DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The applicant’s amendment filed 12/19/2025 has been entered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/19/2025 was filed and is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 11-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim et al (US 2016/0369991 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Lim et al disclose an electronic device comprising:
a light sensing system (36); and
an at least partially translucent housing member positioned over at least the light sensing system, the housing member having an interior surface and an at least partially translucent exterior surface, the interior surface of the housing member including a plurality of facets (74 and 76) configured to direct light impinging on a translucent portion of the exterior surface toward the light sensing system,
system, wherein at least some of the facets are arranged in pairs (some are in pairs) and wherein each arranged pair of facets together with a respective portion of the exterior surface of the housing member forms a triangular prism (if the shape the Examiner drew isn’t a triangular prism, then the Fresnel body has triangular prisms). (Figure 4 and 6B; see at least [0050])
In regard to claim 2, Lim et al disclose the light sensing system includes a light sensor and wherein the facets are configured to direct the impinging light toward the light sensor.
In regard to claim 3, Lim et al disclose the light sensing system includes a light guide (Guide) and wherein the facets are configured to direct the impinging light toward an entrance of the light guide.
In regard to claim 4, Lim et al disclose a processor coupled to the light sensing system and operable to generate a lighting control signal responsive to receipt of a light sensing signal from the light sensing system, the lighting control signal being usable by a lamp driver of a lamp. (See Claim 21)
In regard to claim 5, Lim et al disclose a base housing member (32B) having a first side and an opposing second side; and a printed circuit board (34) positioned upon at least a portion of the first side of the base housing member, the printed circuit board including at least a light sensor of the light sensing system.
In regard to claim 6, Lim et al disclose a retaining apparatus (32A) positioned about the printed circuit board, the retaining apparatus including a light guide of the light sensing system (the hole allows for the light to pass), the light guide directing light incident on an entrance thereof to the light sensing system.
In regard to claim 7, Lim et al disclose a processor positioned on the printed circuit board and coupled to the light sensing system, the processor operable to generate a lighting control signal responsive to receipt of a light sensing signal from the light sensing system. (See Claim 21)
In regard to claim 9, Lim et al disclose the facets are interconnected and evenly distributed along the interior surface of the housing member.
In regard to claim 11, Lim et al disclose each facet is angled in a range of about three degrees to about five degrees relative to a reference axis. (The reference axis must be defined in order for this claim to have any meaning under BRI—if the reference axis is arbitrary then there is some range of the facet angle which meets this limitation.)
In regard to claim 12, Lim et al disclose the facets are integrated into the interior surface of the housing member.
In regard to claim 13, Lim et al disclose the housing member is generally dome shaped.
In regard to claim 14, Lim et al disclose an at least partially translucent, generally dome-shaped housing member for an electronic device, the housing member comprising:
an at least partially translucent exterior surface; and
an interior surface including a plurality of facets configured to direct light impinging on a translucent portion of the exterior surface toward a desired location within a chamber defined by the housing member, wherein at least some of the facets are arranged in pairs (some are in pairs) and wherein each arranged pair of facets together with a respective portion of the exterior surface of the housing member forms a triangular prism (if the shape the Examiner drew isn’t a triangular prism, then the Fresnel body has triangular prisms). (Figure 4 and 6B; see at least [0050])
In regard to claim 15, Lim et al disclose the facets are interconnected and evenly distributed along the interior surface.
In regard to claim 16, Lim et al disclose the exterior surface is devoid of any facets.
In regard to claim 17, Lim et al disclose at least some of the facets are arranged in pairs and wherein each pair of facets together with a respective portion of the exterior surface forms a triangular prism.
In regard to claim 18, Lim et al disclose a lighting control device comprising:
a light sensing system;
a processor coupled to the light sensing system and operable to generate a lighting control signal responsive to receipt of a light sensing signal from the light sensing system; and
an at least partially translucent housing member positioned over at least the light sensing system, the housing member having an interior surface and an at least partially translucent exterior surface, the interior surface of the housing member including a plurality of facets configured to direct light impinging on a translucent portion of the exterior surface toward the light sensing system,
wherein at least some of the facets are arranged in pairs and wherein each arranged pair of facets together with a respective portion of the exterior surface of the housing member forms a triangular prism.
In regard to claim 19, Lim et al disclose the housing member is generally dome- shaped.
In regard to claim 20, Lim et al disclose the light sensing system includes a light sensor and wherein the facets are configured to direct the light impinging on the translucent portion of the exterior surface of the housing member toward the light sensor.
In regard to claim 21, Lim et al disclose the facets are interconnected and evenly distributed along the interior surface of the housing member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al (US 2016/0369991 A1).
In regard to claim 22, Lim et al disclose a base housing member having a first side and an opposing second side, a printed circuit board positioned upon at least a portion of the first side of the base housing member, the printed circuit board including at least a light sensor of the light sensing system.
Lim et al fail to disclose a retaining apparatus positioned about the printed circuit board, the retaining apparatus including a light guide of the light sensing system, the light guide directing light incident on an entrance thereof to the light sensor.
However, retaining members are notoriously old and well-known, and it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the at the time of filing to provide a retaining member in order to retain the elements.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER E DUNAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875