DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office action is in response to communications filed on 9/18/2026.
Claims 1-20 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 11 the phrase "to be used by the second device connect to the network of the wireless access device" should be - - to be used by the second device to connect to the network of the wireless access device - -.
In claim 17 the phrase "wherein the wireless access device is separate from the first device" should be - - wherein the wireless access device is separate from the first device; - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites "configuring the wireless access device to provide the connection to the network by the second device." It's unclear what is meant by the recitation "by the second device".
For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as "configuring the wireless access device to provide the connection to the network to the second device."
Regarding claims 2-10, the limitation invoke, by reference, all of the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 2-10 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 11, the limitations recite features similar in scope to those of claim 1. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 1, above.
Regarding claims 12-16, the limitation invoke, by reference, all of the limitations of claim 11. Therefore, claims 12-16 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 11, above.
Regarding claim 17, the limitations recite features similar in scope to those of claim 1. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 1, above.
Regarding claims 18-20, the limitation invoke, by reference, all of the limitations of claim 11. Therefore, claims 18-20 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 11, above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Sidhu et al. (US 20160044719 A1, hereinafter Sidhu).
Regarding claim 1, Sidhu discloses a method, comprising: by a first device (Fig. 5, a first device 108):
identifying a second device available for connection to a network of a wireless access device (Fig. 5, a second device 302 and a wireless access device 110 (see ¶[0087], "wireless local area network"); ¶[0087], "network device 302 may generate a setup access point […] The setup access point allows other devices to connect to network device 302. For example, the setup access point may broadcast identification information for network device 302 to other devices in the local area network, such as access device 108, so that access device 108 may identify and connect with network device 302"; ¶[0093], "The gateway may then assist the access device 108 and the network device 302 in establishing a communication connection"),
wherein the second device is separate from the first device and the wireless access device, and wherein the wireless access device is separate from the first device (Fig. 5, all devices are separate from each other);
after identifying the second device, providing to the second device a token to be used by the second device to connect to the network of the wireless access device (¶[0087], "After access device 108 connects to network device 302 via the network device's setup access point, access device 108 may generate a code or token […] Access device 108 may send the token, such as token 522 as shown in FIG. 5, to network device 302"); and
configuring the wireless access device to provide the connection to the network by the second device in accordance with use of the token by the second device (¶[0087], "Access device 108 may send the token, such as token 522 as shown in FIG. 5, to network device 302 and/or to cloud network 114 (or, for example, to a gateway of the local area network)"; ¶[0091], "network device 302 switches channels from the channel it shares with access device 108 (e.g. C1 as shown in FIG. 4) to a different channel that it shares with gateway 110"; ¶[0130], "receiving a query including a request to establish a second communication connection. More specifically, step 1514 includes receiving, at the network device, a query including a request to re-establish a communication connection between the network device and an access device. For example, the network device may receive a query, request or message from the cloud network, which received a query, request or message from the access device indicating that the access device had disconnected from the network device (e.g. because the network device, and subsequently the access device, switched channels, or for a different reason). The network device and/or cloud network, which previously may have stored the token identifier, may use the token to locate, and subsequently reconnect with, the access device, and the access device may use the token to locate, and subsequently reconnect with, the network device. The access device may also include in its communication to the cloud network a request for the cloud network to communicate with the network device and indicate to the network device the location of the access device. The network device may use the information included in the token to find and re-connect with the access device. After the network device has reconnected with the access device, the network device may transmit a communication including a response to the query indicating that a second communication connection is established based at least in part on the token identifier").
Regarding claim 3, Sidhu discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: generating one or more tokens for one or more accessory devices previously granted access to the network (¶[0036], "one or more network devices […] The local area network may include one or more gateways that provide the user with access to the network devices"; ¶[0037], "It is desirable for a user to be able to access the network devices while located within the local area network and also while located remotely from the local area network" - suggests ¶[0087] applies to the network devices); and
providing the one or more tokens to the one or more accessory devices and the wireless access device (¶[0036], "one or more network devices […] The local area network may include one or more gateways that provide the user with access to the network devices"; ¶[0037], "It is desirable for a user to be able to access the network devices while located within the local area network and also while located remotely from the local area network" - suggests ¶[0087] applies to the network devices),
wherein providing the one or more tokens to the one or more accessory devices causes each of the one or more accessory devices to interact with the wireless access device utilizing a respective token of the one or more tokens to gain network access to a token-based network (¶[0036], "one or more network devices […] The local area network may include one or more gateways that provide the user with access to the network devices"; ¶[0037], "It is desirable for a user to be able to access the network devices while located within the local area network and also while located remotely from the local area network" - suggests ¶[0087] applies to the network devices).
Regarding claim 4, Sidhu discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising configuring the wireless access device to provision a token-based network, wherein configuring the wireless access device to provision the token-based network includes causing the wireless access device to enable a network setting in local memory (¶[0091], "network device 302 switches channels from the channel it shares with access device 108 (e.g. C1 as shown in FIG. 4) to a different channel that it shares with gateway 110"; ¶[0130], "receiving a query including a request to establish a second communication connection. More specifically, step 1514 includes receiving, at the network device, a query including a request to re-establish a communication connection between the network device and an access device. For example, the network device may receive a query, request or message from the cloud network, which received a query, request or message from the access device indicating that the access device had disconnected from the network device (e.g. because the network device, and subsequently the access device, switched channels, or for a different reason). The network device and/or cloud network, which previously may have stored the token identifier, may use the token to locate, and subsequently reconnect with, the access device, and the access device may use the token to locate, and subsequently reconnect with, the network device. The access device may also include in its communication to the cloud network a request for the cloud network to communicate with the network device and indicate to the network device the location of the access device. The network device may use the information included in the token to find and re-connect with the access device. After the network device has reconnected with the access device, the network device may transmit a communication including a response to the query indicating that a second communication connection is established based at least in part on the token identifier").
Regarding claim 5, Sidhu discloses the method of claim 4, wherein providing the token causes the second device to transmit a message to the wireless access device to join the token-based network (¶[0092], "cloud network 114 may only communicate to network device 302 that access device 108 has disconnected from it (e.g. disconnected from the channel that network device 302 and access device 108 shared) and/or that access device 108 is requesting to reconnect with network device 302. Network device 302 may then reconnect with access device 108, either directly via communication path 738 or through cloud 114 (e.g. via gateway 110)").
Regarding claim 6, Sidhu discloses the method of claim 5, further comprising: in conjunction with providing the token, providing, to the second device, a service set identifier corresponding to the token-based network (¶[0087], "This token may be generated by access device 108 to include information related to the access device 108, such as the location of access device 108. For example, the token may represent the location of access device 108 (or its location outside the local area network). The token may also represent other information about access device 108 to indicate to a holder of the token the location of access device 108. For example, the token may include information such as the WiFi channel that access device 108 will be using"; ¶[0088], "the token identifier may include a serial number of access device 108, a MAC address of access device 108, GPS coordinates of access device 108, stored GPS coordinates of other network device(s) on the network, a unique ID of access device 108 in cloud 114, a UDID (unique device identifier) of access device 108, an IMEI (international mobile station equipment identity) of access device 108, a UUID (universally unique identifier) of access device 108, WiFi credentials (e.g. SSID and passphrase) for one or more WiFi networks in the network 500, an WiFi channel that access device 108 is or may use, identification of other network devices that of access device 108 has contacted previously, previously setup account and password in cloud network 114 for access device 108, private IP address of access device 108, private IP address of gateway 110, public IP address and port number of gateway 110 connecting to network 500 to cloud 114, or a WiFi channel that gateway 110 is or may use, among various others").
Regarding claim 7, Sidhu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first device is a controller device configured to transmit control instructions to one or more accessory devices (¶[0098], "FIGS. 8-10 are described in the context of an application executing on an access device 108 with a touch-screen display device"; Fig. 8, and ¶[0099], "an exemplary user interface display 800 for an application on an access device, according to embodiments of the present invention. FIG. 8 discloses a list of two exemplary network devices, including devices 804A and 804B, which have displays 801A and 801B assigned to devices 804A and 804B respectively. Device 804A is connected to a hall switch 806A and device 804B that is connected to a motion sensor 806B. Device 804A can be turned on by a user by pressing button 808A and device 804B can be turned on by a user by pressing button 808B"), and
wherein the second device is an accessory device of the one or more accessory devices (Fig. 8, ¶[0099]).
Regarding claim 8, Sidhu discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: before providing the token, generating the token for the second device (¶[0087], "After access device 108 connects to network device 302 via the network device's setup access point, access device 108 may generate a code or token […] Access device 108 may send the token, such as token 522 as shown in FIG. 5, to network device 302"); and
instructing the second device to utilize the token to connect to the network of the wireless access device (¶[0130], "receiving a query including a request to establish a second communication connection. More specifically, step 1514 includes receiving, at the network device, a query including a request to re-establish a communication connection between the network device and an access device. For example, the network device may receive a query, request or message from the cloud network, which received a query, request or message from the access device indicating that the access device had disconnected from the network device (e.g. because the network device, and subsequently the access device, switched channels, or for a different reason). The network device and/or cloud network, which previously may have stored the token identifier, may use the token to locate, and subsequently reconnect with, the access device, and the access device may use the token to locate, and subsequently reconnect with, the network device. The access device may also include in its communication to the cloud network a request for the cloud network to communicate with the network device and indicate to the network device the location of the access device. The network device may use the information included in the token to find and re-connect with the access device. After the network device has reconnected with the access device, the network device may transmit a communication including a response to the query indicating that a second communication connection is established based at least in part on the token identifier" - i.e., that the second device has been at least programmed to use the token inherent).
Regarding claim 9, Sidhu discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: before providing the token, receiving a user input related to the token, wherein the user input specifies an expiration data associated with the token (¶[0096], "Token 522 may be configured such that token 522 is deleted from storage. As noted, token 522 may include information related to access device 108, including location information of the access device, among other information. Therefore, such information may be deleted so as to not be retrieved by an unwanted party. For example, the token identifier may be deleted automatically after a predetermined amount of time after it was generated" - inherent that it was at least programmed by a user to be deleted after the predetermined time); and
transmitting, to the wireless access device, the expiration data to cause the token to be revoked based at least in part on the expiration data (¶[0096],, "Token 522 may be configured such that token 522 is deleted from storage. As noted, token 522 may include information related to access device 108, including location information of the access device, among other information. Therefore, such information may be deleted so as to not be retrieved by an unwanted party. For example, the token identifier may be deleted automatically after a predetermined amount of time after it was generated. The token may be deleted after a predetermined amount of time after it was stored by a network device and/or a cloud network" - the cloud network obtains the information).
Regarding claim 10, Sidhu discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a user input indicating a desire to revoke the token (¶[0097], "access device 108 may send a communication to the device storing the token to instruct the device to delete the token" - user input to at least program the access device inherent); and
transmitting, by the first device, a revocation message to the wireless access device to cause the wireless access device to revoke the connection to the network corresponding to the token (¶[0097], "access device 108 may send a communication to the device storing the token to instruct the device to delete the token").
Regarding claims 11-16, Sidhu discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a first device, configure the first device to perform operations (¶[0143]).
The remaining limitations of claims 11-16 are similar in scope to those of claims 1, 4-6, and 9-10. Therefore, claims 11-16 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claims 1, 4-6, and 9-10, above.
Regarding claims 17-20, Sidhu discloses a first device, comprising: one or more processors in communication with one or more memories, the one or more processors configured to execute computer-executable instructions stored on the one or more memories (¶[0143]).
The remaining limitations of claims 17-20 are similar in scope to those of claims 1 and 4-6. Therefore, claims 17-20 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claims 1 and 4-6, above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sidhu (US 20160044719 A1) in view of Kotay et al. (US 20190182666 A1, hereinafter Kotay).
Regarding claim 2, Sidhu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the network is a first network (¶[0087], "access device 108 connects to network device 302 via the network device's setup access point"),
wherein configuring the wireless access device to provide the connection to the first network includes configuring the wireless access device to provide access to a second network managed by the wireless access device (¶[0091], "network device 302 switches channels from the channel it shares with access device 108 (e.g. C1 as shown in FIG. 4) to a different channel that it shares with gateway 110"; ¶[0130], "receiving a query including a request to establish a second communication connection. More specifically, step 1514 includes receiving, at the network device, a query including a request to re-establish a communication connection between the network device and an access device. For example, the network device may receive a query, request or message from the cloud network, which received a query, request or message from the access device indicating that the access device had disconnected from the network device (e.g. because the network device, and subsequently the access device, switched channels, or for a different reason). The network device and/or cloud network, which previously may have stored the token identifier, may use the token to locate, and subsequently reconnect with, the access device, and the access device may use the token to locate, and subsequently reconnect with, the network device. The access device may also include in its communication to the cloud network a request for the cloud network to communicate with the network device and indicate to the network device the location of the access device. The network device may use the information included in the token to find and re-connect with the access device. After the network device has reconnected with the access device, the network device may transmit a communication including a response to the query indicating that a second communication connection is established based at least in part on the token identifier"; ¶[0100], "access device 108, may communicate with network device 302 and/or setup access point 303 of network device 302 and may confirm whether the network device should be allowed to join the local area network"), and
wherein the second network is a token-based network (¶[0091], "token 522 may be used by any device or network that holds token 522").
Sidhu does not disclose that the network is configured for token-based authentication.
Kotay discloses that a network may be configured for token-based authentication (¶[0059], "If the user device 102 does not have a stored token, the user device 102 may transmit a request for a token to the computing device 104 via the second network. The request may comprise the device identifier 108, the address element 110, the service element 112, user account login information, combinations thereof, and the like. The computing device 104 may use the token processor 120 to determine if the request is from an authorized user/user device and, if so, generate a token and transmit the token to the user device 102 via the second network. The user device 102 may then use the token as described above to request network credentials for accessing the first network").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sidhu in view of Kotay so that the network is configured for token-based authentication.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would minimize an "impact of changes in SSIDs and/or passwords" (Kotay, ¶[0002]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20150106517 A1, which discloses "If the customer record indicates that a computing device can be authorized for access to the network (and optionally to other networks), a registration authorization can be generated and transmitted to the portal server at 340, which can further generate and transmit a registration token to the computing device at 345" (¶[0079]).
US 20130247164 A1, Fig. 2, Wi-Fi device 12 and Wi-Fi AP 20; "In order to facilitate desired zero sign-on operation at the second access point 20, the Internet gateway controller 16 may issue a redirect IdP message 62 to the mobile computer 12" (¶[0022]) and "IdP server 26 may instigate an authentication IP address process 48 to authorize provisioning of the authentication session token, which may be automatically given to any device connecting to the trusted cable modem 10. Optionally, the IP addresses associated with the mobile computer 12 and/or the first access point 18 or other address associated therewith may be compared to determine whether the address of the mobile computer 12 match with the address pre-assigned to the first access point 18 before provisioning" (¶[0020]).
US 20160373270 A1, which discloses "a network connection system of home appliance includes an access point (AP) apparatus connected to an external network, a terminal device configured to receive an input of an authentication key of the AP apparatus, and at least one home appliance interconnected to the first terminal device by being set to be in a state of communicating with the terminal device, configured to receive an identification number and the authentication number of the AP apparatus, and connected to the AP apparatus based on the identification number and the authentication number, wherein the terminal device or the AP apparatus may authenticate the authentication key by verifying the authentication number" (¶[0022]).
US 20200193753 A1, which discloses "requesting device 208 transmits the authorization request 508 to an authorization service 306" (¶[0039]), and "authorization information request 506 may include information such as, for example, an ID of the access device 206, time of the access request 504, location of the access device 206, a non-repeating ID, and an authorization service endpoint" (¶[0031]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BORIS D GRIJALVA LOBOS/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2496