Claim Interpretation under 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
"functional component” in Claim 1 and 13
“uncoupling element” in Claim 1 and 13
The corresponding structure in the specification being:
functional component – part of the housing/part of the housing of the electric motor
uncoupling element - an elastic, at least partially flexible connection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12296093 B2
The Claims are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims substantially overlap in claimed subject matter as illustrated in the table below which lists the claims of the instant application and their corresponding claim(s) in the parent application with substantially overlapping subject matter. Examiner notes that the primary difference between the claim sets is that Claim 1 of US 12296093 B2 is of narrower scope which includes the additional limitation x: “the collection housing having a shape of a spiral”.
Instant Application 19/063591Claim(s)
US Patent 12296093 B2
Claim(s)
1
1+ x
2
2
3
3
4
4
5
5
6
6
7
7
8
8
9
9
10
10
11
11
12
12
13
13
14
14
15
15
16
16
17
17
18
18
19
19
20
20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hansmann (US 6,474,960 B1) hereinafter referred to as Hansmann.
Regarding Claim 1, Hansmann discloses a compressor (figure 3 also reproduced/annotated above) for delivering an air and/or gas stream (see figure 3), the compressor comprising:
a housing (14, figure 3), with a housing interior (see interior of 14, figure 3);
a rotatably mounted compressor impeller (2, figure 3) in the housing interior (see figure 3);
an electric motor (6, figure 3);
a drive shaft (see annotated figure 3), the impeller being connected to the electric motor via the drive shaft (see annotated figure 3), wherein the drive shaft is configured to rotate such that air and/or gas stream is delivered from an inlet (see annotated figure 3) arranged upstream on a suction side (see annotated figure 3) of the compressor impeller through a flow duct (see annotated figure 3) to an outlet (see annotated figure 3) arranged downstream on a delivery side (see annotated figure 3) of the compressor impeller;
a cover element (3, figure 3), wherein the compressor impeller is enclosed in at least some areas by the housing and the cover element (see figure 3), the housing being configured as a collection housing for the air and/or gas stream leaving the compressor impeller (see figure 3), the housing being arranged at least partially on the delivery side of the compressor impeller (see annotated figure 3), and the cover element (see annotated figure 3), being arranged at least partially on the suction side of the compressor impeller and the cover element being separated in at least some sections from the compressor impeller by a gap (see gap between 2 and 3, figure 3);
a functional component (housing of motor 6) connected at least indirectly to the compressor impeller and/or to the electric motor (see figure 3); and
an uncoupling element arrangement comprising at least one respective uncoupling element (membrane(s) 13, figure 3), the uncoupling element arrangement being arranged between the cover element and the collection housing (see figure 3) and between the functional component and the collection housing (see figure 3) for vibration damping and for at least partial sealing of the housing interior against a surrounding area (intended use recitation, see figure 3).
Regarding Claim 2, Hansmann discloses that the functional component is a part of the housing or another housing and/or is a part of an encapsulation of the electric motor and/or is connected indirectly or directly to the electric motor (functional component i.e. motor housing as discussed in Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Hansmann discloses that the cover element is configured in the form of a disk (3 is annular, figure 3), which has a passage for the air and/or gas stream in an interior of the disk (see figure 3).
Regarding Claim 13, Hansmann discloses a ventilator or anesthesia device (respirator, title) comprising a compressor (figure 3), the compressor comprising the compressor comprising:
a housing (14, figure 3), with a housing interior (see interior of 14, figure 3);
a rotatably mounted compressor impeller (2, figure 3) in the housing interior (see figure 3);
an electric motor (6, figure 3);
a drive shaft (see annotated figure 3), the impeller being connected to the electric motor via the drive shaft (see annotated figure 3), wherein the drive shaft is configured to rotate such that air and/or gas stream is delivered from an inlet (see annotated figure 3) arranged upstream on a suction side (see annotated figure 3) of the compressor impeller through a flow duct (see annotated figure 3) to an outlet (see annotated figure 3) arranged downstream on a delivery side (see annotated figure 3) of the compressor impeller;
a cover element (3, figure 3), wherein the compressor impeller is enclosed in at least some areas by the housing and the cover element (see figure 3), the housing being configured as a collection housing for the air and/or gas stream leaving the compressor impeller (see figure 3), the housing being arranged arranged at least partially on the delivery side of the compressor impeller (see annotated figure 3), and the cover element (see annotated figure 3), being arranged at least partially on the suction side of the compressor impeller and the cover element being separated in at least some sections from the compressor impeller by a gap (see gap between 2 and 3, figure 3);
a functional component (housing of motor 6) connected at least indirectly to the compressor impeller and/or to the electric motor (see figure 3); and
an uncoupling element arrangement comprising at least one respective uncoupling element (membranes 13, figure 3), the uncoupling element arrangement being arranged between the cover element and the collection housing (see figure 3) and between the functional component and the collection housing (see figure 3) for vibration damping and for at least partial sealing of the housing interior against a surrounding area (intended use recitation, see figure 3).
Regarding Claim 14, Hansmann discloses that the functional component is a part of the housing or another housing and/or is a part of an encapsulation of the electric motor and/or is connected indirectly or directly to the electric motor (functional component i.e. motor housing as discussed in Claim 13).
Regarding Claim 15, Hansmann discloses that the cover element is configured in the form of a disk (3 is annular, figure 3), which has a passage for the air and/or gas stream in an interior of the disk (see figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4-5 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansmann in view of Hill et al (US 2014/0325789 A1) hereinafter referred to as Hill.
Regarding Claim 4, Hansmann discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above but is silent on a flow guide unit, wherein the cover element is connected in at least some areas indirectly or directly to the flow guide unit, which has at least one guide blade for guiding the air and/or gas stream released on the delivery side of the compressor impeller.
Hill relates to a compressor which is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and teaches of a flow guide unit (see annotated figure 2 below) which has at least one guide blade (25, figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hansmann by incorporating the teaching of Hill, and include a flow guide unit which has at least one guide blade, and thereby have a flow guide unit, wherein the cover element is connected in at least some areas indirectly or directly to the flow guide unit, which has at least one guide blade for guiding the air and/or gas stream released on the delivery side of the compressor impeller. Doing so provides the benefit of guiding the air/gas into the outlet and increase efficiency of the compressor.
Regarding Claim 5, Hansmann as modified by Hill teaches the flow guide unit has a ring-shaped configuration (see Hill, annotated figure 2) and at least another guide blade to provide a plurality of guide blades arranged on a ring surface (see figure 2); and
the compressor impeller is arranged in an interior of the flow guide unit (see modification above in Claim 4), such that the air and/or gas stream released from the compressor impeller on the delivery side at least partially reaches the plurality of guide blades (see modification above in Claim 4).
Regarding Claim 16, Hansmann discloses all of the limitations of Claim 13 as discussed above but is silent on a flow guide unit, wherein the cover element is connected in at least some areas indirectly or directly to the flow guide unit, which has at least one guide blade for guiding the air and/or gas stream released on the delivery side of the compressor impeller.
Hill relates to a compressor which is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and teaches of a flow guide unit (see annotated figure 2 below) which has at least one guide blade (25, figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hansmann by incorporating the teaching of Hill and include a flow guide unit which has at least one guide blade, and thereby have a flow guide unit, wherein the cover element is connected in at least some areas indirectly or directly to the flow guide unit, which has at least one guide blade for guiding the air and/or gas stream released on the delivery side of the compressor impeller. Doing so provides the benefit of guiding the air/gas into the outlet and increase efficiency of the compressor.
Regarding Claim 17, Hansmann as modified by Hill teaches the flow guide unit has a ring-shaped configuration (see Hill, annotated figure 2) and at least another guide blade to provide a plurality of guide blades arranged on a ring surface (see figure 2); and
the compressor impeller is arranged in an interior of the flow guide unit (see modification above in Claim 4), such that the air and/or gas stream released from the compressor impeller on the delivery side at least partially reaches the plurality of guide blades (see modification above in Claim 4).
Claim 6-7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansmann in view of Tomita et al (US 9638208 B2) hereinafter referred to as Tomita.
Regarding Claim 6, Hansmann discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above but is silent on the compressor impeller comprising main blades extending in a radial direction from an outer circumference of the compressor impeller at right angles at least over an entire cross section of the flow duct and at least two respective intermediate blades arranged between the main blades and having a shorter configuration than the main blades.
Tomita relates to a compressor which is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and teaches a compressor impeller comprising main blades (5, figure 1 also reproduced below) extending in a radial direction from an outer circumference of the compressor impeller at right angles (implicit from figure 1) and at least two respective intermediate blades (7, 8, figure 1) arranged between the main blades and having a shorter configuration than the main blades (see figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hansmann by incorporating the compressor blade arrangement of Tomita and thereby have the compressor impeller comprising main blades extending in a radial direction from an outer circumference of the compressor impeller at right angles at least over an entire cross section of the flow duct and at least two respective intermediate blades arranged between the main blades and having a shorter configuration than the main blades. Doing so provides the benefit of improving compressor efficiency.
Regarding Claim 7, Hansmann as modified by Tomita teaches the intermediate blades, arranged between two main blades have different lengths in the radial direction, have unequal profiles and/or have blade surface areas (see modification in Claim 6).
Regarding Claim 18, Hansmann discloses all of the limitations of Claim 13 as discussed above but is silent on the compressor impeller comprising main blades extending in a radial direction from an outer circumference of the compressor impeller at right angles at least over an entire cross section of the flow duct and at least two respective intermediate blades arranged between the main blades and having a shorter configuration than the main blades.
Tomita relates to a compressor which is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and teaches a compressor impeller comprising main blades (5, figure 1) extending in a radial direction from an outer circumference of the compressor impeller at right angles (implicit from figure 1) and at least two respective intermediate blades (7, 8, figure 1) arranged between the main blades and having a shorter configuration than the main blades (see figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hansmann by incorporating the compressor blade arrangement of Tomita and thereby have the compressor impeller comprising main blades extending in a radial direction from an outer circumference of the compressor impeller at right angles at least over an entire cross section of the flow duct and at least two respective intermediate blades arranged between the main blades and having a shorter configuration than the main blades. Doing so provides the benefit of improving compressor efficiency.
Claim 8-9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansmann in view of Stemp (US 3692142 A).
Regarding Claim 8, Hansmann discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above but is silent on at least one inlet muffler arranged upstream of the compressor impeller.
Stemp relates to a muffler for reducing intake noise of compressors and the like, which is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and teaches of a muffler (figure 2 also reproduced above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hansmann by incorporating the teaching of Stemp and include a muffler, and thereby have at least one inlet muffler arranged upstream of the compressor impeller. Doing so provides the benefit of inlet noise reduction.
Regarding Claim 9, Hansmann as modified by Stemp teaches the inlet muffler being configured as a spiral muffler (see modification in Claim 8).
Regarding Claim 19, Hansmann discloses all of the limitations of Claim 13 as discussed above but is silent on at least one inlet muffler arranged upstream of the compressor impeller, wherein the inlet muffler is configured as a spiral muffler.
Stemp relates to a muffler for reducing intake noise of compressors and the like which is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and teaches of a muffler (figure 2 also reproduced above), wherein the inlet muffler is configured as a spiral muffler (see figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hansmann by incorporating the teaching of Stemp and include a muffler, wherein the inlet muffler is configured as a spiral muffler, and thereby have at least one inlet muffler arranged upstream of the compressor impeller, wherein the inlet muffler is configured as a spiral muffler. Doing so provides the benefit of inlet noise reduction.
Claim 11-12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansmann in view of FU et al (US 2018/0064894 A1) hereinafter referred to as FU.
Regarding Claim 11, Hansmann discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above but is silent on at least one valve element configured to open based on a pressure difference caused by rotation of the compressor impeller in the flow direction of the air and/or the gas stream, the at least one valve element being arranged upstream of the compressor impeller.
FU relates to a portable ventilator which is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and teaches at least one valve element (510, figure 109 also reproduced below) configured to open based on a pressure difference caused by rotation of the compressor impeller (560, figure 109) in the flow direction of the air and/or the gas stream (see figure 109), the at least one valve element being arranged upstream of the compressor impeller (see figure 109).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hansmann by incorporating the teaching of FU and have at least one valve element configured to open based on a pressure difference caused by rotation of the compressor impeller in the flow direction of the air and/or the gas stream, the at least one valve element being arranged upstream of the compressor impeller. Doing so provides the benefit of controlled airflow into the compressor.
Regarding Claim 12, Hansmann as modified by FU teaches the valve element comprises a movably mounted valve membrane (see 507, figure 109).
Regarding Claim 20, Hansmann discloses all of the limitations of Claim 13 as discussed above but is silent on at least one valve element configured to open based on a pressure difference caused by rotation of the compressor impeller in the flow direction of the air and/or the gas stream, the at least one valve element being arranged upstream of the compressor impeller.
FU relates to a portable ventilator which is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and teaches at least one valve element (510, figure 109) configured to open based on a pressure difference caused by rotation of the compressor impeller (560, figure 109) in the flow direction of the air and/or the gas stream (see figure 109), the at least one valve element being arranged upstream of the compressor impeller (see figure 109).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hansmann by incorporating the teaching of FU and have at least one valve element configured to open based on a pressure difference caused by rotation of the compressor impeller in the flow direction of the air and/or the gas stream, the at least one valve element being arranged upstream of the compressor impeller. Doing so provides the benefit of controlled airflow into the compressor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Internet/E-mail Communication
In order to permit communication regarding the instant application via email, Applicant is invited to file form PTO/SB/439 (Authorization for Internet Communications) or include the following statement in a filed document or remarks of a filed response (see MPEP 502.03 Il): Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file. If such authorization is provided, please include an email address in the remarks of a filed response. The examiner’s e-mail address is sabbir.hasan@uspto.gov.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 6745767 B2 discloses a respiration system with an electrically driven compressor (see figure 1).
/Sabbir Hasan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745