DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second thermally insulative sheet positioned within the thermal control space and adjacent the second phase-change material mat and an additional thermally insulative sheet positioned within the thermal control space and adjacent the interior space must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 518 and 528.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the internal space" in line 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of further consideration, the claim is being considered as referencing “the [[internal]] interior space”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Der Ovanesian (US 5840080) in view of Chasteen et al. (US 12366400) (hereinafter Chasteen).
Regarding Claim 1
Der Ovanesian teaches a shipping package comprising: an envelope (below, Fig. 4) including a closed end (7) and a closeable end (6), the envelope defining a thermal control space (3/14 and 14/4) and an interior space (16) that is separate from the thermal control space, wherein the interior space is configured to contain a product to be shipped; a first phase-change material (15) positioned within the thermal control space and adjacent the interior space; a first thermally insulative sheet (8) positioned within the thermal control space and adjacent the first phase-change material; and a second phase-change material (10) positioned within the thermal control space and adjacent first thermally insulative sheet, as can be seen in Fig. 4 below (Col. 3, Ln. 6-19).
Der Ovanesian does not specifically teach first and second phase-change materials are mats.
Chasteen teaches a shipping package (below – Fig 1) comprising: a closed end and a closeable end, the package defining a thermal control space and an interior space that is separate from the thermal control space, wherein the interior space is configured to contain a product (99) to be shipped; a first phase-change material mat (101-1) positioned within the thermal control space and adjacent the interior space; and a second phase-change material mat (103-1) positioned within the thermal control space (Col. 12, Ln. 59 – Col. 3, Ln. 32).
Der Ovanesian and Chasteen are analogous inventions in the field of thermally insulated containers. Because both Der Ovanesian and Chasteen teach packages having first and second phase-change materials in a thermal control space, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to substitute the first and second phase-change materials of Der Ovanesian with the first and second phase-change material mats of Chasteen to achieve the predictable result of creating an insulated container that keeps the contents at their desired temperature within the container. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding Claim 2
Der Ovanesian in view of Chasteen (hereinafter “modified Der Ovanesian”) teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Modified Der Ovanesian further teaches the first phase-change material [mat], the first thermally insulative sheet, and the second phase-change material [mat] form an arrangement that is positioned on a first side of the interior space, the shipping package further comprising another such arrangement positioned on a second side of the interior space, as can be seen in Fig. 4 above.
Regarding Claims 3-5
Modified Der Ovanesian teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Modified Der Ovanesian does not teach a second thermally insulative sheet positioned within the thermal control space and adjacent the second phase-change material mat; or an additional thermally insulative sheet positioned within the thermal control space and adjacent the interior space, wherein the additional thermally insulative sheet is positioned to maintain a size of the interior space.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to have a second thermally insulative sheet positioned within the thermal control space and adjacent the second phase-change material mat; and/or an additional thermally insulative sheet positioned within the thermal control space and adjacent the interior space, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). Further, Applicant has not disclosed that having a second thermally insulative sheet positioned within the thermal control space and adjacent the second phase-change material mat; and/or an additional thermally insulative sheet positioned within the thermal control space and adjacent the interior space provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose or solves a stated problem. As such, the claim of having a second thermally insulative sheet positioned within the thermal control space and adjacent the second phase-change material mat; and/or an additional thermally insulative sheet positioned within the thermal control space and adjacent the interior space does not provide patentable distinction over the prior art of record.
With regards to the positioning of the “additional thermally insulative sheet”, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to ensure that the additional thermally insulative sheet is positioned to maintain a size of the interior space as the interior space has inevitably been designed specifically to be able to hold a desired contents and that sizing would want to be maintained.
Regarding Claim 7
Modified Der Ovanesian teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Chasteen further teaches one or more of the first and second phase-change material mats comprise a rigid shell containing phase-change material (Col. 13, Ln. 13-21).
Regarding Claim 8
Modified Der Ovanesian teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Chasteen further teaches one or more of the first and second phase-change material mats comprise a flexible bag containing phase-change material (Col. 13, Ln. 13-21).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Der Ovanesian as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fuchs (US 2008/0141700).
Regarding Claim 6
Modified Der Ovanesian teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above. Modified Der Ovanesian does not teach the first thermally insulative sheet comprises rigid segments with a strip of flexible material therebetween.
Fuchs teaches a portable package (below – Fig. 2 and 5) including a thermal control space and an interior space, wherein the package includes a first thermally insulative sheet that comprises rigid segments (94/96/98) with a strip of flexible material (34) therebetween (Paragraph [0024]).
Modified Der Ovanesian and Fuchs are analogous inventions in the field of thermally insulated containers. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the first thermally insulative sheet of modified Der Ovanesian with the teachings of Fuchs in order to provide the interior space with reinforcement (Paragraph [0024]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Further pertinent prior art includes but is not limited to that which is listed in the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JENNIFER CASTRIOTTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/DON M ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733