DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, Zhiyong, Tao Zhan, and Shin‐Tson Wu. "Polarization‐independent liquid crystal‐based refractive index sensor." Journal of the Society for Information Display 29.5 (2021): 305-310, hereinafter “Yang”, and further in view of Hsiung, Chan-Te, and Cheng-Sheng Huang. "Refractive index sensor based on a gradient grating period guided-mode resonance." IEEE Photonics Technology Letters 31.3 (2019): 253-256, hereinafter “Hsiung”.
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches an optical element (abstract, Fig. 1) comprising:
a liquid crystal layer that is formed of a composition including a liquid crystal compound (as shown in Fig. 1, page 306, Sec 2. Col. 1, paragraph 1),
wherein the liquid crystal layer has a liquid crystal alignment pattern in which an orientation of an optical axis derived from the liquid crystal compound changes while continuously rotating toward at least one direction of in-plane directions (as shown in Fig. 1, page 306, Sec 2. Col. 1, paragraph 1- Col. 2, paragraph 1),
the liquid crystal layer further has a resonance structure (page 306, Sec 2. Col. 1, paragraph 2).
Yang is silent regarding in a case where a length over which the orientation of the optical axis derived from the liquid crystal compound rotates by 180° in a plane is set as a single period, a length of the single period in the liquid crystal alignment pattern gradually changes in the one direction.
However, Hsiung teaches a refractive index sensor based on a gradient grating period GMP (abstract, Fig. 1) including in a case where a length over which the orientation of the optical axis derived from the liquid crystal compound rotates by 180° in a plane is set as a single period, a length of the single period in the liquid crystal alignment pattern gradually changes in the one direction (pages 253, Sec. II A – page 254 Sec. II B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Yang with the teaching of Hsiung by including in a case where a length over which the orientation of the optical axis derived from the liquid crystal compound rotates by 180° in a plane is set as a single period, a length of the single period in the liquid crystal alignment pattern gradually changes in the one direction in order to have light that can excite the device’s resonance and reflect while the other light is transmitted.
Regarding claim 2, Yang teaches wherein the length of the single period in the liquid crystal alignment pattern of the liquid crystal layer is 0.3 μm to 1.2 μm (Sec. 2, col. 2, paragraph 1; 400 nm), and
a thickness of the liquid crystal layer is 1 μm to 5 μm (Sec. 2, col. 2, paragraph 1; 1.591 μm).
Regarding claim 3, Yang is silent regarding wherein in a region where the length of the single period increases monotonically or decreases monotonically in the one direction, in a case where a length of the single period at a reference position is represented by Λ1 and a length of the single period at a position spaced from the reference position by a distance x is represented by ΛX with a certain point as a reference, 0<|ΛX−Λ1|/x≤1×10−2 is satisfied.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein in a region where the length of the single period increases monotonically or decreases monotonically in the one direction, in a case where a length of the single period at a reference position is represented by Λ1 and a length of the single period at a position spaced from the reference position by a distance x is represented by ΛX with a certain point as a reference, 0<|ΛX−Λ1|/x≤1×10−2 is satisfied as it has been held that the particular placement of an element in a measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). In this case, one would chose the claimed design in order to have a smooth change in the light as the device is rotated.
Regarding claim 6, Yang teaches an optical sensor comprising: the optical element according to claim 1 (page 306, Sec. 2, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 7, Yang is silent regarding wherein in a region where the length of the single period increases monotonically or decreases monotonically in the one direction, in a case where a length of the single period at a reference position is represented by Λ1 and a length of the single period at a position spaced from the reference position by a distance x is represented by ΛX with a certain point as a reference, 0<|ΛX−Λ1|/x≤1×10−2 is satisfied.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein in a region where the length of the single period increases monotonically or decreases monotonically in the one direction, in a case where a length of the single period at a reference position is represented by Λ1 and a length of the single period at a position spaced from the reference position by a distance x is represented by ΛX with a certain point as a reference, 0<|ΛX−Λ1|/x≤1×10−2 is satisfied as it has been held that the particular placement of an element in a measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). In this case, one would chose the claimed design in order to have a smooth change in the light as the device is rotated.
Regarding claim 10, Yang teaches an optical sensor comprising: the optical element according to claim 2 (page 306, Sec. 2, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 13, Yang teaches an optical sensor comprising: the optical element according to claim 3 (page 306, Sec. 2, paragraph 1).
Claims 4, 5, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang and Hsiung as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yanai et al. (US 2020/0326462 A1), hereinafter “Yanai”.
Regarding claim 4, Yang is silent regarding wherein the liquid crystal layer has a liquid crystal alignment pattern in which a rotation direction in which the orientation of the optical axis derived from the liquid crystal compound continuously rotates is reversed with a certain point as a boundary in a direction along the one direction.
However, Yanai teaches an optical sensor (abstract, Fig 1) including wherein the liquid crystal layer has a liquid crystal alignment pattern in which a rotation direction in which the orientation of the optical axis derived from the liquid crystal compound continuously rotates is reversed with a certain point as a boundary in a direction along the one direction (as shown in fig 7, ref 16; paragraphs [0203]-[0206]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Yang with the teaching of Yanai by including wherein the liquid crystal layer has a liquid crystal alignment pattern in which a rotation direction in which the orientation of the optical axis derived from the liquid crystal compound continuously rotates is reversed with a certain point as a boundary in a direction along the one direction in order to allow incident from the normal direction to be gathered in a linear shape toward the center in the arrow X direction, paragraph [0207].
Regarding claim 5, Yang is silent regarding wherein the liquid crystal layer is a layer obtained by immobilizing a cholesteric liquid crystalline phase, and a helical pitch of the liquid crystal layer is 0.1 μm to 0.9 μm.
However, Yanai teaches an optical sensor (abstract, Fig 1) including wherein the liquid crystal layer is a layer obtained by immobilizing a cholesteric liquid crystalline phase (as shown in figs 2, 4, 6; paragraphs [0105]-[0106], [0112]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Yang with the teaching of Yanai by including wherein the liquid crystal layer is a layer obtained by immobilizing a cholesteric liquid crystalline phase in order to allow wavelength selective reflection properties, for example, liquid crystal layer reflect right circularly polarized light of infrared light and allows transmission, paragraph [0106].
Furthermore, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a helical pitch of the liquid crystal layer is 0.1 μm to 0.9 μm as it has been held that the particular placement of an element in a measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). In this case, one would chose the claimed pitch based on the light one desires to transmit.
Regarding claim 14, Yang is silent regarding wherein the liquid crystal layer is a layer obtained by immobilizing a cholesteric liquid crystalline phase, and a helical pitch of the liquid crystal layer is 0.1 μm to 0.9 μm.
However, Yanai teaches an optical sensor (abstract, Fig 1) including wherein the liquid crystal layer is a layer obtained by immobilizing a cholesteric liquid crystalline phase (as shown in figs 2, 4, 6; paragraphs [0105]-[0106], [0112]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Yang with the teaching of Yanai by including wherein the liquid crystal layer is a layer obtained by immobilizing a cholesteric liquid crystalline phase in order to allow wavelength selective reflection properties, for example, liquid crystal layer reflect right circularly polarized light of infrared light and allows transmission, paragraph [0106].
Furthermore, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a helical pitch of the liquid crystal layer is 0.1 μm to 0.9 μm as it has been held that the particular placement of an element in a measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). In this case, one would chose the claimed pitch based on the light one desires to transmit.
Regarding claim 15, Yang teaches an optical sensor comprising: the optical element according to claim 4 (page 306, Sec. 2, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 16, Yang teaches an optical sensor comprising: the optical element according to claim 5 (page 306, Sec. 2, paragraph 1).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang and Hsiung as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Yanai.
Regarding claim 8, Yang is silent regarding wherein the liquid crystal layer has a liquid crystal alignment pattern in which a rotation direction in which the orientation of the optical axis derived from the liquid crystal compound continuously rotates is reversed with a certain point as a boundary in a direction along the one direction.
However, Yanai teaches an optical sensor (abstract, Fig 1) including wherein the liquid crystal layer has a liquid crystal alignment pattern in which a rotation direction in which the orientation of the optical axis derived from the liquid crystal compound continuously rotates is reversed with a certain point as a boundary in a direction along the one direction (as shown in fig 7, ref 16; paragraphs [0203]-[0206]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Yang with the teaching of Yanai by including wherein the liquid crystal layer has a liquid crystal alignment pattern in which a rotation direction in which the orientation of the optical axis derived from the liquid crystal compound continuously rotates is reversed with a certain point as a boundary in a direction along the one direction in order to allow incident from the normal direction to be gathered in a linear shape toward the center in the arrow X direction, paragraph [0207].
Regarding claim 9, Yang is silent regarding wherein the liquid crystal layer is a layer obtained by immobilizing a cholesteric liquid crystalline phase, and a helical pitch of the liquid crystal layer is 0.1 μm to 0.9 μm.
However, Yanai teaches an optical sensor (abstract, Fig 1) including wherein the liquid crystal layer is a layer obtained by immobilizing a cholesteric liquid crystalline phase (as shown in figs 2, 4, 6; paragraphs [0105]-[0106], [0112]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Yang with the teaching of Yanai by including wherein the liquid crystal layer is a layer obtained by immobilizing a cholesteric liquid crystalline phase in order to allow wavelength selective reflection properties, for example, liquid crystal layer reflect right circularly polarized light of infrared light and allows transmission, paragraph [0106].
Furthermore, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a helical pitch of the liquid crystal layer is 0.1 μm to 0.9 μm as it has been held that the particular placement of an element in a measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). In this case, one would chose the claimed pitch based on the light one desires to transmit.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang and Hsiung as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Yanai.
Regarding claim 11, Yang is silent regarding wherein the liquid crystal layer has a liquid crystal alignment pattern in which a rotation direction in which the orientation of the optical axis derived from the liquid crystal compound continuously rotates is reversed with a certain point as a boundary in a direction along the one direction.
However, Yanai teaches an optical sensor (abstract, Fig 1) including wherein the liquid crystal layer has a liquid crystal alignment pattern in which a rotation direction in which the orientation of the optical axis derived from the liquid crystal compound continuously rotates is reversed with a certain point as a boundary in a direction along the one direction (as shown in fig 7, ref 16; paragraphs [0203]-[0206]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Yang with the teaching of Yanai by including wherein the liquid crystal layer has a liquid crystal alignment pattern in which a rotation direction in which the orientation of the optical axis derived from the liquid crystal compound continuously rotates is reversed with a certain point as a boundary in a direction along the one direction in order to allow incident from the normal direction to be gathered in a linear shape toward the center in the arrow X direction, paragraph [0207].
Regarding claim 12, Yang is silent regarding wherein the liquid crystal layer is a layer obtained by immobilizing a cholesteric liquid crystalline phase, and a helical pitch of the liquid crystal layer is 0.1 μm to 0.9 μm.
However, Yanai teaches an optical sensor (abstract, Fig 1) including wherein the liquid crystal layer is a layer obtained by immobilizing a cholesteric liquid crystalline phase (as shown in figs 2, 4, 6; paragraphs [0105]-[0106], [0112]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Yang with the teaching of Yanai by including wherein the liquid crystal layer is a layer obtained by immobilizing a cholesteric liquid crystalline phase in order to allow wavelength selective reflection properties, for example, liquid crystal layer reflect right circularly polarized light of infrared light and allows transmission, paragraph [0106].
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a helical pitch of the liquid crystal layer is 0.1 μm to 0.9 μm as it has been held that the particular placement of an element in a measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). In this case, one would chose the claimed pitch based on the light one desires to transmit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang, Zhiyong, Tao Zhan, and Shin-Tson Wu. "Polarization independent guided-mode resonance in liquid crystal-based polarization gratings." OSA Continuum 3.11 (2020): 3107-3115 teaches an LC based optical element sensor that can be combined with prior art of record to render at least the independent claim obvious.
Sato (US 2021/0011319) and Sato (US 2021/0011295) teaches an optical element sensor that can be combined with prior art of record to render the claims obvious.
Saitoh (18/677581 US 2024/0085320 A1) and Saitoh (18/497258 US 2024/0319420 A1) were reviewed for double patenting and no rejection is made because the pending claims contain limitations regarding the length of a single period in the LC alignment pattern gradually changes in one direction.
/DOMINIC J BOLOGNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877