DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to the above identified patent application filed on February 25, 2025. Claims 1 – 14 are pending and currently being examined.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Delete Claim 2, line 1 which recites: “The clamping device according to claim 11,” and
replace Claim 2, line 1 with - - The clamping device according to claim 1, - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the detachable snap connection" in Claim 2, line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2023 / 0303006 A1) to Penzkofer et al.
Regarding claim 1, Penzkofer et al., discloses a clamping device (1) for fastening a component (2) to a bicycle handlebar (3), comprising:
an open annular base body (i.e. (4B & 4A) in Figure 1) bent about a central axis and having a first circumferential end (i.e. Distal End of (4B) in Figure 1) and a second circumferential end (i.e. Distal End of (4A) in Figure 1);
a locking area (5) configured to form a detachable connection (i.e. via (2A) in Figures 1 & 2) with the component (2); and
wherein the base body (i.e. (4B & 4A) in Figure 1) is configured to enclose the bicycle handlebar,
wherein, in the assembled state (See Figure 2), a joining gap (9) is defined between the first circumferential end (i.e. Distal End of (4B) in Figure 1) and the second circumferential end (i.e. Distal End of (4A) in Figure 1),
wherein the locking area (5) is arranged at the first circumferential end (i.e. Distal End of (4B) in Figure 1),
wherein the first circumferential end (i.e. Distal End of (4B) in Figure 1) and the second circumferential end (i.e. Distal End of (4A) in Figure 1) are configured to be connected by at least one fastening element (6) along a fastening axis (i.e. via Axis Arrow (10) in Figure 1) in order to fix the clamping device (1) to the bicycle handlebar, and
wherein the locking area (5) is configured to fix the component (2) in addition to the detachable connection (i.e. via (2A) in Figures 1 & 2) by way of the at least one fastening element (6) (See Figures 1 & 2).
Regarding claim 4, Penzkofer et al., discloses wherein the first circumferential end (i.e. Distal End of (4B) in Figure 1) and the second circumferential end (i.e. Distal End of (4A) in Figure 1) have through-holes (8) which are configured to receive the at least one fastening element (6) (See Paragraph 0027) (See Figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Penzkofer et al., discloses further comprising a guide bar (i.e. Curve Arc Upper Portion of (5) in Figure 1) arranged adjacent the undercut (5) and forming a lateral stop in the direction along the central axis (See Figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Penzkofer et al., discloses a clamping assembly (See Figures 1 & 2), comprising: a fastening element (6); a component (2); and a clamping device (1) according to Claim 1, wherein the clamping device (1) is configured to fix the component (2) to a bicycle handlebar (3) by way of the fastening element (6) (See Figure 2).
Regarding claim 9, Penzkofer et al., discloses wherein the clamping assembly (1) is configured to geodetically fix the component (2) below the bicycle handlebar (3).
Regarding claim 10, Penzkofer et al., discloses a method of fastening a component (2) to a bicycle handlebar (3), comprising: attaching a clamping device (1) according to claim 1 to the bicycle handlebar (3); fastening the component (2) to the clamping device (1); and fixing the clamping device (1) to the bicycle handlebar (3) and the component (2) to the clamping device (1) with a fastening element (6) (See Abstract) (See Figures 1 & 2).
Regarding claim 11, Penzkofer et al., discloses wherein the detachable connection (i.e. via (2A) in Figures 1 & 2) is a detachable snap connection (See Figure 2).
Regarding claim 12, Penzkofer et al., discloses wherein the at least one fastening element (6) includes precisely one screw (See Paragraph 0027) (See Figure 2).
Regarding claim 13, Penzkofer et al., discloses wherein the fastening element (6) includes precisely one screw (See Paragraph 0027) (See Figure 2).
Regarding claim 14, Penzkofer et al., discloses wherein the fastening element (6) includes precisely one screw (See Paragraph 0027) (See Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2023 / 0303006 A1) to Penzkofer et al., in view of (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2005 / 0109808 A1) to Ueda.
Regarding claim 2, Penzkofer et al., discloses wherein the locking area (5) has an undercut (i.e. Recess Curve Inner Nitch Portion of (5) via Phantom Lines in Figure 2) and configured to form the detachable snap connection (see Figure 2) with the component (2) (See Figure 2).
However, Penzkofer et al., lacks and does not explicitly disclose a protrusion.
Ueda teaches a protrusion (13) which is configured to form the detachable connection with the component (2 & 30) (See Figures 3 & 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make a protrusion as taught by Ueda with the clamping device of Penzkofer et al., in order to enhance a snug engagement to prevent excess movement.
Regarding claim 3, Penzkofer et al., discloses the undercut (i.e. Recess Curve Inner Nitch Portion of (5) via Phantom Lines in Figure 2) is arranged between the central axis (i.e. Central Middle Axis of (1) in Figure 1) and the fastening axis (i.e. via Fastening Axis (10) in Figure 2).
Furthermore, Penzkofer et al., as modified by Ueda discloses wherein: the protrusion (13) from the base body (i.e. Body Portion of (1) in Figure 4) is arranged radially outside the fastening axis (i.e. Axis of (6) in Figure 4) at the first circumferential end (i.e. via (15) in Figure 4).
Regarding claim 7, Penzkofer et al., does not explicitly disclose wherein the clamping device (1) is formed so as to be one piece.
Ueda teaches wherein the clamping device (1) is formed so as to be one piece (See Figures 1 & 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the clamping device is formed so as to be one piece as taught by Ueda with the clamping device of Penzkofer et al., in order to reduce manufacturing cost.
Furthermore, it would have also been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make wherein the clamping device is formed so as to be one piece, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164(1893).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2023 / 0303006 A1) to Penzkofer et al., in view of (U.S. Patent Number 660,615) to Bauer.
Regarding claim 5, Penzkofer et al., discloses wherein the first circumferential end (i.e. Distal End of (4B) in Figure 1) and/or the second circumferential end (i.e. Distal End of (4A) in Figure 1) (See Figures 1 & 2).
However, Penzkofer et al., lacks and does not explicitly have a spacer arranged radially outside the fastening axis from the base body and protruding into the joining gap.
Bauer teaches having a spacer (See Figure 3) arranged radially outside the fastening axis (i.e. Axis of (a) in Figure 3) from the base body (A) and protruding into the joining gap (i.e. Gap Space b/w (a) in Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make having a spacer arranged radially outside the fastening axis from the base body and protruding into the joining gap as taught by Bauer with the clamping device of Penzkofer et al., in order to prevent the distal ends from direct contact during fastening.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/L.L.V/Examiner, Art Unit 3734
/NATHAN J NEWHOUSE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3734