This action is in response to the application filed on 02/26/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/26/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed to, i.e. a power converter including flying capacitors and mutual inductances.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 8-11 are objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 1, in line 6, “a input capacitor” appears that it should read as “an input capacitor”;
in line 17, “converter,wherein” appears that it should read as “converter, wherein”, because of a typographical error in which a space is omitted after the comma.
Regarding claim 8, in line 9, “the second output end Vout-” appears that it should read as “a second output end Vout-”, because the term lacks antecedent basis, claim 1 reciting only a first output end Vout+.
Regarding claim 9, in lines 4-5, “one end of the first switch Q1 and one end of the fifth switch Q5” appears that it should read as “one end of the second switch Q2 and one end of the sixth switch Q6”, because claim 3, from which claim 9 depends, recites that one end of the second switch Q2 and one end of the sixth switch Q6 are respectively connected to the first input end Vin+. For purposes of examination, “one end of the first switch Q1 and one end of the fifth switch Q5” is interpreted as one end of the second switch Q2 and one end of the sixth switch Q6;
in line 9, “the second output end Vout-” appears that it should read as “a second output end Vout-”, because the term lacks antecedent basis, claim 1 reciting only a first output end Vout+.
Regarding claim 10, in lines 1-2, “the inductance assembly is a discrete inductor” appears that it should read as “the inductance assembly comprises discrete inductors”, because a single discrete inductor cannot be composed of a first inductor Lq1 and a second inductor Lq2 as subsequently recited.
Regarding claim 11, in lines 1-2, “the inductance assembly is a discrete inductor” appears that it should read as “the inductance assembly comprises discrete inductors”, because a single discrete inductor cannot be composed of a first inductor Lq1 and a second inductor Lq2 as subsequently recited.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2024/0079949 A1, hereinafter “Liu”). Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses (see Fig. 12) a power converter (hybrid dual-phase step-down power converter 400), comprising: a first bridge arm composed of a plurality of switches (power switches Q1A, Q2A and Q3A), a second bridge arm composed of a plurality of switches (power switches Q1B, Q2B and Q3B), a first capacitor Cb1 (flying capacitor C1B), a second capacitor Cb2 (flying capacitor C1A) and an inductance assembly (output inductor LA and output inductor LB), wherein one end of the first bridge arm is connected to a first input end Vin+ of the power converter (upper end of the power switch Q3A), and the other end thereof is connected to a second input end Vin- (lower end of the power switch Q1A) (see [0120] of Liu, “The power switches Q1A, Q2A and Q3A are connected in series between ground and the input power source Vin.”); one end of the second bridge arm is connected to the first input end Vin+ of the power converter (upper end of the power switch Q3B), and the other end thereof is connected to the second input end Vin- (lower end of the power switch Q1B) (see [0121] of Liu, “Power switches Q1B, Q2B and Q3B are connected in series between ground and the input power source Vin.”); and an input capacitor Cin (input filtering capacitor Cin) is provided between the first input end Vin+ and the second input end Vin- (see [0122] of Liu, “The input filtering capacitor Cin is connected between the input power source Vin and ground.”);
a second node (switching node SWA) and a third node (switching node SWD) are provided on the first bridge arm, and a first node (switching node SWC) and a fourth node (switching node SWB) are provided on the second bridge arm; and the first node, the second node, the third node and the fourth node are respectively located on a connection line between two adjacent switches (SWA is the common node of the power switches Q1A and Q2A, SWD is the common node of the power switches Q2A and Q3A, SWC is the common node of the power switches Q2B and Q3B, and SWB is the common node of the power switches Q1B and Q2B);
the first node is connected to one end of the first capacitor Cb1 (see [0121] of Liu, “The common node SWC of the power switches Q2B and Q3B is connected to the flying capacitor C1B.”); the other end of the first capacitor Cb1 is connected to the second node (see [0121] of Liu, “The other terminal of the flying capacitor C1B is connected to the common node SWA of the power switches Q1A and Q2A.”); the third node is connected to one end of the second capacitor Cb2 (see [0120] of Liu, “The common node SWD of the power switches Q2A and Q3A is connected to the flying capacitor C1A.”); the other end of the second capacitor Cb2 is connected to the fourth node (see [0120] of Liu, “The other terminal of the flying capacitor C1A is connected to the common node SWB of the power switches Q1B and Q2B.”); the second node and the fourth node are respectively connected to one end of the inductance assembly (see [0121] of Liu, “The output inductor LA is also connected to the common node SWA.” and see [0120] of Liu, “The output inductor LB is also connected to the common node SWB.”), and the other end of the inductance assembly is connected to a first output end Vout+ of the power converter (see [0122] of Liu, “The output filtering capacitor Co is connected to a common node of the output inductors LA and LB and the ground.”), wherein a conductive state of each switch is respectively controlled in a specific time region according to a duty ratio of the power converter (see [0123] of Liu, “the operation of the hybrid dual-phase step-down power converter 400 is also configured to operate in four different time intervals over one switching cycle” and see [0131] of Liu, “If the duty cycle at the switching nodes SWB and SWA is defined as D, and D is equal to (T1/Ts) or (T3/Ts)”), such that the first capacitor Cb1 and the second capacitor Cb2 do not form a loop with the input capacitor Cin, or voltages across the first capacitor Cb1 and the second capacitor Cb2 are both lower than a voltage across the input capacitor Cin (see [0130] of Liu, wherein Equation (1) establishes that the average voltage across each of the flying capacitors C1B and C1A over one switching period is equal to Vin/2, Examiner’s Note: the input filtering capacitor Cin of Liu is connected between the input power source Vin and ground, so that the voltage across the input capacitor Cin is Vin, and the voltage across each of the flying capacitors C1B and C1A is one half of, and therefore lower than, the voltage across the input capacitor Cin).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Kinzer (US Patent US 4,888,504).
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses (see Fig. 14) a first switch Q1 (power switch Q4A), a second switch Q2 (power switch Q3A), a third switch Q3 (power switch Q2A) and a fourth switch Q4 (power switch Q1A) successively connected to constitute the first bridge arm, and a fifth switch Q5 (power switch Q4B), a sixth switch Q6 (power switch Q3B), a seventh switch Q7 (power switch Q2B) and an eighth switch Q8 (power switch Q1B) successively connected to constitute the second bridge arm, wherein one end of the first switch Q1 and one end of the fifth switch Q5 are respectively connected to the first input end Vin+; and one end of the fourth switch Q4 and one end of the eighth switch Q8 are respectively connected to the second input end Vin- (see [0133] of Liu, “The power switches Q4A, Q3A, Q2A and Q1A are connected in series between the input power source Vin, and ground.” and see [0134] of Liu, “The power switches Q4B, Q3B, Q2B and Q1B are connected in series between the input power source Vin and ground.”);
the first node between the sixth switch Q6 and the seventh switch Q7 is connected to one end of the first capacitor Cb1 (see [0134] of Liu, “The common node of the power switches Q3B and Q2B is connected to the second flying capacitor C1B.”); and the other end of the first capacitor Cb1 is connected to the second node between the third switch Q3 and the fourth switch Q4 (see [0133] of Liu, “The common node of the power switches Q1A and Q2A is connected to the output inductor LA, the second flying capacitor C1B and the third flying capacitor C2A.”);
the third node between the second switch Q2 and the third switch Q3 is connected to one end of the second capacitor Cb2 (see [0133] of Liu, “The common node of the power switches Q2A and Q3A is connected to the first flying capacitor C1A.”); and the other end of the second capacitor Cb2 is connected to the fourth node between the seventh switch Q7 and the eighth switch Q8 (see [0134] of Liu, “The common node of the power switches Q1B and Q2B is connected to the output inductor LB, the first flying capacitor C1A and the fourth flying capacitor C2B.”).
Liu does not disclose wherein the first switch Q1 and the fifth switch Q5 share a source electrode, the first switch Q1 and the second switch Q2 share a drain electrode, and the fifth switch Q5 and the sixth switch Q6 share a drain electrode.
However, Kinzer teaches (see Fig. 1) wherein the first switch Q1 and the fifth switch Q5 share a source electrode (the source electrode S of each of the power MOSFETs 12 and 14 faces the remainder of the circuit and is connected to a respective one of the nodes 16 and 18 of the load-and-supply circuit), the first switch Q1 and the second switch Q2 share a drain electrode (power MOSFET 12 and power MOSFET 14 are common-drain-connected, such that the drain electrode of each is commonly connected), and the fifth switch Q5 and the sixth switch Q6 share a drain electrode (power MOSFET 12 and power MOSFET 14 are common-drain-connected, such that the drain electrode of each is commonly connected) (see col. 2, lines 11-15 of Kinzer, “The inventive circuit comprises a pair 10 of common-drain-connected power MOSFETs 12 and 14. The source electrodes S of MOSFETs 12 and 14 are respectively connected to nodes 16 and 18 for serial connection to a load-and-supply circuit.” and see col. 1, lines 25-30 of Kinzer, “It would, however, be desirable to provide a bidirectional MOSFET switching circuit employing a pair of common-drain-connected power MOSFETs, since common-drain-connected MOSFETs allow more efficient vertical current conduction in a monolithic IC using available technology.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power converter of Liu to include wherein the first switch Q1 and the fifth switch Q5 share a source electrode, the first switch Q1 and the second switch Q2 share a drain electrode, and the fifth switch Q5 and the sixth switch Q6 share a drain electrode, as taught by Kinzer, because it can help provide bidirectional switching capability across the pair of switches while allowing more efficient vertical current conduction in a monolithic integrated circuit using available technology (see col. 1, lines 7-11 and lines 25-30 of Kinzer). Examiner’s Note: once the first switch Q1 and the second switch Q2 are configured as a common-drain-connected pair and the fifth switch Q5 and the sixth switch Q6 are configured as a common-drain-connected pair, the remaining electrode of each of the first switch Q1 and the fifth switch Q5 is a source electrode, and each such source electrode is connected to the first input end Vin+ of Liu, such that the first switch Q1 and the fifth switch Q5 share a source electrode.
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses (see Fig. 14) a second switch Q2 (power switch Q4A), a first switch Q1 (power switch Q3A), a third switch Q3 (power switch Q2A) and a fourth switch Q4 (power switch Q1A) successively connected to constitute the first bridge arm, and a sixth switch Q6 (power switch Q4B), a fifth switch Q5 (power switch Q3B), a seventh switch Q7 (power switch Q2B) and an eighth switch Q8 (power switch Q1B) successively connected to constitute the second bridge arm, wherein one end of the second switch Q2 and one end of the sixth switch Q6 are respectively connected to the first input end Vin+; and one end of the fourth switch Q4 and one end of the eighth switch Q8 are respectively connected to the second input end Vin- (see [0133] of Liu, “The power switches Q4A, Q3A, Q2A and Q1A are connected in series between the input power source Vin, and ground.” and see [0134] of Liu, “The power switches Q4B, Q3B, Q2B and Q1B are connected in series between the input power source Vin and ground.”);
the first node between the fifth switch Q5 and the seventh switch Q7 is connected to one end of the first capacitor Cb1 (see [0134] of Liu, “The common node of the power switches Q3B and Q2B is connected to the second flying capacitor C1B.”); and the other end of the first capacitor Cb1 is connected to the second node between the third switch Q3 and the fourth switch Q4 (see [0133] of Liu, “The common node of the power switches Q1A and Q2A is connected to the output inductor LA, the second flying capacitor C1B and the third flying capacitor C2A.”);
the third node between the first switch Q1 and the third switch Q3 is connected to one end of the second capacitor Cb2 (see [0133] of Liu, “The common node of the power switches Q2A and Q3A is connected to the first flying capacitor C1A.”); and the other end of the second capacitor Cb2 is connected to the fourth node between the seventh switch Q7 and the eighth switch Q8 (see [0134] of Liu, “The common node of the power switches Q1B and Q2B is connected to the output inductor LB, the first flying capacitor C1A and the fourth flying capacitor C2B.”).
Liu does not disclose wherein the first switch Q1 and the second switch Q2 share a source electrode, and the fifth switch Q5 and the sixth switch Q6 share a source electrode.
However, Kinzer teaches wherein the first switch Q1 and the second switch Q2 share a source electrode (a pair of power MOSFETs having their sources connected in common and their drains respectively connected to a pair of nodes for serial connection to a supply-and-load circuit), and the fifth switch Q5 and the sixth switch Q6 share a source electrode (a pair of power MOSFETs having their sources connected in common and their drains respectively connected to a pair of nodes for serial connection to a supply-and-load circuit) (see col. 1, lines 12-16 of Kinzer, “Bidirectional switching capability has been conventionally provided in circuits employing a pair of power MOSFETs with their sources connected in common and with their drains respectively connected to a pair of nodes for serial connection to a supply-and-load circuit.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power converter of Liu to include wherein the first switch Q1 and the second switch Q2 share a source electrode, and the fifth switch Q5 and the sixth switch Q6 share a source electrode, as taught by Kinzer, because it can help permit a single gate bias to simultaneously turn on both switches of the pair due to the common source connection (see col. 1, lines 19-24 of Kinzer, “Since the gate-to-source voltage of a power MOSFET typically determines its conduction state, the use of common-source-connected MOSFETs conveniently permits a single gate bias to simultaneously turn on both MOSFETs due to the common source connection.”).
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses (see Fig. 14 and Fig. 18) wherein the power converter further comprises a PWM control module (a dual-phase step-down controller that generates the gate drive signals of the power switches, as shown at 440 in Fig. 12), wherein the PWM control module is respectively connected to control ends of the first switch Q1 (power switch Q4A), the second switch Q2 (power switch Q3A), the third switch Q3 (power switch Q2A), the fourth switch Q4 (power switch Q1A), the fifth switch Q5 (power switch Q4B), the sixth switch Q6 (power switch Q3B), the seventh switch Q7 (power switch Q2B) and the eighth switch Q8 (power switch Q1B); and the PWM control module is used for respectively issuing corresponding PWM control signals to the first switch Q1, the second switch Q2, the third switch Q3, the fourth switch Q4, the fifth switch Q5, the sixth switch Q6, the seventh switch Q7 and the eighth switch Q8 so as to control an on-off state of each switch at different moments (see [0160] of Liu, “The first row represents the gate drive signals of switches Q2A and Q4A. The second row represents the gate drive signal of switches Q2B and Q4B. The third row represents the gate drive signal of switch Q3B. The fourth row represents the gate drive signal of switch Q3A. The fifth row represents the gate drive signal of switch Q1B. The sixth row represents the gate drive signal of switch Q1A.” and see [0135] of Liu, “The operating principle of the hybrid dual-phase step-down power converter 1400 shown in FIG. 14 is similar to that of the hybrid dual-phase step-down power converter 400 shown in FIG. 12-13.”).
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses (see Fig. 14 and Fig. 18) wherein the power converter further comprises a PWM control module (a dual-phase step-down controller that generates the gate drive signals of the power switches, as shown at 440 in Fig. 12), wherein the PWM control module is respectively connected to control ends of the first switch Q1 (power switch Q3A), the second switch Q2 (power switch Q4A), the third switch Q3 (power switch Q2A), the fourth switch Q4 (power switch Q1A), the fifth switch Q5 (power switch Q3B), the sixth switch Q6 (power switch Q4B), the seventh switch Q7 (power switch Q2B) and the eighth switch Q8 (power switch Q1B); and the PWM control module is used for respectively issuing corresponding PWM control signals to the first switch Q1, the second switch Q2, the third switch Q3, the fourth switch Q4, the fifth switch Q5, the sixth switch Q6, the seventh switch Q7 and the eighth switch Q8 so as to control an on-off state of each switch at different moments (see [0160] of Liu, “The first row represents the gate drive signals of switches Q2A and Q4A. The second row represents the gate drive signal of switches Q2B and Q4B. The third row represents the gate drive signal of switch Q3B. The fourth row represents the gate drive signal of switch Q3A. The fifth row represents the gate drive signal of switch Q1B. The sixth row represents the gate drive signal of switch Q1A.”).
Regarding claim 6, Liu discloses (see Fig. 14 and Fig. 18) wherein the first switch Q1, the second switch Q2, the third switch Q3, the fourth switch Q4, the fifth switch Q5, the sixth switch Q6, the seventh switch Q7 and the eighth switch Q8 have a same switching frequency (the gate drive signals of all eight power switches are defined over one common switching cycle) (see [0135] of Liu, “In some embodiments, there are four time intervals in each switching cycle.” and see [0123] of Liu, “The switching period is defined as Ts. Ts is equal to one over the switching frequency (fs).”).
Regarding claim 7, Liu discloses (see Fig. 14 and Fig. 18) wherein the first switch Q1, the second switch Q2, the third switch Q3, the fourth switch Q4, the fifth switch Q5, the sixth switch Q6, the seventh switch Q7 and the eighth switch Q8 have a same switching frequency (the gate drive signals of all eight power switches are defined over one common switching cycle) (see [0135] of Liu, “In some embodiments, there are four time intervals in each switching cycle.”).
Regarding claim 10, Liu discloses (see Fig. 14) wherein the inductance assembly is a discrete inductor, and the inductance assembly comprises a first inductor Lq1 (output inductor LA) and a second inductor Lq2 (output inductor LB), wherein one end of the first inductor Lq1 is connected to the second node, and the other end of the first inductor Lq1 is connected to the first output end Vout+ of the power converter (see [0133] of Liu, “The common node of the power switches Q1A and Q2A is connected to the output inductor LA, the second flying capacitor C1B and the third flying capacitor C2A.”); and one end of the second inductor Lq2 is connected to the fourth node, and the other end of the second inductor Lq2 is connected to the first output end Vout+ of the power converter (see [0134] of Liu, “The common node of the power switches Q1B and Q2B is connected to the output inductor LB, the first flying capacitor C1A and the fourth flying capacitor C2B.” and see [0135] of Liu, “As shown in FIG. 14, both phases share the input filtering capacitor Cin and the output filtering capacitor Co.”).
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses (see Fig. 14) wherein the inductance assembly is a discrete inductor, and the inductance assembly comprises a first inductor Lq1 (output inductor LA) and a second inductor Lq2 (output inductor LB), wherein one end of the first inductor Lq1 is connected to the second node, and the other end of the first inductor Lq1 is connected to the first output end Vout+ of the power converter (see [0133] of Liu, “The common node of the power switches Q1A and Q2A is connected to the output inductor LA, the second flying capacitor C1B and the third flying capacitor C2A.”); and one end of the second inductor Lq2 is connected to the fourth node, and the other end of the second inductor Lq2 is connected to the first output end Vout+ of the power converter (see [0134] of Liu, “The common node of the power switches Q1B and Q2B is connected to the output inductor LB, the first flying capacitor C1A and the fourth flying capacitor C2B.”).
Claims 8, 9, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Kinzer, and further in view of Zeng (US Patent Application Publication US 2025/0062677 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses (see Fig. 14) wherein the power converter further comprises an output capacitor Cout (output filtering capacitor Co); and one end of the output capacitor Cout is connected to the first output end Vout+ of the power converter (the output filtering capacitor Co is connected to the output terminal Vout of the hybrid dual-phase step-down power converter 1400, at which the output inductor LA and the output inductor LB are joined), and the other end of the output capacitor Cout is connected to the second output end Vout- of the power converter (the output filtering capacitor Co is connected to the ground) (see [0135] of Liu, “As shown in FIG. 14, both phases share the input filtering capacitor Cin and the output filtering capacitor Co.”).
Liu does not disclose an input inductor Lin and an output inductor Ls; one end of the input inductor Lin is connected to the first input end Vin+ of the power converter, and the other end of the input inductor Lin is respectively connected to one end of the input capacitor Cin, one end of the first switch Q1 and one end of the fifth switch Q5; and one end of the output inductor Ls is connected to the other end of the inductance assembly, and the other end of the output inductor Ls is connected to the first output end Vout+ of the power converter.
However, Zeng teaches (see Fig. 1) an input inductor Lin (input inductor Lin) and an output inductor Ls (output inductor winding LW1); one end of the input inductor Lin is connected to the first input end Vin+ of the power converter (one end of the input inductor Lin is connected to the input positive terminal Vin+), and the other end of the input inductor Lin is respectively connected to one end of the input capacitor Cin (the other end of the input inductor Lin is connected to one end of the input capacitor Cin), one end of the first switch Q1 (the drain electrode of the upper switch Q1) and one end of the fifth switch Q5 (the drain electrode of the upper switch Q3); and one end of the output inductor Ls is connected to the other end of the inductance assembly (one end of the output inductor winding LW1 is connected to the winding short contact TL1, at which the second end of the transformer winding TW21 and the second end of the transformer winding TW22 are joined), and the other end of the output inductor Ls is connected to the first output end Vout+ of the power converter (the other end of the output inductor winding LW1 is connected to the output positive terminal Vo+, to which the output capacitor Co is connected).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power converter of Liu to include an input inductor Lin and an output inductor Ls, as taught by Zeng, because it can help reduce unwanted noise arriving from the input power source and reduce unwanted noise reaching the load.
Regarding claim 9, Liu discloses (see Fig. 14) wherein the power converter further comprises an output capacitor Cout (output filtering capacitor Co); and one end of the output capacitor Cout is connected to the first output end Vout+ of the power converter (the output filtering capacitor Co is connected to the output terminal Vout of the hybrid dual-phase step-down power converter 1400, at which the output inductor LA and the output inductor LB are joined), and the other end of the output capacitor Cout is connected to the second output end Vout- of the power converter (the output filtering capacitor Co is connected to the ground) (see [0135] of Liu, “As shown in FIG. 14, both phases share the input filtering capacitor Cin and the output filtering capacitor Co.”).
Liu does not disclose an input inductor Lin and an output inductor Ls; one end of the input inductor Lin is connected to the first input end Vin+ of the power converter, and the other end of the input inductor Lin is respectively connected to one end of the input capacitor Cin, one end of the first switch Q1 and one end of the fifth switch Q5; and one end of the output inductor Ls is connected to the other end of the inductance assembly, and the other end of the output inductor Ls is connected to the first output end Vout+ of the power converter.
However, Zeng teaches (see Fig. 1) an input inductor Lin (input inductor Lin) and an output inductor Ls (output inductor winding LW1); one end of the input inductor Lin is connected to the first input end Vin+ of the power converter (one end of the input inductor Lin is connected to the input positive terminal Vin+), and the other end of the input inductor Lin is respectively connected to one end of the input capacitor Cin (the other end of the input inductor Lin is connected to one end of the input capacitor Cin), one end of the first switch Q1 (the drain electrode of the upper switch Q1) and one end of the fifth switch Q5 (the drain electrode of the upper switch Q3); and one end of the output inductor Ls is connected to the other end of the inductance assembly (one end of the output inductor winding LW1 is connected to the winding short contact TL1, at which the second end of the transformer winding TW21 and the second end of the transformer winding TW22 are joined), and the other end of the output inductor Ls is connected to the first output end Vout+ of the power converter (the other end of the output inductor winding LW1 is connected to the output positive terminal Vo+, to which the output capacitor Co is connected).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power converter of Liu to include an input inductor Lin and an output inductor Ls, as taught by Zeng, because it can help reduce unwanted noise arriving from the input power source and reduce unwanted noise reaching the load. Examiner’s Note: claim 3, from which claim 9 depends, recites that one end of the second switch Q2 and one end of the sixth switch Q6 are respectively connected to the first input end Vin+, so that the other end of the input inductor Lin is connected to one end of the first switch Q1 through the second switch Q2 and to one end of the fifth switch Q5 through the sixth switch Q6.
Regarding claim 12, Liu discloses (see Fig. 14) wherein the inductance assembly comprises a third inductor Lq1′ (output inductor LA) and a fourth inductor Lq2′ (output inductor LB), wherein one end of the third inductor Lq1′ is connected to the second node, and the other end of the third inductor Lq1′ is connected to the first output end Vout+ of the power converter (see [0133] of Liu, “The common node of the power switches Q1A and Q2A is connected to the output inductor LA, the second flying capacitor C1B and the third flying capacitor C2A.”); one end of the fourth inductor Lq2′ is connected to the fourth node, and the other end of the fourth inductor Lq2′ is connected to the first output end Vout+ of the power converter (see [0134] of Liu, “The common node of the power switches Q1B and Q2B is connected to the output inductor LB, the first flying capacitor C1A and the fourth flying capacitor C2B.”).
Liu does not disclose wherein the inductance assembly is a coupled inductor, and the third inductor Lq1′ and the fourth inductor Lq2′ are wound around one same magnetic core assembly, polarities of the third inductor Lq1′ and the fourth inductor Lq2′ are opposite, and an absolute value of a coupling coefficient of the third inductor Lq1′ and the fourth inductor Lq2′ ranges from 0 to 1.
However, Zeng teaches (see Fig. 1) wherein the inductance assembly is a coupled inductor (the transformer winding TW21 and the transformer winding TW22, which are wound on a common magnetic core), and the third inductor Lq1′ (transformer winding TW21) and the fourth inductor Lq2′ (transformer winding TW22) are wound around one same magnetic core assembly (the transformer winding TW21 and the transformer winding TW22 are wound on a common magnetic core that extends across both windings), polarities of the third inductor Lq1′ and the fourth inductor Lq2′ are opposite (in Fig. 1 the dotted terminal of the transformer winding TW21 is placed at the end thereof adjoining the lower node B1, while the dotted terminal of the transformer winding TW22 is placed at the end thereof adjoining the winding short contact TL1, so that the dotted terminals are located at opposite ends of the two windings when each winding is traversed from the lower node toward the winding short contact TL1), and an absolute value of a coupling coefficient of the third inductor Lq1′ and the fourth inductor Lq2′ ranges from 0 to 1 (the transformer winding TW21 and the transformer winding TW22 are magnetically coupled through the common magnetic core, Examiner’s Note: the absolute value of the coupling coefficient of two magnetically coupled inductors is greater than 0 and cannot exceed 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power converter of Liu to include wherein the inductance assembly is a coupled inductor, and the third inductor Lq1′ and the fourth inductor Lq2′ are wound around one same magnetic core assembly, polarities of the third inductor Lq1′ and the fourth inductor Lq2′ are opposite, and an absolute value of a coupling coefficient of the third inductor Lq1′ and the fourth inductor Lq2′ ranges from 0 to 1, as taught by Zeng, because it can help reduce the ripple of the current delivered to the first output end Vout+ through cancellation between the two oppositely wound inductors and reduce the number of magnetic components in the power converter.
Regarding claim 13, Liu discloses (see Fig. 14) wherein the inductance assembly comprises a third inductor Lq1′ (output inductor LA) and a fourth inductor Lq2′ (output inductor LB), wherein one end of the third inductor Lq1′ is connected to the second node, and the other end of the third inductor Lq1′ is connected to the first output end Vout+ of the power converter (see [0133] of Liu, “The common node of the power switches Q1A and Q2A is connected to the output inductor LA, the second flying capacitor C1B and the third flying capacitor C2A.”); one end of the fourth inductor Lq2′ is connected to the fourth node, and the other end of the fourth inductor Lq2′ is connected to the first output end Vout+ of the power converter (see [0134] of Liu, “The common node of the power switches Q1B and Q2B is connected to the output inductor LB, the first flying capacitor C1A and the fourth flying capacitor C2B.”).
Liu does not disclose wherein the inductance assembly is a coupled inductor, and the third inductor Lq1′ and the fourth inductor Lq2′ are wound around one same magnetic core assembly, polarities of the third inductor Lq1′ and the fourth inductor Lq2′ are opposite, and an absolute value of a coupling coefficient of the third inductor Lq1′ and the fourth inductor Lq2′ ranges from 0 to 1.
However, Zeng teaches (see Fig. 1) wherein the inductance assembly is a coupled inductor (the transformer winding TW21 and the transformer winding TW22, which are wound on a common magnetic core), and the third inductor Lq1′ (transformer winding TW21) and the fourth inductor Lq2′ (transformer winding TW22) are wound around one same magnetic core assembly (the transformer winding TW21 and the transformer winding TW22 are wound on a common magnetic core that extends across both windings), polarities of the third inductor Lq1′ and the fourth inductor Lq2′ are opposite (in Fig. 1 the dotted terminal of the transformer winding TW21 is placed at the end thereof adjoining the lower node B1, while the dotted terminal of the transformer winding TW22 is placed at the end thereof adjoining the winding short contact TL1, so that the dotted terminals are located at opposite ends of the two windings when each winding is traversed from the lower node toward the winding short contact TL1), and an absolute value of a coupling coefficient of the third inductor Lq1′ and the fourth inductor Lq2′ ranges from 0 to 1 (the transformer winding TW21 and the transformer winding TW22 are magnetically coupled through the common magnetic core, Examiner’s Note: the absolute value of the coupling coefficient of two magnetically coupled inductors is greater than 0 and cannot exceed 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power converter of Liu to include wherein the inductance assembly is a coupled inductor, and the third inductor Lq1′ and the fourth inductor Lq2′ are wound around one same magnetic core assembly, polarities of the third inductor Lq1′ and the fourth inductor Lq2′ are opposite, and an absolute value of a coupling coefficient of the third inductor Lq1′ and the fourth inductor Lq2′ ranges from 0 to 1, as taught by Zeng, because it can help reduce the ripple of the current delivered to the first output end Vout+ through cancellation between the two oppositely wound inductors and reduce the number of magnetic components in the power converter.
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Zeng.
Regarding claim 14, Liu discloses (see Fig. 14, Fig. 15 and Fig. 18) a control method of a power converter, wherein the control method is implemented in the power converter according to claim 1, comprising: constructing a first timing sequence control diagram corresponding to each switch, and generating a corresponding PWM control signal according to the first timing sequence control diagram so as to control turn-off or conduction of each switch (the gate drive signals of the eight power switches are generated in accordance with the six time intervals T1, T1B, T3A, T3, T3B and T1A shown in Fig. 18 in the more general case in which the duty cycle D is less than 50%) (see [0157] of Liu, “In a more general case, the duty cycle D is less than 50%.” and see [0160] of Liu, “FIG. 18 illustrates the six different time intervals T1, T1B, T3A, T3, T3B and T1A in accordance with various embodiments of the present disclosure.”); and constructing a second timing sequence control diagram corresponding to each switch, and generating the corresponding PWM control signal according to the second timing sequence control diagram so as to control the turn-off or conduction of each switch (the gate drive signals of the eight power switches are generated in accordance with the two time intervals T1 and T3 shown in Fig. 15 under the maximum duty cycle of 50%) (see [0139] of Liu, “It should be noted that under a maximum duty cycle (50%), T2 and T4 are equal to zero. T1 and T3 form one switching period of the hybrid dual-phase step-down power converter 1400.”). Examiner’s Note: a timing sequence control diagram is a graphical representation, and the recitation of constructing such a diagram is not read as requiring the production of a graphical representation as an affirmative act. The specification describes the first timing sequence control diagram and the second timing sequence control diagram solely by reference to the relative phases and conduction intervals of the control signals PWM1 through PWM8 shown in FIG. 5 and FIG. 6. For purposes of examination, constructing a timing sequence control diagram corresponding to each switch is interpreted as establishing a set of relative phases and conduction intervals among the PWM control signals of the switches.
Liu does not disclose when the duty ratio of the power converter is less than or equal to a pre-set threshold value, constructing a first timing sequence control diagram corresponding to each switch, and when the duty ratio of the power converter is greater than the pre-set threshold value, constructing a second timing sequence control diagram corresponding to each switch.
However, Zeng teaches (see Fig. 6A, Fig. 7 and Fig. 9) when the duty ratio of the power converter is less than or equal to a pre-set threshold value (a working state in which the duty ratio is less than or equal to 0.5), constructing a first timing sequence control diagram corresponding to each switch (the control time sequence shown in Fig. 6A), and when the duty ratio of the power converter is greater than the pre-set threshold value (a working state in which the duty ratio is greater than 0.5), constructing a second timing sequence control diagram corresponding to each switch (the driving waveforms shown in Fig. 7) (see [0082] of Zeng, wherein the circuit topology 3a shown in Fig. 9 adopts the control time sequence shown in Fig. 6A in a working state in which the duty ratio is less than or equal to 0.5 and adopts the driving waveforms shown in Fig. 7 in a working state in which the duty ratio is greater than 0.5, and see [0079] of Zeng, “The control strategy is shown in FIG. 7, the duty ratios of the first control signal PWM1 and the second control signal PWM2 are greater than 0.5, and the first control signal PWM1 and the second control signal PWM2 are staggered by 180 degrees.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control method of Liu to include when the duty ratio of the power converter is less than or equal to a pre-set threshold value, constructing a first timing sequence control diagram corresponding to each switch, and when the duty ratio of the power converter is greater than the pre-set threshold value, constructing a second timing sequence control diagram corresponding to each switch, as taught by Zeng, because it can help the power converter provide the required value of the output voltage when the input voltage is reduced (see [0079] of Zeng).
Regarding claim 16, Liu discloses (see Fig. 14 and Fig. 15) wherein the first bridge arm comprises a first switch Q1 (power switch Q4A), a second switch Q2 (power switch Q3A), a third switch Q3 (power switch Q2A) and a fourth switch Q4 (power switch Q1A), and the second bridge arm comprises a fifth switch Q5 (power switch Q4B), a sixth switch Q6 (power switch Q3B), a seventh switch Q7 (power switch Q2B) and an eighth switch Q8 (power switch Q1B), and in the second timing sequence control diagram: a seventh control signal on the seventh switch Q7 has a same phase as a fourth control signal on the fourth switch Q4 (the power switch Q2B and the power switch Q1A are turned on during the same first time interval T1); a third control signal on the third switch Q3 has a same phase as an eighth control signal on the eighth switch Q8 (the power switch Q2A and the power switch Q1B are turned on during the same third time interval T3); a sixth control signal on the sixth switch Q6 is 180 degrees phase shifted from the seventh control signal on the seventh switch Q7 (the power switch Q3B is turned on during the third time interval T3 while the power switch Q2B is turned on during the first time interval T1); the seventh control signal on the seventh switch Q7 is also 180 degrees phase shifted from the third control signal on the third switch Q3 (the power switch Q2B is turned on during the first time interval T1 while the power switch Q2A is turned on during the third time interval T3); and the third control signal on the third switch Q3 is 180 degrees phase shifted from a second control signal on the second switch Q2 (the power switch Q2A is turned on during the third time interval T3 while the power switch Q3A is turned on during the first time interval T1) (see [0140] of Liu, “In the first time interval T1, the switches Q1A, Q2B, Q3A and Q4B are turned on, and the rest of the switches are turned off.” and see [0141] of Liu, “In the third time interval T3, the switches Q1B, Q2A, Q3B and Q4A are turned on, and the rest of the switches are turned off.” and see [0138] of Liu, “D is equal to T1/Ts or T3/Ts.” and see [0139] of Liu, “It should be noted that under a maximum duty cycle (50%), T2 and T4 are equal to zero. T1 and T3 form one switching period of the hybrid dual-phase step-down power converter 1400.”). Examiner’s Note: under the maximum duty cycle of 50%, the first time interval T1 and the third time interval T3 are each equal to one half of the switching period Ts and together form one switching period, so that a switch turned on during the first time interval T1 and a switch turned on during the third time interval T3 are 180 degrees phase shifted from each other.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 15, none of the cited prior art alone or in combination discloses or teaches the claimed invention in which “the first switch Q1 and the fifth switch Q5 maintain the conductive state”. The closest prior art, Liu, discloses a hybrid dual-phase step-down power converter in which four power switches are connected in series in each phase leg, but Liu turns on the power switch Q4B that is nearest the input power source during the first time interval T1 and turns on the power switch Q4A that is nearest the input power source during the third time interval T3 (see [0135] and [0137] of Liu), rather than holding one power switch of each phase leg conductive throughout the timing sequence, and therefore fails to disclose or teach the above limitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2024/0022159 A1 discloses a power conversion device comprising a coupled inductor in which a first inductor and a second inductor of opposite polarity are wound around one same magnetic core assembly.
US 2020/0091818 A1 discloses a two-phase power converter in which the flying capacitors are shared by both inductors so that the duty cycle of the converter is limited, and in which the converter is switched to a two-phase buck converter control scheme when the output voltage is required to exceed the range available within that duty cycle limit.
/MONICA LEWIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/JYE-JUNE LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2838