Claims 1-6 and 9-10 have been amended.
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 8/14/2026 have been considered.
With respect to arguments regarding double patenting, the arguments are persuasive, and the double patenting rejection is withdrawn in view of the amendments.
With respect to arguments regarding 112(f), the arguments are persuasive, and the 112(f) interpretations are withdrawn in view of the amendments.
With respect to arguments regarding 112(b), the arguments are persuasive, and the 112(b) rejections are withdrawn in view of the amendments.
With respect to arguments regarding 101, the arguments are persuasive, and the 101 rejections are withdrawn in view of the amendments.
With respect to arguments regarding 103, these arguments are moot in view of the new grounds for rejection.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: "soring instructions" should be "storing instructions". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 9, and 10 recite the feature, “wherein, in a case where the length of the password input by the user does not satisfy the minimum password length, the instructions cause the image forming apparatus to request display of the screen in which the password strength meter remains in an initial display state without indicating the strength level of the password input by the user, an error message indicating that the password is too short is displayed, and an operation for completing registration or editing of the password is disabled.”
The specification is devoid of adequate subject matter describing the claimed function. In particular, the specification does not describe that the operation for completing registration or editing the password is disabled as a result of the password length being too short. The specification only states that the operation for completing registration or editing the password is disabled when the strength of the password is calculated and determined to be too weak, but also that the calculation does not occur until the minimum length of the password is reached.
Paragraph [0068] states, “In a case where the setting of the minimum password length is ON (YES in step S802), the processing proceeds to step S803. In step S803, the user authentication service 303 checks whether the length of the input password is the length in the setting of the "Minimum password length" setting 433 or more. In a case where the setting is not satisfied (NO in step S803), the processing proceeds to step S808. In step S808, the user authentication service 303 notifies the local UI 301 that the password length is too short. Upon receiving the notification indicating that the password length is too short, the local UI 301 displays an error message indicating that the password is too short, in the text area 713 as illustrated in a display content 902. At this time, the display of the meter 712 remains in the initial state.” Paragraph [0069] states, “there is a case where the password minimum length is defined from the beginning, and the system of the password strength meter is introduced later. In such a case, the user authentication service 303 checks first whether the setting of the password minimum length is satisfied, because calculating the password strength becomes worthless in a case where the predefined password minimum length value is not satisfied.” Paragraph [0070] states, “In a case where the setting of the password minimum length is disabled (OFF) in step S802 (NO in step S802) or the setting of the password minimum length is satisfied in step S803 (YES in step S803), the processing proceeds to step S804. In step S804, the user authentication service 303 calculates the password strength of the input password by the password strength calculation unit 306…the user authentication service 303 notifies the local UI 301 that the strength does not satisfy the required strength level. Upon receiving the notification indicating that the strength doesnot satisfy the required strength level, the local UI 301 displays a display content 904. The meter 712 displays the strength level of the input password, but the strength level is expressed using an error display and/or a color display that are different from the appropriate state. The text area 713 displays a message indicating that the strength is not enough. At this time, the "Next" button 714 is grayed out and cannot be pressed.” Since it is only stated that the “next button” is greyed out when the strength is too low, it is unclear whether or not it is also the case before the strength is calculated at all.
Claims 2-8 depend on claim 1, therefore they inherit this rejection.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the feature “the instructions” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waltermann (US 20150067760 A1, hereinafter referred to as Waltermann) in view of Nakagawa (US 20180376029 A1, hereinafter referred to as Nakagawa) in further view of Himberger (US 20090313696 A1, hereinafter referred to as Himberger).
Regarding claim 1, Waltermann discloses: An [image forming] apparatus configured to register a password of a user [who uses an image forming function], and/or edit the password (Waltermann: Paragraph [0049] states, "a user may be creating a user account on a website, which may require the user to enter a username and a password associated with the user account." Paragraph [0056] states, "the password manipulation module 204 may change the password "sally" to "1s@3$D5b 7&8(", "Qs1w2G dO9ci*", or the like."), but fails to explicitly disclose: image forming apparatus…a user who uses an image forming function.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nakagawa discloses: image forming apparatus…a user who uses an image forming function (Nakagawa: Paragraph [0023] states, "a user manipulates these screens to operate the image forming apparatus 20." Paragraph [0021] states, "An image forming apparatus 20, which is an example of an information processing apparatus according to an exemplary embodiment of the invention, has an image forming function of forming an image on a sheet, a scan function of reading a document, a copy function, a fax sending-and-receiving function, a photo-taking function, and so on.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Waltermann and include the above limitation with the teaching of Nakagawa in order "for making a request to approve execution of setting changing processing for changing a setting of the information processing apparatus" and an image forming apparatus is an example of an information processing apparatus (Nakagawa: Abstract and paragraph [0021]).
This motivation applies to the remainder of the claim.
Waltermann further discloses: at least one processor (Waltermann: Paragraph [0037] states, "Aspects of the embodiments are described below with reference to schematic flowchart diagrams and/or schematic block diagrams of methods, apparatuses, systems, and program products according to embodiments. It will be understood that each block of the schematic flowchart diagrams and/or schematic block diagrams, and combinations of blocks in the schematic flowchart diagrams and/or schematic block diagrams, can be implemented by machine readable code. These machine readable code may be provided to a processor of a general purpose computer, special purpose computer, or other programmable data processing apparatus to produce a machine, such that the instructions, which execute via the processor of the computer or other programmable data processing apparatus, create means for implementing the functions/acts specified in the schematic flowchart diagrams and/or schematic block diagrams block or blocks."); and at least one memory soring instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Waltermann: Paragraph [0037] states, "Aspects of the embodiments are described below with reference to schematic flowchart diagrams and/or schematic block diagrams of methods, apparatuses, systems, and program products according to embodiments. It will be understood that each block of the schematic flowchart diagrams and/or schematic block diagrams, and combinations of blocks in the schematic flowchart diagrams and/or schematic block diagrams, can be implemented by machine readable code. These machine readable code may be provided to a processor of a general purpose computer, special purpose computer, or other programmable data processing apparatus to produce a machine, such that the instructions, which execute via the processor of the computer or other programmable data processing apparatus, create means for implementing the functions/acts specified in the schematic flowchart diagrams and/or schematic block diagrams block or blocks."), cause the image forming apparatus to: calculate a strength level of a password input by the user (Waltermann: Paragraph [0078] states, "as a user begins to type a password in the password entry field 402, the password reception module 202 may receive the characters as they are typed, the password manipulation module 204 may create one or more compliant passwords based on the typed characters in the password entry field 402, and the password presentation module 206 may present the list 408 of compliant passwords." Paragraph [0080] states, "the strength assignment module 304 calculates the strength of each compliant password in the list 604 and assigns a strength rating to each compliant password."); request a display of a screen including a password strength meter for indicating a strength level determined based on the calculated strength (Waltermann: Paragraph [0071] states, "the password presentation module 206 may present a color-coded strength meter associated with each compliant password based on the numerical strength rating determined by the strength assignment module 304. For example, a weak password may be displayed with a red mark whereas a strong password may be displayed with a green mark." Examiner's note: Fig. 9 shows the transmission of the strength rating from the strength assignment module for presentation by the presentation module which implicitly teaches a request unit requesting to display); set a required strength level of a password to be set on the [image forming] apparatus (Waltermann: Paragraph [0050] states, "the password reception module 202 checks if the password conforms to one or more requirements of a password policy. As used herein, a password policy is a set of rules designed to enhance computer security by specifying one or more requirements a password must conform to in order to be valid. The password policy, in certain embodiments, requires passwords to be a certain length, include both upper- and lower-case letters, include numerical characters, include special characters, exclude certain dictionary words, or the like. For example, a website may require users' passwords to start with a capital letter, include at least one number and one special character, and be at least 8 characters in length."); and set a minimum password length (Waltermann: Paragraph [0050] states, "the password reception module 202 checks if the password conforms to one or more requirements of a password policy. As used herein, a password policy is a set of rules designed to enhance computer security by specifying one or more requirements a password must conform to in order to be valid. The password policy, in certain embodiments, requires passwords to be a certain length, include both upper- and lower-case letters, include numerical characters, include special characters, exclude certain dictionary words, or the like. For example, a website may require users' passwords to start with a capital letter, include at least one number and one special character, and be at least 8 characters in length."), wherein the strength level determined based on the calculated strength level and the required strength level are compared to change a display content of the password strength meter based on a result of the comparison (Waltermann: Paragraph [0071] states, "the strength assignment module 304 may provide password strength ratings as a numerical value, such as a value between 1 and 100, where 1 is weak and 100 is strong. In other embodiments, the password presentation module 206 may present a color-coded strength meter associated with each compliant password based on the numerical strength rating determined by the strength assignment module 304. For example, a weak password may be displayed with a red mark whereas a strong password may be displayed with a green mark. In some embodiments, different shades of red, green, yellow, or the like, are used for compliant passwords of various strengths. In some embodiments, a compliant password with the weakest strength meets the minimum requirements of the password policy."),wherein, before calculating the strength level of the password input by the user, the instructions cause the [image forming] apparatus to determine whether a length of the password input by the user satisfies the minimum password length (Waltermann: Paragraph [0069] states, "The strength of a password may be dependent on the length, complexity, and unpredictability of the password." Examiner's note: if the strength depends on the length, the length was determined first.), but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein, in a case where the length of the password input by the user does not satisfy the minimum password length, the instructions cause the [image forming] apparatus to request display of the screen in which the password strength meter remains in an initial display state without indicating the strength level of the password input by the user, an error message indicating that the password is too short is displayed, and an operation for completing registration or editing of the password is disabled.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Himberger discloses: wherein, in a case where the length of the password input by the user does not satisfy the minimum password length, the instructions cause the [image forming] apparatus to request display of the screen in which the password strength meter remains in an initial display state without indicating the strength level of the password input by the user (Himberger: Paragraph [0027] states, "Password interface 110 can include label 111, which can display a required password score, or range, for the password to be acceptable by server device 114. It is contemplated that the required password score or range can be user configurable and can vary per embodiment. Control 112 can display a password strength score pertaining to the typed password. The password strength score can raise or lower in real-time as the password is modified by the user." Paragraph [0033] states, "it can be configured that the length of the password can be the most important factor when calculating a password strength score (i.e. if the password is shorter than a certain length, the score defaults to 0)." Examiner's note: the password strength score display that is changing in real time is mapped to the strength meter and it stays at 0, the initial display state, when the password does not meet the minimum length requirement.), an error message indicating that the password is too short is displayed (Himberger: Paragraph [0027] states, "Password interface 110 can include label 111, which can display a required password score, or range, for the password to be acceptable by server device 114. Control 112 can display a password strength score pertaining to the typed password. The password strength score can raise or lower in real-time as the password is modified by the user." Examiner's note: since the score stays at 0 until the minimum length requirement and changes in real time when the length reaches the minimum requirement, it is interpreted that the score displaying 0 is the indication to the user that the password is not long enough.), and an operation for completing registration or editing of the password is disabled (Himberger: Paragraph [0033] states, "it can be configured that the length of the password can be the most important factor when calculating a password strength score (i.e. if the password is shorter than a certain length, the score defaults to 0)." Paragraph [0039] states, "Method 400 can begin in step 402, where a user can interact with an application and provide a password for an account…These comparisons, along with others, can allow the computation of a password strength score. This score can be compared to a preconfigured threshold of acceptable password scores. If in step 412, the password has reached an acceptable score, method 400 can continue to and complete in step 414, where the password can be accepted. If in step 412, the password has not reached an acceptable score, method 400 can continue to step 416, where the password can be rejected. In step 418, the user can be prompted to enter a new password, as the previous one can be too insecure. Method 400 can return to step 402 and repeat, where the user can interact with the application and provide a password for an account." Examiner's note: since the strength score of the password remains 0 until the minimum length is met and the strength score remains 0 until the minimum length requirement is met, it is interpreted that if the user password that does not meet the minimum requirement, the user will not be able to complete the registration process until an acceptable password is provided.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Waltermann as modified by Nakagawa and include the above limitation with the teaching of Himberger in order to "allow for stricter and more secure password guidelines" (Himberger: Paragraph [0008]).
Waltermann further discloses: and wherein, in a case where the length of the password input by the user satisfies the minimum password length, the instructions cause the [image forming] apparatus to calculate the strength level of the password input by the user, and change the display content of the password strength meter based on the result of the comparison between the calculated strength level and the required strength level (Waltermann: Paragraph [0050] states, "the password reception module 202 checks if the password conforms to one or more requirements of a password policy. As used herein, a password policy is a set of rules designed to enhance computer security by specifying one or more requirements a password must conform to in order to be valid. The password policy, in certain embodiments, requires passwords to be a certain length, include both upper- and lower-case letters, include numerical characters, include special characters, exclude certain dictionary words, or the like. For example, a website may require users' passwords to start with a capital letter, include at least one number and one special character, and be at least 8 characters in length." Paragraph [0069] states, "The strength of a password may be dependent on the length, complexity, and unpredictability of the password." Paragraph [0071] states, "the strength assignment module 304 may provide password strength ratings as a numerical value, such as a value between 1 and 100, where 1 is weak and 100 is strong. In other embodiments, the password presentation module 206 may present a color-coded strength meter associated with each compliant password based on the numerical strength rating determined by the strength assignment module 304. For example, a weak password may be displayed with a red mark whereas a strong password may be displayed with a green mark. In some embodiments, different shades of red, green, yellow, or the like, are used for compliant passwords of various strengths. In some embodiments, a compliant password with the weakest strength meets the minimum requirements of the password policy."), but fails to explicitly disclose: image forming apparatus.
However, Nakagawa further discloses: image forming apparatus (Nakagawa: Paragraph [0023] states, "a user manipulates these screens to operate the image forming apparatus 20.").
Claims 9 and 10 recite features similar to those in claim 1, therefore they are rejected in a similar manner.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waltermann (US 20150067760 A1, hereinafter referred to as Waltermann) in view of Nakagawa (US 20180376029 A1, hereinafter referred to as Nakagawa) in further view of Himberger (US 20090313696 A1, hereinafter referred to as Himberger) in further view of Hwang (US 20200134168 A1, hereinafter referred to as Hwang).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Waltermann as modified by Nakagawa and Himberger discloses: The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the instructions cause the image forming apparatus to request a display unit of the [image forming] apparatus to display a screen of a software keyboard [including the password strength meter].
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hwang discloses: wherein the instructions cause the image forming apparatus to request a display unit of the [image forming] apparatus to display a screen of a software keyboard [including the password strength meter] (Hwang: Paragraph [0041] states, "the user interface driver 304 may provide a keypad matrix layout or a keyboard matrix layout on the touch screen display in response to a user's request.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Waltermann as modified by Nakagawa and Himberger and include the above limitation with the teaching of Hwang in order "to improve password security assigned to a user" (Hwang: abstract).
Hwang fails to explicitly disclose: image forming apparatus to display a screen…including the password strength meter.
However, Waltermann further discloses: [image forming] apparatus to display a screen…including the password strength meter (Waltermann: Paragraph [0071] states, "the password presentation module 206 may present a color-coded strength meter associated with each compliant password based on the numerical strength rating determined by the strength assignment module 304. For example, a weak password may be displayed with a red mark whereas a strong password may be displayed with a green mark."), but fails to explicitly disclose: image forming apparatus.
However, Nakagawa further discloses: image forming apparatus (Nakagawa: Paragraph [0023] states, "a user manipulates these screens to operate the image forming apparatus 20.").
The same motivation to modify with Nakagawa, as in claim 1, applies.
Claim(s) 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waltermann (US 20150067760 A1, hereinafter referred to as Waltermann) in view of Nakagawa (US 20180376029 A1, hereinafter referred to as Nakagawa) in further view of Himberger (US 20090313696 A1, hereinafter referred to as Himberger) in further view of Hwang (US 20200134168 A1, hereinafter referred to as Hwang) in further view of Mori (US 20120268784 A1, hereinafter referred to as Mori).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Waltermann as modified by Nakagawa, Himberger, and Hwang discloses: The image forming apparatus according to claim 2, but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the instructions cause the image forming apparatus to request a display unit of an external apparatus to display a HyperText Markup Language (HTML) screen including the password strength meter.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Mori discloses: wherein the instructions cause the image forming apparatus to request a display unit of an external apparatus to display a HyperText Markup Language (HTML) screen [including the password strength meter] (Mori: Paragraph [0070] states, "when the Web application 410 sends the sequence setting, the script instruction, and the response including screen display data to the Web browser 420, the Web browser 420 displays an HTML screen according to the response concerned.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Waltermann as modified by Nakagawa, Himberger, and Hwang and include the above limitation with the teaching of Mori in order to control "a screen appropriately even when a screen is switched while processing a job" (Mori: abstract).
Mori fails to explicitly disclose: display a…screen including the password strength meter.
However, Waltermann discloses: display a…screen including the password strength meter (Waltermann: Paragraph [0071] states, "the password presentation module 206 may present a color-coded strength meter associated with each compliant password based on the numerical strength rating determined by the strength assignment module 304. For example, a weak password may be displayed with a red mark whereas a strong password may be displayed with a green mark.").
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Waltermann as modified by Nakagawa, Hwang, Himberger, and Mori discloses: The image forming apparatus according to claim 3.
Waltermann further discloses: wherein the instructions cause the image forming apparatus to acquire the password input via the screen displayed on the display unit of the [image forming] apparatus or via the HTML screen displayed on the display unit of the external apparatus, and calculate the strength level of the acquired password after determining that a length of the acquired password satisfies the minimum password length (Waltermann: Paragraph [0078] states, "as a user begins to type a password in the password entry field 402, the password reception module 202 may receive the characters as they are typed, the password manipulation module 204 may create one or more compliant passwords based on the typed characters in the password entry field 402, and the password presentation module 206 may present the list 408 of compliant passwords." Paragraph [0080] states, "the strength assignment module 304 calculates the strength of each compliant password in the list 604 and assigns a strength rating to each compliant password." Paragraph [0050] states, "the password reception module 202 checks if the password conforms to one or more requirements of a password policy. As used herein, a password policy is a set of rules designed to enhance computer security by specifying one or more requirements a password must conform to in order to be valid. The password policy, in certain embodiments, requires passwords to be a certain length, include both upper- and lower-case letters, include numerical characters, include special characters, exclude certain dictionary words, or the like. For example, a website may require users' passwords to start with a capital letter, include at least one number and one special character, and be at least 8 characters in length." Paragraph [0069] states, "The strength of a password may be dependent on the length, complexity, and unpredictability of the password."), but fails to explicitly disclose: image forming apparatus.
However, Nakagawa further discloses: image forming apparatus (Nakagawa: Paragraph [0023] states, "a user manipulates these screens to operate the image forming apparatus 20.").
The same motivation to modify with Nakagawa, as in claim 1, applies.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Waltermann as modified by Nakagawa, Himberger, Hwang, and Mori discloses: The image forming apparatus according to claim 4.
Waltermann further discloses: wherein the instructions cause the image forming apparatus to provide a display request of the screen including the password strength meter indicating as a display content that the password is appropriate, in a case where the password satisfies the required strength level as the result of the comparison of the strength level determined based on the calculated strength level and the required strength level (Waltermann: Paragraph [0071] states, "the strength assignment module 304 may provide password strength ratings as a numerical value, such as a value between 1 and 100, where 1 is weak and 100 is strong. In other embodiments, the password presentation module 206 may present a color-coded strength meter associated with each compliant password based on the numerical strength rating determined by the strength assignment module 304. For example, a weak password may be displayed with a red mark whereas a strong password may be displayed with a green mark. In some embodiments, different shades of red, green, yellow, or the like, are used for compliant passwords of various strengths. In some embodiments, a compliant password with the weakest strength meets the minimum requirements of the password policy.").
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Waltermann as modified by Nakagawa, Himberger, Hwang, and Mori discloses: The image forming apparatus according to claim 5.
Waltermann further discloses: wherein the instructions cause the image forming apparatus to provide a display request of the screen including the password strength meter indicating as a display content that the password is not appropriate, in a case where the password does not satisfy the required strength level as the result of the comparison of the strength level determined based on the calculated strength level and required strength level (Waltermann: Paragraph [0071] states, "the strength assignment module 304 may provide password strength ratings as a numerical value, such as a value between 1 and 100, where 1 is weak and 100 is strong. In other embodiments, the password presentation module 206 may present a color-coded strength meter associated with each compliant password based on the numerical strength rating determined by the strength assignment module 304. For example, a weak password may be displayed with a red mark whereas a strong password may be displayed with a green mark. In some embodiments, different shades of red, green, yellow, or the like, are used for compliant passwords of various strengths. In some embodiments, a compliant password with the weakest strength meets the minimum requirements of the password policy.").
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Waltermann as modified by Nakagawa, Himberger, Hwang, and Mori discloses: The image forming apparatus according to claim 6.
Waltermann further discloses: wherein the display content of the password strength meter indicating that the password is not appropriate is expressed by an error display and/or a color display (Waltermann: Paragraph [0071] states, "the strength assignment module 304 may provide password strength ratings as a numerical value, such as a value between 1 and 100, where 1 is weak and 100 is strong. In other embodiments, the password presentation module 206 may present a color-coded strength meter associated with each compliant password based on the numerical strength rating determined by the strength assignment module 304. For example, a weak password may be displayed with a red mark whereas a strong password may be displayed with a green mark. In some embodiments, different shades of red, green, yellow, or the like, are used for compliant passwords of various strengths. In some embodiments, a compliant password with the weakest strength meets the minimum requirements of the password policy.").
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waltermann (US 20150067760 A1, hereinafter referred to as Waltermann) in view of Nakagawa (US 20180376029 A1, hereinafter referred to as Nakagawa) in further view of Himberger (US 20090313696 A1, hereinafter referred to as Himberger) in further view of Takeda (US 20080028451 A1, hereinafter referred to as Takeda).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Waltermann as modified by Nakagawa and Himberger discloses: The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose: The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the screen including the password strength meter is displayed before a menu screen for selecting the image forming function is displayed, in a case where the password is changed when the user logs in to the image forming apparatus.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Takeda discloses: The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose: The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the screen [including the password strength meter] is displayed before a menu screen for selecting the [image forming] function is displayed, in a case where the password is changed when the user logs in to the [image forming] apparatus (Takeda: Paragraph [0068] states, "the display unit 14 is sequentially switched to a password function setting screen as shown in (b) of FIG. 9, a security level setting screen as shown in (c) of FIG. 9 and a password change screen as shown in (d) of FIG. 9 each time the predetermined (e.g., downward) direction key 15c of the control panel 16 attached to the attachment portion 17 or the predetermined (e.g., downward) direction key 22c of the remote controller 22 is operated, and the display unit 14 again returns to the top menu screen shown in (a) of FIG. 9." Paragraph [0074] states, "assume that the password change screen shown in (d) of FIG. 9 has been selected and decided. In this password change screen, an item is displayed to set a four-digit numerical password. In this case, the user operates the ten-key pad 22e of the remote controller 22 to input four numbers, and operates the decision key 22d, such that the password can be changed." Examiner's note: Since the changing of the screen and the changing of the password happens when the remote controller is operated, it is interpreted that when the password gets changed, the change password screen remains before switching back to the menu screen that holds the password functions.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the teaching of Waltermann as modified by Nakagawa and Himberger and include the above limitation with the teaching of Takeda in order for the image forming apparatus to be "sufficiently protected against theft, unauthorized use, etc. with a simple configuration, and increases the degree of freedom of handling for an owner to be suitable for practical use" (Takeda: Paragraph [0063]).
Takeda fails to explicitly disclose: the screen including the password strength meter is displayed…image forming function…image forming apparatus.
However, Waltermann further discloses: the screen including the password strength meter is displayed[…image forming function…image forming apparatus] (Waltermann: Paragraph [0071] states, "the password presentation module 206 may present a color-coded strength meter associated with each compliant password based on the numerical strength rating determined by the strength assignment module 304. For example, a weak password may be displayed with a red mark whereas a strong password may be displayed with a green mark."), but fails to explicitly disclose: image forming function…image forming apparatus.
However, Nakagawa further discloses: image forming function…image forming apparatus (Nakagawa: Paragraph [0023] states, "a user manipulates these screens to operate the image forming apparatus 20." Paragraph [0021] states, "An image forming apparatus 20, which is an example of an information processing apparatus according to an exemplary embodiment of the invention, has an image forming function of forming an image on a sheet, a scan function of reading a document, a copy function, a fax sending-and-receiving function, a photo-taking function, and so on.").
The same motivation to modify with Nakagawa, as in claim 1, applies.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHREYAJ RAM BHANDARI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2434
/NOURA ZOUBAIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434