DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 to 20 are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119, which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed in the information disclosure statement submitted on 2-25-25 and 10-19-25 have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6 to 9, 13 to 16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dubrova et al. (USPAP 2018/0069706).
Claims 1 and 9:
Dubrova substantially teaches the claimed invention. Dubrova teaches a method and an apparatus for generating a cryptographic checksum for a message, the apparatus comprising: a receiver (102) receiving a message encoded by a sending device, wherein the message is acquired and is fed into an algorithm (301) that is configured to calculate a first checksum (see par. 0058). Dubrova teaches that at the receiver a forward error correction (FEC) codeword (216) is received and fed into a FEC decoding algorithm (312) (see par. 0060). Dubrova teaches that the message and its corresponding checksum are outputted from the FEC decoder and fed into a checksum algorithm (301) to verify the integrity of the message (see par. 0061).
Dubrova teaches that cyclic redundancy checks (CRCs) are known as cryptographic hash and a CRC with a generator polynomial (p(x)) of degree n is capable of detecting all burst errors of length less than or equal to n (see par. 0062). Dubrova teaches that computing the cryptographic checksum is based on selecting a primitive polynomial from a set of primitive polynomials over a Galois Field and then calculating a generator polynomial (see par. 0070). Dubrova teaches that the generator polynomial is calculated based on the selected primitive polynomial (see par. 0071).
Dubrova teaches steps for computing a second cryptographic checksum based on selecting a primitive polynomial and the computation of another generator polynomial (see par. 0098). Dubrova teaches that selecting the primitive polynomial and computing the generator polynomial are based on a Galois Field GF(2) (see par. 0098). Dubrova teaches that the checksum decoder recomputes the check bits for the received message elements and a comparator compares the recomputed check bits with the check bits received in the message thereby verifying the integrity of the message (see par. 0105).
Dubrova fails to specifically teach wherein the second generator polynomial follows [Equation 1]
However, this teaching is obvious to the teachings of Dubrova since Dubrova teaches that a method and an apparatus for providing data integrity in the user plane comprises selecting a primitive polynomial p1(x) that is a of degree n-1 over Galois Field GF(2) and that the generator polynomial p(x) of degree n is represented as
(see par. 0075). Dubrova also teaches that a first function g may comprise an addition with a pad s of length n, i.e., g(hp(M)) = hp(M)+5 wherein hp(M) is a hash function (see par. 0076).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claimed generator polynomial equations with the generator polynomial equations of Dubrova because Dubrova teaches that a method and an apparatus for effectively verifying the integrity of data comprises computing the generator polynomial using a selected primitive polynomial based on GF(2). This modification would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ a method for effectively detecting data integrity using the computations based on primitive polynomial of GF(2) as taught by Dubrova (see par. 0025 et seq.).
As per claims 6 and 13, Dubrova teaches that the coefficients can be either 0 or 1 (see par. 0074).
As per claims 7 to 8, 14 and 15, Dubrova teaches that the primitive polynomial has a lowest multiplication complexity among the primitive polynomials (see par. 0080).
Claim 16:
Dubrova substantially teaches the claimed invention. Dubrova teaches a method and an apparatus for generating a cryptographic checksum for a message, the apparatus comprising: a receiver device (900) having a processor (901) coupled to a memory (902) storing a computer program for causing the receiver to implement the method (see par. 0119). Dubrova teaches that the receiver receives a message encoded by a sending device, wherein the message is acquired and is fed into an algorithm (301) configured to calculate a first checksum (see par. 0058). Dubrova teaches that at the receiver a forward error correction (FEC) codeword (216) is received and fed into a FEC decoding algorithm (312) (see par. 0060). Dubrova teaches that the message and its checksum are outputted from the FEC decoder and fed into a checksum algorithm (301) to verify the integrity of the message (see par. 0061).
Dubrova teaches that cyclic redundancy checks (CRCs) are known as cryptographic hash and a CRC with a generator polynomial (p(x)) of degree n is capable of detecting all burst errors of length less than or equal to n (see par. 0062). Dubrova teaches that computing the cryptographic checksum is based on selecting a primitive polynomial from a set of primitive polynomials over a Galois Field GF(2) and then calculating a generator polynomial (see par. 0070). Dubrova teaches that the generator polynomial is calculated based on the selected primitive polynomial (see par. 0071).
Dubrova teaches steps for computing a second cryptographic checksum based on selecting a primitive polynomial and the computation of another generator polynomial (see par. 0098). Dubrova teaches that selecting the primitive polynomial and computing the generator polynomial are based on a Galois Field (see par. 0098). Dubrova teaches that the checksum decoder recomputes the check bits for the received message elements and a comparator compares the recomputed check bits with the check bits received in the message thereby verifying the integrity of the message (see par. 0105).
Dubrova fails to specifically teach wherein the second generator polynomial follows [Equation 1]
However, this teaching is obvious to the teachings of Dubrova since Dubrova teaches that a method and an apparatus for providing data integrity in the user plane comprises selecting a primitive polynomial p1(x) that is a of degree n-1 over Galois Field GF(2) and that the generator polynomial p(x) of degree n is represented as
(see par. 0075). Dubrova also teaches that a first function g may comprise an addition with a pad s of length n, i.e., g(hp(M)) = hp(M)+5 wherein hp(M) is a hash function (see par. 0076).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claimed generator polynomial equations with the generator polynomial equations of Dubrova because Dubrova teaches that a method and an apparatus to effectively verify the integrity of data comprises computing the generator polynomial using a selective primitive polynomial based on GF(2). This modification would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ a method for effectively detecting data integrity using the computations based on primitive polynomial of GF(2) as taught by Dubrova (see par. 0025 et seq.).
As per claim 19, Dubrova teaches that the coefficients can be either 0 or 1 (see par. 0074).
As per claim 20, Dubrova teaches that the primitive polynomial has a lowest multiplication complexity among the primitive polynomials (see par. 0080).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 to 5, 10 to 12, 17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Das Sharma et al. (USPAP 2021/0119730) discloses a system, method and an apparatus for forward error correction and cyclic redundancy check mechanisms.
Lee et al. (USPAP 2006/0236212) discloses a decoder for digital communication.
/Shelly A Chase/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2112