DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim(s) 1-20 do not use “means for” (or “step for”) language, or generic placeholders for "means” coupled with functional language without recitation of sufficient structure for carrying out the claimed functions and therefore do not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawashima (US 2015/0249235 A1) in view of Zhilinsky et al. (US 2018/0073276 A1) in view of Stockwell Electronics – “Poron Foam Battery Compartment Pad / Battery Cushion”, hereinafter Stockwell.[claim 1]
Regarding claim 1, Kawashima discloses an image capture device (e.g. Figure 1) comprising:
a body (Figure 1, 101) including:
a hinge pin (Figure 2, 205); and
a battery receptacle extending into the body and configured to receive a battery (Figure 1, 110a); and
a door coupled to the body and defining a longitudinal axis (Figure 1, 200), wherein the door includes:
a first end including an engagement structure configured for connection to the hinge pin (Figure 2, right side of door couples with hinge pin 205; Paragraph 0041);
a second end opposite to the first end and including a latch configured to releasably engage the body (Figure 2, 201a; Paragraph 0041; dead bolts to hold door in a closed state).
However, Kawashima does not explicitly disclose:
a seal configured for engagement with the body, wherein the seal is generally rectangular in configuration and includes radiused corner portions
Zhilinsky discloses a similar battery door for a camera device and further discloses the inclusion of a seal configured for engagement with the body, wherein the seal is generally rectangular in configuration and includes radiused corner portions (Figure 2, 105; Paragraphs 0018, 0022). Zhilinsky discloses that it is desirable to create waterproof/water resistant seals for a camera systems (Paragraph 0018).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to provide a seal as claimed in the system of Kawashima as taught by Zhilinsky to create a waterproof/water resistant camera device. Additionally note that the battery door of Kawashima is generally rectangular with radiused corner portions similar to that of Zhilinsky, thus it would have been obvious to create a seal with such a shape as well so that battery door may seal to the camera when closed.
However, Kawashima in view of Zhilinsky does not additionally teach:
a battery pad connected to the seal such that a periphery of the battery pad is positioned inward of a periphery of the seal in a radial direction, wherein the battery pad includes an elastic, compressible material and is configured to engage the battery upon closure of the door.
Stockwell discloses the use of a foam battery pad which in a center of a battery door and includes an elastic, compressible material and is configured to engage the battery upon closure of the door. Stockwell discloses that such battery pads hold the battery in place as well as protect it form mechanical shock in the event of a drop.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to provide a battery pad as claimed placed in the center portion of the door to hold the battery in place as well as protect it from mechanical shock in the event of a drop.[claim 2]
Regarding claim 2, Kawashima does not explicitly disclose wherein the door is removable from the body. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to make the door removable from the body since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Furthermore, by making the door removable it would allow the door to be easily replaced should the door become damaged by removing the damaged door and installing a new door.[claim 5]
Regarding claim 5, Kawashima discloses wherein the latch includes a projection extending towards the hinge pin along the longitudinal axis (Figure 1, 201a).[claim 6]
Regarding claim 6, Kawashima in view of Zhilinsky in view of Stockwell discloses wherein the battery pad extends inwardly from the seal in a lateral direction transverse relation to the radial direction (e.g. Kawashima in view of Zhilinsky teaching a seal toward the outer edge of the door and Stockwell teaching a battery pad placed towards a central region of the door).[claim 7]
Regarding claim 7, Stockwell discloses wherein the battery pad is generally rectangular in configuration and includes radiused corner portions (Stockwell, Figure).[claim 8]
Regarding claim 8, Kawashima discloses wherein the body further includes:
a data interface component, wherein the data interface component is positioned such that the door conceals the data interface component upon closure (Figure 6, 401; Paragraphs 0039, 0051, 0085).[claim 9]
Regarding claim 9, Kawashima discloses wherein the data interface component includes a storage interface (Figure 6, 401; Paragraphs 0039, 0051, 0085).[claim 10]
Regarding claim 10, Kawashima discloses wherein the storage interface includes a memory card slot (Figure 6, 401; Paragraphs 0039, 0051, 0085).
Claim(s) 2-4 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawashima (US 2015/0249235 A1) in view of Zhilinsky et al. (US 2018/0073276 A1) in view of Stockwell Electronics – “Poron Foam Battery Compartment Pad / Battery Cushion”, hereinafter Stockwell in view of Cleghorn (US 7,626,121 B1).[claims 2-4]
Regarding claims 2-4, Kawashima in view of Zhillinsky in view of Stockwell does not disclose wherein the door is removable from the body and the engagement structure includes a C-shaped clip.
Cleghorn discloses a hinge clip system for connecting a cover to a device which allows the cover to be easily removed (e.g. Figures 1-4). The system of Cleghorn includes an engagement structure which includes a C-shaped clip which connects the cover to the hinge pin (Figure 3, 18; c. 3, l. 63 – c. 4, l. 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to use a C-shaped clip as the engagement structures of Kawashima in view of Zhilinsky in view of Stockwell so that the cover may be made removable while allowing the cover to pivot on the hinge pin and be easily connected to the camera housing.[claim 11]
Regarding claim 11, see the rejection of claims 1-3 and 5 above.
Zhilinsky discloses a seal which includes a peripheral flange extending outwardly from the housing in a lateral direction which engages and compresses the seal in a radial direction transverse in relation to the lateral direction (Figure 2, 107; Paragraph 0022).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to provide a peripheral flange as claimed so that the seal may properly seal between the battery door and the housing.
Additionally note that the battery pad would include a second configuration where the pad is compressed to hold the battery in place when the battery door is closed as taught by Stockwell.[claim 12]
Regarding claim 12, see the rejection of claim 11 above and note that the combined system teaches wherein the first configuration and the second configuration are generally identical (i.e. compressed).[claim 13]
Regarding claim 13, see the rejections of claims 1 and 7 above.[claim 14]
Regarding claim 14, see the rejection of claim 1 above.[claim 15]
Regarding claim 15, Zhilinsky discloses wherein the seal spans a majority of a length of the door (Figure 2).[claim 16]
Regarding claim 16, Zhilinsky discloses wherein the seal is configured such that a gap is defined between the seal and the latch (Figure 2; note that the seal 105 is placed inward of the latch mechanism 106). Additionally note that it would have been obvious to maintain this arrangement when providing a seal in the system of Kawashima so that the latch mechanism does not interfere with the function of the seal.[claim 17]
Regarding claim 17, see the rejection of claim 16 above and note that the gap extends along the longitudinal axis of the door (Zhilinsky, Figure 2).[claim 18]
Regarding claim 18, see the rejections of claims 11 and 14 above.[claim 19]
Regarding claim 19, see the rejection of claim 9 above.[claim 20]
Regarding claim 20, Kawashima discloses wherein the first end is an upper end of the door, and the second end is a lower end of the door (Figure 1 when camera is rotated; see also Paragraph 0134 of the specification as filed and note that terms such as upper and lower are relative to a spatial orientation of the device).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references show additional prior art systems comprising battery doors:
Ohtsuka et al. US 2019/0181509 A1
Hutchings et al. US 2011/0281149 A1
Matsuzawa US 2003/0112362 A1
/Timothy J Henn/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639