DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,252,044. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations and/or functions recited in claim 1-20 are present in claims 1-12 of US 12252044.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-14, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites “a first and second arm.” It is unclear if this is the same or different first and second arms of claim 8.
Claim 19 recites “an arm.” It is unclear if this is the same or different arm of claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (CN107199922). Liu discloses a headrest adjustment mechanism comprising: a first arm (fig. 2: 35 left side) and a second arm (fig. 2: 35 right side) rotatably connected to a body of the adjustment mechanism (the sector gears rotate as 33 is rotated upward), and a first bar (fig. 2: rear portion of positioning bar 32 mating with pockets 311, left side) and a second bar (fig. 2: rear portion of positioning bar 32 mating with pockets 311, right side) configured to respectively engage a first pocket (fig. 2: 311 left side) and a second pocket (fig. 2: 311 right side) of a plurality of pockets of a car seat frame in a locked position, wherein a headrest actuator (fig. 2: 33, 38) engages the first arm and the second arm to disengage the first bar and the second bar from their respective pockets; wherein the adjustment mechanism further comprises a first component (fig. 2: teeth on front bar of 32 left side) fixed to the first bar and a second component (fig. 2: teeth on front bar of 32 right side) fixed to the second bar, wherein the first component and the second component are forced inward by the first arm and the second arm thereby disengaging the first bar and the second bar from their respective pockets; and wherein the adjustment mechanism further comprises a spring (fig. 2: 36) configured to force the first bar and the second bar to engage their respective pockets in the locked position.
As concerns claim 9, Liu discloses wherein the first and second arm are operatively coupled to the headrest actuator on a first end, and wherein the first and second arm are operatively coupled to the first and second bars on a second end (as shown in fig. 2).
As concerns claim 10, Liu discloses wherein a handle is coupled to the headrest actuator (fig. 2: 39).
As concerns claim 11, Liu discloses a first and second securing element (fig. 2: 351), wherein the first securing element is coupled to the first arm and the second securing element is coupled to the second arm, and wherein the first and second securing elements couple the first and second arm to the body of the headrest adjustment mechanism.
As concerns claim 12, Liu discloses wherein the first and second securing elements serve as a first and second pivots (fig. 2: 35 pivots around 351).
As concerns claim 13, Liu discloses wherein when there is vertical movement on the handle, the first and second arms pivot about the first and second securing elements such that the vertical movement is translated to a horizontal movement of the first and second bars (upward force on the handle 39 rotates 33 which swings sector gears 35 around pivots 351 and translates 32 horizontally along the teeth inward).
As concerns claim 14, Liu discloses wherein the horizontal movement of the first and second bars counters the force from the spring to disengage the first bar and the second bar from their respective pockets (as shown in fig. 2 and discussed above).
As concerns claim 15, Liu discloses wherein the adjustable headrest is coupled to a first panel (fig. 1: 25) configured to translate with the adjustable headrest, the first panel further comprising a slot configured to receive a strap of a harness (fig. 1: shows two slots for harness straps).
As concerns claim 18, Liu discloses a headrest adjustment mechanism comprising: an arm (fig. 2: 35) rotatably connected to a body of the adjustment mechanism, and a bar (fig. 2: 32) configured to respectively engage a pocket of a plurality of pockets (fig. 2: 311) of a car seat frame in a locked position, wherein a headrest actuator (fig. 2: 38, 33) engages the arm to disengage the bar from its respective pocket; wherein the adjustment mechanism further comprises a component (fig. 2: front toothed bar portion of 32) fixed to the bar, wherein the component is forced inward by the arm thereby disengaging the bar the pocket; and wherein the adjustment mechanism further comprises a spring (fig. 2: 36) configured to force the bar to engage the pocket in the locked position.
As concerns claim 19, Liu discloses wherein the arm is operatively coupled to the bar on a second end (as shown in fig. 2).
As concerns claim 20, Liu discloses wherein a handle (fig. 2: 39) is coupled to the headrest actuator).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2014/0021758) in view of Bennett et al. (CA 3023122) (“Bennett”). Chen teaches a convertible car seat comprising: an outer shell having a seat portion and a backrest portion (fig. 1: outer portions supporting 1 and 2); a frame (fig. 3: 20); an adjustable headrest (fig. 1: 3) having a handle (fig. 4: 44) and an actuator (fig. 5: assembly 42); and an adjustment mechanism having a body (fig. 5: 41), wherein the actuator of the adjustable headrest engages the adjustment mechanism (as shown in fig. 5).
Chen does not expressly teach a base assembly having a mounting mechanism. However, Bennett teaches a child car seat having a base assembly with a mounting mechanism (fig. 1: 102). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide a base assembly mounted to the seat shell in order to safely and properly install the car seat in a vehicle seat.
As concerns claim 2, Chen, as modified, teaches wherein the adjustment mechanism includes a locked position (when 43 is within holes 21) and an unlocked position (when 43 is removed).
As concerns claim 3, Chen, as, modified, teaches wherein the adjustment mechanism further comprises a bar (fig. 5: 43) configured to engage the frame (fig. 5: 20 at holes 21).
As concerns claim 4, Chen, as modified, teaches wherein the bar engages a pocket (fig. 5: 21) of a plurality of pockets of the frame in the locked position.
As concerns claim 5, Chen, as modified, teaches wherein the adjustable headrest is coupled to a first panel (fig. 4: 411) configured to translate with the adjustable headrest, the first panel further comprising a slot configured to receive a strap of a harness (shown in fig. 4).
As concerns claims 6 and 7, Chen, as modified, does not teach an anti-rebounding bar or energy absorption system. However, Bennett teaches an anti-rebound bar (fig. 1: 120, Abstract) configured to brace against a vehicle seat when the convertible car seat is installed in a rear-facing configuration which is also an energy absorption system configured to absorb energy from an impact to the vehicle. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide an anti-rebounding bar/energy absorption system in order to provide additional safety to the occupant.
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Taylor et al. (US 2023/0111534) (“Taylor”). As concerns claims 16 and 17, Liu does not teach wherein the first panel is coupled to a second panel and the second panel is coupled to a third panel movable from a first nested position to ta second extended position. However, Taylor teaches a headrest assembly comprising a first panel (fig. 2: 26) coupled to a second panel (fig. 2: 46) and the second panel is coupled to a third panel (fig. 2.: 28) movable from a first nested position to a second extended position. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide an additional second panel and third panel for movement of the adjustable headrest assembly in order to provide the amount of support and weight desired for the backrest/headrest assembly.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY J BRINDLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636