DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 26, 2025, was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “an electrical outlet” [Claims 4, 13], “an electrical wire” (maybe the ‘charging cord” ?) [Claim 6] must be clearly shown / depicted / labeled in the drawings or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korpi [US 2011/0126739] in view of Herschler [US 8,459,734] and Chang et al., [US 2013/0027850]. Korpi teaches of a portable workstation (Fig. 1A), the portable workstation comprising a base (6), wherein the base includes a plurality of caps (15) for stabilizing the workstation within an environment; a panel (3) adjustably mounted at the base, wherein the panel is adjustable relative to the base between a use position (Fig. 2F), where the panel is in a generally horizontal orientation (shown), and a non-use position (such as Fig. 2E), where the panel is in a generally vertical orientation (the panel can be rotated closer to a vertical position when utilizing the track (5A) closest to the hinge (6A) for instance); and an aperture (3C) formed within the panel allowing an electronic device (such as {23} for instance) to be situated along the opening / panel. Korpi teaches applicant’s basic inventive claimed portable workstation as outlined {mapped} above; but does not show the inclusion of wheels along the base or show a battery pack disposed on the base as prescribed by applicant. As to the addition of wheels, Herschler is cited as an evidence reference for the known use of wheels being incorporated within a portable workstation device to assist in portability. As such, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Korpi so as to include a couple of wheels along the bottom of the base in view of Herschler’s teaching, with a reasonable expectation of success, because this arrangement would enhance the versatility of the prior art’s device by providing a means by which a user could pull the workstation behind them, as opposed to carrying the workstation from place to place [Herschler describes a workstation that can be fitted with detachable or fixed wheels along with an extendable handle in order to pull the workstation along a supporting surface for instance – col. 13]. As to the incorporation of a battery pack, Chang is cited as an evidence reference for the known technique of equipping a battery pack [0036] within a portable workstation (1102) for the purpose of supplying electrical power to peripherals (such as (1116, 1111) for instance). Accordingly, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Korpi so as to include a battery pack in view of Chang’s teaching, with a reasonable expectation of success, because this arrangement would enhance the versatility of the prior art’s device by providing a means by which electronic devices associated with the portable workstation can derive power locally regardless of the workstation’s placement. As modified, the battery pack can be disposed centrally at the base so as to partially extend through the aperture in the panel, thereby allowing the panel to move relative to both the base and battery pack (note configurations of Fig. 2I & 2E for example allowing for such functionality). Regarding Claim 2, as modified, the battery pack would be removable from the portable workstation – as is conventional in art. Regarding Claim 3, as modified, the battery pack is removably mounted at the base. Regarding Claim 4, as modified, the battery pack would be electrically connected to an electrical outlet (such as (1110) as taught by Chang) at the panel for electrically connecting to the electronic device at the portable workstation. Regarding Claim 5, as modified, when the panel is adjusted between the use position and the non-use position, the battery pack can be received through the aperture when centrally located. Regarding Claim 6, as modified, the battery pack can be electrically connected to an electrical wire (such as the wire along (1111) for instance) extending from the panel for electrically connecting to the electronic device at the portable workstation. Regarding Claim 7, as modified, the electrical wire comprises a USB cable (Chang discloses a USB connection). Regarding Claim 8, as modified, the electronic device comprises an electronic component (such as a PDA, table, phone etc.,) of the portable workstation. Regarding Claim 9, as modified, the electronic component comprises at least a display screen at the panel. Regarding Claim 10, as modified, the electronic device comprises a portable electronic device (disclosed). Regarding Claim 11, as modified, the panel is adjustable relative to the base to one or more intermediate positions between the use position and the non-use position (such as via the multiple tracks (5A) establishing varying intermediate positions). Regarding Claim 12, as modified, the combined prior art teaches the incorporation of a battery pack disposed at the base; but does not disclose the use of plural packs. As to the use of a plurality of battery packs, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate additional packs, with a reasonable expectation of success (such as increased power potential, longer power duration etc.,), since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.; furthermore, the courts have held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). As modified, the individual battery packs of the plurality of battery packs can be spaced from one another at the portable workstation as dependent upon the needs and/or preferences of the manufacturer. Regarding Claims 13-16, the position is taken that the similarly claimed features have adequately been mapped within the above rejections and therefore a redundant mapping of the features is superfluous. Regarding Claim 17, the combined prior art teaches applicant’s basic inventive claimed portable workstation, including the incorporation of plural battery packs; but does not show plural apertures within the panel for receipt of the individual battery packs as prescribed by applicant. Again, the position is taken that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate additional apertures within the panel, with a reasonable expectation of success (thereby allowing the individual battery packs to partially extend through respective apertures), since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. Regarding Claims 18-20, the position is taken that the similarly claimed features have adequately been mapped within the above rejections and therefore a redundant mapping of the features is superfluous.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure – see the attached Form PTO-892 showing various portable workstation configurations.
JOH
August 21, 2026
/James O Hansen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637