DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11-14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Driemel (US 2012/0286784 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Driemel discloses a magnetic resonance local coil arrangement for receiving, sending, or receiving and sending radio frequency (RF) signals, the magnetic resonance local coil arrangement comprising (see Figure 1 showing a head RF coil): a bottom section and a top section (see top section #2 and bottom section #3) wherein, in a connected state (see Figure 6 showing top connected to bottom), the bottom section and the top section delimit a
spatial volume in which a body part of a patient is positionable during a magnetic resonance examination (see Figure 7 showing the head coil #106 delimit a spatial volume in which a head of a patient is positionable), wherein the bottom section is configured to be positioned on a patient support apparatus of a magnetic resonance apparatus for performing the magnetic resonance examination (see coil #106 positioned on the patient bed #104), wherein, in a connected state, the bottom section and the top section have a total height, and wherein, in at least one section along a longitudinal axis of the patient, the bottom section has a height of less than 1/3 of the total height (see paragraphs 0040-0046 disclosing the positioning and size adjustability of the top section allowing a spacing of the bottom section to have a height of less than 1/3 of the total height of the full coil in connected state to fit any patient features more comfortably).
With respect to claim 2, Driemel discloses in the at least one section along the longitudinal axis of the patient, the bottom section has the height of less than 1/4 of the total height (see paragraphs 0040-0046 disclosing the positioning and size adjustability of the top section allowing a spacing of the bottom section to have a height of less than 1/3 of the total height of the full coil in connected state to fit any patient features more comfortably).
With respect to claim 3, Driemel discloses the bottom section has a contact surface to support the body part that delimits the spatial volume downward, and wherein a direction of the height of the magnetic resonance local coil arrangement is oriented in parallel to the force of gravity when the magnetic resonance local coil arrangement is positioned on the patient support apparatus of the magnetic resonance apparatus for performing a magnetic resonance examination (see Figure 3 showing the bottom section receiving top section through latching bar #8 hence in contact wherein when closed, the arrangement is oriented in parallel as shown in Figure 6, to the force of gravity).
With respect to claim 4, Driemel discloses the magnetic resonance local coil arrangement is configured to produce a mechanical, electrical, or mechanical and electrical connection between the bottom section and the top section when the top section is plugged into the bottom section (see Figure 3 showing a latch system #8 as a mechanical connection).
With respect to claim 5, Driemel discloses the top section comprises at least one top plug connector, wherein the bottom section comprises at least one bottom plug connector, and wherein the at least one top plug connector and the at least one bottom plug connector are configured to produce an electrical, mechanical, or electrical and mechanical connection between the top section and the bottom section when the top section is plugged into the bottom section (see Figure 3 showing a latch system #8 with pressure spring #10 and plate #9 as a mechanical connection considered as a plug connector system).
With respect to claim 6, Driemel discloses the at least one bottom plug connector is configured to be flush with the contact surface of the bottom section surrounding the at least one bottom plug connector (see Figure 6 showing plug connector is configured to be flush with the contact surface of the bottom section).
With respect to claim 7, Driemel discloses the bottom section has a cover that is suitable to be positioned over the at least one bottom plug connector (see Figure 6 having the bottom plug connector covered between locking plate #12 and top portion #2).
With respect to claim 8, Driemel discloses cover is for covering any electrical contacts of the at least one bottom plug connector (see Figure 6 having the bottom plug connector covered between locking plate #12 and top portion #2 covering any contacts).
With respect to claim 9, Driemel discloses the magnetic resonance local coil arrangement is or comprises a head coil, a knee coil, or a foot coil (see Figure 7 showing the coil #106 used as a head coil).
With respect to claim 11, Driemel discloses the bottom section is part of a spine coil (see paragraph 0021 disclosing the use of the coil for head and neck where in the neck is part of the spine).
With respect to claim 12, Driemel discloses the magnetic resonance local coil arrangement as the top section comprises a first top section for examination of a first body part of the patient, wherein the top section is connectable to the bottom section for examination of the first body part, wherein the magnetic resonance local coil arrangement comprises a second top section for examination of a second body part of the patient, and wherein the second top section is connectable to the bottom section for examination of the second body part (see Figure 6 showing top #2 having two sections, section A and section B labeled by the examiner herein wherein both sections connect to bottom #3).
With respect to claim 13, Driemel discloses a system comprising (see Figure 7, showing MR device #101): a magnetic resonance local coil arrangement for receiving, sending, or receiving and sending radio frequency (RF) signals (local coil #106); and a patient support apparatus for performing a magnetic resonance examination with a magnetic resonance apparatus, wherein the patient support apparatus has a table surface that is intended to support a patient while the magnetic resonance examination is performed (patient bed #104 in Figure 7), wherein a bottom section of the magnetic resonance local coil arrangement protrudes less than 5cm above the table surface in at least one section along a longitudinal axis of the patient when the bottom section of the magnetic resonance local coil arrangement is mounted on the patient support apparatus (see Figure 7 showing coil #106 flushed with the patient table hence implicitly teaching the bottom section of the local coil protruding less than 5cm).
With respect to claim 14, Driemel discloses the bottom section has an interface to a top section of the magnetic resonance local coil arrangement, and wherein the interface is flush with the table surface when the bottom section of the magnetic resonance local coil arrangement is mounted on the patient support apparatus (see Figure 7 showing coil #106 flushed with the patient table).
With respect to claim 16, Driemel discloses the bottom section is permanently integrated in the patient support apparatus (see paragraphs 0035-0039 disclosing the components locked during operation hence considered as permanent position during operation).
With respect to claim 17, Driemel discloses a magnetic resonance apparatus comprising (see MR device #101): a magnetic resonance local coil arrangement for receiving, sending, or receiving and sending radio frequency (RF) signals, the magnetic resonance local coil arrangement comprising (local coil #106): a bottom section and a top section (see Figure 1 showing top section #2 and bottom section #3), wherein, in a connected state, the bottom section and the top section delimit a spatial volume in which a body part of a patient is positionable during a magnetic resonance examination (see Figure 7 showing the head coil #106 delimit a spatial volume in which a head of a patient is positionable), wherein the bottom section is configured to be positioned on a patient support apparatus of a magnetic resonance apparatus for performing the magnetic resonance examination, wherein, in a connected state, the bottom section and the top section have a total height, and wherein, in at least one section along a longitudinal axis of the patient, the bottom section has a height of less than 1/3 of the total height (see paragraphs 0040-0046 disclosing the positioning and size adjustability of the top section allowing a spacing of the bottom section to have a height of less than 1/3 of the total height of the full coil in connected state to fit any patient features more comfortably); or a system comprising: the magnetic resonance local coil arrangement; and the patient support apparatus for performing the magnetic resonance examination with the magnetic resonance apparatus, wherein the patient support apparatus has a table surface that is intended to support the patient while the magnetic resonance examination is performed, wherein the bottom section of the magnetic resonance local coil arrangement protrudes less than 5 cm above the table surface in at least one section along the longitudinal axis of the patient when the bottom section of the magnetic resonance local coil arrangement is mounted on the patient support apparatus (due to the alternative language of the claim indicating “or”, the limitations have not been addressed herein since the first option was addressed. However, applicant is directed to see said limitations in claim 13).
With respect to claim 18, Driemel discloses a method comprising: performing a magnetic resonance examination using a magnetic resonance local coil arrangement, a system, or the magnetic resonance local coil arrangement and the system, wherein the magnetic resonance local coil arrangement is for receiving, sending, or receiving and sending radio frequency (RF) signals and comprises (see MR device #101 in Figure 7): a bottom section and a top section (see Figure 1 showing top section #2 and bottom section #3), wherein, in a connected state, the bottom section and the top section delimit a spatial volume in which a body part of a patient is positionable during a magnetic resonance examination (see Figure 7 showing the head coil #106 delimit a spatial volume in which a head of a patient is positionable), wherein the bottom section is configured to be positioned on a patient support apparatus of a magnetic resonance apparatus for performing the magnetic resonance examination, wherein, in a connected state, the bottom section and the top section have a total height, and wherein, in at least one section along a longitudinal axis of the patient, the bottom section has a height of less than 1/3 of the total height (see paragraphs 0040-0046 disclosing the positioning and size adjustability of the top section allowing a spacing of the bottom section to have a height of less than 1/3 of the total height of the full coil in connected state to fit any patient features more comfortably), and wherein the system comprises: the magnetic resonance local coil arrangement (local coil #106); and the patient support apparatus for performing the magnetic resonance examination with the magnetic resonance apparatus (patient bed #104 in Figure 7), wherein the patient support apparatus has a table surface that is intended to support the patient while the magnetic resonance examination is performed (patient bed #104 in Figure 7), wherein the bottom section of the magnetic resonance local coil arrangement protrudes less than 5cm above the table surface in at least one section along the longitudinal axis of the patient when the bottom section of the magnetic resonance local coil arrangement is mounted on the patient support apparatus (see Figure 7 showing coil #106 flushed with the patient table hence implicitly teaching the bottom section of the local coil protruding less than 5cm).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Driemel (US 2012/0286784 A1) in view of Vaughan (US 7,659,719 B2).
With respect to claim 10, Driemel discloses the claimed invention as stated above except for specifying that the magnetic resonance local coil arrangement is or comprises a foot/ankle coil. However, Vaughan discloses the magnetic resonance local coil arrangement is or comprises a foot/ankle coil (Column 23, lines 15-38). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the magnetic resonance local coil arrangement is or comprises a foot/ankle coil as taught by Vaughan in combination with Driemel’s local coil as a matter of design choice by adapting the known configuration to various body parts to function as a volume coil without the limitation of the size or location where it will be used for the purpose of providing a more versatile configuration capable to image different body portions for diagnosis (Column 23, lines 15-38).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Driemel (US 2012/0286784 A1) in view of Driemel (US 2013/0023756 A1).
With respect to claim 15, Driemel discloses the patient support apparatus comprises at least one table plug connector, wherein the top section of the magnetic resonance local coil arrangement comprises at least one coil plug connector, and wherein the at least one table plug connector (see Figure 6 showing a table plug connector labeled by the examiner herein to connect to the bed). Furthermore, Driemel discloses the claimed invention except for the at least one coil plug connector configured to produce an electrical connection between the patient support apparatus and the top section of the magnetic resonance local coil arrangement when the at least one coil plug connector is connected to the at least one table plug connector. However, Driemel ‘756 discloses one coil plug connector configured to produce an electrical connection between the patient support apparatus and the top section of the magnetic resonance local coil arrangement when the at least one coil plug connector is connected to the at least one table plug connector (see paragraphs 0036-0037). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have one coil plug connector configured to produce an electrical connection between the patient support apparatus and the top section of the magnetic resonance local coil arrangement when the at least one coil plug connector is connected to the at least one table plug connector as taught by Driemel ‘756 in combination with Driemel ‘784 ‘ connector for the purpose of providing electrical connection from the table to the coil (see paragraphs 0036-0037).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional prior art cited in the PTO 892 not relied upon discloses MR devices with RF coils that can be opened and closed and wherein the coil can be integrated into the patient’s table.
/DIXOMARA VARGAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798