the sound generated by the speech of the user (Zhang, para 0035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to configure in where a bone conduction sensor as taught by Zhang in Kuster for obtain the external environment noise and the sound generated by the speech of the user.
Consider Claim 9, the combination of Kuster and Zhang teaches wherein the bone conduction sensor comprises one of: an internal microphone disposed inside an ear canal of the user, a microphone facing the ear canal (Kuster, Fig.2), a voice band accelerometer disposed outside the ear canal, an inertial measurement unit (IMU), or a feedback microphone.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
DUC NGUYEN
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691