DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/26/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen et al. (US 2022/0334448 A1) in view of Yang et al. (US 2015/0268490 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jacobsen discloses an electric paper display panel (Figure 4; [0067] discloses: 400, package structure), comprising:
a first substrate ([0055] discloses: 408, light transmissive electrode layer);
a second substrate ([0055] discloses: 430, back electrode layer), wherein the first substrate is disposed opposite to the second substrate (Figure 4 depicts: 408, light transmissive electrode layer, disposed across 406, electrophoretic material from 430, back electrode layer, considered to be disposed opposite);
a display medium layer ([0056] discloses: 406, electrophoretic material) disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate (Figure 4 depicts: 406, electrophoretic material, disposed between 430, back electrode layer and 408, light transmissive electrode layer); and
a package layer (Figure 4 depicts: 410, integrated front barrier, 420, integrated back barrier, 411, top protective layer and 421, back protective layer) disposed on the first substrate ([0056] discloses: 410, integrated front barrier includes 414, moisture barrier layer; Figure 4 depicts: 414, moisture barrier layer, disposed on 408, light transmissive electrode layer) and comprising a top package portion (Figure 4 depicts: 411, top protective layer), a side package portion (Figure 4 depicts: 410, integrated front barrier, 420, integrated back barrier), and a bottom package portion (Figure 4 depicts: 421, back protective layer), wherein the top package portion overlaps the first substrate (Figure 4 depicts: 411, top protective layer, overlapping 408, light transmissive electrode layer), and the bottom package portion covers a bottom surface of the second substrate (Figure 4 depicts: 421, back protective layer, covering bottom surface of 430, back electrode layer).
Jacobsen fails to disclose a device wherein the package portions are formed in a one-piece form, and the side package portion extends from the first substrate to the second substrate. Jacobsen and Yang are related because both disclose display panels.
Yang teaches a device wherein the package portions are formed in a one-piece form ([0087] teaches: 310, 320 and 330, regions, analogous to the package portions of Jacobsen, are formed in one process), and the side package portion extends from the first substrate to the second substrate (Figure 10 depicts: 320, region, extending from 120, liquid crystal cell layer to 200, diode, considered the first and second substate).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jacobsen in view of Yang and provide a device wherein the package portions are formed in a one-piece form, and the side package portion extends from the first substrate to the second substrate. Doing so would allow for a continuous package layer to extend around the side of the display from the first substrate to the second substrate, thereby reducing joints through which moisture or air may penetrate and improving environmental sealing of the display panel.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Jacobsen discloses the electric paper display panel according to claim 1, wherein the second substrate has a bottom corner portion that extends beyond the display medium layer (Figure 4 depicts: 430, back electrode layer, with a bottom corner, bottom right, that extends beyond 406, electrophoretic material).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Jacobsen discloses the electric paper display panel according to claim 2, wherein the side package portion of the package layer is attached to the bottom corner portion of the second substrate (Figure 4 depicts: 420, integrated back barrier, attached to 430, back electrode layer, at the bottom corner portion).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Jacobsen discloses the electric paper display panel according to claim 1, wherein a material of the package layer comprises polychlorotrifluoroethylene (PCTFE), cyclic olefin copolymer (COC), a composite material of polychlorotrifluoroethylene (PCTFE) and cyclic olefin copolymer (COC), a composite material of polychlorotrifluoroethylene (PCTFE) and polyethylene terephthalate (PET), or a combination thereof ([0047] discloses: barrier layer formed of polychlorotrifluoroethylene).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen et al. (US 2022/0334448 A1) in view of Yang et al. (US 2015/0268490 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Huang et al. (US 2021/0325758).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Jacobsen discloses the electric paper display panel according to claim 2.
Jacobsen fails to disclose a device wherein the first substrate has a top corner portion that extends beyond the display medium layer. Jacobsen and Huang are related because both disclose electronic displays.
Huang teaches a device wherein the first substrate has a top corner portion that extends beyond the display medium layer (Figure 3 depicts: 114a, transparent sheet with a top corner portion, right top corner that extends beyond 112, electronic ink layer).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jacobsen in view of Huang and provide a device wherein the first substrate has a top corner portion that extends beyond the display medium layer. Doing so would allow for the display medium layer to be recessed relative to the first substrate, thereby increasing the water-vapor barrier distance and reducing infiltration of external moisture into the display medium layer.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Jacobsen discloses the electric paper display panel according to claim 4.
Jacobsen fails to disclose a device further comprising a sealing material disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate, sealing the display medium layer at the bottom corner portion and the top corner portion. Jacobsen and Huang are related because both disclose electronic displays.
Huang teaches a sealing material (Figure 1B depicts: 118, sealant) disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate (Figure 1B depicts: 118, sealant, disposed between 110, substrate and 114, cover plate, considered the second substate), sealing the display medium layer at the bottom corner portion and the top corner portion (Figure 1B depicts: sealant, sealing the display medium layer at the bottom corner portion and the top corner portion).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jacobsen in view of Huang and provide a device further comprising a sealing material disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate, sealing the display medium layer at the bottom corner portion and the top corner portion. Doing so would allow for the corner portions of the display medium layer to be sealed against external water vapor, thereby increasing the water-vapor barrier capacity and improving package reliability.
Regarding claim 6, the modified Jacobsen discloses the electric paper display panel according to claim 1, further comprising an adhesion layer ([0056] discloses: 412, optically clear adhesive layer) attaching the package layer to the first substrate, the display medium layer, and the second substrate (Figure 4 depicts: attaching 410, integrated front barrier, to 430, light transmissive electrode layer, and 420, integrated back barrier, to 430, back electrode layer).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen et al. (US 2022/0334448 A1) in view of Yang et al. (US 2015/0268490 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Shitagami et al. (US 2011/0304904 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Jacobsen discloses the electric paper display panel according to claim 1.
Jacobsen fails to disclose a device further comprising a first electrode layer and a second electrode layer, wherein the first electrode layer is disposed between the first substrate and the display medium layer, and the second electrode layer is disposed between the second substrate and the display medium layer. Jacobsen and Shitagami are related because both disclose display devices.
Shitagami teaches a device further comprising a first electrode layer and a second electrode layer, wherein the first electrode layer is disposed between the first substrate and the display medium layer (Figure 6B depicts: 2, pixel electrode, between 1, substrate and 3, electrophoretic layer), and the second electrode layer is disposed between the second substrate and the display medium layer (Figure 6B depicts: 6, counter electrode, between 7, counter substrate and 3, electrophoretic layer).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jacobsen in view of Shitagami and provide a device further comprising a first electrode layer and a second electrode layer, wherein the first electrode layer is disposed between the first substrate and the display medium layer, and the second electrode layer is disposed between the second substrate and the display medium layer. Doing so would allow for an electric field to be applied across the electrophoretic layer between opposite electrodes, thereby controlling movement of the electrophoretic particles to produce the desired display state.
Regarding claim 8, the modified Jacobsen discloses the electric paper display panel according to claim 7, wherein materials of the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer comprise indium tin oxide (ITO), aluminum, poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) (PEDOT), silver glue, carbon glue, or a combination thereof (Shitagami: [0045] teaches: pixel electrodes and counter electrodes can be made of indium tin oxide; Examiner notes that the same motivation to combine applied to an earlier claim, 7, also applies here, and no further analysis is required, consistent with MPEP § 2143, which permits reliance on previously articulated rationale where the combination and reasonings remain unchanged).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen et al. (US 2022/0334448 A1) in view of Yang et al. (US 2015/0268490 A1) in view of Shitagami et al. (US 2011/0304904 A1), as applied to claim 7 above, in view of Choi et al. (US 2024/0047473 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Jacobsen discloses the electric paper display panel according to claim 7.
Jacobsen fails to disclose a device wherein materials of the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer are stretchable conductive materials. Jacobsen and Choi are related because both disclose display devices.
Choi teaches a device wherein materials of the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer are stretchable conductive materials. ([0028] teaches: pixel electrodes and common electrodes are formed as stretchable electrodes)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jacobsen in view of Choi and provide a device wherein materials of the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer are stretchable conductive materials. Doing so would allow for the electrode layers to deform with the display in response to an external force while maintaining electrical functionality, thereby improving the stretchability of the display device.
Claims 10-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen et al. (US 2022/0334448 A1) in view of Yang et al. (US 2015/0268490 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Uchida et al. (US 2007/0146309 A1).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Jacobsen discloses the electric paper display panel according to claim 1.
Jacobsen fails to disclose a device wherein materials of the first substrate and the second substrate comprise glass, metal, or polymers with waterproof properties. Jacobsen and Uchida are related because both disclose display devices.
Uchida teaches a device wherein materials of the first substrate and the second substrate comprise glass, metal, or polymers with waterproof properties ([0051] teaches: glass substrate).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jacobsen in view of Uchida and provide a device wherein materials of the first substrate and the second substrate comprise glass, metal, or polymers with waterproof properties. Doing so would allow for selection of a substrate material appropriate to the desired rigidity or flexibility of the electrophoretic display, thereby providing suitable structural support for the display device.
Regarding claim 11, the modified Jacobsen discloses the electric paper display panel according to claim 1.
Jacobsen fails to disclose a device wherein at least one of the first substrate, the second substrate, and the package layer comprises a body material and a waterproof material disposed in the body material. Jacobsen and Uchida are related because both disclose display devices.
Uchida teaches a device wherein at least one of the first substrate, the second substrate, and the package layer comprises a body material ([0086] teaches: 14, waterproof sheets) and a waterproof material disposed in the body material ([0086] teaches: 14a, resin layer or 14b, barrier layer of 14, waterproof sheets may be laminated to form a multilayer sheets; thus a body material with a waterproof material disposed in the body material).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jacobsen in view of Uchida and provide a device wherein at least one of the first substrate, the second substrate, and the package layer comprises a body material and a waterproof material disposed in the body material. Doing so would allow for the package layer to more effectively block moisture penetration into the electrophoretic display, thereby improving the waterproofness and reliability of the display panel.
Regarding claim 12, the modified Jacobsen discloses the electric paper display panel according to claim 11, wherein the waterproof material comprises silicon oxide, silicon nitride, or silicon oxynitride (Uchida: [0087] teaches: silicon oxide, used as a material for 14b, barrier layer; Examiner notes that the same motivation to combine applied to an earlier claim, 11, also applies here, and no further analysis is required, consistent with MPEP § 2143, which permits reliance on previously articulated rationale where the combination and reasonings remain unchanged).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Jacobsen discloses the electric paper display panel according to claim 1.
Jacobsen fails to disclose a device wherein the package layer comprises a polymer material and an inorganic waterproof layer disposed in the polymer material, wherein a material of the inorganic waterproof layer comprises silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, or a combination thereof, and the polymer material comprises polyethylene terephthalate, polyimide, polyethylene naphthalate, or a combination thereof. Jacobsen and Uchida are related because both disclose display devices.
Uchida teaches a device wherein the package layer comprises a polymer material ([0086] teaches: 14, waterproof sheets, includes 14a, resin layer made of polymer material) and an inorganic waterproof layer disposed in the polymer material ([0086] teaches: 14, waterproof sheets, includes 14b, barrier layer, composed of an inorganic material), wherein a material of the inorganic waterproof layer comprises silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, or a combination thereof ([0087] teaches: 14b, barrier layer, contains silicon oxide as a material), and the polymer material comprises polyethylene terephthalate, polyimide, polyethylene naphthalate, or a combination thereof ([0088] teaches: 14a, resin layer, contains polyethylene terephthalate as a material).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jacobsen in view of Uchida and provide a device wherein the package layer comprises a polymer material and an inorganic waterproof layer disposed in the polymer material, wherein a material of the inorganic waterproof layer comprises silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, or a combination thereof, and the polymer material comprises polyethylene terephthalate, polyimide, polyethylene naphthalate, or a combination thereof. Doing so would allow for the package layer to more effectively inhibit moisture penetration into the electrophoretic display, thereby improving waterproofness and display reliability.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen et al. (US 2022/0334448 A1) in view of Yang et al. (US 2015/0268490 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Han et al. (US 2011/0212304).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Jacobsen discloses the electric paper display panel according to claim 1.
Jacobsen fails to disclose a device wherein the package layer has stretchability. Jacobsen and Han are related because both disclose display devices.
Han teaches a device wherein the package layer has stretchability ([0057] teaches: a stretchable barrier film).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jacobsen in view of Han and provide a device wherein the package layer has stretchability. Doing so would allow for the package layer to deform with the display while maintaining barrier protection, thereby improving flexibility while reducing cracking of the package layer.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen et al. (US 2022/0334448 A1) in view of Yang et al. (US 2015/0268490 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Wu et al. (US 2016/0116817 A1).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Jacobsen discloses the electric paper display panel according to claim 1.
Jacobsen fails to disclose a device further comprising a waterproof glue disposed along a side wall of the side package. Jacobsen and Wu are related because both disclose display devices.
Wu teaches a device further comprising a waterproof glue portion (Figure 1 depicts: 150s, sidewall of 150, first protection layer, analogous to the side package portion, along 175, trench in 170, frame and is filled with 180, waterproof glue, see [0030]) disposed along a side wall of the side package portion.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jacobsen in view of Wu and provide a device further comprising a waterproof glue disposed along a side wall of the side package portion. Doing so would allow for the peripheral side of the package layer to be further sealed against moisture penetration, thereby improving adhesion and waterproof reliability of the display panel.
Compact Prosecution
Applicant may consider amending the independent claim(s), if supported by the specification, to require adjacent side package portions whose side walls are disposed adjacent to one another, with waterproof glue disposed between the adjacent side walls to adhere them together, to potentially overcome the rejection of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Hu et al. (US 11,268,659 B2) and Huang et al. (US 2016/0163940 A1) both disclose relevant optical systems but fails to disclose the specified layer configuration.
John Sipes
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/J.C.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872