DETAILED ACTION
The following FINAL Office action is in response to Amendment filed on June 30, 2026 for application 19063079
Acknowledgements
Claims 4-15 have been canceled
Claims 1-3 and 16-21 have been rejected and examined.
The present application, filed on or after December 13, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant’s arguments under 35 USC 101, Applicant argues the claims integrate any alleged judicial exception into a practical application since the claims employ the information provided by the alleged judicial exception to improve the security of the financial instruments. Applicant further argues that the limitations of the claims recite a meaningful way of using the alleged judicial exception beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Examiner respectfully disagrees as the amended claims taking into account all the limitations “issuing a first financial instrument to a customer, wherein the first financial instrument is a numberless physical financial instrument having a first primary account number, the first primary account number stored on the first financial instrument, wherein the first financial instrument is restricted to in-person transactions; issuing a second financial instrument to a wallet for the customer …, wherein the second financial instrument has a second primary account number that is different from the first primary account number; receiving a personal identification number for the first financial instrument or the second financial instrument; assigning the personal identification number to both the first financial instrument or the second financial instrument; receiving a notification that the first financial instrument or the second financial instrument has been lost or compromised; in response to the first financial instrument being lost or compromised, reissuing, the first financial instrument with a third primary account number, wherein the second primary account number for the second financial instrument is unchanged; and in response to the second financial instrument being lost or compromised, reissuing, the second financial instrument with a fourth primary account number, wherein the first primary account number for the first financial instrument is unchanged” are still simply reciting issuing and replacing account credentials. The abstract idea falls under “certain methods of organizing human activity” classified under “fundamental economic principles or practices” because the claims involve a series of steps for creating or issuing a plurality of accounts with an customer identifier and reissuing or replacing accounts in response to an account being either compromised or lost. Also the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the use of a payment device or a customer electronic device, a financial institution electronic device, a chip on the first financial instrument and an electronic wallet are used as tools to perform an abstract idea and/or generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment. The use of a payment device or a customer electronic device, a financial institution electronic device, a chip on the first financial instrument and an electronic wallet to implement the abstract idea does not render the claim patent eligible because it requires no more than a computer performing functions that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea. The amended limitations do not reflect any improvement to the technology other than simply using the recited technology to implement the concept of issuing and replacing account credentials.
In response to the Applicant’s arguments under 35 USC 103, Applicant argues that the proposed combination of references does not disclose the elements of Claim 1, specifically, "issuing, by a financial institution computer program for a financial institution, “a first financial instrument to a customer, wherein the first financial instrument is a numberless physical financial instrument having a first primary account number, the first primary account number stored in a chip on the first financial instrument, wherein the first financial instrument is restricted to in-person transactions" nor the "receiving, by the financial institution computer program, a personal identification number for the first financial instrument or the second financial instrument" and "assigning, by the financial institution computer program, the personal identification number to both the first financial instrument and the second financial instrument."
Examiner respectfully disagrees as the primary reference Harkey discloses the concept of restoring a modified token or reissuing an unfettered token for use in a financial transaction. Harkey discloses in paragraph 0059 that a financial institution initially issues a primary instrument such as a bank card issued by a bank which a customer may use to perform purchase transactions or the payment vehicle can be a virtual debit card housed in a mobile device of the customer, which can be used to electronically interact with an automated teller machine (ATM) or the like to perform financial transactions. Also, paragraphs ¶0093-¶0095 discloses how the “authentication information such as a PIN code can be received by the system is received.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In the instant case, claims 1-3 are directed to a method, claims 16-18 are directed to a system and claims 19-21 are directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium. Therefore, these claims fall within the four statutory categories of invention.
The claims recite issuing and replacing account credentials which is an abstract idea. Specifically, the claim recites “issuing a first financial instrument to a customer, wherein the first financial instrument is a numberless physical financial instrument having a first primary account number, the first primary account number stored on the first financial instrument, wherein the first financial instrument is restricted to in-person transactions; issuing a second financial instrument to a wallet for the customer …, wherein the second financial instrument has a second primary account number that is different from the first primary account number; receiving a personal identification number for the first financial instrument or the second financial instrument; assigning the personal identification number to both the first financial instrument or the second financial instrument; receiving a notification that the first financial instrument or the second financial instrument has been lost or compromised; in response to the first financial instrument being lost or compromised, reissuing, the first financial instrument with a third primary account number, wherein the second primary account number for the second financial instrument is unchanged; and in response to the second financial instrument being lost or compromised, reissuing, the second financial instrument with a fourth primary account number, wherein the first primary account number for the first financial instrument is unchanged.” which is grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas in prong one of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test, classified under “fundamental economic principles or practices” classified under “mitigating risk” (See MPEP 2106, specifically 2106.04(a)) because – for example, in this case, the claims involve a series of steps for creating or issuing a plurality of accounts with an customer identifier and reissuing or replacing accounts in response to an account being either compromised or lost. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea (See MPEP 2106, specifically 2106.04(a)).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements of the claims such as the use of a payment device or a customer electronic device, a financial institution electronic device, a chip on the first financial instrument and an electronic wallet as tools to perform an abstract idea and/or generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment (See MPEP 2106, specifically 2106.04(d)). [The use of a payment device or a customer electronic device, a financial institution electronic device, a chip on the first financial instrument and an electronic wallet to implement the abstract idea and/or generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment] does not render the claim patent eligible because it requires no more than a computer performing functions that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea. Specifically, the payment device or a customer electronic device, a financial institution electronic device, a chip on the first financial instrument and an electronic wallet perform the steps or functions of “issuing a first financial instrument to a customer, wherein the first financial instrument is a numberless physical financial instrument having a first primary account number, the first primary account number stored on the first financial instrument, wherein the first financial instrument is restricted to in-person transactions; issuing a second financial instrument to a wallet for the customer …, wherein the second financial instrument has a second primary account number that is different from the first primary account number; receiving a personal identification number for the first financial instrument or the second financial instrument; assigning the personal identification number to both the first financial instrument or the second financial instrument; receiving a notification that the first financial instrument or the second financial instrument has been lost or compromised; in response to the first financial instrument being lost or compromised, reissuing, the first financial instrument with a third primary account number, wherein the second primary account number for the second financial instrument is unchanged; and in response to the second financial instrument being lost or compromised, reissuing, the second financial instrument with a fourth primary account number, wherein the first primary account number for the first financial instrument is unchanged.”. The additional claim elements are not indicative of integration into a practical application, because the claims do not involve improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)), the claims do not apply the abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)), the claims do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP 2106.05(c)), and the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo). Therefore, the claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of a computer. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when analyzed under step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test (See MPEP 2106, specifically 2106.05), the additional elements of a payment device or a customer electronic device, a financial institution electronic device, a chip on the first financial instrument and an electronic wallet, to perform the steps amounts to no more than using payment device or a customer electronic device, a financial institution electronic device, a chip on the first financial instrument and an electronic wallet to automate and/or implement the abstract idea of issuing and replacing account credentials. As discussed above, taking the claim elements separately, the payment device or a customer electronic device, a financial institution electronic device, a chip on the first financial instrument and an electronic wallet performs the steps of Claim 1. These functions correspond to the actions required to perform the abstract idea. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims merely recite the concept of issuing and replacing account credentials. Therefore, the use of these additional elements does no more than employ the computer as a tool to automate and/or implement the abstract idea. The use of a payment device or a customer electronic device, a financial institution electronic device, a chip on the first financial instrument and an electronic wallet to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims describe receiving a PIN, assigning the personal identification number to both the first financial instrument and the second financial instrument and receiving and assigning, by the financial institution computer program, a changed personal identification number for one of the first financial instrument and the second financial instrument further describing the abstract idea of issuing and replacing account credentials. The dependent claims do not include additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or that provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the dependent claims are also not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claims 1-3 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harkey et al. (US 2015/0254646 A1) in view of RULE et al. (US 2020/0184462 A1)
Regarding Claims 1, 16 and 19, Harkey discloses a method for payment device issuance, lifecycle management, and use, comprising:
issuing, by a financial institution computer program for a financial institution, a first financial instrument to a customer, wherein the first financial instrument is a numberless physical financial instrument having a first primary account number, the first primary account number stored in a chip on the first financial instrument, wherein the first financial instrument is restricted to in-person transactions (¶0059, ¶0060, ¶0071)
issuing, by the financial institution computer program, a second financial instrument to an electronic wallet for the customer as a digital financial instrument, wherein the second financial instrument has a second primary account number that is different from the first primary account number (¶0028, ¶0031)
receiving, by the financial institution computer program, a personal identification number for the first financial instrument or the second financial instrument (¶0093-¶0095 “authentication information such as a PIN code can be received by the system”)
assigning, by the financial institution computer program, the personal identification number to both the first financial instrument and the second financial instrument; (¶0028, ¶0031)
receiving, by the financial institution computer program, a notification that the first financial instrument or the second financial instrument has been lost or compromised (¶0061-¶0064)
in response to the first financial instrument being lost or compromised, reissuing, by the financial institution computer program, the first financial instrument with a third primary account number, wherein the second primary account number for the second financial instrument is unchanged; and (¶0057, ¶0068, ¶0070-¶0073)
Harkey does not disclose: in response to the second financial instrument being lost or compromised, reissuing, by the financial institution computer program, the second financial instrument with a fourth primary account number, wherein the first primary account number for the first financial instrument is unchanged.
RULE however discloses:
in response to the second financial instrument being lost or compromised, reissuing, by the financial institution computer program, the second financial instrument with a fourth primary account number, wherein the first primary account number for the first financial instrument is unchanged (¶0032-¶0034, ¶0045
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the method of Harkey to include “in response to the second financial instrument being lost or compromised, reissuing, by the financial institution computer program, the second financial instrument with a fourth primary account number, wherein the first primary account number for the first financial instrument is unchanged”, as disclosed in RULE, in order to provide a system for reissuing or otherwise altering information stored on contactless cards (see RULE ¶0002).
Regarding Claims 2, 17 and 20, Harker discloses
receiving, by the financial institution computer program, a changed personal identification number for one of the first financial instrument and the second financial instrument; and (¶0031)
assigning, by the financial institution computer program, the changed personal identification number to both the first financial instrument and the second financial instrument (¶0028, ¶0031)
Regarding Claims 3, 18 and 21, the combination of Harkey and RULE discloses the invention as above.
RULE further discloses wherein the first financial instrument and the second financial instrument are associated with a logical financial instrument identifier (¶0034)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the method of Harkey to include “wherein the first financial instrument and the second financial instrument are associated with a logical financial instrument identifier”, as disclosed in RULE, in order to provide a system for reissuing or otherwise altering information stored on contactless cards (see RULE ¶0002).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZEHRA RAZA/Examiner, Art Unit 3697
/JOHN W HAYES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3697