CTNF 19/063,243 CTNF 90497 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This office action is a response to an application filed on 02/26/2025, in which claims 18-37 are pending and ready for examination. Priority Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed before the mailing date of the Office Action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 18-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirabayashi (US Pub. 20180109585 A1) in view of Takahashi (US 11516453 B2) . Regarding claim 18, Hirabayashi discloses, in a first embodiment, a device comprising: a processor configured to (Hirabayashi; Para. [0066-67]. A file generation system includes a processor to be configured.) , but receive, from a content server, a media presentation description (MPD) file; determine, from the MPD file, a scheme identifier associated with a spatial region of a geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC) content; based on the scheme identifier, determine a G-PCC region descriptor associated with a G- PCC adaptation set, wherein the G-PCC region descriptor indicates at least a mapping between the spatial region and a set of G-PCC tiles of the G-PCC content; based on the G-PCC region descriptor, determine a region identifier of the spatial region and a G-PCC tile identifier for a G-PCC tile of the set of G-PCC tiles of the spatial region; request the G-PCC content using the G-PCC tile identifier associated with the G-PCC tile; and receive the requested G-PCC content . However, Hirabayashi teaches, in a second embodiment, receive, from a content server, a media presentation description (MPD) file (Hirabayashi; Fig. 6, Para. [0081-94]. A MPD file is obtained from a server.) ; determine, from the MPD file, a scheme identifier associated with a spatial region of a compression content (Hirabayashi; Fig. 6, Para. [0081-94]. A scheme ID for a spatial region of coded content is determined from a MPD file.) ; based on the scheme identifier, determine a region descriptor associated with an adaptation set (Hirabayashi; Fig. 6, Para. [0081-94]. A region descriptor, SRD, for an adaptation set is determined in accordance with a scheme identifier.) , wherein the region descriptor indicates at least a mapping between the spatial region and a set of tiles of the content (Hirabayashi; Fig. 5, Para. [0075-78]. A region descriptor indicates a mapping between a spatial region and a set of tiles.) ; based on the region descriptor, determine a region identifier of the spatial region and a tile identifier for a tile of the set of tiles of the spatial region (Hirabayashi; Fig. 5-6, Para. [0075-78, 81- 94]. A region identifier of a spatial region and a tile ID for a set of tiles are determined in accordance with a region descriptor.) ; request the content using the tile identifier associated with the tile (Hirabayashi; Para. [0062]. A content is requested in accordance with tile ID for the tile, see Para. [0075-78].) ; and receive the requested content (Hirabayashi; Para. [0062]. A requested content is received.) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing system of Hirabayashi to adapt a video image processing approach, by incorporating the teaching in the second embodiment of Hirabayashi, wherein video request and access processing is performed based on an MPD, for the motivation to enable MPEG-DASH streaming (Hirabayashi; Abstract.) . But modified Hirabayashi does not teach a compression content is a geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC) content. However, Takahashi teaches a compression content is a geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC) content, (Takahashi; Fig. 52, Para. [0036-65]. A compression content is GPCC content.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the video processing system of modified Hirabayashi to adapt a video image processing approach, by incorporating the teaching of Takahashi, wherein compression content is GPCC content, for the motivation to enable processing of 3-D content by using point cloud data (Takahashi; Abstract.) . Regarding claim 19, modified Hirabayashi further teaches the G-PCC region descriptor comprises at least indication of three coordinates of a reference point of a bounding box associated with the spatial region and indication of respective lengths of the bounding box along three axes (Hirabayashi; Para. [0108-111]. A GPCC descriptor includes at least indication of three coordinates of a reference point of a bounding box for a spatial region, indicating length of a bounding box.) . Regarding claim 20, modified Hirabayashi further teaches the G-PCC region descriptor is signaled at adaptation set level or representation level in a GPCC adaptation set (Hirabayashi; Fig. 6, Para. [0081-94]. A GPCC region descriptor, SRD, is signaled at adaptation set level.) . Regarding claim 21, modified Hirabayashi further teaches the G-PCC adaptation set comprises one or more representations (Hirabayashi; Fig. 6, Para. [0081-94]. A GPCC adaptation set includes at least one or more representations.) . Regarding claim 22, modified Hirabayashi further teaches the one or more representations comprise at least one of bitrate, resolution, number of channels, or quality level (Hirabayashi; Para. [0070]. One or more representations includes at least resolution.) . Regarding claim 23, modified Hirabayashi further teaches the G-PCC region descriptor is signaled at a preselection level for the G-PCC content using a preselection element (Hirabayashi; Fig. 6, Para. [0081-94]. A GPCC region descriptor, SRD, is signaled at a preselection level of adaptation set level using a preselection element of adaptation set.) . Regarding claim 24, modified Hirabayashi further teaches the spatial region is a dynamic spatial region (Hirabayashi; Para. [0002-3]. A spatial region is dynamic spatial region.) , wherein a position and dimensions of the spatial region are signaled in an adaptation set with a single representation and associated with a main G-PCC adaptation set using an association identifier attribute and an association type value (Hirabayashi; Fig. 6, Para. [0081-94]. Positions and dimensions of spatial regions are signaled in an adaptation set with a single representation and associated with a main G-PCC adaptation set using ID attribute and type.) . Regarding claim 25, modified Hirabayashi further teaches the position and dimensions of the spatial region are signaled in a timed-metadata track (Takahashi; Col. 6, Ln. 29-43. Position and dimension of spatial regions are signaled in a timed meta track.) . Regarding claim 26, modified Hirabayashi further teaches the position and dimensions of the spatial region are signaled in a presentation timeline (Takahashi; Col. 6, Ln. 29-43. Position and dimension of spatial regions are signaled in a presentation timeline.) . Regarding claim 27, modified Hirabayashi further teaches the spatial region is associated with a viewport (Hirabayashi; Fig. 21. Para. [0175-177]. A spatial region includes different viewports.) . Claims 28-37 are directed to a method comprising a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claims 18-27, and are non-patentable over the prior art for the same reason as previously indicated . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hu (US Pub. 20250119582 A1) teaches a video processing system that enables immersive media data processing. Gudumasu (US Pub. 20250350656 A1) teaches a video processing system that identifies multiplexed media stream data using PDU set information. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALBERT KIR whose telephone number is (571)272-6245. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 8:30am - 5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jay Patel can be reached at (571) 272-2988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ALBERT KIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485 Application/Control Number: 19/063,243 Page 2 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 19/063,243 Page 4 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 19/063,243 Page 5 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 19/063,243 Page 6 Art Unit: 2485