DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato (WO 2020110686 A1 which has been machine translated).
As to claims 1-7 and 9, Kato discloses a developing roller that is provided with an elastic layer 3 on the outer surface of a shaft body 2 (base) and a coat layer 4 (surface) formed on the elastic layer 3. The coat layer 4 contains a polyol, and an isocyanate as well as an unreactive silicone group in a side chain (abs). The coating layer 4 will be considered a silicone graft urethane resin, since the polyol and isocyanate react with each other while it says the silicone oil is unreacted. The silicone used within the composition is X-22-176F which is a one-terminal diol type silicone oil (paragraph 40). The composition further comprises a polyester-based polyol in which Polycastor can be used as the polyester-based polyol (examples 2-7). Further the composition comprises aliphatic isocyanates such as HDI as well as buret modified polyisocyanates. However is silent to the specifics of the coating layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Kato and used Polycastor as the polyol, a buret modified polyisocyanate or HDI and X-22-176F as the silicone oil as Kato discloses overlapping scope of materials and that these materials are suitable to be used as the coating layer of the developing roller. Since these are the same materials being used within the present invention, it will inherently have an elastic deformation power between 30 to 90%, a Martens hardness of 12 to 200 N/mm2, a silicone element amount of between 10 to 25% and a ratio of A2/A1 of .9 to 1.2.
As to claim 8, Kato is silent to the thickness of the layer, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have made the thickness of the coating layer have any thickness including a thickness of 3 to 15 microns as a thicker layer will cost more and be less flexible and studier while a thinner layer will be cheaper and more flexible. See MPEP 2144.06.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dreyfuss et al (US Patent 5430533) in view of Kato (WO 2020110686 A1 which has been machine translated).
As to claims 9 and 10, Dreyfuss disclose an electrophotographic printer that comprises an intermediate transfer roller. The roller is formed from a urethane and a silicone oil. However is silent to the specifics of the composition.
Kato discloses a developing roller that is provided with an elastic layer 3 on the outer surface of a shaft body 2 (base) and a coat layer 4 (surface) formed on the elastic layer 3. The coat layer 4 contains a polyol, and an isocyanate as well as an unreactive silicone group in a side chain (abs). The coating layer 4 will be considered a silicone graft urethane resin, since the polyol and isocyanate react with each other while it says the silicone oil is unreacted. The silicone used within the composition is X-22-176F which is a one-terminal diol type silicone oil (paragraph 40). The composition further comprises a polyester-based polyol in which Polycastor can be used as the polyester-based polyol (examples 2-7). Further the composition comprises aliphatic isocyanates such as HDI as well as buret modified polyisocyanates. However is silent to the specifics of the coating layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Kato and used Polycastor as the polyol, a buret modified polyisocyanate or HDI and X-22-176F as the silicone oil as Kato discloses overlapping scope of materials and that these materials are suitable to be used as the coating layer of the developing roller. Since these are the same materials being used within the present invention, it will inherently have an elastic deformation power between 30 to 90%, a Martens hardness of 12 to 200 N/mm2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Dreyfuss and used the composition of Kato for the intermediate transfer member as it would be a suitable alternative as Dreyfuss disclose overlapping materials. See MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER M POLLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785