Claim Interpretation
The following limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses means or a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the means or generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Although the phrase “expansion device” combines the nonce term “device” with the function of “expansion” the phrase is not interpreted under 35 USC §112(f) as it is considered to have sufficiently definite meaning in the art corresponding to a structure. MPEP 2181
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the refrigerant conduit is affixed to an exterior surface of the phase change evaporator housing” of claim 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: [0038] recites “stion principles and systems”; the meaning of “stion” is unclear.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 9 recite “the expansion device” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 8 recites “a fan” which lacks antecedent basis to the same in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James (US 6,067,815) in view of Beyne et al (“Experimental investigation of solidification in metal foam enhanced phase change material” 2017).
Regarding claim 25, James discloses an evaporator (130) for a refrigeration system comprising a compressor (211), a condenser (212) and an expansion valve (4:63), the evaporator (130) comprising a refrigerant conduit (160) in thermal contact with the phase change material.
James lacks an open cell heat conductive metal foam and a phase change material embedded within the cells of the open cell heat conductive metal foam. Beyne an open cell heat conductive metal foam and a phase change material embedded within the cells of the open cell heat conductive metal foam. It would have been obvious to have provided James with an open cell heat conductive foam having PCM embedded within the cells thereof in order to enhance heat transfer.
Claim(s) 1-6, 10, 15-16, 19-20, and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James (US 6,067,815), in view of Beyne et al (“Experimental investigation of solidification in metal foam enhanced phase change material” 2017), and in further view of Negishi (US 4,951,481).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, James discloses a refrigeration system, comprising:
a refrigeration compartment (110);
a phase change evaporator (130) in thermal contact with the refrigeration compartment, the phase change evaporator comprising a housing containing a phase change material (155) and a refrigerant conduit (160), the refrigerant conduit containing a refrigerant fluid;
a compressor (211) and a condenser (212) in refrigerant fluid communication with the refrigerant conduit of the phase change evaporator.
James lacks an open cell heat conductive metal foam and a phase change material embedded within the cells of the open cell heat conductive metal foam. Beyne an open cell heat conductive metal foam and a phase change material embedded within the cells of the open cell heat conductive metal foam. It would have been obvious to have provided James with an open cell heat conductive foam having PCM embedded within the cells thereof in order to enhance heat transfer.
James lacks a fan as claimed. Negishi discloses a fan (13) designated for enforced heat transfer between the phase change evaporator (24) and the refrigeration compartment air. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided James with a fan as taught by Negishi in order to enhance heat transfer.
Regarding claim 2, James as modified discloses the refrigeration system of claim 1, but is silent concerning a specific target temperature and a phase change temperature. The examiner takes official notice that refrigerators and freezers are known to have target temperatures (e.g. 1-3°C and -18°C). The examiner also takes official notice that it is known to provide a PCM’s phase change temperature to near a target temperature, e.g. within 5°C. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided James with target temperatures for the refrigerator and freezer spaces in order to maintain food safe temperatures and moreover to have provided the PCM composition to have a phase change temperature within 5°C of said target temperature in order to utilize the high capacity of phase transformation to remove heat from the storage space.
Regarding claims 3 and 20, James as modified discloses the refrigeration system of claim 1, wherein the refrigeration system is a freezer/refrigerator comprising a freezer refrigeration compartment with a freezer phase change evaporator (130) and a fresh food refrigeration compartment with a fresh food phase change evaporator (170), the freezer phase change evaporator in the freezer refrigeration compartment having a freezer phase change material in the open cell heat conductive metal foam of the freezer phase change evaporator, and the fresh food compartment having a fresh food phase change material in the open cell heat conductive metal foam of the fresh food phase change evaporator (both evaporators 130 and 170 modified as consistent with the discussion at claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, James as modified discloses the refrigeration system of claim 3, wherein the freezer refrigeration compartment comprises a fan designated for heat transfer between the freezer phase change evaporator and the freezer refrigeration compartment, and the fresh food compartment comprises a fan designated for heat transfer between the fresh food phase change evaporator and the fresh food compartment (both chambers provided with a fan consistent with the discussion at claim 1).
Regarding claims 5 and 23, James as modified discloses the refrigeration system of claim 3, but is silent concerning a specific target temperature and a phase change temperature for the fresh oof and freezer compartments. Though James does state the units are maintained in order to maintain target temperatures (4:38-42). The examiner takes official notice that refrigerators and freezers are known to have target temperatures (e.g. 1-3°C and -18°C). The examiner also takes official notice that it is known to provide a PCM’s phase change temperature to near a target temperature, e.g. within 5°C. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided James with target temperatures for the refrigerator and freezer spaces in order to maintain food safe temperatures and moreover to have provided the PCM composition to have a phase change temperature within 5°C of said target temperature in order to utilize the high capacity of phase transformation to remove heat from the storage space.
Regarding claim 6, James discloses the refrigeration system of claim 3, wherein the freezer phase change evaporator comprises a freezer refrigerant conduit (160) and the fresh food phase change evaporator comprises a fresh food refrigerant conduit (195), and wherein circulating refrigerant passes first through the freezer refrigerant conduit and then through the fresh food refrigerant conduit (the refrigerant cycle is a closed loop, refrigerant passes through both evaporators in repeated sequence).
Regarding claim 10, James discloses the refrigeration system of claim 1, wherein the refrigerant conduit is provided within the evaporator unit housing (shown in at least figures 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 15, James as modified discloses the refrigeration system of claim 1, but is silent concerning the refrigerant type. The examiner takes official notice that HFO-1234ze and HFO-1234yf are both old and well known. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided James with HFO-1234ze or HFO-1234yf as the refrigerant in order to utilize their characteristics, e.g. low GWP.
Regarding claim 19, James as modified discloses the method of claim 16, but lacks a temperature sensor for monitoring the temperature within the refrigeration compartment. Negishi discloses the step of monitoring the temperature in the refrigeration compartment with a temperature sensor (3:14-21). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided James with the temperature sensor of Negishi in order to monitor the system and provided control, e.g. operate the fan based on compartment temperature.
Regarding claim 24, James discloses the method of claim 20, wherein the freezer phase change evaporator comprises a freezer refrigerant conduit (160) and the fresh food phase change evaporator comprises a fresh food refrigerant conduit (195), and comprising the step of circulating refrigerant first through the freezer refrigerant conduit and then through the fresh food refrigerant conduit during the active cooling cycle (the cycle performs repeatedly thus over time circulation through one conduit occurs both before and after circulation through the other).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James (US 6,067,815), in view of Beyne et al (“Experimental investigation of solidification in metal foam enhanced phase change material” 2017), in view of Negishi (US 4,951,481), and in further view of Kim et al (US 6,758,053).
Regarding claim 7, James as modified discloses the refrigeration system of claim 3, comprising a three-way control valve (220/230), the three-way valve configured to switch operation between a plurality of modes.
James lacks the modes as claimed. Kim discloses a three-way control valve (308), the three-way valve configured to switch operation between a plurality of modes, wherein in the first mode of operation, refrigerant flows through the refrigerant conduit of the freezer phase change evaporator (206) and the three-way valve into the refrigerant conduit of the fresh foo phase change evaporator (208), and in the second mode of operation, refrigerant flows form the expansion device (302/304) into the three-way valve (308) and then into the refrigerant conduit of the fresh food phase change evaporator (208) providing an individually controllable flow of refrigerant through either the refresh food phase change evaporator or both of the freezer phase change evaporator and the refresh food phase change evaporator.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided James with the series arranged evaporators having a bypass as taught by Kim in order to allow simultaneous cooling of the evaporators.
Claim(s) 8 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James (US 6,067,815), in view of Beyne et al (“Experimental investigation of solidification in metal foam enhanced phase change material” 2017), in view of Negishi (US 4,951,481), and in further view of Laing (US 3,747,364).
Regarding claims 8, 17, and 18, James as modified discloses the refrigeration system of claim 1, including a processor (figures 9 and 10 provide for executed processes)but is silent concerning monitoring the time of day for off-peak hours, and operating the compressor only during off-peak hours. Laing discloses a storage refrigerator/freezer utilizing a PCM wherein the system operates the compressor only during off-peak hours (“The invention provides, as a special further instance of its application, the combination of the storage bodies with a refrigeration plant, whose rating is such that the refrigeration effect required in the course of a day can be produced basically during the off-peak night time period. This has the advantage that the "charging" takes place only during the cool hours of night, in which the Carnot efficiency is better than during the day, so that during normal operation less energy is consumed.” 3:7-15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided James with monitoring off-peak times such that the compressor operates only during off-peak times in order to increase efficiency.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James (US 6,067,815), in view of Beyne et al (“Experimental investigation of solidification in metal foam enhanced phase change material” 2017), in view of Negishi (US 4,951,481), in view of Laing (US 3,747,364), and in further view of Raufeisen et al (US 3,756,037).
Regarding claim 9, James as modified discloses the refrigeration system of claim 8, but lacks an array of defrosting heaters.
Raufeisen discloses eutectic refrigeration plates for a storage refrigerator/freezing including an array of defrosting heaters. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the hot gas defrosting of James for the electrical defrosting of Raufeisen in order to allow for defrosting of smaller portions of the system while others remain operating/cooling.
James discloses the processor connects to the compressor (compressor control steps shown in figure 9) is silent concerning the processor connecting to the condenser, the expansion valve, a fan, and defrosting heaters array in the refrigeration system. The examiner takes official notice that it is known to connect a processor to system components, whether to receive data from, provide instruction to, or both. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the processor of James in connection with the recited elements in order to enhance monitoring/control of the system.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James (US 6,067,815), in view of Beyne et al (“Experimental investigation of solidification in metal foam enhanced phase change material” 2017), in view of Negishi (US 4,951,481), and in further view of Jeong et al (US 10,782,060).
Regarding claim 11, James as modified discloses the refrigeration system of claim 1, but lacks the refrigerant conduit is affixed to an exterior surface of the PCM. Jeong discloses a PCM refrigerator/freezer wherein the refrigerant conduit (14; figure 6) is affixed to an exterior surface of the phase change evaporator housing as an alternative to the refrigerant conduit (24 of figure 11) being embedded within the PCM. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided James with the exterior surface mounted refrigeration conduit in order to form panels having a lower quantity of PCM and/or to simplify manufacture.
Claim(s) 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James (US 6,067,815), in view of Beyne et al (“Experimental investigation of solidification in metal foam enhanced phase change material” 2017), in view of Negishi (US 4,951,481), and in further view of Raufeisen et al (US 3,756,037).
Regarding claim 12, James as modified discloses the refrigeration system of claim 8, but lacks an array of defrosting heaters.
Raufeisen discloses eutectic refrigeration plates for a storage refrigerator/freezing including an array of defrosting heaters. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the hot gas defrosting of James for the electrical defrosting of Raufeisen within the refrigeration compartment in order to allow for defrosting of smaller portions of the system while others remain operating/cooling.
Regarding claim 14, James as modified discloses the refrigeration system of claim 12, wherein the defrosting heater array is affixed to an exterior surface of the phase change evaporator housing (shown in figure 2 of Raufeisen the heater 24 and 26 passes through the exterior surface of the PCM evaporator and is affixed thereto).
Claim(s) 13 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James (US 6,067,815), in view of Beyne et al (“Experimental investigation of solidification in metal foam enhanced phase change material” 2017), in view of Negishi (US 4,951,481), in view of Raufeisen et al (US 3,756,037), and in further view of Lim et al (US 8,405,009).
Regarding claim 13, James as modified discloses the refrigeration system of claim 12, but lacks polyimide. Lim discloses defrosting heater arrays comprises polyimide heater arrays (15:5-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided James with polyimide in order to protect the electric heater.
Regarding claims 21 and 22, James as modified discloses the method of claim 20 but lacks a defrost heater array at the freezer and fresh food PCM evaporators as claimed.
Raufeisen discloses eutectic refrigeration plates for a storage refrigerator/freezing including an array of defrosting heaters; wherein the defrosting heater array is affixed to an exterior surface of the phase change evaporator housing (shown in figure 2 of Raufeisen the heater 24 and 26 passes through the exterior surface of the PCM evaporator and is affixed thereto). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the hot gas defrosting of James for the electrical defrosting of Raufeisen within the refrigeration compartment in order to allow for defrosting of smaller portions of the system while others remain operating/cooling.
Lim discloses defrosting heater arrays comprises polyimide heater arrays (15:5-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided James with polyimide in order to protect the electric heater.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Van Halsema (US 12,560,367) metal foam PCM evaporator
Jeong et al (US 6,935,127) plural evaporator control valve
Chu et al (US 6,397,618) metal foam PCM evaporator
Okamura et al (US 6,003,320) metal foam PCM
Muffly (US 2,844,945) plural evaporator control valve
Youn et al (US 2007/0151289) plural evaporator control valve
Youn et al (US 2007/0068193) plural evaporator control valve
Nooli et al (US 12,135,161) defrosting plate evaporator
/CHRISTOPHER R ZERPHEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799