DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The present application claims the benefit of Provisional US application 63560903 filed 03/04/2024.
Status of the Application
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s claimed invention, filed 02/25/2025, in the matter of Application N° 19/063,009. Said documents have been entered on the record. The Examiner further acknowledges the following:
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination and rejected as set forth below.
Claim Objections
Claims 10-12 are objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 12 , as a generic name, eugenol should not be capitalized (e.g., compare with branded Tylenol vs. generic acetaminophen). Furthermore, claims 10-12 have spacing and comma issues. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 10-11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 18 recite amounts/ratios (i.e., oil to first emulsifier) that are inconsistent with the ratios of independent claims 1 and 15 respectively, Claim 4 exhibits a ratio of oil (50-95 wt%) to first emulsifier (5-50 wt%), that would for example be 20:1, based on 95 wt% oil and 5 wt% first emulsifier. when independent claim 1 recite a mass ratio (range) of the “oil to the first emulsifier” of 1:1 to 1:20. The same issue is found between claim 18 and independent claim 4.
Claims 10-11 recite trademarked emulsifier names (e.g., the “Span” series, the “AEO” series, and the “Tween” series) that should be renamed in their generic forms. The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to describe any particular material or product. In fact, the value of a trademark would be lost to the extent that it became the generic name of a product, rather than used as an identification of a source or origin of a product. Thus, the use of a trademark or trade name in a claim to describe a material or product would not only render a claim indefinite, but would also constitute an improper use of the trademark or trade name. (MPEP 2173.05(u)).
,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 4 exhibits a ratio of oil (50-95 wt%) to first emulsifier (5-50 wt%), that would for example be 20:1, based on 95 wt% oil and 5 wt% first emulsifier. when independent claim 1 recite a mass ratio (range) of the “oil to the first emulsifier” of 1:1 to 1:20. The same issue is found between claim 18 and independent claim 4.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 14-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glandorf (US20210346255A1), and in further view of Rajaiah (US20180133121A1) and Ding (Journal of Controlled Release, 2019).
Applicant’s claims are directed to a method of making a stable stannous ion complex or an oral care product (see independent claims 1 and 15), and a product that results from the method (see claim 14). The Examiner recognizes the independent method of making as directed generally toward W/O/W type emulsions (i.e., and therefore, the Examiner looks to Art that describes methods of making W/O/W emulsions), as confirmed by Applicant’s drawing of Figure 1 and the Specification text at [0006], that states a “W/O/W stannous ion composition” (i.e., O/W and/or W/O compositions are obvious intermediary compositions, along a process of further making final W/O/W compositions; see Ding, pg 32).
Also note regarding a method of making generally: See also In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.).
Regarding the product of claim 14, it must be remembered: "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). However, if a specific process is deemed to impart structural and/or compositional limitations, secondary considerations are necessary to demonstrate non-obviousness of a composition through a product-by-process approach.
Glandorf teaches oral care dental compositions, such as toothpastes, etc. [0027] to treat dental conditions [0002], that comprise monodentate and polydentate ligands to chelate stannous ions [0014-0016], whereby embodiments containing only monodentate or bidentate only ligands is obvious [0017-0018]. Glandorf teaches the compositions have antibacterial activity [0002] and are stable [0001].
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 15: Glandorf teaches suitable oral care dental emulsion compositions (i.e., whereby Rajaiah is referenced in the statement “2018/0133121, which is herein incorporated by reference in its entirety”) (abstract, [0002, 0115]). In this case, Rajaiah is directed to multi-phase oral compositions for teeth (abstract, [0033]), including water-in-oil-in-water (W/O/W) emulsions [0004, 0026],
Furthermore, Glandorf teaches up to 45 wt% water (Glandorf – instant claim 27), 0.01 to about 10 wt% stannous species [0039-0040] (i.e., about means around 10% variance [0036]), and 0.0001 to about 25 wt% of a polydentate ligand (reads on chelating agent) [0055]. Glandorf teaches buffering agents in 0.1% to about 30%, by weight [0082].
Regarding claim 8: Glandorf teaches stannous fluoride, etc. [0039].
Regarding claim 14: Glandorf teaches that stannous ion complex is the obvious result of the mixture of stannous ions and polydentate ligands [0014-0018].
In summary, Glandorf teaches oral care dental compositions to treat teeth, comprising stannous chelates, that are of a generic emulsion form. Furthermore, Glandorf references Rajaiah for information on emulsions, whereby the teachings of Rajaiah are incorporated in their entirety [0115, 0166-0167], where it is prima facie obvious that an emulsion composition is formed by a method of making. However, Glandorf does not teach a process of making a W/O/W emulsion (instant claims 1 and 15; see claim interpretation of the method of instant claim 1 and 15 above), the chelating agent species (instant claim 9), the emulsifiers (instant claims 10-11), the oil species (instant claim 12), or the combined ratios and/or amounts of each phase (instant claims 1-7, 15, and 17-20).
Rajaiah (as referred to for general emulsion teachings directly by Glandorf at [0115]) teaches multi-phase oral compositions for teeth (abstract, [0033]), whereby methods of making are generally discussed [0288-0326], in terms of mixing, homogenizing, stirring, heating/cooling, etc. [0288-0290]. Rajaiah further teaches water-in-oil-in-water (W/O/W) emulsions (i.e., via a method of mixing two or more phases) [0004, 0026], with 0.3-60 wt% water [0120], stannous ions in 0.1-5 wt% [0208-0209], and stabilizing agent/chelant of GLDA (i.e., a polydentate chelant species) and/or salts thereof [0142] (reads on instant claim 9). Furthermore, Rajaiah teaches the emulsifier in 0.0001 to 30 wt% (including a combination of emulsifiers) [0180], and the hydrophobic phase not limiting in amount (i.e., “the present invention comprises a safe and effective amount of a hydrophobic phase”[0146]), rendering a 1:2 or a 2:1 ratio of oil to emulsifier as possible (reading on claims 1 and 15 and/or 4 and 18 – see also, 112b and 112d rejections above).. Finally, the 0.3-60 wt% water [0120], and the hydrophobic phase is 40-99.5 wt%, thereby rendering, for example, a 1:1 ratio of W/O emulsion (water + hydrophobic phase wt%) to hydrophobic phase (only wt%) as obvious (instant claim 1). Additionally, regarding the emulsifier species, Rajaiah teaches tween-20 etc. (reads on instant claims 10-11) [0185]. Regarding oil species, Rajaiah teaches olive oil, etc. [0175] and eugenol, etc. (reads on instant claim 12) [0213].
Ding teaches W/O/W double emulsions (abstract), that are useful in a wide variety of applications and formulations, that pertain to active ingredients (pg 31-32, ‘introduction’), where double emulsions benefit from an ability to encapsulate several types of molecules simultaneously (pg 32, ‘section 1.1.1’). Ding teaches the standard variety of W/O/W double emulsion types, where a W/O emulsion is further encapsulated by water (Figure 3). Ding teaches a general method of making where (1) a primary W/O emulsion is formed (pg 33, “section 1.1.2”), followed by a second emulsification with water (pg 33, “section 1.1.2”), where stability is critically dependent on surfactant choice (pg 33, “section 1.1.2”). Ding teaches that chelate formation (reads on “stannous ion emulsion complex”) at the W/O interface of the W/O/W has a strong stabilization effect (pg 35, “section 1.2.4”). Thus, the overall stepwise method of forming of instant claims 1 and 15 are obvious, as a generic process of making W/O/W double emulsions (i.e., Ding teaches the structure of a W/O/W formulation, as following the steps of independent claims 1 and 15), as known to the Art. Furthermore, regarding the order of method steps: See also In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of emulsion making of Glandorf with the W/O/W formulations type of Rajaiah and the W/O/W process details of Ding, because Glandorf refers to Rajaiah (whereby “2018/0133121, which is herein incorporated by reference in its entirety” [0115]) for teachings on emulsion formulations, whereby Rajaiah explicitly names W/O/W formulations, and Ding teaches a general process of making W/O/W emulsions applicable for use in various applications/formulations (that reads on the process of independent claims 1 and 15). Furthermore, any difference of method order compared to the Art is obvious, because selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Glandorf by incorporating the chelating agent species, the emulsifiers and the oil species of Rajaiah, because Glandorf refers to Rajaiah (see above) for teachings on emulsion formulations, whereby Rajaiah explicitly names W/O/W formulations, that contain the instant ingredients, as common additives for dental formulations. Furthermore, Glandorf teaches general inclusion of chelants (Glandorf – claim 5), emulsifying surfactants [0083, 0106, 0115], and oils/carriers [0024, 0109, 0115] in the disclosed dental emulsions (Glandorf – instant claim 28), providing rationale for selecting specific ingredients with the same functionality of Rajaiah.
Regarding the total ratios and amounts of instant claims 1-7, 15, and 17-20 (that distinguishes the ingredient contents for the stannous ions, chelating agents, oil, water, pH buffer, 1st and 2nd emulsifier, of the individual first aqueous, oil, and second aqueous phases, and additionally the W/O emulsion): The combined Prior Art teaches the obviousness of the ingredients that encompass/overlap in the instant ranges of the subdivided phases of the obvious W/O/W composition. Furthermore, the Art establishes the instant ingredients as a result-effective variables that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize in order to stabilize emulsion formulations and/or provide dental cleaning effectiveness. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (indicating that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation). Therefore, the combined Prior Art renders the amounts of the individual phases as obvious.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glandorf (US20210346255A1), Rajaiah (US20180133121A1), and Ding (Journal of Controlled Release, 2019), as applied to 1-12, 14-15, and 17-20 , and in further view of Suhonen (US5017363) and Ramji (Compend Contin Educ Dent, 2005).
As discussed above, the combined Prior Art teaches the instant method and the composition that results from it, which are useful for oral care dental treatment, as obvious. However, the combined Prior Art is silent on the functional limitations of the instant claim set such as the stability of the compositions at accelerated conditions (instant claim 13) and the antibacterial efficacy of the compositions (instant claim 16).
Suhonen teaches stabilized stannous fluoride toothpaste (abstract). Suhonen teaches Sn stability after 3 months of Formulation G of nearly 100% (i.e., 0.456 at initial vs. 0.454 at 3 months) (col. 8) at 45 °C (Example 3, col 7). Thus, the stability profile of instant claim 13 is an expected outcome of stabilized stannous formulations.
Ramji teaches stannous fluoride/sodium hexametaphosphate (i.e., a stannous chelate) dentifrice (i.e., aka toothpaste) killed 90-99 % salivary microbes in 16 hours after a single exposure, which was an improvement on stannous fluoride alone (reads on instant claim 16) (abstract). Thus, chelated stannous ingredients are expected to have excellent antibacterial effect.
Regarding the specific WS/T 650-2019 antibacterial test (i.e., this appears to be a Chinese standardized test), the USPTO is not the U.S. Patent Office is not equipped with analytical instruments to test prior art compositions for the infinite number of ways that a subsequent applicant may present previously unmeasured characteristics. When as here, the prior art appears to contain the exact same ingredients and applicant's own disclosure supports the suitability of the prior art composition as the inventive composition component, the burden is properly shifted to applicant to show otherwise. “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compositions of the Prior Art to have sufficient performance, regarding stability (as taught by Suhonen) and antibacterial activity (as taught by Ramji), because Suhonen teaches stabilized stannous fluoride compositions that are stable after 3 months at acerated stability conditions of 45 °C (reads on the conditions of claim 13, because the 45 °C is close enough in value to a 50 °C stability condition, and also the relative stability of a formulation at different temperatures is related, where Suhonen teaches “product stability after three months at forty-five degrees centigrade is comparable to product stability after three years at room temperature“), and Ramji teaches 90-99% bactericidal activity of stabilized stannous formulation after a single exposure (reads on claim 16, with Ramji’s test being a representative form of antibacterial testing in the dental arts), which are both beneficial attributes of oral dental products intended to treat teeth.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over, and in further view of Glandorf (US20210346255A1), Rajaiah (US20180133121A1), Ding (Journal of Controlled Release, 2019), Suhonen (US5017363) and Ramji (Compend Contin Educ Dent, 2005):
claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/240,957 (reference application)
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all claim sets teach a method of forming a W/O/W emulsion comprising an oil, 2 emulsifiers, water, and a chelating agent. The copending applications differ only significantly in minor details.
This is remedied by combined Prior Art, who teaches the missing details according to the 103 rejection above. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the teachings of ‘957 because all disclosures are analogous to the instant invention, and the Prior Art provides different configurations for methods of making W/O/W compositions for dental care that comprise stannous ions and chelating ingredients.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Correspondence
/R.P./Examiner, Art Unit 1614 10/19/2026
/SEAN M BASQUILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614