DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by
Ziemba (US Publication No. 2021/0377637).
Regarding claim 1, Ziemba teaches a woofer system to be attached to a seat, the woofer system comprising: a woofer (16); and a sound path (22) element that forms a sound path that leads a sound output by the woofer (16), wherein the sound path element includes an opening (24) arranged close to an ear of a listener who sits on the seat.
Regarding claims 2, Ziemba teaches t3he woofer system according to claim 1, further comprising: an enclosure that separates a sound output from front of the woofer and a sound output from back of the woofer, wherein the sound path element is a rear sound path element including a rear opening as the opening, the rear sound path element leading a rear sound output from the back of the woofer to the rear opening (figs. 3A-3E, wherein Ziemba teaches several configurations and figs. 3E teaches a front and rear sound output configuration).
Regarding claim 4, Ziemba teaches the woofer system according to claim 2, further comprising: an enclosure that separates a sound output from the front of the woofer and a sound output from the back of the woofer, wherein the sound path element is a front sound path element including a front opening as the opening, the front sound path element leading a front sound output from the front of the woofer to the front opening (figs. 3A-3E, wherein Ziemba teaches several configurations and figs. 3E teaches a front and rear sound output configuration).
Regarding claim 11, Ziemba teaches a seat comprising: a woofer (16); and a sound path element (22) that forms a sound path that leads a sound output by the woofer (16), wherein the sound path element includes an opening (24) arranged close to an ear of a listener who sits on the seat.
Regarding claim 12, Ziemba teaches a mobile object (seat is movable, 12) comprising: one or more woofer systems (fig. 1) each of which is the woofer system (see claim 1) according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziemba.
Regarding claim 3, 5-6, Ziemba fails to specifically teach The woofer system according to claims 2 and 4 respectively, wherein a desired frequency level is increased by adjusting at least one of a volume of the enclosure, a cross-section area size of the rear sound path element, or a length of the front or rear sound path element.
However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is known in the art to change the frequency by adjusting at least one of a volume of the enclosure, a cross-section area size of the rear sound path element, or a length of the front or rear sound path element to achieved the desired frequency output.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have applied any known frequency adjustment configuration to the base device and the results would have been predictable.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziemba in view of Croft (US Patent No. 6389146).
Regarding claim 7-9, Ziemba fails to teach the woofer system according to claims 1 and 4 respectively, wherein the front opening is arranged close to one of ears, and the rear opening is arranged close to another of the ears.
Croft teaches arranging the openings such that they are adjacent and close to each other. (fig. 2) as an alternate configuration.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have applied any known opening placement to the base device and the results would have been predictable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
October 17, 2026
/PHYLESHA DABNEY/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2694