DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujita et al. US 2022/0187762 (Fujita).
Regarding claim 1, Fujita teaches an image forming apparatus that forms an image on a continuous medium, the image forming apparatus comprising:
a fixer (301) that includes an elastic member (301b) and heats and fixes a toner image formed on the continuous medium (¶0041), the elastic member coming into in direct or indirect contact with the continuous medium (¶0040-¶0043);
a collector (422) that collects ultra fine particles generated from the elastic member (¶0056);
an air blower (418, 419, 420) that generates an air current toward a side of the collector¶0058-¶0061; and
a hardware processor (102, control circuit not illustrated, ¶0055) that varies an output mode of the air blower according to at least one of an apparatus state of the image forming apparatus and/or a printing condition for the image forming apparatus (i.e., is it pre-fixing conveyance airflow or Image forming airflow, FIG. 5A).
Regarding claim 2, Fujita teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein:
the apparatus state includes whether image formation is in progress (401), and
the hardware processor is sets, in a case where the image formation is in progress as the apparatus state (401), the output mode of the air blower to a high output mode (410), and sets, in a case where the image formation is not in progress as the apparatus state (402), the output mode of the air blower to a low output mode (413).
Regarding claim 3, Fujita teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein:
the apparatus state includes a temperature of the fixer (i.e., on or off), and
the hardware processor sets, in a case where the temperature of the fixer is equal to or higher than a predetermined temperature, the output mode of the air blower to a high output mode (417), and sets, in a case where the temperature of the fixer is less than the predetermined temperature, the output mode of the air blower to a low output mode (420), the predetermined temperature (on or off) serving as a reference for switching the output mode of the air blower to the high output mode (FIG. 5B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita et al. US 2022/0187762 (Fujita) and Koyama et al. US 2023/0032807 A1 (Koyama).
Regarding claim 4, Fujita teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1. Fujita differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: printing distance as being one of the plurality of print conditions. Koyama teaches increasing the fan speed from low to high (FIG. 6) after the heating member has been at the target temperature for a predetermined period of time (¶0086-¶0088). Inherently the technique taught by Koyama anticipates varying the output of the cooling fan for the fixing device based on print distance, as longer print distances would mean the heating unit is at the target temperature longer and thus the higher speed would HAVE to kick in. Thus it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fan control taught by Fujita to be threshold driven as taught by Koyama in a way that inherently anticipates printing distance, since Koyama teaches that by controlling the fan speed in this way, it is able to improve fixing quality by reducing the deterioration of fixing strength caused by the change in driving speed (Koyama, ¶0089).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita et al. US 2022/0187762 (Fujita) and Nishida et al. US 2018/0074445 A1 (Nishida).
Regarding claim 5, Fujita teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1. Fujita differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: toners of five or more colors are used (i.e., image density) for image formation as being one of the plurality of print conditions. Nishida teaches controlling the fan speed based on image density (¶0125-¶0127). Thus it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fan control taught by Fujita to be controlled using the technique taught by Nishida which accounts for image density, since Nishida teaches that this technique allows for fine control of the fixing temperature even in non-uniform conditions which ultimately save power (Nishida, ¶0129).
Regarding claim 6, Fujita teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1.
Fujita differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: a toner adhesion amount per unit area (i.e., image density) for image formation as being one of the plurality of print conditions. Nishida teaches controlling the fan speed based on image density (¶0125-¶0127). Thus it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fan control taught by Fujita to be controlled using the technique taught by Nishida which accounts for image density, since Nishida teaches that this technique allows for fine control of the fixing temperature even in non-uniform conditions which ultimately save power (Nishida, ¶0129).
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita et al. US 2022/0187762 (Fujita) and Kawano et al. US 2017/0185011 A1 (Kawano).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Fujita teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1. Fujita differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: the plurality of the printing conditions includes whether a special toner is used for image formation, such as white toner. Kawano teaches an image forming apparatus which uses white toner (4W) and controls a fixing fan for cooling (¶0062-¶0071). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fan control taught by Fujita to be controlled using the technique taught by Kawano which accounts for special toners such as white, since Kawano teaches that this technique works even in a case with a jam and stuck medium (Kawano, ¶0071).
Regarding claims 9-10, Fujita teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1.
Fujita teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1. Fujita differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: the plurality of the printing conditions includes whether a special medium is used for image formation, such as tack paper. Kawano teaches an image forming apparatus which uses special medium and controls a fixing fan for cooling (¶0082-¶0083). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fan control taught by Fujita to be controlled using the technique taught by Kawano which accounts for special mediums, since Kawano teaches that this technique works even in a case with a jam and stuck medium (Kawano, ¶0082-¶0083).
Regarding claim 11, Fujita teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1.
Fujita teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1. Fujita differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: the plurality of the printing conditions includes the thickness of the continuous medium. Kawano teaches an image forming apparatus which accounts for the thickness of the print medium (¶0066). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fan control taught by Fujita to be controlled using the technique taught by Kawano which accounts for medium thickness, since Kawano teaches that this technique works even in a case with a jam and stuck medium (Kawano, ¶0082-¶0083).
Claim 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita et al. US 2022/0187762 (Fujita) and Haseba et al. US 2018/0081306 A1 (Haseba).
Regarding claim 12, Fujita teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1.
Fujita differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: the hardware processor sets, in a case where the fixing roller and the pressure roller are separated from each other, the output mode of the air blower to a low output mode, and sets, in a case where the fixing roller and the pressure roller are not separated from each other, the output mode of the air blower to a high output mode. Haseba teaches the hardware processor sets, in a case where the fixing roller and the pressure roller are separated from each other (via the contact/separation unit, ¶0057), the output mode of the air blower to a low output mode, and sets, in a case where the fixing roller and the pressure roller are not separated from each other, the output mode of the air blower to a high output mode (¶0069-¶0074). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fan control taught by Fujita to be controlled using the technique taught by Haseba based on the contact and separation of the fixing device (¶0069-¶0074).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JESSICA L ELEY/
Examiner, Art Unit 2852