DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
1. This office action is in response to Applicant's submission filed on 02/25/2025. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-20 are currently pending and examined below.
Drawings
2. The drawings filed on 02/25/2025 have been accepted and considered by the Examiner.
Priority
3. The Applicants priority U.S. Provisional Application # 63/643,351, filed 6 May 2024, has been accepted and considered in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(2) The claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
4. Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (2) as being anticipated by Carmiel (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2025/0285640 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Carmiel teaches a method for automated content generation in a brand voice through machine learning, comprising determining brand voice attributes of a user of a software application based on data provided by the user, the brand voice attributes comprising a narrative brand voice description, one or more brand voice trait classifications and one or more writing style attributes (Paragraphs 4, 46, 47 and 72 teach a computer-implemented method of training a speech-to-speech machine learning model for adapting at least one voice attribute of speech. The voice attributes of speech could be pronunciation, accent, voice timbre, voice identity, emotion, and expressiveness. Applications of this method include adapting the voice identity of a user to the voice identity of a character during an online multi-participant game and consolidating brand identity by transform a customer care center agent's voice into a voice avatar that identifies the brand. Para 16, teaches input of the first audio content and text transcript of the first audio content and generates an outcome of word-level start and end time stamps);
generating, based on the determining of the brand voice attributes of the user, a prompt that instructs a generative language processing machine learning model to generate content according to the brand voice attributes of the user (Para 4, further teaches creating an S2S training dataset of a plurality of S2S records, wherein an S2S record comprises: a first audio content comprising speech having at least one first voice attribute, and a ground truth label of a second audio content comprising speech having at least one second voice attribute, wherein the first audio content and the second audio content have the same lexical content and are time-synchronized, and training the S2S ML model using the S2S training dataset);
providing the prompt to the generative language processing machine learning model (Para 4, further teaches that the S2S ML model is fed an input of a source audio content with at least one source voice attribute and generates an outcome of the source audio content with at least one target voice attribute);
receiving the content from the generative language processing machine learning model in response to the prompt (Para 4, further teaches generating an outcome of the source audio content with at least one target voice attribute);
and outputting the content for display via a user interface (Paragraphs 49, 71-77 and 111, teach that the audio output could be displayed as part of creating an immersive experience in virtual reality, video gaming, video communication or media content conversion etc.).
With regards to claim 2, Carmiel teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the determining of the one or more brand voice trait classifications comprises determining one or more of an emotion; a personality trait or an indicator of whether the user is associated with an expressive brand voice (Para 46, teaches a computer-implemented method of training a speech-to-speech machine learning model for adapting at least one voice attribute of speech. The voice attributes of speech could be pronunciation, accent, voice timbre, voice identity, emotion, and expressiveness).
With regards to claim 3, Carmiel teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the determining of the one or more writing style attributes comprises determining one or more of a sentence structure; a sentence length; a punctuation rule; a figure of speech; a format indicator; a point of view; a key word or an indicator of whether the user is associated with a declarative writing style (Para 16, teaches input of the first audio content and text transcript of the first audio content and generates an outcome of word-level start and end time stamps).
With regards to claim 4, Carmiel teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the determining of the brand voice attributes of the user based on the data provided by the user comprises receiving input specifying one or more of the brand voice attributes via the user interface (Paragraphs 71-78, teach adapting one or more voice attributes of a user using at least some implementations described herein include: Content Creators converting media content such as Audio, Video with user's speech into another voice. It may also neutralize the accent to improve the reception of the target audience. The content can be for an individual or for an Enterprise. Service Agents can transform a non-native service agent voice for a Call Center, Customer Success Manager, IT Support, etc. to a native voice. Sales Development Representative can transform a non-native sales agent voice to a native voice. Consolidating Brand Identity by transforming a customer care center agent's voice into a voice avatar that identifies the brand. Users' can transform their voices in online video games to resemble the character they are playing or to mask their identity. Users can also transform their voices in a virtual reality environment to allow full personalization of their virtual avatars).
With regards to claim 5, Carmiel teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the determining of the brand voice attributes of the user based on the data provided by the user comprises inferring one or more of the brand voice attributes based on a user attribute associated with the user (Paragraphs 71-78, teach adapting one or more voice attributes of a user using at least some implementations described herein include: Content Creators converting media content such as Audio, Video with user's speech into another voice. It may also neutralize the accent to improve the reception of the target audience. The content can be for an individual or for an Enterprise. Service Agents can transform a non-native service agent voice for a Call Center, Customer Success Manager, IT Support, etc. to a native voice. Sales Development Representative can transform a non-native sales agent voice to a native voice. Consolidating Brand Identity by transforming a customer care center agent's voice into a voice avatar that identifies the brand. Users' can transform their voices in online video games to resemble the character they are playing or to mask their identity. Users can also transform their voices in a virtual reality environment to allow full personalization of their virtual avatars).
With regards to claim 6, Carmiel teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the generating of the prompt comprises adding the brand voice attributes of the user as few shot learning examples in the prompt (Para 191, teaches an adaptation of different audio content sources, each with a different source voice attribute, by a dynamic S2S ML model performing a many-to-many adaptation to a selected target voice attribute of multiple available target voice attributes. Dynamic S2S ML model may be fed an indication of the selected target voice attribute, for example, as an index of a predefined table of available target voice attributes, and/or in a sample audio content that expresses the target voice attribute, such as the target accent e.g., British, American, the type of voice e.g., there may be a set of available voices with an option to choose, preserve the original user voice without the accent, change both the original voice and original accent).
With regards to claim 7, Carmiel teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the receiving of the content from the generative language processing machine learning model in response to the prompt comprises receiving a message generated by the generative language processing machine learning model for transmission to one or more recipients (Para 48, teaches that the second audio content with second voice attribute is obtained as an outcome of a trained TTS ML model fed the first audio content. The TTS ML model is trained on a TTS training dataset of TTS records. A TTS record includes a text transcript of a sample audio content with the second voice attribute, and a ground truth indication of the sample audio content with the second voice attribute. Para 117, teaches that an indication of one or more second voice attributes may be obtained. Para 119, teaches that the indication may be a sample audio content recording of a speaker having a voice attribute that is desired in the outcome of the S2S ML model. The sample audio content recording may be, for example, a single word, a single sentence, a one minute long speech, a five minute long speech, or others).
With regards to claim 8, Carmiel teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the prompt further instructs the generative language processing machine learning model to generate the content based on one or more attributes of the one or more recipients (Paragraphs 192-195, teach that the dynamic S2S ML model may be implemented as multiple models, single unification model or as a dynamically controllable model. Para 196, teaches that multiple audio content items are obtained, from existing sources and/or recordings of speakers. The audio content may be files. The audio content items may be designated as source and/or target, native speakers and non-native speakers. Each set of native and non-native audio content includes audio records and corresponding text transcripts).
With regards to claim 9, Carmiel teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, via the user interface, a modification of one of the brand voice attributes after the content is displayed via the user interface (Paragraphs 49, 71-77 and 111, teach that the audio output could be displayed as part of creating an immersive experience in virtual reality, video gaming, video communication or media content conversion etc.).
With regards to claims 11-19, these are system claims for the corresponding method claims 1-9. These two sets of claims are related as method and apparatus of using the same, with each claimed system element's function corresponding to the claimed method step. Accordingly, claims 11-19 are similarly rejected under the same rationale as applied above with respect to method claims 1-9.
With regards to claim 20, this is a computer readable medium (CRM) claim for the corresponding method claim 1. These two sets of claims are related as method and CRM of using the same, with each claimed CRM element's function corresponding to the claimed method step. Accordingly, claim 20 is similarly rejected under the same rationale as applied above with respect to method claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and intervening claim 9. The prior art of record, alone or in combination, does not currently suggest or teach the invention as outlined in this claim, specifically: generating an updated prompt including a few shot learning example that is based on the modification; providing the updated prompt to the generative language processing machine learning model and receiving different content from the generative language processing machine learning model in response to the updated prompt. More detailed reasons for allowance will be outlined as and when the Application proceeds to allowability.
Conclusion
6. The following prior art, made of record but not relied upon, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: McNulty (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0361827 A1), Saraee (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0193913 A1). These references are also included in the PTO-892 form attached with this office action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NEERAJ SHARMA whose contact information is given below. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday to Friday 8 am to 5 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Pierre Louis-Desir can be reached on 571-272-7799 (Direct Phone). The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/NEERAJ SHARMA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2659
571-270-5487 (Direct Phone)
571-270-6487 (Direct Fax)
neeraj.sharma@uspto.gov (Direct Email)