DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 18 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claims 18 and 20 lines 1, “wherein “is missing before “the zero padding-- -“. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 20180091345 A1) (see IDS) in view of Park et al (US 20180316531 A1)
With regards to claim 1, Lee et al discloses a method comprising: communicating, in a wireless communication network ([0038], FIG. 1 is a block diagram for configurations of a base station 105 and a user equipment 110 in a wireless communication system 100) , signaling indicative of zero padding to be applied to a transmission symbol that is to be transmitted in the wireless communication network ([0042] The symbol modulator 120 multiplexes the data and pilot symbols together and then transmits the multiplexed symbols to the transmitter 125. In doing so, each of the transmitted symbols may include the data symbol, the pilot symbol or a signal value of zero), the zero padding comprising head zero padding at a head of the transmission symbol and tail zero padding at a tail of the transmission symbol; and communicating, in the wireless communication network, a zero-padded transmission symbol to which the zero padding has been applied, and a cyclic prefix preceding the zero- padded transmission symbol([0085], FIG. 12 shows a structure of 1 symbol. In case of FCP-OFDM (for in-band multiplexing), ZP for a receiving end is inserted in a symbol start part, ZP for a transmitting end is inserted, ZP for a transmitting end is inserted, and a CP is then inserted, in order. In case of FCP-OFDM (for in-band multiplexing), signals are transceived using such a symbol structure).
Lee et al discloses all of the subject matter discussed above, except for the zero padding comprising head zero padding at a head of the transmission symbol and tail zero padding at a tail of the transmission symbol
However, Park et al in the same endeavor, wireless communication networks-that many multiple-access systems capable of supporting communication with multiple users by sharing the available system resources. Park et al focuses on a need to reduce or minimize the inter-carrier interference associated with the discontinuity or the sudden transition between consecutive OFDM symbols to reduce or minimize the ACLR. In [0075], The head tones 762, the center tones 614, and the tail tones 766 are then further processed as described above with reference to FIGS. 5 and 6 to output a CP-OFDM symbol 772 for transmission to a wireless device. The zero padding of just the head tones 612 and the tail tones 616, and not the center tones 614, reduces ACLR and minimizes the reduction in spectral efficiency when compared to the zero padding of all the tones including the center tones.
Lee et al and Park et al are analogous art, because they are in a similar field of endeavor in improving wireless communication by reducing or minimizing the inter-carrier interference. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine them and to modify Lee et al zero padding technique with Park et al’s head and tail zero padding technique. For this combination, the motivation would have been to improvements in NR communications technology (Park et al [0004]) MPEP 2143 Rationale C.
With regards to claim 9. The combination of Lee et al and Park et al discloses an apparatus (see Lee et al fig. 1, [0020], a base station 105, and a user equipment 110 in a wireless communication system 100) comprising:
at least one processor (processor 180); and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (Memory 185), coupled to the at least one processor (180), storing programming for execution by the at least one processor, the programming including instructions to ([0049], The processor 155/180 may be connected to the memory unit 160/185 configured to store program codes and data. The memory 160/185 is connected to the processor 155/180 to store operating systems, applications and general files.)
Park et all (see [[0125] Computer-readable media includes both computer storage media and communication media including any medium that facilitates transfer of a computer program from one place to another. A storage medium may be any available medium that can be accessed by a general purpose or special purpose computer.
communicate, in a wireless communication network, signaling indicative of zero padding to be applied to a transmission symbol that is to be transmitted in the wireless communication network, the zero padding comprising head zero padding at a head of the transmission symbol and tail zero padding at a tail of the transmission symbol; and communicate, in the wireless communication network, a zero-padded transmission symbol to which the zero padding has been applied, and a cyclic prefix preceding the zero- padded transmission symbol ( the rest of the limitations above are similar to limitations recited in claim 1 above, see similar rejections as in claim 1).
With regards to claims 2 and 10, the combination of Lee et al and Park et al discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the zero-padded transmission symbol (see Park et al, [0075], CP-OFDM symbol 772 for transmission to a wireless device) comprises a first number of head zeros padded at the head of the transmission symbol(The zero padding of just the head tones 612) and a second number, different from the first number, of tail zeros padded at the tail of the transmission symbol (the tail tones 616).
With regards to claims 3 and 11, the combination of Lee et al and Park et al discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the communicating the zero-padded transmission symbol comprises transmitting a plurality of consecutive zero-padded transmission symbols to which the zero padding has been applied (see Park et al [0075], a CP-OFDM symbol 772 for transmission to a wireless device. The zero padding of just the head tones 612 and the tail tones 616)
With regards to claims 4 and 12, The method of claim 1, wherein the signaling is indicative of any one or more of: an identifier of a zero-padding pattern of a plurality of available zero-padding patterns, and each zero-padding pattern defining respective different patterns of head zero padding and tail zero padding;
a zero-padding pattern that defines a pattern of the head zero padding and the tail zero padding; a number of zeros to be padded in the zero-padded transmission symbol, the number of zeros comprising any one or more of: a total number of zeros to be padded in the zero-padded transmission symbol, a number of head zeros to be padded at the head of the transmission symbol, or a number of tail zeros to be padded at the tail of the transmission symbol; or a ratio between a number of head zeros to be padded at the head of the transmission symbol and a number of tail zeros to be padded at the tail of the transmission symbol. (see at least in [0077] In one aspect, for example, the UE 110 and/or the ACLR component 150 may perform zero padding of symbols CP-OFDM symbol1 (410) and CP-OFDM symbol2 (420) to output zero padded symbols including zero padded CP-OFDM symbol1 (850) and zero padded CP-OFDM symbol2 (860), respectively. For example, zero padded CP-OFDM symbol1 (850) may include CP 852, which may include zeroes that are copied from the tail end (e.g., 858) of CP-OFDM symbol1 (850), k2 zeroes (854) that are included as part of the zero padding of the head tones 612 (732 of FIG. 7), data bits 856, and k3 zeroes 858 that are included as part of the zero padding of the tail tones 616 (742 of FIG. 7) (e.g., as part of a CP operation). In an additional example, zero padded CP-OFDM symbol2 (860) may include CP 862 which may contain zeroes that are copied from the tail end (e.g., 868) of zero padded CP-OFDM symbol2 (860), k2 zeroes (864) that are included as part of the zero padding of the head tones, data bits 866, and k3 zeroes 868 that are included as part of the zero padding of the tail tones.
5. Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 20180091345 A1) (see IDS) in view of Jia et al (US 9313063 B1) (see IDS)
With regards to claim 17, Lee et al discloses a method comprising: communicating, in a wireless communication network ([0038], FIG. 1 is a block diagram for configurations of a base station 105 and a user equipment 110 in a wireless communication system 100), signaling indicative of zero padding to be applied to a transmission symbol that is to be transmitted in the wireless communication network; and communicating, in the wireless communication network, a zero-padded transmission symbol to which the zero padding has been applied 0042] The symbol modulator 120 multiplexes the data and pilot symbols together and then transmits the multiplexed symbols to the transmitter 125. In doing so, each of the transmitted symbols may include the data symbol, the pilot symbol or a signal value of zero), the zero padding comprising head zero padding at a head of the transmission symbol and tail zero padding at a tail of the transmission symbol; and communicating, in the wireless communication network, a zero-padded transmission symbol to which the zero padding has been applied, and a cyclic prefix preceding the zero- padded transmission symbol([0085], FIG. 12 shows a structure of 1 symbol. In case of FCP-OFDM (for in-band multiplexing), ZP for a receiving end is inserted in a symbol start part, ZP for a transmitting end is inserted, ZP for a transmitting end is inserted, and a CP is then inserted, in order. In case of FCP-OFDM (for in-band multiplexing), signals are transceived using such a symbol structure).
Lee et al discloses all of the subject matter discussed above, except for a reference signal for channel estimation, the reference signal being based on a sequence that is shorter than the zero-padded transmission symbol and that is zero padded to a same length as the zero-padded transmission symbol
However, Jia et al discloses a transmitter that transmits data to a receiver by transmitting symbols such that each symbol is preceded by a cyclic prefix of a fixed length and the symbol conditionally includes enough zero padding to avoid ISI between consecutive symbols. The zero padding may be zero tail or zero head. (see descriptions in col.5, lines 23-55) In fig 4, transmitting data based on a channel delay spread. The method starts under the presumption that the transmitter is to transmit data to a receiver and the transmitter is aware of the channel delay spread for transmitting the data to the receiver. At step 4-1, based on the channel delay spread for transmitting data to the receiver, the transmitter determines whether a fixed length for cyclic prefixes is long enough to avoid ISI between consecutive symbols. For example, the transmitter may determine that the fixed length for cyclic prefixes is sufficient for avoiding ISI between consecutive symbols only if the fixed length for cyclic prefixes is equal to or longer than the channel delay spread. Since the fixed length for cyclic prefixes and the channel delay spread are both time values measured in seconds, they may be compared to one another. In claim 17, a padding component configured to pad a stream of data symbols with an amount of zero padding determined in accordance with an estimated channel delay spread to avoid ISI between consecutive OFDM symbols to be transmitted;
Lee et al and Jia et al are analogous art, because they are in a similar field of endeavor in improving wireless communication by reducing or minimizing the inter-carrier interference. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine them and to modify Lee et al zero padding technique with Jia et al’s transmitting data with conditional zero padding technique. For this combination, the motivation would have been to improvements wireless communications technology MPEP 2143 Rationale C.
With regards to claim 19, An apparatus comprising (see Lee et al fig. 1, [0020], a base station 105, and a user equipment 110 in a wireless communication system 100): at least one processor; and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, coupled to the at least one processor, and storing programming for execution by the at least one processor, the programming including instructions to ( See Lee et al [0049], The processor 155/180 may be connected to the memory unit 160/185 configured to store program codes and data. The memory 160/185 is connected to the processor 155/180 to store operating systems, applications and general files.)
communicate, in a wireless communication network, signaling indicative of zero padding to be applied to a transmission symbol that is to be transmitted in the wireless communication network; and communicate, in the wireless communication network, a zero-padded transmission symbol to which the zero padding has been applied, and a reference signal for channel estimation, the reference signal being based on a sequence that is shorter than the zero-padded transmission symbol and is zero padded to a same length as the zero-padded transmission symbol ( the rest of claim 19, recites similar limitations as in claim 17 (apparatus) above, see similar rejection above).
With regards to claims 18 and 20, the combination of Lee et al and Jia et al discloses the method of claim 17, the zero padding having also been applied to the sequence to zero pad the sequence to the same length as the zero-padded transmission symbol ( see Jia et al, claim 1, based on a channel delay spread for transmitting data to a receiver, determining whether a fixed length for cyclic prefixes is long enough to avoid Inter-Symbol Interference, ISI, between consecutive symbols; upon determining that the fixed length for cyclic prefixes is not long enough to avoid ISI between consecutive symbols, transmitting data to the receiver by transmitting symbols such that each symbol is preceded by a cyclic prefix of the fixed length and the symbol has a fixed length with enough zero padding to avoid ISI between consecutive symbols.)
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 5-8 and 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
7. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the prior arts cited alone or in combination provides the motivation to teach the method of wherein the zero padding is consistent with a common zero-padding configuration of a plurality of communication devices in the wireless communication network, and wherein the zero-padded transmission symbol comprises a first number of head zeros padded at the head of the transmission symbol and a second number, larger than the first number, of tail zeros padded at the tail of the transmission symbol as recited in claims 5 and 13.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mueller (US 5617411 ) discloses a frame oriented, digital data transmission method wherein data are transmitted in the zero symbol of the frame of the modulation method provided in the COFDM (Coded Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplex) which is provided in digital radio.
/HELENE E TAYONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631 July 28, 2026