DETAILED ACTION
The following correspondence is a non-final Office Action for application # 19063663, entitled: BRACKET FOR HOUSEHOLD APPLIANCE AND METHOD FOR USE, filed on 02/26/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II. (Claims 1-11) in the reply filed on 01/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipate by Shimozaki (U.S. Pub. 20080099647).
Regarding claim 1, Shimozaki discloses a bracket 1 for coupling an appliance to a cabinet, comprising: a body 10,20 having an appliance attachment portion 10 and a cabinet attachment portion 20 and an offset (at 12) connecting the appliance attachment portion 20 to the cabinet attachment portion 10; and where the offset 12 is formed in the body 10,20 and has a pair of right angles such that a plane defined along the appliance attachment portion 10 is spaced from and parallel with a plane defined along the cabinet attachment portion 20 (as seen in Fig. 2 (c) below).
Regarding claim 2, Shimozaki discloses the bracket 1, where the appliance attachment portion 10 comprises a pair of apertures (as seen in Fig. 2(b) below) spaced by a bridge extending between the pair of apertures (see also Fig. 2(b) below).
Regarding claim 4, Shimozaki discloses the bracket 1, further comprising a pair of fingers 8 extending from opposite sides of the bridge such that one of the pair of fingers 8 overlies a respective one of the pair of apertures (as shown in Fig. 2(b) below).
Regarding claim 5, Shimozaki discloses the bracket 1, where one of the pair of fingers 8 extends away from the appliance attachment portion 10 such that the pair of fingers 8 do not position within the pair of apertures (as shown in Fig. 2(c) below).
Regarding claim 6, Shimozaki discloses the bracket 1, where each finger 8 of the pair of fingers 8 includes a protrusion 6 that extends from the pair of fingers 8 toward the pair of apertures (as seen best in Fig. 2(b) below).
Regarding claim 7, Shimozaki discloses the bracket 1, where the protrusion 6 does not extend into a respective one of the pair of apertures (see Fig. 2 (c) below).
Regarding claim 8, Shimozaki discloses the bracket 1, where the pair of fingers 8 comprises a pair of spring fingers configured to impart a spring force when bent or moved away from an initial position (the Examiner notes that the fingers 8 flex to fit into hole 25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimozaki in view of Merck et al. (U.S. Pat. 20130206944).
Regarding claim 3, Shimozaki is discussed above and teaches the bracket 1, but fails to explicitly teach where a pair of ridges extend from the appliance attachment portion 10 on opposite sides of the pair of apertures. Merck teaches a bracket 200 that has attachment portions 213,215, where a pair of ridges 235 extend from one attachment portion 213.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the appliance attachment portion of Shimozaki to have ridges, in order to provide additional strength to the bracket, as taught to be desirable by Merck (see discussion in para. [0061], lines 1-4).
Claim(s) 9-11 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimozaki in view of Simmons et al. (U.S. Pat. 8528994).
Regarding claim 9, Shimozaki is discussed above, and teaches the bracket 1, having a channel (formed by sidewalls 22 in Fig. 2(c)), but fails to teach where the cabinet attachment portion 20 comprises an extension portion extending from the cabinet attachment portion 20. Simmons teaches brackets 54,55, having extension portions 170,171.
With regards to claim 10, Simmons teaches the bracket, where the cabinet attachment portion 20 comprises a first opening 19, and Simmons teaches where the extensions 170,171 comprise second and third openings 174,175.
Regarding claim 11, Simmons teaches the bracket, where the first opening and the second opening are capable of being equally spaced from the channel 22.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cabinet attachment portion of Shimozaki to have an extension and openings, in order to provide multiple mounting points for the bracket, as taught to be desirable by Simmons (see discussion in col. 4, lines 1-4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In addition to the reference to Shimozaki, Merck, and Simmons et al. above, the Examiner submits the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892). The cited references disclose brackets for securing equipment to objects via fasteners.
/Michael McDuffie/Examiner, Art Unit 3632 31-Mar-26
/TERRELL L MCKINNON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3632