DETAILED ACTION
Status Of Claims
Claims 1-15, received 2/25/2025, are pending for examination.
If applicant is aware of any relevant prior art, or other co-pending application not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS) filed on 2/25/2025, 11/14/2025, 6/11/2026 were considered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the second hole”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is noted that line 4 of claim 9 recites “a second adjacent to the first hole” which should be amended to “a second hole adjacent to the first hole” to correct the antecedent basis issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 10, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Woodgate et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0103187 A1 (hereafter Woodgate).
Regarding claim 1, Woodgate discloses a display apparatus, which is configured to provide a plurality of different images to a plurality of viewpoints (see at least wherein different elements 38 of a display may provide illumination from micro-LEDs 3 to different viewing windows 120, 180, 182, and therefore the display apparatus is considered capable of providing a plurality of different images to a plurality of viewpoints), comprising:
a light source array configured to emit light in a first direction (see at least elements 103 and 3, paras. [0016]-[0017]); and
a multi-viewpoint lens adjacent to the light source array in the first direction (see at least elements 38),
wherein the light source array comprises:
a first light source configured to emit light to provide an image to a first viewpoint among the plurality of viewpoints (see at least one of element 3 and the associated element 38 which emits light to a first viewpoint 120); and
a second light source adjacent to the first light source in a second direction different from the first direction, the second light source being configured to emit light to provide an image to a second viewpoint among the plurality of viewpoints adjacent to the first viewpoint in the second direction (see at least another one of element 3 and the associated element 38 which may emit light to another viewpoint 120), and
wherein the multi-viewpoint lens comprises:
a refractive portion configured to refract light emitted from the first light source to the first viewpoint (see at least one of elements 38 which includes refractive portion 42 for refracting light from a first light source 3); and
a reflective portion adjacent to the refractive portion in the second direction, the reflective portion being configured to reflect light emitted from the second light source to the second viewpoint (see at least another one of elements 38 which includes reflective portion 46a/46b for reflecting light from a second light source 3).
Regarding claim 3, Woodgate discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the reflective portion has a predetermined refractive index, and wherein the reflective portion comprises a reflective surface configured to totally reflect light incident from the second light source to the reflective portion (see at least paras. [0015], [0104], [0238], [0354]).
Regarding claim 5, Woodgate discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the second light source comprises a first edge light source on a first side of the first light source in the second direction, and a second edge light source on a second side of the first light source opposite to the first side of the first light source (see at least figure 11, top and/or bottom lights 3 inside each element 38), and
wherein the reflective portion comprises:
a first reflective portion on a first side of the refractive portion in the second direction, the first reflective portion configured to reflect light emitted from the first edge light source (see at least figure 11, wherein at least a first reflective portion of element 38 is configured to reflect light emitted from at least one of the top and/or bottom lights 3 inside each element 38); and
a second reflective portion on a second side of the refractive portion opposite to the first side of the refractive portion, the second reflective portion being configured to reflect light emitted from the second edge light source (see at least figure 11, wherein at least another reflective portion of element 38 is configured to reflect light emitted from at least another one of the top and/or bottom lights 3 inside each element 38).
Regarding claim 7, Woodgate discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the multi-viewpoint lens is adjacent to a surface of the light source array in the first direction (see at least elements 3, 38 and 42).
Regarding claim 10, Woodgate discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the first light source is configured to emit light toward the refractive portion in a range of a first width (see at least figure 11, at least one of middle element 3), and
wherein the second light source is configured to emit light toward the reflective portion in a range of a second width smaller than the first width (see at least figure 11, at least one of outer elements 3).
Regarding claim 15, Woodgate discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the first direction and the second direction are perpendicular to each other, and wherein the multi-viewpoint lens extends in a third direction different from the first direction and the second direction (see at least elements 3 and 38 disposed in the X and Y directions, while the light is projected in the Z direction).
Claims 1, 5-7, 11, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sugihara et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2005/0046951 A1 (hereafter Sugihara).
Regarding claim 1, Sugihara discloses a display apparatus, which is configured to provide a plurality of different images to a plurality of viewpoints (see at least the title and abstract), comprising:
a light source array configured to emit light in a first direction (see at least figures 7-8, elements A and/or B, paras. [0066]-[0067]); and
a multi-viewpoint lens adjacent to the light source array in the first direction (see at least figures 7-8, element 31, paras. [0066]-[0067]),
wherein the light source array comprises:
a first light source configured to emit light to provide an image to a first viewpoint among the plurality of viewpoints (see at least figures 7-8, element A, paras. [0066]-[0067]); and
a second light source adjacent to the first light source in a second direction different from the first direction, the second light source being configured to emit light to provide an image to a second viewpoint among the plurality of viewpoints adjacent to the first viewpoint in the second direction (see at least figures 7-8, element B, paras. [0066]-[0067]), and
wherein the multi-viewpoint lens comprises:
a refractive portion configured to refract light emitted from the first light source to the first viewpoint (see at least figures 7-8, element 31 and/or 43, paras. [0066]-[0067]); and
a reflective portion adjacent to the refractive portion in the second direction, the reflective portion being configured to reflect light emitted from the second light source to the second viewpoint (see at least figures 7-8, element 42, paras. [0066]-[0067]).
Regarding claim 5, Sugihara discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the second light source comprises a first edge light source on a first side of the first light source in the second direction, and a second edge light source on a second side of the first light source opposite to the first side of the first light source (see at least figures 7-8, elements A and B, paras. [0066]-[0067]), and
wherein the reflective portion comprises:
a first reflective portion on a first side of the refractive portion in the second direction, the first reflective portion configured to reflect light emitted from the first edge light source (see at least figures 7-8, the portion of element(s) 42 which reflects light from element A); and
a second reflective portion on a second side of the refractive portion opposite to the first side of the refractive portion, the second reflective portion being configured to reflect light emitted from the second edge light source (see at least figures 7-8, the portion of element(s) 42 which reflects light from element B).
Regarding claim 6, Sugihara discloses the limitations of claim 5, and wherein the second viewpoint comprises:
a first edge viewpoint on a first side of the first viewpoint in the second direction (see at least figure 8, a first edge of a viewpoint made up of the light refracted/reflected from element A, paras. [0066]-[0067]); and
a second edge viewpoint on a second side of the first viewpoint opposite to the first side of the first viewpoint (see at least figure 8, a second edge of a viewpoint made up of the light refracted/reflected from element B, paras. [0066]-[0067]),
wherein the first reflective portion is configured to reflect light from the first edge light source to the first edge viewpoint (see at least figure 8, a first reflective portion of 42 which reflects light from element A, paras. [0066]-[0067]), and
wherein the second reflective portion is configured to reflect light from the second edge light source to the second edge viewpoint (see at least figure 8, a second reflective portion of 42 which reflects light from element B, paras. [0066]-[0067]).
Regarding claim 7, Sugihara discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the multi-viewpoint lens is adjacent to a surface of the light source array in the first direction (see at least elements A, B and 31/43).
Regarding claim 11, Sugihara discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the light source array comprises a plurality of light source arrays partitioned from each other (see at least figures 7-8, elements A and B, paras. [0066]-[0067]),
wherein the multi-viewpoint lens comprises a plurality of multi-viewpoint lenses corresponding to the plurality of light source arrays (see at least figures 7-8, elements 31/43 and 42, paras. [0066]-[0067]), respectively,
wherein the refractive portions of each of the plurality of multi-viewpoint lenses are configured to refract lights such that lights from the first light sources of each of the plurality of light source arrays travel toward the same first viewpoints (see at least figures 7-8), and
wherein the reflective portions of each of the plurality of multi-viewpoint lenses are configured to reflect lights such that lights from the second light sources of each of the plurality of light source arrays travel toward the same second viewpoints (see at least figures 7-8).
Regarding claim 15, Sugihara discloses the limitations of claim 1, and wherein the first direction and the second direction are perpendicular to each other, and wherein the multi-viewpoint lens extends in a third direction different from the first direction and the second direction (see at least figures 2-5, 7-8).
Other Related Art
This prior art, made of record, but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure since the following references have similar structure and/or use similar optical elements to what is claimed and/or disclosed in the instant application:
Mao et al., US 10,190,746 B1, discloses a similar catadioptric lens array (figs. 2-4, 8-9); and
Kim et al., US 2006/0081863 A1, discloses a similar catadioptric lens design (figs. 3a, 9-11).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 8, 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Derek S. Chapel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 9/14/2026
Derek S. CHAPEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2872